Metascore
14

Overwhelming dislike - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 20
  2. Negative: 16 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    May 4, 2012
    0
    With the abysmal A Little Bit of Heaven, Kate Hudson's possibly unprecedented losing streak remains unbroken: She hasn't made a good movie since Almost Famous, 12 long years ago. Even Nicolas Cage can't say that.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    May 4, 2012
    0
    Droolingly stupid weepie. Useful tip: The movie dies way quicker than she does.
  3. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    May 3, 2012
    25
    In the long history of bad movies about bad illnesses, A Little Bit of Heaven just might be the worst.
  4. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    May 2, 2012
    16
    Terminal colon cancer has never looked more fetching than in the critically ill romantic-disease comedy A Little Bit of Heaven.
  5. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    May 3, 2012
    0
    As far as director Nicole Kassell and writer Gren Wells are concerned, the C in Big C must stand for cute. The film reaches into the pits of moviegoing hell when it finds Marley on a celestial white couch, ringed in billowing white curtains, communing with God. And God is embodied by Whoopi Goldberg.
  6. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    May 3, 2012
    0
    A cringe-inducing romantic comedy turned cancer tragedy turned inspirational hosanna about living in the moment, embracing your bliss and other clichés.
  7. Reviewed by: Keith Phipps
    May 2, 2012
    25
    Bravely or stupidly, both A Little Bit Of Heaven and its heroine charge on as if the introduction of terminal cancer didn't change things that much.
  8. Reviewed by: Frank Scheck
    May 4, 2012
    20
    An awkward mixture of melodrama and whimsical romantic comedy that should make the briefest of appearances in theaters before, like its main character, moving on to other planes. It might serve a valuable purpose if it at least prompts viewers to finally schedule those long delayed colonoscopies.
  9. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Apr 28, 2012
    20
    This film is one long biopsy of pure horror: the tumours of sentimentality and bad acting metastasise everywhere, and Bernal, in particular, is horrendously bad.
  10. Reviewed by: Nick Pinkerton
    May 1, 2012
    10
    A Little Bit of Heaven demands miracles of its cast to keep proceedings from becoming grindingly mawkish and does not get them.
  11. Reviewed by: Ben Kenigsberg
    May 1, 2012
    20
    Cringeworthy feel-good weepie, which finds Kate Hudson's vivacious ad-pitch whiz questioning her life choices after being diagnosed with terminal colon cancer.
  12. Reviewed by: Andrew Schenker
    May 3, 2012
    25
    Unsurprisingly for a film detailing terminal disease, this is a largely solemn affair, often verging on morbidity in its elongated deathwatch.
  13. Reviewed by: Leslie Felperin
    Apr 28, 2012
    20
    An only fitfully convincing Hudson leads a strong-on-paper cast, but most of the actors look uncomfortable here, particularly Gael Garcia Bernal as her love interest.
  14. May 3, 2012
    20
    A moment of silence, please, for Kate Hudson's career.
  15. Reviewed by: Sheri Linden
    May 3, 2012
    30
    The movie perks up during Dinklage's scene as an escort, and screeches to a painful halt for a few conversations with God, who's played by a cloud-roosting Whoopi Goldberg. In a sophomore letdown from "The Woodsman," director Nicole Kassell gives the film no energy or rhythm, while the script pushes all the pre-set buttons.
  16. Reviewed by: Randy Cordova
    May 3, 2012
    20
    There is nothing the slightest bit heavenly about this project, which is wrong-headed in just about every department.
User Score
4.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 7
  2. Negative: 3 out of 7
  1. May 5, 2012
    0
    This things happen when you have a terrible idea, with a terrible director, and no great cast, A Little Bit of Heaven, is horrible, really, I like this type of movies, but this is awful. The performances of all the cast are stupid, the story boring and more, this movie is HORRIBLE!! Full Review »
  2. Jun 16, 2012
    3
    Yes, this is a bad movie, though out of all the stinkers out there, I am not sure why this should merit the lowest score of anything currently in release. It fails in many ways, but is not so obviously bad at any one point that it made me finally give it up. It's just that when there's such famous actors involved on such a weighty subject, you really expect more. There is no chemistry in the leads, there is no consistency in the actions, it isn't funny (when it tries), it never develops momentum. It also seems odd to have a terminal patient feeling energetic enough to energetically do whatever they want with smiles and laughter so close to death. That aspect finally rings so untrue, I began to wonder how much better it would be to have the script and actors facing some more serious symptoms. When you find yourself wishing for more bad things to happen to a character in a film, that's a bad sign. Full Review »
  3. Nov 12, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. I'm entirely shocked by some of these reviews... I felt that this movie was incredible. It is a story of a woman who learns unfortunate information and uses humor in serious/uncomfortable situation(s). Whoopi Goldberg was a perfect "God" for Hudson's character, Marley. They are a perfect fit! I was extremely moved by the Bernal's performance of Dr. Goldstein, Punch's performance of Marley's friend, Sarah, etc... I found this story very moving and personally life changing as I feel a connection with Marley. Furthermore, I now know that I will be having a Celebration of Life when my life here comes to a halt. I recommend this movie to all. Full Review »