Lions Gate Films | Release Date: December 29, 2004
7.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 46 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
33
Mixed:
9
Negative:
4
WATCH NOW
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
EdwinK.Apr 15, 2006
Nice movie with some great songs. Realistic story, not the larger than life kind we get so often. A pitty there are so many spoiled critics around these days. Usually the viewers are no better, but in this case they are pretty spot on.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GazboBApr 29, 2006
I bloody well liked it, John and Scarlett and all the cast played their parts, Elliot Davis did magic with the camera.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
WilliamH.Jul 11, 2006
I thought the film was touching with a real sense of family and the slow southern society.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarolynW.Oct 19, 2005
Great actors, great script. Speaks to those of us from a "broken" home, and who the hell isn't these days. Quite intellectual and may be hard for some to understand, stick to romantic comedies if you can't respect the feel of this Great actors, great script. Speaks to those of us from a "broken" home, and who the hell isn't these days. Quite intellectual and may be hard for some to understand, stick to romantic comedies if you can't respect the feel of this moving film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LaurenceC.Sep 23, 2006
My wife and I just caught up with it on cable and we loved it. Scarlett was magnicient. Travolta was good and Macht was terrific. Also Debbie Unger.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickNJul 19, 2008
Brilliant adaptation of Ronald Everett Capps "Off Magazine Street." This may not be for everyone, but this is one of the films I can't resist each time I see it playing on TV.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RoseN.Dec 12, 2009
Being from the South, the accents are actually pretty close. This film has been in my collection since he came out on DVD. A lost film about real character, not larger than life outrageous story-lines. Scarlett Johannsen and Gabriel Macht Being from the South, the accents are actually pretty close. This film has been in my collection since he came out on DVD. A lost film about real character, not larger than life outrageous story-lines. Scarlett Johannsen and Gabriel Macht give the best performances in the most. Scarlett as a tough yet still young, impressionable teenage girl who is well beyond her years. Macht as a broken hopeless romantic who has some honor and a lot of guilt. The true beauty in this movie was the well-spoken real life conversation and the enchanting music. I give this movie a 10 because I have watched it at least 30 to 40 times and I fall in love with it all over again every time. Low-budget, but brilliant in its simplicity. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
kyle20ellisJan 8, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Being from the South, the accents are actually pretty close. This film has been in my collection since he came out on DVD. A lost film about real character, not larger than life outrageous story-lines. Scarlett Johannsen and Gabriel Macht give the best performances in the most. Scarlett as a tough yet still young, impressionable teenage girl who is well beyond her years. Macht as a broken hopeless romantic who has some honor and a lot of guilt. The true beauty in this movie was the well-spoken real life conversation and the enchanting music. I give this movie a 10 because I have watched it at least 30 to 40 times and I fall in love with it all over again every time. Low-budget, but brilliant in its simplicity. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews