Metascore
20

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 141 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: In an outrageous send up of the Paranormal Activity movies, The Devil Inside and other "found footage" movies, A Haunted House features young couple Malcolm and Kisha who have just moved in to their dream house. As they settle in, they quickly find they’re not alone. But it’s not the houseIn an outrageous send up of the Paranormal Activity movies, The Devil Inside and other "found footage" movies, A Haunted House features young couple Malcolm and Kisha who have just moved in to their dream house. As they settle in, they quickly find they’re not alone. But it’s not the house that’s haunted, it’s Malcolm’s girlfriend who is possessed by a demon. Malcolm hires everyone from a priest to modern day ghostbusters to rid her of this unwelcome intruder, determined not to let the evil spirit ruin his relationship... or, more importantly, his sex life. (Open Road Films) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 16
  2. Negative: 13 out of 16
  1. Reviewed by: Clark Collis
    Jan 11, 2013
    67
    If the result features around 1,783 too many fart gags, to be fair, it also boasts a couple of genuine minor scares. Although there's no doubt that the film's most horrible sight is a way-too-long shot of Swardson's naked rump.
  2. Reviewed by: Emma Morgan
    May 27, 2013
    40
    The moments where you feel the cast are off-script and riffing are fun if not actually funny, but the most horrific thing on offer here is misogyny.
  3. Reviewed by: Sherilyn Connelly
    Jan 15, 2013
    30
    Are the movie's half-dozen genuine laughs there just to tease the audience? What can we do to keep "A Haunted House 2" from happening?
  4. Reviewed by: Rick Groen
    Jan 24, 2013
    25
    Never one to shrink from the challenge of parodying the already parodic, along comes Marlon Wayans to do in A Haunted House what he once did in "Scary Movie." And do it much, much worse.
  5. Reviewed by: A.A. Dowd
    Jan 22, 2013
    20
    This exceedingly lazy comedy is just the first of two "Paranormal Activity" parodies being crammed down our throats this year. The horror!
  6. Reviewed by: Michael Nordine
    Jan 11, 2013
    12
    If you're wondering why A Haunted House exists alongside the upcoming Scary Movie 5 rather than instead of it, you may already have given the subject more thought than Marlon Wayans had hoped.
  7. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Jan 16, 2013
    0
    By eliminating the winking, broad strokes of the filmmakers' more successful spoofs, they've made a film that is not only dumb, but dull. It's like watching a snuff film, only it's the audience who's dying inside.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 58
  2. Negative: 19 out of 58
  1. Jun 15, 2013
    10
    By far the greatest movie I have ever watched. The plot was amazing, the characters were absolutely stunning and the jokes and script wereBy far the greatest movie I have ever watched. The plot was amazing, the characters were absolutely stunning and the jokes and script were flawless. This movie truly defines the generation of technology we live in and if you disagree you're gay. Expand
  2. Jan 14, 2013
    8
    Don't listen to the "expert" movie critics trashing this movie. My gf and I went to see this over the weekend in a packed theater and theDon't listen to the "expert" movie critics trashing this movie. My gf and I went to see this over the weekend in a packed theater and the entire room was in hysterics. A hilarious movie that does exactly what the director and writers wanted it to do...make you laugh. Plus, it has a couple of scenes in it that will make you jump at first then laugh immediately after. Probably one of the better parody films to come out in recent memory. Expand
  3. Jan 18, 2013
    7
    I'm not really sure what people are expecting when going to see a "scary movie" parody starring Marlan Wayans. If you can appreciate stupidI'm not really sure what people are expecting when going to see a "scary movie" parody starring Marlan Wayans. If you can appreciate stupid humor and constant fart jokes this movie is absolutely hilarious... I was a huge fan of the "Scary Movie" series especially the 2nd and 3rd one, and while this movie has a different feel then that franchise, it still managed to make me laugh uncontrollably for a good portion of the movie. Yes, there were some parts where the writing was sub par but the critics reviews of this movie, like most comedies, is completely unfair. IF YOU LIKE TO LAUGH, GO SEE THIS!! Expand
  4. Feb 17, 2013
    5
    There's really nothing *wrong* with this movie, it's just so recycled. It really relies on fart jokes too much and I really think it wouldThere's really nothing *wrong* with this movie, it's just so recycled. It really relies on fart jokes too much and I really think it would work better as a series of SNL skits rather than a movie (seeing as the whole film is one unrelated skit after another). Better than the last 2 Scary Movies, and maybe that's cuz Wayans wasn't involved. Collapse
  5. Jan 3, 2014
    4
    Pointless and not funny at all. A Haunted House is ridiculously crass and 90% of the jokes could be thought up by a 9 year old (with a veryPointless and not funny at all. A Haunted House is ridiculously crass and 90% of the jokes could be thought up by a 9 year old (with a very dirty mind). However it is slightly better than the similar Scary Movie 5. Expand
  6. Jan 1, 2014
    2
    A Haunted House really isn't even a spoof film, it only sets itself up in a horror movie spoof setting, and then makes its own stupid jokes.A Haunted House really isn't even a spoof film, it only sets itself up in a horror movie spoof setting, and then makes its own stupid jokes. Seriously, the jokes and writing don't use the horror element to make it funny, but just use dumb gags. There isn't much more to say.

    F
    Expand
  7. May 11, 2013
    0
    We rented this movie expecting to laugh and enjoy our movie night. I was so embarrassed and completely appalled by all the sex references. IWe rented this movie expecting to laugh and enjoy our movie night. I was so embarrassed and completely appalled by all the sex references. I made my teenagers leave the room. My husband should have read the contents first. We didn't even watch the entire movie. It was disturbing and not funny. The previews show all the funny parts. I usually like the Wayans' movies, but they went too far on this one. Expand

See all 58 User Reviews

Trailers