User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 140 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 140
  2. Negative: 46 out of 140

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 29, 2013
    1
    The writers for this film put no effort and time into this script so I will do the same for my review. This movie is nothing but fart, poop, piss, racist and gay jokes. It is garbage. Plain and simple.
  2. Apr 29, 2013
    1
    There's only one problem with this movie, it's horrible. So many fart gags and perverted jokes with almost zero laughs. I was really surprised that not even Marlon Wayans who did such a great job with the Scary Movie franchise could pull this off. It could have been hilarious but I only laughed like maybe twice in the whole runtime and both of those laughs came from Nick Swardson. What aThere's only one problem with this movie, it's horrible. So many fart gags and perverted jokes with almost zero laughs. I was really surprised that not even Marlon Wayans who did such a great job with the Scary Movie franchise could pull this off. It could have been hilarious but I only laughed like maybe twice in the whole runtime and both of those laughs came from Nick Swardson. What a major disappointment. Since their already going to make a sequel, I really hope they correct and improve the huge problems they had with this one. Expand
  3. Apr 24, 2013
    6
    Interesting to have both this and Scary Movie 5 come out around the same time and be pretty much the same movie, but I must admit I think these guys did it just a tad better. There are less pop culture refrences and it focuses more on the paranormal stuff which is what it should be doing. Some of the jokes miss the mark but not too many as some are also very funny. I wasn't expecting muchInteresting to have both this and Scary Movie 5 come out around the same time and be pretty much the same movie, but I must admit I think these guys did it just a tad better. There are less pop culture refrences and it focuses more on the paranormal stuff which is what it should be doing. Some of the jokes miss the mark but not too many as some are also very funny. I wasn't expecting much from it but was pleasantly surprised when watching it so I think its at least worth checking out! Expand
  4. Apr 15, 2013
    10
    The most fun movie i watch this year. Wayans do a much better than scary movie. Not only for his fun but for all to love great comedy. Its hilarious. I lough like baby
  5. Apr 14, 2013
    7
    A really good movie and so underrated delivers good time, laughs and a look a other horror movies all in one!
  6. Apr 14, 2013
    0
    This movie was terrible as i thought when i first time glance down on the poster.Not a single human been would laugh for this movie ,unless their brain damaged.This type of movies are insult to black community in USA.
  7. Apr 13, 2013
    4
    The first half of the movie wasn't all that funny but the second half was an improvement and actually made up for the time I put into it. A few solid chuckles but no real burst out laughing moments. It's a parody but it's not a parody. It does parody the first Paranormal Activity film with the plot but other then that, It's an "original" comedy. Most of the scenes were improvised, that isThe first half of the movie wasn't all that funny but the second half was an improvement and actually made up for the time I put into it. A few solid chuckles but no real burst out laughing moments. It's a parody but it's not a parody. It does parody the first Paranormal Activity film with the plot but other then that, It's an "original" comedy. Most of the scenes were improvised, that is pretty obvious, and were not all that fun. The constant run on jokes (such as the swinger couple) were not funny and actually got pretty annoying. Overall, It was an ok movie. Worth checking out if you like films like Scary Movie but other then that, I wouldn't recommend it. Expand
  8. Apr 9, 2013
    6
    This is a funny movie, with some hilarious scenes. It is definitely stale and slow between jokes, but the comparison needs to be made to the travesty that is has become the Scary Movie franchise and similar "satire" films. WAY better.
