Open Road Films (II) | Release Date: January 11, 2013
5.0
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 162 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
67
Mixed:
39
Negative:
56
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
RalphsReviewsApr 29, 2013
The writers for this film put no effort and time into this script so I will do the same for my review. This movie is nothing but fart, poop, piss, racist and gay jokes. It is garbage. Plain and simple.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
0
SmeeApr 14, 2013
This movie was terrible as i thought when i first time glance down on the poster.Not a single human been would laugh for this movie ,unless their brain damaged.This type of movies are insult to black community in USA.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
0
OroiaelJan 25, 2013
I went into this movie expecting stupidity, but was hoping that there might be some comedic value to be found. Alas, I was disappointed. This movie just wasn't funny at all. Individually, I find many of the actors humorous if not even trulyI went into this movie expecting stupidity, but was hoping that there might be some comedic value to be found. Alas, I was disappointed. This movie just wasn't funny at all. Individually, I find many of the actors humorous if not even truly gifted in their approach to comedy, but this film just missed all the marks. Spoofs s a genre are getting more and more tiresome as filmmakers rely solely on gags and physical humor. Actually, I was offended by just how stupid Hollywood must think I am. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
2
charlotteydwiApr 30, 2013
To be quite honest with you all I think 2/10 was generous. This film is a lost cause. I know it's a film parodying 'Paranormal Activity', but in some scenes it is basically just ripping it off completely without working up to a joke. ATo be quite honest with you all I think 2/10 was generous. This film is a lost cause. I know it's a film parodying 'Paranormal Activity', but in some scenes it is basically just ripping it off completely without working up to a joke. A ridiculous film with absolutely no reason for making it other than money. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
0
StarWatchFeb 10, 2013
This movie mistook vulgarity for humor. It was nasty and disgusting. Even when there was a laugh it was based on some silly premise such as a fart, or having sex with stuffed animals (yes really!). Of all the movies I have seen the last 5This movie mistook vulgarity for humor. It was nasty and disgusting. Even when there was a laugh it was based on some silly premise such as a fart, or having sex with stuffed animals (yes really!). Of all the movies I have seen the last 5 years this was the worst! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
2
MichaelDNMay 11, 2013
Oh. My. God. I was prepared for this movie to be bad, but the enjoyable type of bad, that you can still laugh at. I could've written this script, and I have the comic wit of a paper towel. It starts off with Marlon's character humping twoOh. My. God. I was prepared for this movie to be bad, but the enjoyable type of bad, that you can still laugh at. I could've written this script, and I have the comic wit of a paper towel. It starts off with Marlon's character humping two stuffed animals for probably over a minute straight. Then, there is a series of fart jokes followed by a maid going crazy and hitting people, and a grown man screaming like a little girl. Basically, it's all the things people under the age of five think is funny, except this is for adults. Nick Swardson comes in to unintentionally mock the entire homosexual community, in a way that is more offensive than if it were intentional. I wish I were making this up. I mean, they don't even make the effort to use cliche jokes that have used in every single sitcom since the 50's, like most bad comedies do. It's just a series of people doing stupid, over-the-top, things for a laugh; things that have all been done before, and weren't funny then either. I do have to say that the performances are generally pretty good. The actors do their best to revive a horrible script, but the best comedic actors of all time could not have saved this movie. Not good. Not good. Collapse
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
lahonda_99May 3, 2013
Marlon Wayans needs to stop polluting the entertainment industry. This garbage is so rotten it makes me mad that there was a distributor that signed off on releasing this immature, worthless, incomprehensible, pile of dingo dung. Marlon, theMarlon Wayans needs to stop polluting the entertainment industry. This garbage is so rotten it makes me mad that there was a distributor that signed off on releasing this immature, worthless, incomprehensible, pile of dingo dung. Marlon, the next time you have the urge to film you and your friends' pet projects; upload the video to YouTube like the rest of us. For you to have thought a film of you and your friends messing around was so good that people should pay to see it requires severe detachment from reality. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
mizzhoneyFeb 12, 2013
Sorry to say that this was not a good movie. It had funny moments but those were few and far between. It really could have been great. I'm really surprised this made it to theaters.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
mds03Apr 29, 2013
There's only one problem with this movie, it's horrible. So many fart gags and perverted jokes with almost zero laughs. I was really surprised that not even Marlon Wayans who did such a great job with the Scary Movie franchise could pull thisThere's only one problem with this movie, it's horrible. So many fart gags and perverted jokes with almost zero laughs. I was really surprised that not even Marlon Wayans who did such a great job with the Scary Movie franchise could pull this off. It could have been hilarious but I only laughed like maybe twice in the whole runtime and both of those laughs came from Nick Swardson. What a major disappointment. Since their already going to make a sequel, I really hope they correct and improve the huge problems they had with this one. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
60ishJan 21, 2013
I have only walked out of 4 movies in my life and this was one of them. It sucked.
We were very disappointed. I expected so much more from the Wayans family who I
am very big fans of. That is one of the reasons why we went. It just was not
I have only walked out of 4 movies in my life and this was one of them. It sucked.
We were very disappointed. I expected so much more from the Wayans family who I
am very big fans of. That is one of the reasons why we went. It just was not funny at all.
we left after about an hour. A waist of good money.
Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
2
EludiumQ36May 4, 2013
"A Haunted House" (a [poor] parody of the "Paranormal" franchise) will only appeal to those with the most juvenile of humor, mainly for pre-teens which is odd since it's rated R. This film was a waste of my time, not recommended.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
5
tropicAcesFeb 17, 2013
There's really nothing *wrong* with this movie, it's just so recycled. It really relies on fart jokes too much and I really think it would work better as a series of SNL skits rather than a movie (seeing as the whole film is one unrelatedThere's really nothing *wrong* with this movie, it's just so recycled. It really relies on fart jokes too much and I really think it would work better as a series of SNL skits rather than a movie (seeing as the whole film is one unrelated skit after another). Better than the last 2 Scary Movies, and maybe that's cuz Wayans wasn't involved. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
4
TheGeographer52Jan 21, 2013
Wow that was bad.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
9
GHeadenJan 16, 2013
If you want a REAL good laugh - go and see this movie. I don't understand why there are so many negative comments about this movie. It was made to poke some fun at the movie "Paranormal Activity" and they did a good job too. Only thing IIf you want a REAL good laugh - go and see this movie. I don't understand why there are so many negative comments about this movie. It was made to poke some fun at the movie "Paranormal Activity" and they did a good job too. Only thing I would say - this movie is not appropriate for children under 17. I agree with Melinda - when the DVD comes out I would definitely buy it... don't listen to the critics - go and see it - you wont regret it! Expand
8 of 16 users found this helpful88
All this user's reviews
7
Anthony1010Jan 18, 2013
I'm not really sure what people are expecting when going to see a "scary movie" parody starring Marlan Wayans. If you can appreciate stupid humor and constant fart jokes this movie is absolutely hilarious... I was a huge fan of the "ScaryI'm not really sure what people are expecting when going to see a "scary movie" parody starring Marlan Wayans. If you can appreciate stupid humor and constant fart jokes this movie is absolutely hilarious... I was a huge fan of the "Scary Movie" series especially the 2nd and 3rd one, and while this movie has a different feel then that franchise, it still managed to make me laugh uncontrollably for a good portion of the movie. Yes, there were some parts where the writing was sub par but the critics reviews of this movie, like most comedies, is completely unfair. IF YOU LIKE TO LAUGH, GO SEE THIS!! Expand
4 of 10 users found this helpful46
All this user's reviews
8
DatHotnessJan 14, 2013
Don't listen to the "expert" movie critics trashing this movie. My gf and I went to see this over the weekend in a packed theater and the entire room was in hysterics. A hilarious movie that does exactly what the director and writers wantedDon't listen to the "expert" movie critics trashing this movie. My gf and I went to see this over the weekend in a packed theater and the entire room was in hysterics. A hilarious movie that does exactly what the director and writers wanted it to do...make you laugh. Plus, it has a couple of scenes in it that will make you jump at first then laugh immediately after. Probably one of the better parody films to come out in recent memory. Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
8
MrThehammer171May 16, 2013
this movie is funny crazy funny i laughed for a long time like the whole movie i havent seen a movie that made me laugh this hard in a long time watch it
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
9
MelindaJan 14, 2013
I"m stunned by the reviews this movie got. This was/is by far the funniest movie I've seen in a long time. If your looking for a good laugh mixed with a couple scary parts this is your movie. The whole theater was packed everyone was laughingI"m stunned by the reviews this movie got. This was/is by far the funniest movie I've seen in a long time. If your looking for a good laugh mixed with a couple scary parts this is your movie. The whole theater was packed everyone was laughing the whole way thru. A must see. I will certainly be buying this movie when it comes out on DVD. Expand
2 of 9 users found this helpful27
All this user's reviews
10
DanMcManJun 15, 2013
By far the greatest movie I have ever watched. The plot was amazing, the characters were absolutely stunning and the jokes and script were flawless. This movie truly defines the generation of technology we live in and if you disagree you're gay.
3 of 14 users found this helpful311
All this user's reviews
7
TheGamingSofaJan 13, 2013
For what it was, it got a lot done right. It was funny and did a great job at making fun of cliche found footage movies. Was it stupid at times? Yes it was. Was it sloppy? Yes it was. However was it funny? Oh, yeah. It was.
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
0
DeeDubMay 11, 2013
We rented this movie expecting to laugh and enjoy our movie night. I was so embarrassed and completely appalled by all the sex references. I made my teenagers leave the room. My husband should have read the contents first. We didn't evenWe rented this movie expecting to laugh and enjoy our movie night. I was so embarrassed and completely appalled by all the sex references. I made my teenagers leave the room. My husband should have read the contents first. We didn't even watch the entire movie. It was disturbing and not funny. The previews show all the funny parts. I usually like the Wayans' movies, but they went too far on this one. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
7
Forrestgump1Jun 4, 2013
"Say what you will about me. A Haunted House was actually outrageously funny. That spoofs the genre almost perfectly. Marlon Waynes has crafted a worthy film to and It's that rare parody every ten or so years that actually works and makes you"Say what you will about me. A Haunted House was actually outrageously funny. That spoofs the genre almost perfectly. Marlon Waynes has crafted a worthy film to and It's that rare parody every ten or so years that actually works and makes you laugh." B Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
ScrawnyPunkApr 9, 2013
This is a funny movie, with some hilarious scenes. It is definitely stale and slow between jokes, but the comparison needs to be made to the travesty that is has become the Scary Movie franchise and similar "satire" films. WAY better.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
cdk222Feb 11, 2013
Yes the movie is dumb but that was exactly what I was expecting. I definitely laughed a lot and there were even a couple of scares. I'm not saying anyone should rush out and see this movie but if you're looking for a good popcorn movi I'dYes the movie is dumb but that was exactly what I was expecting. I definitely laughed a lot and there were even a couple of scares. I'm not saying anyone should rush out and see this movie but if you're looking for a good popcorn movi I'd recommend this one. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
8
Navelpluis1337Jan 30, 2013
This is not a movie that you watch because you want to watch a good movie - it's a movie you watch to laugh about with your friends. Of course, the acting is bad at times, the story is stupid, but it is hilarious, if you can appreciate theThis is not a movie that you watch because you want to watch a good movie - it's a movie you watch to laugh about with your friends. Of course, the acting is bad at times, the story is stupid, but it is hilarious, if you can appreciate the humour. Now, I fall right into the target audience of this movie - perhaps slightly immature high school kids who laugh at fart jokes. If you are someone who can appreciate a good fart joke, then you will enjoy this movie. Don't watch it because it's good, but watch it because it's fun. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
2
Bruce722May 3, 2013
Surprisingly this film wasn't even as good as most of the Scary Movies. Like those films, this was yet another spoof comedy mocking one or more horror flicks. A Haunted House mostly was a spoof on Paranormal Activity. While there wereSurprisingly this film wasn't even as good as most of the Scary Movies. Like those films, this was yet another spoof comedy mocking one or more horror flicks. A Haunted House mostly was a spoof on Paranormal Activity. While there were certainly some funny parts and Marlon Wayans is his typical funny self, the movie was mostly just stupid, which was to be expected. What was disappointing was that none of the cameos were all that funny. Cedric the Entertainer was stupid and Nick Swardson was too gay. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
OrangeknockoutMar 29, 2014
its about an average move lol I would give it a 5.5 but metacritic doesn't have that score lol overall though haunted house was not a bad movie; I got a couple laughs in this movie, here and there and I did laugh heartily a good couple times;its about an average move lol I would give it a 5.5 but metacritic doesn't have that score lol overall though haunted house was not a bad movie; I got a couple laughs in this movie, here and there and I did laugh heartily a good couple times; for the most part though about a good half of the jokes failed; I was expecting more out of this movie since the wayans were in this but yeahhh it didn't live up to the hype; maybe it was cause keenan wayans didn't direct this or maybe it was cause shawn wayans wasn't in this but all in all this movie lost some of the magic wayans films are known for; I would say though that I did get entertainment out of this movie and I really I would say this film is worth it if youre watching it for free and didn't pay 20 bucks at the theatre; if you are planning on paying for it welllll theeenn, lets just hope youre rich lol Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
survivorfan989Apr 24, 2013
Interesting to have both this and Scary Movie 5 come out around the same time and be pretty much the same movie, but I must admit I think these guys did it just a tad better. There are less pop culture refrences and it focuses more on theInteresting to have both this and Scary Movie 5 come out around the same time and be pretty much the same movie, but I must admit I think these guys did it just a tad better. There are less pop culture refrences and it focuses more on the paranormal stuff which is what it should be doing. Some of the jokes miss the mark but not too many as some are also very funny. I wasn't expecting much from it but was pleasantly surprised when watching it so I think its at least worth checking out! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
HaithamBayazeedApr 14, 2013
A really good movie and so underrated delivers good time, laughs and a look a other horror movies all in one!
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
starzJan 17, 2013
This movie was meant to make fun of paranormal activity not win an academy award. It was funny for the most part but did get sloppy at times. Overall this movie is hilarious and is worth going to theaters to see.
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews