Columbia Pictures | Release Date: May 11, 2001
6.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 125 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
75
Mixed:
40
Negative:
10
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
MadDadMar 22, 2013
Wonderful entertaiment, a clever, innovative genre-bending movie this is. Taking the viewers back in history when entertaimentst was executions, drinking and card/dice gaming as well as watching jousting tournaments and when the hot danceWonderful entertaiment, a clever, innovative genre-bending movie this is. Taking the viewers back in history when entertaimentst was executions, drinking and card/dice gaming as well as watching jousting tournaments and when the hot dance tunes were traveling minstrels and the big stars were Knights. So, many scenes start out with the Medieval crowd and music but then segue into the crowd chanting or dancing to modern music connecting the scenes to nowadays standard. The movie was meant to show young people today what the equivalent spectacle was to our own current times. This movie is light, funny, inspiring, educative, positive and probably not todays flavor anymore giving an impression of poetry and medieval gentilhommerie, of honor and respect. The story of a poor stable boy who dares to rise above his station maybe an old one but Heath Ledger is wonderful. And Paul Bettany as Geoffrey Chaucer steals the show. The dialogues are witty and sly, literate, moving and emotional. And the comradery of the gang of jousters is a joy to experience. I strongly advise you to watch this movie...and take your kids with you they can learn something! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
MovieLonely94Oct 29, 2010
not excellent, but perfect and very hilarious
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
MrCinnamonJun 12, 2011
This film was a fantastic example of originality. The story was a very ingenious take on the tale from Geoffrey Chaucer, and bringing him into the story was a grand gamble. The scenes of jousting are top notch cinemetography, and the scriptThis film was a fantastic example of originality. The story was a very ingenious take on the tale from Geoffrey Chaucer, and bringing him into the story was a grand gamble. The scenes of jousting are top notch cinemetography, and the script is witty. A great comedy, well worth watching. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
3
NickSMay 23, 2001
I thought this would be an entertaining popcorn film but it so wasn't. I laughed at most of the scenes and the music was so not fitting. When "We Will Rock You" started playing, it wasn't that bad because it was in the soundtrack. I thought this would be an entertaining popcorn film but it so wasn't. I laughed at most of the scenes and the music was so not fitting. When "We Will Rock You" started playing, it wasn't that bad because it was in the soundtrack. But then the people on-screen start clapping and stomping and SINGING, it became ridiculous. Ledger still amazes me that he has a career and Rufus Sewell depresses me for being in such garbage. How he has gone from "Hamlet" to "Dark City" to this crap is beyond me. The friends of the knight are the sole entertainment in this entire film. And that is barely enough to make this film watchable. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
3
NickSMay 23, 2001
I thought this would be an entertaining popcorn film but it so wasn't. I laughed at most of the scenes and the music was so not fitting. When "We Will Rock You" started playing, it wasn't that bad because it was in the soundtrack. I thought this would be an entertaining popcorn film but it so wasn't. I laughed at most of the scenes and the music was so not fitting. When "We Will Rock You" started playing, it wasn't that bad because it was in the soundtrack. But then the people on-screen start clapping and stomping and SINGING, it became ridiculous. Ledger still amazes me that he has a career and Rufus Sewell depresses me for being in such garbage. How he has gone from "Hamlet" to "Dark City" to this crap is beyond me. The friends of the knight are the sole entertainment in this entire film. And that is barely enough to make this film watchable. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
NickSMay 23, 2001
I thought this would be an entertaining popcorn film but it so wasn't. I laughed at most of the scenes and the music was so not fitting. When "We Will Rock You" started playing, it wasn't that bad because it was in the soundtrack. I thought this would be an entertaining popcorn film but it so wasn't. I laughed at most of the scenes and the music was so not fitting. When "We Will Rock You" started playing, it wasn't that bad because it was in the soundtrack. But then the people on-screen start clapping and stomping and SINGING, it became ridiculous. Ledger still amazes me that he has a career and Rufus Sewell depresses me for being in such garbage. How he has gone from "Hamlet" to "Dark City" to this crap is beyond me. The friends of the knight are the sole entertainment in this entire film. And that is barely enough to make this film watchable. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
kublay0880Dec 11, 2012
Honestly I wasn't expecting a comic movie, it was like a classic low budget movie, very bad acting, there was not a single scene that make laugh, poor direction, and there's nothing interesting in the story nor fresh about it. You cans skipHonestly I wasn't expecting a comic movie, it was like a classic low budget movie, very bad acting, there was not a single scene that make laugh, poor direction, and there's nothing interesting in the story nor fresh about it. You cans skip this one without regret. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
DaleH.Feb 13, 2007
I thought it was a very funny, different way of telling a story of medieval times with some modern attributes, the Nike signs was the best (product placement).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SavvySep 1, 2010
This is such a clever, genre-bending movie. What's odd to me is that many folks didn't "get" the intention of the filmmakers. They take us back to the days when the BIG weekend sport was jousting and when the hot dance tunes were travelingThis is such a clever, genre-bending movie. What's odd to me is that many folks didn't "get" the intention of the filmmakers. They take us back to the days when the BIG weekend sport was jousting and when the hot dance tunes were traveling minstrels and the big sports stars were Knights. So, many scenes start out with the Medieval crowd and music but then segue into the crowd chanting or dancing to modern music. My take on this: it was meant to show young people what the equivalent spectacle was to our own current times. Actually, when you watch the movie with that key to understanding the soundtrack -- it is just great fun and inspirational.

