Rogue Pictures | Release Date: August 7, 2009
6.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 106 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
56
Mixed:
33
Negative:
17
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
TerenceSAug 14, 2009
Wow. Metacritic really let me down on this one. I guessed the twist in this movie in the first 5 minutes. The movie gets down right comical at the end. One of the user reviews comparing something to the The Seven Samurai, Akira Kurosawa is Wow. Metacritic really let me down on this one. I guessed the twist in this movie in the first 5 minutes. The movie gets down right comical at the end. One of the user reviews comparing something to the The Seven Samurai, Akira Kurosawa is turning over in his grave with that comment. Overall, if you're looking for a really stupid, comical, bad movie...Then, I'd jump at this one. Otherwise, Red Box it for a $1. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MikeMikeAug 10, 2009
Spoiler Alert.... Spoiler Alert.... Spoiler Alert.... Wow, the first 11 user votes have got to be from shills. Add to that Roger Ebert who says the film "only seems to cheat". What?!?! Is he an independant critic or a paid advertisement? He Spoiler Alert.... Spoiler Alert.... Spoiler Alert.... Wow, the first 11 user votes have got to be from shills. Add to that Roger Ebert who says the film "only seems to cheat". What?!?! Is he an independant critic or a paid advertisement? He is smarter than that... This film is the very example of cheating. Similar to overuse of the "dream sequence", where the audience is suckered into believing some incredible plot line only to find out it was all a dream, this movie feeds you hook line and sinker with no possible misreading or "other explanation" behind the reveal. By complete trickery we are lead to believe that the actual killers could not POSSIBLY be the actual killers. The only way to justify this trickery is for us as the audience to understand, unequivocally, from the beginning, that the whole movie is a play on itself. In my opinion we are unaware until the tricks are revealed. Which means that the movie completely relies on trickery. We catch a few quirky clues early on like the red snapper joke and some references to screen writing, but that is not enough for us to understand that the whole thing is a farce. This could have been a great movie if presented as farce. IMO the farce isn't completely revealed until the lead realizes his hands are so mangled he can't hold a gun. Now that's funny. Why not clue us in on that early enough that it gets a good laugh instead of a huge sigh? Then we find out that the killers were putting on a great act. That's fine. But we the viewers, from the omniscient point of view we are given, should have known it was an act. Instead we were deliberately tricked. Omniscience and trickery are mutually exclusive. If we see everything then we can't be tricked. But we are. We are deliberately shown some things that are not true. It is OK to mislead the audience by selectively showing or not showing certain elements, but when the omniscient viewer sees something that is patently false in order to trick him/her...this is bad storytelling. This type of trickery is a textbook no-no and for good reason. This is an insult to the reader/viewer and must be done with great care. There is no care here in my opinion, only insult. I give the 3 just for the scenery which is beautiful. The rest is a disaster. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
PatrickA.Jan 10, 2010
I simply CANNOT understand what engaged the people who rated this movie highly. OK -- maybe the scenery is beautiful -- which it is. The storyline is very superficial, though, and the movie ends with a "twist" that transpires so artificially I simply CANNOT understand what engaged the people who rated this movie highly. OK -- maybe the scenery is beautiful -- which it is. The storyline is very superficial, though, and the movie ends with a "twist" that transpires so artificially that it negates any other interesting things of the movie. Two thumbs down, but it did remind me that my trip to Hawaii is long overdue. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MichaelMDec 30, 2009
Wow, on this one the critics are seriously disconnected from reality. The setting and the two male lead characters, played by Olyphant and Zhan, were the best parts of this movie. The script was horrible, with the twist coming very cheaply Wow, on this one the critics are seriously disconnected from reality. The setting and the two male lead characters, played by Olyphant and Zhan, were the best parts of this movie. The script was horrible, with the twist coming very cheaply and at the expense of earlier contradicting lines and scenes (don't want to spoil it, but the twist doesn't work at all - it is actually totally laughable). If you want this movie to make sense, fall head first from over 30 feet onto some concrete, and quickly hit the play button. Add to that that the two female leads couldn't act straight - both putting on non-native accents and it showed. Shocked that anyone thought this was an acceptable movie. Avoid. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
Hi,I'mSeanAug 17, 2009
I completely agree with Mike Mike, below. What was Roger Ebert thinking when he wrote that review!? Anyone who couldn't see where this was headed from about the 8 minute mark was paying more attention to their popcorn than the movie. As I completely agree with Mike Mike, below. What was Roger Ebert thinking when he wrote that review!? Anyone who couldn't see where this was headed from about the 8 minute mark was paying more attention to their popcorn than the movie. As I watched this, I actually pondered the possibility that, as a society, our capacity for analysis and critical thought must have deteriorated to the point where even cliches seem fresh and surprising. There's no need to alert people to spoilers here. The movie is exactly what you think it will be. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
EdAug 9, 2009
I don't get the great reviews for this movie. Apparently if you like David Twohy's previous work (which I do), you must feel compelled to look upon this more favorably. What was so special about it, or that you hadn't seen I don't get the great reviews for this movie. Apparently if you like David Twohy's previous work (which I do), you must feel compelled to look upon this more favorably. What was so special about it, or that you hadn't seen before...multiple times? Almost any episode of Lost has better Hawaiian scenery, as well as better plot twists to boot. Nick's character was the only one that was even remotely memorable, no one else was particularly charismatic, attractive (this has to be the least number of bikinis in a beach movie ever), or really even worth a second thought. The twist was cute, and while it wasn't exactly expected, you obviously knew something was going to happen, and since it wasn't set up well at all, it really wasn't a surprise (nor really made an ounce of sense). The box office numbers got this one a lot more correct than the metacritic scores. This could have been a Sunday night movie of the week on NBC, and it still would have had low ratings. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
NoGoodMoviesAnymoreDec 30, 2009
Worst Movie of 2009. DO NOT SEE EVER. Laughably bad. NO nudity but teased throughout. Not much profanity either. Weak R rating. This is not horror.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
BartSOct 24, 2009
The twists were completely ridiculous. The scenes which made you jump were well done, but that's about it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
kgmAug 11, 2009
Yeah, Hawaii is beautiful
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
hoops2448Jun 8, 2012
I recently had a discussion about Milla Jovovich with several other film fanatics and whether or not she has a place in Hollywood after churning out quite a large volume of bad movies. I argued that her roles in films like The Fifth Element,I recently had a discussion about Milla Jovovich with several other film fanatics and whether or not she has a place in Hollywood after churning out quite a large volume of bad movies. I argued that her roles in films like The Fifth Element, Stone and even her minuscule part in Zoolander made up for all the bad. Many did not agree. However I find myself reaching the precipice. I understand that Jovovich loves cult material, hence her participation in the horrendous Ultraviolet, and B movie throwbacks but by this point she should at least be able to tell the difference between bad cult movies and good ones. A Perfect Getaway acts as a throwback to the B movie horror films of yesteryear but does so in a way void of both reason and logic. The plot is to put it bluntly, stupid. The film relies on pointing out film cliches like 'the red herring' to hide the fact the films red herring (you will know it when you see it) is incredibly simple minded. The dialogue between the characters however is actually quite good, the relationships built in the film feel real which says a lot in a film that is absent a coherent story. The cast is respectable with a few surprisingly good performances (Kiele Sanchez, Timothy Olyphant). However the use of both Chris Hemsworth and Marley Shelton for such small performances seems like a waste of potential. Milla Jovovich has the best character to work with but she never really takes advantage. The weak link is Steve Zahn who's straight laced screenwriter character grates making him a dreadful lead considering most of the film follows him. The direction (by Pitch Black's David Twohy) is acceptable but never surprising or anything more than what is required. It is a soul crushingly mundane movie that never lives up to the B movies it is trying to emulate. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
seoirseJul 7, 2012
The plot cheats on the viewer. It is very easy to write a thriller with such a tricky and twisted argument. Kind of a movie for people who is not expecting anything but some cheap fights, suspense music and out of the hat plot answers
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
voidersJun 14, 2013
Storyline very superficial, artificial. Dont make sense.
The end? Is a bad joke. The end does not fit with the intermediate dialogues.

Just a despicable movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews