User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 116 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 116
  2. Negative: 31 out of 116

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. KelleyE.
    Oct 12, 2006
    5
    It was just like the radio show itself... self important and smug.
  2. JamesC.
    Jun 11, 2006
    3
    Dull and pointless. What a waste of talent. Yes, Meryl can be bad in a movie, Lohan terrible but that is to be expected and without Lily this film would get a big fat 0. Woody and JonC are passable. I can't believe that none of these people saw that it was a script to nowhere and mentioned this fact to Altman. I was sitting behind a guy who was tapping his shoes onto the sticky floor Dull and pointless. What a waste of talent. Yes, Meryl can be bad in a movie, Lohan terrible but that is to be expected and without Lily this film would get a big fat 0. Woody and JonC are passable. I can't believe that none of these people saw that it was a script to nowhere and mentioned this fact to Altman. I was sitting behind a guy who was tapping his shoes onto the sticky floor throught the whole movie. It was more entertaining listening to him tapping to the beat than watching this film. A HUGE shame. Expand
  3. RobertH
    Oct 10, 2006
    0
    Think of the worst movie you've seen. Replace it with this one.
  4. MichaelC.
    Dec 1, 2006
    1
    First I tried hitting the fast-forward button during the musical numbers, then realized the non-musical (can't really say "dramatic") parts were just as pointless. 99.9% of films I will bravely sit all the way through no matter what hoping for some redeeming value or entertainment. This was one of those rare exceptions.
  5. NickB.
    Jun 11, 2006
    7
    I guess all I could really say about APHC is that it is...well, pleasant. Lohan was the only ensemble member that I felt was mis-cast. She's too hollywood refined and lacks the necessary i'm-from-the-midwest-i-used-to-be-in-4H vibe that almost everyone else had. Maya Rudolph was underused and very understated in what was a spot-on performance (then again, she is a stagehand, and I guess all I could really say about APHC is that it is...well, pleasant. Lohan was the only ensemble member that I felt was mis-cast. She's too hollywood refined and lacks the necessary i'm-from-the-midwest-i-used-to-be-in-4H vibe that almost everyone else had. Maya Rudolph was underused and very understated in what was a spot-on performance (then again, she is a stagehand, and they notoriously get pushed aside). Overall, it was simply pleasant. Not a whole lot more. Expand
  6. PeterL.
    Jun 11, 2006
    9
    Easy, relaxed, charming, humorous.....all of the adjectives that I use to describe the radio show I would use to describe the movie. YET I probably won't recommend the movie to my friends unless they are fans of A Prairie Home Companion (the radio show).
  7. LindyA.
    Jun 10, 2006
    9
    So evocative for people of a certain age - and so sweet for those brought up on those songs.
  8. RussellL.
    Jun 10, 2006
    9
    THe performances on stage are worth the trip to the movie complex. Even if the connecting story doesn't excite, the characters and performances do. I'll go see it again. It made me feel good about the world.
  9. BillyS.
    Jun 10, 2006
    10
    About 10 minutes into "A Prairie Home Companion" a wave of giddy anticipation sweeps over you like a warm cuddly blanket and you find yourself wishing that it simply will not end, let the last show at the Fitzgerald Theatre just go on and on, song after song, skit after skit and I can sit in the nostalgic glow of an America that I so fondly remember and is slowly fading from my memory bit About 10 minutes into "A Prairie Home Companion" a wave of giddy anticipation sweeps over you like a warm cuddly blanket and you find yourself wishing that it simply will not end, let the last show at the Fitzgerald Theatre just go on and on, song after song, skit after skit and I can sit in the nostalgic glow of an America that I so fondly remember and is slowly fading from my memory bit by bit, day by day. Robert Altman has made the perfect bookend to Nashville. It's touching, funny(at times hysterical), and except for a scene about duct tape-unpolitical. The cast is brilliant. Kevin Kline gives his best screen performance since "A Fish Called Wanda", Meryl Streep and Lily Tomlin are simply resplendent, Woody Harrelson and John C. Reilly practically steal the the whole movie with their dirty joke medley, Virginis Masden wanders around the theatre dressed in a white trench coat reminiscent of Jessica Lange in "All That Jazz" and Garrison Keiller is so good you wonder why he hasn't pursued acting roles before. A Prairie Home Companion is a Landmark film from a Landmark director who, if there is a God, will finally win a Best Director Oscar in February 2007!!! I bow to you, Mr. Altman, BRAVO. Collapse
  10. LDH.
    Jun 10, 2006
    9
    This movie is just a delight. It is extremely engaging, well written, well acted. I would have given it a 10, but I wasn't crazy about the angel. All four of us enjoyed ourselves immensely. It has been a long time since I have felt that way about a movie.
  11. ChrisF.
    Jun 19, 2006
    1
    I laughed, I cried, I wished I were somewhere else. I must warn the younger movie-goers that this is probably not for you (i should have known). The older you are the more likely you are to think this is acceptable when in fact it is a pseudo-movie about nothing in particular. I sat in my seat thinking SOON a plot will start to develop and then I fell asleep for about half an hour and I laughed, I cried, I wished I were somewhere else. I must warn the younger movie-goers that this is probably not for you (i should have known). The older you are the more likely you are to think this is acceptable when in fact it is a pseudo-movie about nothing in particular. I sat in my seat thinking SOON a plot will start to develop and then I fell asleep for about half an hour and when i woke up I realized I should have slept longer. [***SPOILERS***]Yes someone dies and two cowboys fart in tribute of the soul passing into heaven. And btw, Virginia Madsen is not very pretty, unless you're 65 years old. If only theater seating were more comfortable I could have enjoyed this movie a little more. A couple hilarious sexist jokes save the movie from complete goose eggs. Stay home and listen to Keillor on the radio. Expand
  12. EdM.
    Jun 20, 2006
    2
    Without Ms. Streep and Ms. Tomlin, this boring film would have been unwatchable. It took the joyful, simple and down-home feeling the radio show gives us every week, and turned it into a dark, heavy, plodding mess. Too bad, I was completely looking forward to this one.
  13. MichaelL.
    Jun 25, 2006
    9
    An absolute joy. Filled with perfect performances and wonderfully nuanced moments. I feel genuinely sad for people who can't relax and enjoy this film; it's sweet, and strangely life-affirming considering it's basically a meditation on death. Streep and Tomlin are amazing (Oscar nods to both, I say), as are Reilly and Harrelson. Only Kevin Kline annoys, which is why I give An absolute joy. Filled with perfect performances and wonderfully nuanced moments. I feel genuinely sad for people who can't relax and enjoy this film; it's sweet, and strangely life-affirming considering it's basically a meditation on death. Streep and Tomlin are amazing (Oscar nods to both, I say), as are Reilly and Harrelson. Only Kevin Kline annoys, which is why I give PHC a 9 rather than a 10. Ignore the nay-sayers and escape from the madness of life in 2006--see this film. Expand
  14. Jp
    Jul 12, 2006
    3
    As an Altman fan and A Prarie Home Companion fan, this movie was a HUGE disappointment. I thought it would never end. Was it me, or did this movie repeat itself 3 or 4 times? I thought I was watching Groundhog Day. I actually fell asleep somewhere in the middle, but fortunately woke up in time for the dirty cowboy "bad" jokes... the only really entertaining part of the movie.
  15. JGM
    Jul 7, 2006
    8
    It might help to think of this less as a traditional "movie" than as an opportunity to wander around backstage for a while during a fictionalized version of the radio program. Of course all the kids -- and some of the reviewers -- complaining "it has no plot" are missing the point (and any knowledge of Altman or film history). [***SPOILERS***] The pleasure of an Altman film is exactly in It might help to think of this less as a traditional "movie" than as an opportunity to wander around backstage for a while during a fictionalized version of the radio program. Of course all the kids -- and some of the reviewers -- complaining "it has no plot" are missing the point (and any knowledge of Altman or film history). [***SPOILERS***] The pleasure of an Altman film is exactly in the immersion in a non-linear, no-formula "real world" of characters with back stories, front stories, and side stories, none of which coalesce into anything in particular (sort of like real life). In fact, the minor injections of story and "plot" provided by Jones' Axeman and the intrigue between the Kline and Masden characters here are the weakest aspect of the film, as Kelior and Altman struggle a bit to bridge the more fanciful aspects of the Guy Noir and Dangerous Woman symbol-characters with the naturalistic approach of much of the rest of the ensemble, notably Tomlin and Streep (Kevin Kline in particular seems to have stepped in from another movie altogether, which may very well be the point, except that I suspect that movie wasn't intended to be a "Pink Panther" sequel). Kellior, acting as lynchpin but not focal point, acquits himself well (though not unexpectedly, does most of his acting with his voice). Also of note is John C. Reilly, who seems to be able to do anything and whose effortless excursion here into comedy, music, and hints of dark-edged history summarizes the whole film. Expand
  16. AllenY.
    Aug 21, 2006
    10
    Have not laughed so hard in several years. It was good for the soul. If some reviewers think GK is slipping -- they should be so lucky to slip like that. They are taking life too seriously. With all the dumb stuff going on to be mad about (Iraq ...) they need to find a real issue.
  17. K.Birk
    Aug 8, 2006
    8
    Lots of laughs, not much plot,weak ending. Better than most of this summers garbage disguised as movies.
  18. ReidF.
    Jan 27, 2007
    8
    I have rarely listened to the radio show, although I
  19. MicheleV.
    Nov 25, 2006
    1
    One of the worst movies I have ever seen and trust me, I have seen many many movies. I will probably not sleep tonight due to pondering how this movie managed to get rave reviews by critics and I am truly disturbed by the fact that anyone could possibly think this movie is worth watching.
  20. StephenS.
    Oct 12, 2006
    5
    I never thought I
  21. SteevB
    Oct 17, 2006
    3
    Take all of the wry humor and the "Lake Wobegon" storytelling out of GK's real show and what would you get? Probably something a lot like this meandering, colorless film. "No longer famous" movie stars singing banal folk music does not make a very watchable film.
  22. DavidZ.
    Oct 8, 2006
    8
    Very good.
  23. RobertW.
    Jun 12, 2006
    3
    You'd better love PHC before you see this movie. I liked the music, the acting was passable, but it would have been just as good on the radio. Definitely a critics movie or a PHC fan. Not much there for the rest of us.
  24. JimG.
    Jun 12, 2006
    6
    How do you preserve the essence of a live radio show? I'm not asking how you capture a performance on film, but how you capture the cumulative essence of thirty years of performances--the weekly ins and outs? Just as our memories someday will do, Altman separates Prairie's wheat from its chaff, alternating between on-air performances and backstage fellowship. He gives us much How do you preserve the essence of a live radio show? I'm not asking how you capture a performance on film, but how you capture the cumulative essence of thirty years of performances--the weekly ins and outs? Just as our memories someday will do, Altman separates Prairie's wheat from its chaff, alternating between on-air performances and backstage fellowship. He gives us much recognizable (longstanding bits, GK's sighs and harmonies, wonderful musical performances, and sound effects) but, cleverly, distracts us---our memory will be full but incomplete. The news from Lake Wobegon isn't missing, it's simply delivered by GK through his backstage screenplay rather than "on air." Fans of Keillor present and future will have this cinematic memory to savor. The only fault I could find is that, though Streep and Tomlin are perfectly placed and enjoyable, I wish Sue Scott was featured in her usual multiple "on air" roles rather relegated to a single backstage role. (And, only because Keillor's inspiration for PHC was the Grand Ole Opry, I am left wondering what we would enjoy now if only Altman had sought out to preserve the Grand Ole Opry on film in this manner when the scinons of the 30's, 40's and 50's were alive and still performing.) Expand
  25. James
    Jun 16, 2006
    10
    This is a great, great picture. Effortless because it's brilliant - everyone involved is at the top of their games - and brilliant because it's effortless - everyone understands where the thing's gently beating heart is and stays close to it. I can't imagine a stronger film this year. (And no, I don't work for the production company.)
  26. Lucy
    Jun 27, 2006
    2
    What a crushing, soul-killing bore this movie is. It's obsessed with death, with one character dying and another playing an angel of death. That's bad enough, but trying to squeeze laughs out of a suicidal teenager is just over the line. I kept hoping it would get better. With Streep, Tomlin, Harrelson, OReilly, and other luminaries in it, you would expect that is was at least What a crushing, soul-killing bore this movie is. It's obsessed with death, with one character dying and another playing an angel of death. That's bad enough, but trying to squeeze laughs out of a suicidal teenager is just over the line. I kept hoping it would get better. With Streep, Tomlin, Harrelson, OReilly, and other luminaries in it, you would expect that is was at least worth seeing. But NOOOooo. I gave it 2 points fo Harrelson and Oreilly's naughty songs. And I've never seen Streep do such a bad job with a role. She's all fluttery sweetness and light, with quirky mannerisms to match. Save your money, your time and your dignity. Go see something else. Expand
  27. MarkB.
    Jun 27, 2006
    8
    Even though one of the principals in this visualization of Garrison Keillor's beloved, semi-parodic Midwestern radio variety show is the Angel of Death busily plying her trade (she's played by Virginia Madsen who, with all due respect to poster Chris F., is sexier in a Casablanca trenchcoat than most women half her age are in thong bikinis), this is still Robert Altman's Even though one of the principals in this visualization of Garrison Keillor's beloved, semi-parodic Midwestern radio variety show is the Angel of Death busily plying her trade (she's played by Virginia Madsen who, with all due respect to poster Chris F., is sexier in a Casablanca trenchcoat than most women half her age are in thong bikinis), this is still Robert Altman's warmest and most accessible film since...Popeye? Nah, too weird. A Wedding? No, for a movie to be accessible partially means that someone had to see it in a theater...and sadly, virtually nobody did. M*A*S*H? Nope, even though it was a smash and everybody remembers it well, there's still the matter of all that bloody operating table footage, even if you can see far nastier in any CSI episode. I think you'd have to go back to one of those Bonanza episodes Altman helmed in his early days to find something in his resume that's this utterly crowd-pleasing (without compromising anything in content, form or characteristic Altman style; you still have to listen with elephant ears to catch as much of the overlapping conversation as possible, and even though you'll be lucky to catch 85% of it, it doesn't matter all that much to Altman if you do). A Texas conglomerate plans to shut the show down and we're treated to the final performance; one of the acts says goodbye sentimentally while another, figuring that they've got nothing to lose, riotously goes out with a series of bangs. Curiously, m/c "GK" (played by Keillor, whose charisma and command of stage, TV, radio and the printed word here extends to yet another medium; why didn't someone think of putting him before a movie camera before this? But then you also have to ask why didn't someone realize what a boffo comedy team Woody Harrelson and John C. Reilly could be, or what heavenly duets Meryl Streep and Lily Tomlin could make?) doesn't want to emphasize that the show is a farewell broadcast or anything other than just another performance. His attitude is reminiscent of that of the pilots in Howard Hawks' 1938 Only Angels Have Wings; in that one, whenever one of their number crashed and burned, his comrades responded by denying that he ever existed. Altman, like Hawks, has always been fascinated by workplace and/or group dynamics but is completely clear-eyed and unsentimental about the relationships: you get the clear impression that if the put-upon, extremely pregnant stage manager (Maya Rudolph) actually DID deliver backstage, most of the performers would respond by gingerly but quickly walking around mother and newborn child. However, there's a sunniness and optimism here that we haven't seen before; while Altman's previous studies of mass entertainment Nashville and The Player explicitly stated that the good, kind, decent and honest people working in the country music and movie industries are the ones who get totally, completely and irrevocably crushed, A Prairie Home Companion implies that there's definitely life, rewards, comraderie and hope after showbiz. When Altman received his honorary Oscar this year, many viewers who expected him to use the opportunity and pulpit to thumb his nose at Hollywood for not always making his career easy were apparently disappointed that he instead gave a relatively benign speech expressing his gratitude for the medical miracle that extended his life. Altman may claim that A Prairie Home Companion is about death, but like his acceptance speech, it's just as much the joyous song of a real survivor. Expand
  28. APickett
    Jun 29, 2006
    9
    One warm chuckle after another - till all chuckles blended together to a lasting smile. Very very enjoyable.
  29. [Anonymous]
    Jun 4, 2006
    3
    Dull, don't want to give away any spoilers, so I'll just say the movie doesn't improve as it goes on. Kevin Kline has some good moments, there's some good comic timing. But the drop dead boring subject matter stays drop dead dull. With the Company, Altman took a subject I have no interest in, ballet, and turned it into a compelling movie. Well here's another Dull, don't want to give away any spoilers, so I'll just say the movie doesn't improve as it goes on. Kevin Kline has some good moments, there's some good comic timing. But the drop dead boring subject matter stays drop dead dull. With the Company, Altman took a subject I have no interest in, ballet, and turned it into a compelling movie. Well here's another subject I have no interest in, quaint midwest radio shows, and the film confirmed my distaste for the subject. Expand
  30. EmilyH.
    Jun 9, 2006
    9
    A very unusual and charming movie. Idealism, nostalgia, poetry and humor... the innocence and pride of our country's past generations.
