Metascore
26

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 79 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: Chris Kattan and Will Ferrell reprise their roles as Steve and Doug Butabi, two pathetic brothers who try to work their way onto the list of one of Hollywood's hippest nightclubs.
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 14
  2. Negative: 8 out of 14
  1. I will admit that this TV skit stretched out to a filament-thin 83 minutes is idiotic, but I mean that in a good way.
  2. Reviewed by: Dennis Harvey
    60
    The track record of SNL-drawn movies is dire ("It's Pat," "Stuart Saves His Family," "Blues Brothers 2000"), and this one stands just a peg higher, as an amiable, if flyweight, di-version.
  3. Kattan and Ferrell do their best to fill out the shallow Butabis.
  4. One could criticize A Night at the Roxbury for being a comedy that provides not a single laugh. That would be too easy.
  5. 25
    The sad thing about A Night at the Roxbury is that the characters are in a one-joke movie, and they're the joke.
  6. Reviewed by: Nicole Campos
    20
    That Amy Heckerling produced and, supposedly, had an uncredited hand in scripting this turkey is the saddest thing I've heard all year.
  7. 10
    Running a mere 83 minutes, A Night At The Roxbury still feels like an eternity spent in bad high-concept-movie hell.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 18
  2. Negative: 4 out of 18
  1. Feb 11, 2014
    10
    What is love? Baby don't Hurt me. one of the most epicness Scene made ever, is a very fun movie But, the critic hate this Master ComedyWhat is love? Baby don't Hurt me. one of the most epicness Scene made ever, is a very fun movie But, the critic hate this Master Comedy piece... Baby don't hurt me, Don't hurt me, No more.... Expand
  2. Jul 21, 2014
    10
    The movie is a cult classic and that's because it is very memorable and a great time to watch. The comedic duo Will Farrel and Chris KattanThe movie is a cult classic and that's because it is very memorable and a great time to watch. The comedic duo Will Farrel and Chris Kattan are hilarious together and the movie also has a very distinct and memorable soundtrack with such hits like What Is Love? and Be My Lover. If you're around with your buddies and you're looking for a movie to have fun with, laugh hard at, and give your guys a whole series of inside jokes, watch this movie. Highly recommended. Expand
  3. Feb 14, 2012
    10
    What is Love? Baby don't hurt me, don't hurt me, no more.. That single scene when the guys are headbanging at What is Love deserves a perfectWhat is Love? Baby don't hurt me, don't hurt me, no more.. That single scene when the guys are headbanging at What is Love deserves a perfect rating... Expand
  4. Jan 4, 2015
    5
    I wouldn't call it great. It's definitely dumb, and the characters definitely don't have depth, but somehow it's still sort of amusing.I wouldn't call it great. It's definitely dumb, and the characters definitely don't have depth, but somehow it's still sort of amusing. There were a couple of scenes that were actually sort of funny, like the wedding being interrupted with "Baby don't hurt me", and Will Ferrel was definitely very committed to his idiotic character. But really, that's about it. There's not that much here on either side of the equation, painful or inspired. So in the end it "don't hurt me" that much, but it doesn't do much else either. Expand
  5. Dec 9, 2014
    1
    1/5★
    One note characters in a one joke film stretched past the breaking point. Its interesting now as a pre-stardom Will Ferrell film but
    1/5★
    One note characters in a one joke film stretched past the breaking point. Its interesting now as a pre-stardom Will Ferrell film but otherwise its a stupid waste of time.

    Verdict: Skip
    Expand
  6. AdamB.
    Apr 21, 2007
    0
    Most actors have their flops. This is Will Ferrell's. Unfunny, boring, and cheesy are the only words that will come to your mind after Most actors have their flops. This is Will Ferrell's. Unfunny, boring, and cheesy are the only words that will come to your mind after watching this movie. What was once a brilliant sketch is ruined by the complex stupidity of a film with an ego bigger than its hit. Expand
  7. Jul 8, 2011
    0
    Seriously, does anyone who liked this movie have a brain? This was the most pathetic piece of crap movie I've ever seen. I felt embarrassedSeriously, does anyone who liked this movie have a brain? This was the most pathetic piece of crap movie I've ever seen. I felt embarrassed for the actors while watching this, the jokes were so lame. Unless your an 8 year old with down syndrome, I do not recommend it for anyone. Collapse

See all 18 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Will Ferrell and Mark Wahlberg: All Films Considered

    Will Ferrell and Mark Wahlberg: All Films Considered Image
    Published: August 3, 2010
    The co-stars of this week's "The Other Guys" are hoping that the new action-comedy breaks them out of a slump. We look at the best and worst films of their careers to date.
  2. Ranked: The Best Women Film Directors (and Their Films)

    Ranked: The Best Women Film Directors (and Their Films) Image
    Published: July 17, 2010
    Even in a year where the directing Oscar went to a woman for the first time, female filmmakers still don't receive the recognition that their male counterparts do. We look at the top women directors and their films, including the two best-reviewed live-action films of the summer.