Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Reviewed by: Kenneth Turan
    Jul 24, 2014
    100
    [A] crackerjack thriller, at once brooding, claustrophobic and unbearably tense.
  2. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Jul 24, 2014
    100
    A Most Wanted Man works as a crowd-pleaser and as a believable reflection of how these fictional events might well play out in the real world.
  3. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Jul 24, 2014
    100
    Although the cast is uniformly fine, Hoffman shines in a role that demands not showmanship, but a kind of complexity and contradiction that can be rendered only through the kind of dull character details that he excelled in, accumulating them from the inside out.
  4. Reviewed by: Alan Scherstuhl
    Jul 22, 2014
    90
    A Most Wanted Man is simply a complex tale superbly told, with time for nuance and to soak in its mysteries.
  5. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Jul 25, 2014
    88
    A Most Wanted Man's cast - a mix of Germans speaking English, Americans speaking English with German accents, Russians, and men and women from the Middle East - is uniformly stellar.
  6. Reviewed by: Calvin Wilson
    Jul 24, 2014
    88
    The rare film that will remain on your mind long after you’ve left the theater.
  7. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Jul 24, 2014
    88
    The great pleasure of le Carré-land — for some, it’s the frustration — is that one’s own moral certainties are quickly stood on their head.
  8. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Jul 24, 2014
    88
    Every move Hoffman makes subtly rivets attention. There's the uncanny German accent, the boozing, the chain-smoking, the glances at his assistant (Nina Hoss), the secret life he keeps hidden and the betrayals even Günther can't see coming. Hoffman is simply magnificent. Face it. We won't see his like again.
  9. 88
    Hoffman is merely the first among equals in a stellar cast.
  10. Reviewed by: Marc Mohan
    Jul 25, 2014
    83
    As usual in Le Carre's world (and the real one), a measured, rational approach faces an uphill battle against the philistines who really run the show. That predictably weary attitude is both the best — as embodied in Hoffman's performance — and worst — in its weary predictability — things about A Most Wanted Man.
  11. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Jul 24, 2014
    83
    Corbijn keeps the intrigue uncluttered, guided by Andrew Bovell's economical adapted screenplay.
  12. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Jul 23, 2014
    83
    A Most Wanted Man allows Hoffman to go out with not only one of his best performances, but one that epitomizes his strengths.
  13. Reviewed by: Kate Erbland
    Jan 20, 2014
    83
    While the final act might not surprise or stun, it does feature some classic le Carre movements, some trademark Corbijn ease, and a terrifying Hoffman bellowing at the sky – not so bad for just another spy film.
User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 113 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 38
  2. Negative: 4 out of 38
  1. Jul 27, 2014
    10
    Hits on all cylinders. Acting, directing, cinematography, writing. Dimensional characters, tautly acted, against a great story. You can tellHits on all cylinders. Acting, directing, cinematography, writing. Dimensional characters, tautly acted, against a great story. You can tell there was craft in the directing and cinematography, but it doesn't call attention to itself, rather choosing to serve storytelling. Full Review »
  2. Aug 24, 2014
    8
    Overall, A Most Wanted Man was satisfying as all hell. Like I said above, we rarely get spy thriller movies like this anymore and this oneOverall, A Most Wanted Man was satisfying as all hell. Like I said above, we rarely get spy thriller movies like this anymore and this one definitely filled the big empty hole for this type of movie in my life. It was interesting, exciting, intense, and the perfect amount of thrill to make a money spy movie. But going back to it all, Philip Seymour Hoffman delivered as he usually does, almost bringing a tear to your eye as we now know that he leaves us with one his best performances ever. Full Review »
  3. Aug 7, 2014
    9
    The work of intelligence case officers is really accurate according to at least 20-30 books I’ve read on it. That alone is worth it, becauseThe work of intelligence case officers is really accurate according to at least 20-30 books I’ve read on it. That alone is worth it, because no other films seem to get that right (John le Carre was in MI6 so maybe that’s why). But also, Philip Seymore Hoffman was amazing. His character was crazy real, and the worst/best thing about it is you kind of felt like it was really him. As one reviewer said “ And the two of them, actor and character, fit so tightly into that abused and collapsing body up on the screen...” which is dead on in my opinion.

    But I don’t know why in the hell they cast Rachel McAdams, she’s so terrible and it took me out of the film at times, not just her "accent" but acting as well, although it is mainly a casting problem I think. They should have cast Jessica Chastain instead like they were considering.
    Full Review »