Metascore
28

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 26 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 21
  2. Negative: 11 out of 21
  1. Reviewed by: Jordan Hoffman
    Feb 26, 2013
    67
    As the anticipated follow-up to Roman Coppola’s marvelous 2001 film “CQ,” this is something of a letdown, but as a breezy romp it could be far, far worse.
  2. Reviewed by: Joel Arnold
    Feb 8, 2013
    60
    The moody picture even swings toward hopeful in its final minutes, as it tries to celebrate Charles as the man he is, faults and all. It's enough to leave you wondering whether even a glimpse inside this mind is too much.
  3. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Feb 13, 2013
    50
    No less sweet for being unoriginal: A guy (Charlie Sheen) mourns a bad breakup with the woman he loves (Katheryn Winnick). The execution, on the other hand, is perilously self-absorbed.
  4. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Mar 14, 2013
    38
    The actor/walking disaster known as Charlie Sheen gives a perfectly credible performance here. It’s the rest of the film that tries your patience.
  5. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    Feb 7, 2013
    30
    For all its visual pizazz A Glimpse Inside the Mind of Charles Swan III has the jerky momentum of a collection of disconnected skits loosely thrown together with only the vaguest notion of where it’s heading or what it all means. At best it is a mildly diverting goof with a charmless lead performance. Its underlying misogyny leaves a sour taste.
  6. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Feb 15, 2013
    25
    That was probably writer-director Roman Coppola's main responsibility in "Charles Swan," to give the audience a character worth watching. Get that right, and everything else falls into place. Get that wrong, and the audience finds out just how long 84 minutes can be. The answer: really long.
  7. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Feb 6, 2013
    0
    It isn’t a movie so much as a feature-length perfume commercial for a Charlie Sheen signature cologne with gorgeous packaging and absolutely nothing inside.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 4 out of 10
  1. Mar 14, 2013
    10
    i thought it was amazing, really funny, heartfelt, and incredibly good to look at, those visuals are incredible, the cast does a good job, andi thought it was amazing, really funny, heartfelt, and incredibly good to look at, those visuals are incredible, the cast does a good job, and i don't think i've laughed harder at crazy feminists flatout attacking charlie sheen... Expand
  2. Mar 14, 2013
    10
    i enjoyed this movie a lot, i still don't know why, but hell, i guess i'm a massive charlie sheen fanboy, it has a tasteful visual style, somei enjoyed this movie a lot, i still don't know why, but hell, i guess i'm a massive charlie sheen fanboy, it has a tasteful visual style, some good performances, and militarized feminists... need i say more? Collapse
  3. Mar 14, 2013
    5
    it's well acted, it looks good, it's strange, but it isn't too funny, i'm afraid, and it makes little sense, but it's a good night out ifit's well acted, it looks good, it's strange, but it isn't too funny, i'm afraid, and it makes little sense, but it's a good night out if you're drunk, i'd recommend renting it and watching it with some friends, preferably wasted. Expand
  4. Feb 8, 2013
    3
    this movie was a bust. great cast, bad script, confusing, and not in a good way. much more could have been done with this movie to have madethis movie was a bust. great cast, bad script, confusing, and not in a good way. much more could have been done with this movie to have made it good at least. better luck next time Roman Expand
  5. Mar 9, 2013
    2
    The co-writer of Moonrise Kingdom and relative of one of the best directors ever (Francis Ford Coppola) disappoints everyone with this poorlyThe co-writer of Moonrise Kingdom and relative of one of the best directors ever (Francis Ford Coppola) disappoints everyone with this poorly directed and written comedy not to mention a terrible performance by Charlie Sheen. I expected more. Expand
  6. Mar 3, 2013
    0
    If you want to watch this movie because of visionary director Roman Coppola, don't even bother. AGITMOCS is just time waste garbage. And yesIf you want to watch this movie because of visionary director Roman Coppola, don't even bother. AGITMOCS is just time waste garbage. And yes this is a 84 min film. But 84 minutes can be this long and tiring. Expand

See all 10 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Notable Upcoming Movies of 2013

    The Most Notable Upcoming Movies of 2013 Image
    Published: January 17, 2013
    Inside, look at over 70 key films expected to arrive over the next 12 months, from big-budget event films like Star Trek Into Darkness and Man of Steel to the latest features from Terrence Malick, the Coen Brothers, Spike Jonze, Alexander Payne, Lars von Trier, Sofia Coppola, George Clooney, and much more.