Open Road Films (II) | Release Date: January 11, 2013
5.0
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 158 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
65
Mixed:
39
Negative:
54
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
GHeadenJan 16, 2013
If you want a REAL good laugh - go and see this movie. I don't understand why there are so many negative comments about this movie. It was made to poke some fun at the movie "Paranormal Activity" and they did a good job too. Only thing IIf you want a REAL good laugh - go and see this movie. I don't understand why there are so many negative comments about this movie. It was made to poke some fun at the movie "Paranormal Activity" and they did a good job too. Only thing I would say - this movie is not appropriate for children under 17. I agree with Melinda - when the DVD comes out I would definitely buy it... don't listen to the critics - go and see it - you wont regret it! Expand
8 of 16 users found this helpful88
All this user's reviews
7
Anthony1010Jan 18, 2013
I'm not really sure what people are expecting when going to see a "scary movie" parody starring Marlan Wayans. If you can appreciate stupid humor and constant fart jokes this movie is absolutely hilarious... I was a huge fan of the "ScaryI'm not really sure what people are expecting when going to see a "scary movie" parody starring Marlan Wayans. If you can appreciate stupid humor and constant fart jokes this movie is absolutely hilarious... I was a huge fan of the "Scary Movie" series especially the 2nd and 3rd one, and while this movie has a different feel then that franchise, it still managed to make me laugh uncontrollably for a good portion of the movie. Yes, there were some parts where the writing was sub par but the critics reviews of this movie, like most comedies, is completely unfair. IF YOU LIKE TO LAUGH, GO SEE THIS!! Expand
4 of 10 users found this helpful46
All this user's reviews
8
DatHotnessJan 14, 2013
Don't listen to the "expert" movie critics trashing this movie. My gf and I went to see this over the weekend in a packed theater and the entire room was in hysterics. A hilarious movie that does exactly what the director and writers wantedDon't listen to the "expert" movie critics trashing this movie. My gf and I went to see this over the weekend in a packed theater and the entire room was in hysterics. A hilarious movie that does exactly what the director and writers wanted it to do...make you laugh. Plus, it has a couple of scenes in it that will make you jump at first then laugh immediately after. Probably one of the better parody films to come out in recent memory. Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
8
MrThehammer171May 16, 2013
this movie is funny crazy funny i laughed for a long time like the whole movie i havent seen a movie that made me laugh this hard in a long time watch it
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
9
MelindaJan 14, 2013
I"m stunned by the reviews this movie got. This was/is by far the funniest movie I've seen in a long time. If your looking for a good laugh mixed with a couple scary parts this is your movie. The whole theater was packed everyone was laughingI"m stunned by the reviews this movie got. This was/is by far the funniest movie I've seen in a long time. If your looking for a good laugh mixed with a couple scary parts this is your movie. The whole theater was packed everyone was laughing the whole way thru. A must see. I will certainly be buying this movie when it comes out on DVD. Expand
2 of 9 users found this helpful27
All this user's reviews
10
DanMcManJun 15, 2013
By far the greatest movie I have ever watched. The plot was amazing, the characters were absolutely stunning and the jokes and script were flawless. This movie truly defines the generation of technology we live in and if you disagree you're gay.
3 of 14 users found this helpful311
All this user's reviews
7
TheGamingSofaJan 13, 2013
For what it was, it got a lot done right. It was funny and did a great job at making fun of cliche found footage movies. Was it stupid at times? Yes it was. Was it sloppy? Yes it was. However was it funny? Oh, yeah. It was.
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
7
Forrestgump1Jun 4, 2013
"Say what you will about me. A Haunted House was actually outrageously funny. That spoofs the genre almost perfectly. Marlon Waynes has crafted a worthy film to and It's that rare parody every ten or so years that actually works and makes you"Say what you will about me. A Haunted House was actually outrageously funny. That spoofs the genre almost perfectly. Marlon Waynes has crafted a worthy film to and It's that rare parody every ten or so years that actually works and makes you laugh." B Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
cdk222Feb 11, 2013
Yes the movie is dumb but that was exactly what I was expecting. I definitely laughed a lot and there were even a couple of scares. I'm not saying anyone should rush out and see this movie but if you're looking for a good popcorn movi I'dYes the movie is dumb but that was exactly what I was expecting. I definitely laughed a lot and there were even a couple of scares. I'm not saying anyone should rush out and see this movie but if you're looking for a good popcorn movi I'd recommend this one. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
8
Navelpluis1337Jan 30, 2013
This is not a movie that you watch because you want to watch a good movie - it's a movie you watch to laugh about with your friends. Of course, the acting is bad at times, the story is stupid, but it is hilarious, if you can appreciate theThis is not a movie that you watch because you want to watch a good movie - it's a movie you watch to laugh about with your friends. Of course, the acting is bad at times, the story is stupid, but it is hilarious, if you can appreciate the humour. Now, I fall right into the target audience of this movie - perhaps slightly immature high school kids who laugh at fart jokes. If you are someone who can appreciate a good fart joke, then you will enjoy this movie. Don't watch it because it's good, but watch it because it's fun. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
7
HaithamBayazeedApr 14, 2013
A really good movie and so underrated delivers good time, laughs and a look a other horror movies all in one!
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
starzJan 17, 2013
This movie was meant to make fun of paranormal activity not win an academy award. It was funny for the most part but did get sloppy at times. Overall this movie is hilarious and is worth going to theaters to see.
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
7
Wincenty8Jan 21, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A movie to watch with friends. The plot is obviously not much, but every scene in the film makes you laugh a lot. Can be considered a worthy successor to Scary Movie Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
7
killerbee41895Jan 30, 2013
This movie has some great moments, no doubt. However, intellectuals might find some of the humor not up to standard. It's very crude at times. It's definitely a movie that should be watched with friends that you feel comfortable around.This movie has some great moments, no doubt. However, intellectuals might find some of the humor not up to standard. It's very crude at times. It's definitely a movie that should be watched with friends that you feel comfortable around. **wouldn't take a date out to this one, fellas. The acting was great. Every character had distinct personalities. There were some parts that were just crude, not funny, akward moments (apparently they were supposed to be funny, but the theatre rejected to laugh) assuming that it was a missed target by the story line. Overall, it was worth the watch. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
JanPOlApr 15, 2013
The most fun movie i watch this year. Wayans do a much better than scary movie. Not only for his fun but for all to love great comedy. Its hilarious. I lough like baby
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
7
TheQuietGamerJul 18, 2013
A Haunted House is a lot like the Scary Movie series in that it's a comedy spoofs various horror movies. In this case the "found footage" horror films like Paranormal Activity and [Rec]. It can be very funny at times, downright hilarious atA Haunted House is a lot like the Scary Movie series in that it's a comedy spoofs various horror movies. In this case the "found footage" horror films like Paranormal Activity and [Rec]. It can be very funny at times, downright hilarious at others. It's immature like you would not believe because it's jokes are all sex and fart related, but it still provides MANY laughs. However there are times in this movie when they take their sex related humor too far, to the point where it pushes the line of good taste WAY farther than it should (rape isn't funny people). But in the end the humor manages to keep itself up and keep you entertained even when the vulgarity reaches some insanely unfunny and downright sickening levels. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
gunboss201Oct 9, 2013
What's with the bad reviews?! this is a funny movie, it's a parody (not meant to relate to the original video). showed this movie to 10 of my friends, and they laughed
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FladeIsCoolJun 15, 2013
This is literally the best comedy movie I've ever watched. If you have an incredibly immature sense of humor, watch this movie. It's amazing. No flaws.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
KivaJun 10, 2013
This film was wayyyyyy better than all Scary movies. Though it's stupid it is really funny and entertaining. Seriously (for the bad reviews) when you watch a film like that you know that there is not going to be some good quality. You willThis film was wayyyyyy better than all Scary movies. Though it's stupid it is really funny and entertaining. Seriously (for the bad reviews) when you watch a film like that you know that there is not going to be some good quality. You will laugh at this movie like you've never did. If you like scary movie, epic movie etc.. You will like it. I hope the sequel is as good as this one. What was a suprise for me was that it actually only talked about paranormal activity and the devil inside. I can say that i liked very much and if you want to laugh that's good stuff Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
FreakyarcherOct 15, 2013
This film was funny and entertaining. If you were offended by anything other than what happened to the male lead, I suggest you analyze yourself. It was made to show what this couple would do versus the typical couple often found in theseThis film was funny and entertaining. If you were offended by anything other than what happened to the male lead, I suggest you analyze yourself. It was made to show what this couple would do versus the typical couple often found in these situations. I couldn't stop laughing. My Irish husband couldn't either. I cannot wait to see what movies they parody in the sequel. My vote is: keep 'em coming. Especially since there isn't much to pick from in Hollywood since the early 2000's. Btw, I am not just a movie watcher, I also make them. Put yourselves in others' shoes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DemonSoulApr 21, 2014
could be better, but its pretty funny. kids b/w ages of middle school and early college would love this. If you liked In Living Color, then you'll like this
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
mishabridunJan 10, 2014
The best paranormal activity spoof I have ever seen. There are a few boring parts but its mostly just laugh after laugh. Don't go into this movie expecting a oscar winning performance. You CAN expect tons of rude, racist, yet hilarious humorThe best paranormal activity spoof I have ever seen. There are a few boring parts but its mostly just laugh after laugh. Don't go into this movie expecting a oscar winning performance. You CAN expect tons of rude, racist, yet hilarious humor and the story ain't too shabby! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
lukechristianscMar 15, 2014
this movie is a like one of the best horror comedy ever . Marlon Wayans is freaking funny in this film i had a quite a good laugh in this film . here's the bad news this film tries to be like scary movie and there copying some of it theythis movie is a like one of the best horror comedy ever . Marlon Wayans is freaking funny in this film i had a quite a good laugh in this film . here's the bad news this film tries to be like scary movie and there copying some of it they try to have cameras just like scary movie 5 and paranormal activity . but still it is enjoyable to watch . if you do not like it screw you but this is a good comedy for 17 and up . also i can not wait to see a haunted house 2 . Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Meth-dudeDec 25, 2014
There is too much fart jokes and this s not one of the greatest parody I have ever seen but the acting was not so bad and the movie was watchable even if the scenario was not so good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
BeingNickDohNov 19, 2015
Sadly, there are a million spoof movies and almost 5% of them are reasonable to watch, granted you are a sensible person. But this movie is what it is, a silly spoof. What makes it better is it is not DIRECTLY taking parts from other moviesSadly, there are a million spoof movies and almost 5% of them are reasonable to watch, granted you are a sensible person. But this movie is what it is, a silly spoof. What makes it better is it is not DIRECTLY taking parts from other movies and shooting them out as fast as possible, like most spoofs after Scary Movie.

If you like Scary Movie, you will like this. But it isn't meant to be scary or the greatest film, just entertaining. People need to stop thinking their opinion is very strong without context. It's a good spoof movie, compared to the hundreds of terrible spoof movies.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews