A Little Help


Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 21
  2. Negative: 2 out of 21

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Jul 27, 2011
    It's manipulative, yes, but clever and persuasive in its manipulations.
  2. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Jul 22, 2011
    File this one in the same category of edgy Long Island comedies as the equally smart 2009 Alec Baldwin film "Lymelife."
  3. Reviewed by: Calvin Wilson
    Jul 28, 2011
    Smith turns in a subtly layered performance that suggests the hurt behind Kathy's callousness. And O'Donnell gets to the heart of a man who realizes too late that he's made unfortunate choices.
  4. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Jul 28, 2011
    This is one of the smarter, more honest scripts to be filmed in quite some time. And Jenna Fischer, star of "The Office," gives one of the smarter, more honest - and vulnerable, and tough - performances by an actress on the big screen in an even longer stretch.
  5. Reviewed by: Keith Staskiewicz
    Jul 20, 2011
    Fischer's performance is sweet and subtle, but the film can be so understated in tone and plot that it's hard to tell if it's actually saying anything.
  6. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Jul 28, 2011
    A Little Help settles for familiar and modest payoffs. It's not much. Yet Fischer clearly relishes the chance to play someone who's a demurely reckless mess.
User Score

Mixed or average reviews- based on 4 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 1 out of 2
  1. Sep 1, 2014
    Jenna Fischer is a wonderful actress. Nevertheless, A Little Help is a tad bit too depressing for the girl we know and love from The Office.Jenna Fischer is a wonderful actress. Nevertheless, A Little Help is a tad bit too depressing for the girl we know and love from The Office. There's little purpose surrounding the near-constant depression of the flick--how is that entertaining? Full Review »
  2. Nov 28, 2011
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Started slow but built up some steam. Dialogue is spot on, making me remember things I wished I had and had not done. The LIE is the biggest parking lot in the US. Mom & son (Fischer & Yelsky) acted perfectly although other characters a bit over the top. I was rooting for this little family to make it; the ending makes me hope they do. O'Donnell role silly and poorly done but I guess they wanted a name to help promote the film. Warren looks great, though underused, but smartly. Liebman looks ill. Smith character a stereotype but makes the point. Lastly Paul, (Benedict) is the dad I tried to be, with the same misgivings about my youth. Well worth a look. Full Review »