The story of a poor stable boy who dares to rise above his station maybe an old one -- but Heath Ledger is wonderful. And Paul Bettany as Geoffrey Chaucer steals the show. The dialogue is witty and sly and literate. And the comradery of the gang of jousters is a joy to experience. This is one of my favorite "feel good" films.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
LordOFlibertYJan 21, 2012
cool, comedic film I think this is by favourite Ledger movie with the exception of Dark Knight also I became of Bettany
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
spielbrick90Oct 23, 2011
I found the film very funny and I thought that the characters were believable, it was not that medieval when the crowd started chanting 'We Will Rock You' though. I thought Heath Ledger's portrayal of William was good and I thought that hisI found the film very funny and I thought that the characters were believable, it was not that medieval when the crowd started chanting 'We Will Rock You' though. I thought Heath Ledger's portrayal of William was good and I thought that his friends were hilarious. I did enjoy it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
OfficialNov 15, 2013
What I most hate about "A Knight's Tale" is the soundtrack. When the movie begins, you see a group of people singing "We Will Rock You". Excuse me, this is the 14th century, the song isn't released yet. Ultimately, you'll find that "AWhat I most hate about "A Knight's Tale" is the soundtrack. When the movie begins, you see a group of people singing "We Will Rock You". Excuse me, this is the 14th century, the song isn't released yet. Ultimately, you'll find that "A Knight's Tale" is a silly medieval tale. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ZeTomesJun 27, 2012
Let me rephrase - A Tale, a Knight's one.

Yes, as the title says it's a tale, a fictional story told by someone independently from its time and historicity. This tale was told by the bard Brian Helgeland and it's a refreshing, slushy,
Let me rephrase - A Tale, a Knight's one.

Yes, as the title says it's a tale, a fictional story told by someone independently from its time and historicity. This tale was told by the bard Brian Helgeland and it's a refreshing, slushy, musical, theatrical, and epic one like Robin Hoood's, also, it has excellent actors a very fluid narrative, magic, utopia and astonishing costumes and scenarios.

It reminds me Moulin Rouge and its recycling past and present style.

I think it's a case of a wrongly rated movie just because of pretentious historical arguments - perhaps those judging didn't understand that this movie is in fact, a tale! Told by someone's imagination living in modern times triggering merged chronological images from past listened tales or a description of our contemporary archetype of a medieval tale merging past and present. Either philosophizing or not this film is clearly and obviously an admitted chronological fusion. It's the trace of this movie.

In my opinion I think there were only a few bad choices which sounded exaggerated to the audience, perhaps the reasons for the low rating and perhaps the director's will to peremptorily justify that indeed this movie is concerning fictional imagination and not historical acuity, overexposing the spectator with the first minutes of it: "We will Rock You" the initial musical score interacting with the medieval contest is exaggeratedly slushy and without convincing extras. It sounds pompous. I was about to quit this one after those first few minutes.

But one should move on (in some cases indeed one shouldn't) and rate a movie not by its pieces but by its whole, continuing to check if the initial impressions were right. In my case they weren't. I was surprised. For the rest I'll take my hat to a very entertaining, humorous and fresh piece of work with very talented acting. It reminded me my imaginary stories dressed with fancy modern clothes wondered from tasty tales read in old books.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
cameronmorewoodNov 18, 2012
A bouncy mix of farce and fury, A Knight's Tale delivers classic entertainment on multiple levels.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
oblique15Mar 2, 2013
I loved it, You have to go in with an open mind. The movie does not take it self to serious, has music way ahead of it`s time. I find it to be a classic, cause I have watched it on TV several times after, never gets old.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Rox22Sep 29, 2013
A decent enough movie that does little new in its overall idea. However delivery and execution are what set this movie apart from the medieval knight movie that came before it.

The modernisation of medieval times was a new concept at the
A decent enough movie that does little new in its overall idea. However delivery and execution are what set this movie apart from the medieval knight movie that came before it.

The modernisation of medieval times was a new concept at the time this movie came out and portrayed medieval culture in a relatively realistic setting. I do imagine this movie shows people of the age in a more realistic light. Granted, it's still a parody, but one set with a realistic undertone.

Overall:
Regardless, A Knight's Tale is a highly enjoyable movie that is everything you would want and expect from a movie about knights. Adventure romance, comedy. Just a shame the whole idea behind it feels a little tired.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
westbrook21Jun 29, 2013
Funny, feel good film that has a strong enough storyline and keeps the viewer engaged. Great acting from Heath Ledger finishes off a film well worth a watch
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ThatCooperGuySep 12, 2015
Anachronisms aside, this is a wonderfully entertaining movie. Yes the classic rock songs can throw you off a bit, but you start smiling and you just go, "Meh, who really cares?" I think the best thing about this film is that it decided to beAnachronisms aside, this is a wonderfully entertaining movie. Yes the classic rock songs can throw you off a bit, but you start smiling and you just go, "Meh, who really cares?" I think the best thing about this film is that it decided to be an entertaining movie before being accurate to it's time period. If a film can be this accepting then it's clearly doing something right. The cinematography & set design are both good, the acting is well done(especially by the late but great Heath Ledger), and the stunt work is terrific. Even though it's out of place, I really do like this movie's soundtrack. It is strange to have classic rock everywhere, but at least Brian Helgeland chose GOOD songs to be in the movie. "A Knight's Tale" is just one of those movies you can't stay mad at. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews