Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 130 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Nancy Thompson is suffering from violent nightmares about a badly burned man wearing a glove made of knives. She quickly learns that this man – child molester Freddy Krueger – is also terrorizing the dreams of her friends and boyfriend, Glen. As they begin to die one by one in their sleep,Nancy Thompson is suffering from violent nightmares about a badly burned man wearing a glove made of knives. She quickly learns that this man – child molester Freddy Krueger – is also terrorizing the dreams of her friends and boyfriend, Glen. As they begin to die one by one in their sleep, Nancy learns, that years prior, the parents of Elm Street burned Krueger alive – and now Freddy is back to claim their children’s lives as revenge! As the teenagers of Elm Street fight to stay awake, Nancy must save their lives and her own by bringing Freddy out of their dreams and back into the real world to destroy him forever. (New Line Cinema) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. 88
    A Nightmare on Elm Street is tailor made for those who like their gore leavened with thought-provoking ideas - something that is a rarity in this genre.
  2. Reviewed by: Clark Collis
    83
    Some of the effects remain nicely repulsive; Freddy himself comes across as a genuinely nasty piece of work, far removed from his later incarnation.
  3. 80
    Here the idea of sleep as the ultimate threat is still fresh and marvelously insidious, and Craven vitalizes the nightmare sequences with assorted surrealist novelties.
  4. Reviewed by: Gavin Bainbridge
    80
    Turning slumberland into a twisted murderer's den is a masterstroke by Craven, who has brought new blood to a genre that seemed as if it might choke on it's own excesses.
  5. Reviewed by: (Staff Not Cretdited)
    80
    A Nightmare on Elm Street is a highly imaginative horror film that provides the requisite shocks to keep fans of the genre happy.
  6. A Nightmare on Elm Street puts more emphasis on bizarre special effects, which aren't at all bad.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Jul 20, 2013
    10
    A Nightmare on Elm Street is really creepy and masterful with inventive and original ideas. The visual effects are amazing, first rate intenseA Nightmare on Elm Street is really creepy and masterful with inventive and original ideas. The visual effects are amazing, first rate intense ideas. The plot is horrifying and scary as hell, with twists and thrills that you will stay with you for a long time. The acting is above mediocre but not perfect. Overall, it is funny, scary and great. Expand
  2. Apr 11, 2014
    10
    as i was watching i was completely bored well some parts i got bored . but i got really entertained when things got juicy . " Nightmare of elmas i was watching i was completely bored well some parts i got bored . but i got really entertained when things got juicy . " Nightmare of elm street rocks . Robert Enguland is a kick ass nightmare killer . Grade A+
    P.s i cant wait to watch nightmare of elm street 2
    Expand
  3. Apr 10, 2013
    10
    This is my favorite film. There are all i need...
    This is most horrible film ever. I always loved this one. Characters have very emotional
    This is my favorite film. There are all i need...
    This is most horrible film ever. I always loved this one. Characters have very emotional role. Plot is very original. Horror may be just call horror, but A Nightmare on Elm Street is realy scary.
    Expand
  4. TracyD.
    Apr 30, 2010
    9
    Loved the movie. I have been reading what critics have been saying and I think it is a bit of a joke. I see how one can objectively judge Loved the movie. I have been reading what critics have been saying and I think it is a bit of a joke. I see how one can objectively judge this movie without seeing the original, but wanting it to "say something" or "send a message" is asinine. It would be a bigger issue if the story got away from the original. For those who right articles and reviews without seeing the original miss that point. I was happy to see an updated version of a great horror flick. I would nudge my wife, which hasn't seen the original as well, at which scenes were derived from the original. I didn't see this as another Jennifer's Body or some other horror film that takes all the 17 years olds Expand
  5. Dec 28, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I don't care what anyone says, this film is hilarious. It has really campy acting and especially bad acting from Johnny Depp. The funniest part of this movie is when the main female antagonist is fighting Freddy. But, not to say this movie has its creepy scenes as well. The creepiest parts being when Freddy is dragging his nails alongside the walls. I am giving this movie a 9/10 for how scary it was back in the day. 9/10 (Awesome) Expand
  6. Dec 13, 2011
    8
    I Nightmare on Elm Street is a great horror film. It's clever, original, and most importantly, it's actually scary. It's a highlight ofI Nightmare on Elm Street is a great horror film. It's clever, original, and most importantly, it's actually scary. It's a highlight of maestro of horror Wes Craven's career, and introduced one of the most terrifying and iconic movie monsters of all, Freddy Krueger (chillingly portrayed by Robert Englund). It's Craven's ability to derive scares from our natural fear of the unknown that makes the film work on so many levels. We know so little about dreams, and the idea that they can cross over into the real world is a disturbing concept indeed. You can't underestimate the influence of Nightmare on films either, as without it, you probably wouldn't have Craven's self-deprecating Scream franchise, or such intellectual blockbusters addressing similar material as Christopher Nolan's Inception. Despite its numerous scares and philosophical themes standing up even today, some aspects of A Nightmare on Elm Street haven't quite stood the test of time. The sequence where Freddy walks out of the mist with pantomime-prop-quality extended arms and the infamous rubber legs being dragged through the tiny window border on laughable when watched today. That said, these minor gripes do little to ruin your enjoyment of a seminal horror film. It's not just a slasher flick, there's actually some intelligence behind it, which makes a nice change to the dumb modern Hollywood horror. Expand
  7. Jul 20, 2011
    5
    I watched this movie expecting too be scared witless. I was unfortunately not. Sure, the concept is fantastic and original. The villain in theI watched this movie expecting too be scared witless. I was unfortunately not. Sure, the concept is fantastic and original. The villain in the first 3/4 of the movie is quite malevolent, when he isn't using cheesy one-liners. The music builds great suspense, and the movie as a whole does build suspense. But, those are the good things. The acting is sub-par, especially on the part of Heather Langenkamp. I am pretty sure that the death scene with Johnny Depp had more blood then what is in 3 humans. I'll admit that from the start until the deaths of the first two characters, I enjoyed the movie. But, then it got bogged down with campiness. The whole fighting Freddy scene with the elaborate traps was a little far-fetched. I mean she shouldn't know how to do any of those things, but then she suddenly does. But, my main problem with the movie is how Freddy is vanquished. "I give you no energy", seriously? That is the campiest and cheesiest thing I have ever heard in a "horror" movie. It is the worst possible way I can think of to have killed him. Overall, it is a horror classic. However, it should not be a classic. It is not that good of a movie, and I unfortunately do not recommend seeing it. Expand

See all 32 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Wes Craven's Best and Worst Movies

    Ranked: Wes Craven's Best and Worst Movies Image
    Published: October 21, 2010
    Just in time for Halloween, our week of horror-related articles kicks off with a look at the career of one of the genre's most prolific directors, Wes Craven.
  2. Ranked: The Nightmare on Elm Street Series

    Ranked: The Nightmare on Elm Street Series Image
    Published: April 26, 2010
    How does the upcoming "Nightmare on Elm Street" remake compare with the other films in the horror franchise? We run through the entire series, from best to worst.