  9. Mar 25, 2013
    6
    I literally went in to see Essence because I love her and she is one of the funniest female black women alive and one of the funniest to me ever. Also because it looks better then Paranormal Activity. This film was touch and go. Little to outrageous but its made by the Waynes brothers. The funny outrageous guys. I loved Essence she was funny as hell. The male lead was touch and go. I doI literally went in to see Essence because I love her and she is one of the funniest female black women alive and one of the funniest to me ever. Also because it looks better then Paranormal Activity. This film was touch and go. Little to outrageous but its made by the Waynes brothers. The funny outrageous guys. I loved Essence she was funny as hell. The male lead was touch and go. I do say this was better then all the Paranormal Activity films and the paranormal films just completely. I dont see anything scary about ghost, bumbs, things falling over. I say watch this with your friends, mainly focus on Essence and The Big Black Priest guy person he was funny just them and you'll laugh. Expand
  10. Feb 23, 2013
    5
    It isn't a terrible movie but it sure isn't the next big mark in the history of movies, its just a passing film made for a low profit for different minded people. It had more dumb jokes over clever ones but it really matters on the viewer, 50% enjoy the idiocy and the other 50 chuckles beneath the references of modern-whatever. Have a spare twenty bucks lying around? Go check this movieIt isn't a terrible movie but it sure isn't the next big mark in the history of movies, its just a passing film made for a low profit for different minded people. It had more dumb jokes over clever ones but it really matters on the viewer, 50% enjoy the idiocy and the other 50 chuckles beneath the references of modern-whatever. Have a spare twenty bucks lying around? Go check this movie out Then either spam Facebook with how "awesome" the movie was or gloat in disappointment of wasted paper bills and spare change. Expand
  11. Feb 17, 2013
    5
    There's really nothing *wrong* with this movie, it's just so recycled. It really relies on fart jokes too much and I really think it would work better as a series of SNL skits rather than a movie (seeing as the whole film is one unrelated skit after another). Better than the last 2 Scary Movies, and maybe that's cuz Wayans wasn't involved.
  12. Feb 12, 2013
    3
    Sorry to say that this was not a good movie. It had funny moments but those were few and far between. It really could have been great. I'm really surprised this made it to theaters.
  13. Feb 11, 2013
    8
    Yes the movie is dumb but that was exactly what I was expecting. I definitely laughed a lot and there were even a couple of scares. I'm not saying anyone should rush out and see this movie but if you're looking for a good popcorn movi I'd recommend this one.
  14. Feb 10, 2013
    0
    This movie mistook vulgarity for humor. It was nasty and disgusting. Even when there was a laugh it was based on some silly premise such as a fart, or having sex with stuffed animals (yes really!). Of all the movies I have seen the last 5 years this was the worst!
  15. Feb 1, 2013
    6
    Movie was surprisingly funny but overlong. Cut out the last 30 minutes and it was a laugh riot with some very clever bits. Unfortunately, it begins to fall apart with the overlong ending and the decidedly unfunny overtop performance by Cedric the Entertainer.
  16. Jan 30, 2013
    8
    This is not a movie that you watch because you want to watch a good movie - it's a movie you watch to laugh about with your friends. Of course, the acting is bad at times, the story is stupid, but it is hilarious, if you can appreciate the humour. Now, I fall right into the target audience of this movie - perhaps slightly immature high school kids who laugh at fart jokes. If you areThis is not a movie that you watch because you want to watch a good movie - it's a movie you watch to laugh about with your friends. Of course, the acting is bad at times, the story is stupid, but it is hilarious, if you can appreciate the humour. Now, I fall right into the target audience of this movie - perhaps slightly immature high school kids who laugh at fart jokes. If you are someone who can appreciate a good fart joke, then you will enjoy this movie. Don't watch it because it's good, but watch it because it's fun. Expand
  17. Jan 30, 2013
    7
    This movie has some great moments, no doubt. However, intellectuals might find some of the humor not up to standard. It's very crude at times. It's definitely a movie that should be watched with friends that you feel comfortable around. **wouldn't take a date out to this one, fellas. The acting was great. Every character had distinct personalities. There were some parts that were justThis movie has some great moments, no doubt. However, intellectuals might find some of the humor not up to standard. It's very crude at times. It's definitely a movie that should be watched with friends that you feel comfortable around. **wouldn't take a date out to this one, fellas. The acting was great. Every character had distinct personalities. There were some parts that were just crude, not funny, akward moments (apparently they were supposed to be funny, but the theatre rejected to laugh) assuming that it was a missed target by the story line. Overall, it was worth the watch. Expand
  18. Jan 25, 2013
    0
    I went into this movie expecting stupidity, but was hoping that there might be some comedic value to be found. Alas, I was disappointed. This movie just wasn't funny at all. Individually, I find many of the actors humorous if not even truly gifted in their approach to comedy, but this film just missed all the marks. Spoofs s a genre are getting more and more tiresome as filmmakers relyI went into this movie expecting stupidity, but was hoping that there might be some comedic value to be found. Alas, I was disappointed. This movie just wasn't funny at all. Individually, I find many of the actors humorous if not even truly gifted in their approach to comedy, but this film just missed all the marks. Spoofs s a genre are getting more and more tiresome as filmmakers rely solely on gags and physical humor. Actually, I was offended by just how stupid Hollywood must think I am. Expand
  19. Jan 21, 2013
    0
    I have only walked out of 4 movies in my life and this was one of them. It sucked.
    We were very disappointed. I expected so much more from the Wayans family who I
    am very big fans of. That is one of the reasons why we went. It just was not funny at all.
    we left after about an hour. A waist of good money.
  20. Jan 21, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A movie to watch with friends. The plot is obviously not much, but every scene in the film makes you laugh a lot. Can be considered a worthy successor to Scary Movie Expand
  21. Jan 18, 2013
    7
    I'm not really sure what people are expecting when going to see a "scary movie" parody starring Marlan Wayans. If you can appreciate stupid humor and constant fart jokes this movie is absolutely hilarious... I was a huge fan of the "Scary Movie" series especially the 2nd and 3rd one, and while this movie has a different feel then that franchise, it still managed to make me laughI'm not really sure what people are expecting when going to see a "scary movie" parody starring Marlan Wayans. If you can appreciate stupid humor and constant fart jokes this movie is absolutely hilarious... I was a huge fan of the "Scary Movie" series especially the 2nd and 3rd one, and while this movie has a different feel then that franchise, it still managed to make me laugh uncontrollably for a good portion of the movie. Yes, there were some parts where the writing was sub par but the critics reviews of this movie, like most comedies, is completely unfair. IF YOU LIKE TO LAUGH, GO SEE THIS!! Expand
  22. Jan 17, 2013
    8
    This movie was meant to make fun of paranormal activity not win an academy award. It was funny for the most part but did get sloppy at times. Overall this movie is hilarious and is worth going to theaters to see.
  23. Jan 16, 2013
    9
    If you want a REAL good laugh - go and see this movie. I don't understand why there are so many negative comments about this movie. It was made to poke some fun at the movie "Paranormal Activity" and they did a good job too. Only thing I would say - this movie is not appropriate for children under 17. I agree with Melinda - when the DVD comes out I would definitely buy it... don't listenIf you want a REAL good laugh - go and see this movie. I don't understand why there are so many negative comments about this movie. It was made to poke some fun at the movie "Paranormal Activity" and they did a good job too. Only thing I would say - this movie is not appropriate for children under 17. I agree with Melinda - when the DVD comes out I would definitely buy it... don't listen to the critics - go and see it - you wont regret it! Expand
  24. Jan 14, 2013
    9
    I"m stunned by the reviews this movie got. This was/is by far the funniest movie I've seen in a long time. If your looking for a good laugh mixed with a couple scary parts this is your movie. The whole theater was packed everyone was laughing the whole way thru. A must see. I will certainly be buying this movie when it comes out on DVD.
  25. Jan 14, 2013
    8
    Don't listen to the "expert" movie critics trashing this movie. My gf and I went to see this over the weekend in a packed theater and the entire room was in hysterics. A hilarious movie that does exactly what the director and writers wanted it to do...make you laugh. Plus, it has a couple of scenes in it that will make you jump at first then laugh immediately after. Probably one of theDon't listen to the "expert" movie critics trashing this movie. My gf and I went to see this over the weekend in a packed theater and the entire room was in hysterics. A hilarious movie that does exactly what the director and writers wanted it to do...make you laugh. Plus, it has a couple of scenes in it that will make you jump at first then laugh immediately after. Probably one of the better parody films to come out in recent memory. Expand
  26. Jan 13, 2013
    7
    For what it was, it got a lot done right. It was funny and did a great job at making fun of cliche found footage movies. Was it stupid at times? Yes it was. Was it sloppy? Yes it was. However was it funny? Oh, yeah. It was.
Metascore
20

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 16
  2. Negative: 13 out of 16
  1. Reviewed by: Emma Morgan
    May 27, 2013
    40
    The moments where you feel the cast are off-script and riffing are fun if not actually funny, but the most horrific thing on offer here is misogyny.
  2. Reviewed by: Joe Cunningham
    May 27, 2013
    20
    Dreadful.
  3. Reviewed by: Jordan Hoffman
    Feb 26, 2013
    0
    A Haunted House, its despicable bigotry aside, is also a not-very-good comedy.