  31. JoeK.
    Jun 9, 2006
    0
    I can't believe this got a rating in the 70s! This is the worst movie I've ever seen. It's like they thought, let's make a movie with absolutely no plot, too many characters, and make it 2 hours long! The radio show is much better than the movie. Don't waste your time!
  32. TabU.
    Jun 9, 2006
    7
    It's impossible to classify this wildly different mix of genre movie. Meryl Streep and Virginia Madsen stand out in wonderfully refreshing roles. The movie loses the Keillor sensibility at times and wanders off the expected path of pure entertainment and dry wit, but the raunchy jokes, the underlying fabric of the movie contains a strong emotional message.
  33. TheConundrum
    Jul 21, 2006
    5
    It's a simple choice: If you like the eponymous radio show, or adore anything by Robert Altman, then you will probably mildly enjoy watching this movie. If you've never heard of A Prairie Home Companion, or think Altman movies are movies are pointless, then you will be bored witless. I am a fan of the radio show, so I found the movie a pleasant diversion, but even I was looking It's a simple choice: If you like the eponymous radio show, or adore anything by Robert Altman, then you will probably mildly enjoy watching this movie. If you've never heard of A Prairie Home Companion, or think Altman movies are movies are pointless, then you will be bored witless. I am a fan of the radio show, so I found the movie a pleasant diversion, but even I was looking at my watch at points. At least Lindsay Lohan is a fox, that helped. Expand
  34. OliverC.
    Jul 20, 2006
    4
    You'd think with an all star cast the movie would be something. This movie is neither bad nor good. It isn't exciting or boring. Its neutral, like watching mediocre television it puts you in a trance and once it's over nothings changed. Yes the people are moving and talking and things are happening but somehow there is no depth whatsoever. This movie could use a little You'd think with an all star cast the movie would be something. This movie is neither bad nor good. It isn't exciting or boring. Its neutral, like watching mediocre television it puts you in a trance and once it's over nothings changed. Yes the people are moving and talking and things are happening but somehow there is no depth whatsoever. This movie could use a little something i like to call a plot, better music (its sort of like a mighty wind, but everything sounds formulaic) as so much of it was musical, character development perhaps? better writing perhaps? Every joke is played out a bit too long and becomes unfunny. The movie is one song, then one joke, then another song, for two hours, and besides scene with an angel and the penguins and the "bad joke" scene its almost void of thought. A movie for the critics. Let them bathe in this accomplishment of mediocrity! Expand
  35. BobW.
    Jul 23, 2006
    3
    how can critics rave about this movie? It was awful--the angel was pointless--I kept looking at my watch.
  36. TRacyR.
    Jul 7, 2006
    6
    Well ... it's a mood piece and it is sucessful at maintaining a complicated mixture of wry and cornpone longger then you'd think one could get away with it, but that's about it. Nothing else going on except as a reviewer put it "Hollywood Karaoke". Keillor is a writer and he gets in some delightful plays on language and the stars use their considerable charm to engaging Well ... it's a mood piece and it is sucessful at maintaining a complicated mixture of wry and cornpone longger then you'd think one could get away with it, but that's about it. Nothing else going on except as a reviewer put it "Hollywood Karaoke". Keillor is a writer and he gets in some delightful plays on language and the stars use their considerable charm to engaging effect. But the point of the radio show is not celebrity-gazing and the camera's relentless focus on Streep (who is fine and this isn't her fault) is almost distracting. I also sincerely resented the cutaway from the Jerilyn Steel song. Why do I have to watch every quivering moment of Linday Lohan, but can't listen or watch one lousy song from the best singer in the move? Because she isn't a name? Shame on Altman for that. Altogether - not an insignificant accomplishment, but a little diisappointing and should have been better. Expand
  37. SeanR
    Jul 8, 2006
    5
    Someone please tell me what the point of this movie was. Though it had it's somewhat funny moments the plot just roamed around looking for a place to end while Gary butchered songs. I may be a younger viewer and not as in touch with the old-tyme of yesteryear but why was this movie made if not only to get a few more one-time listeners to the non-ficticious NPR show.
  38. KaseyS.
    Aug 3, 2006
    10
    Aside from United 93, the best movie I've seen so far this year. The movie is both hysterical and extremely poignant. Casting was excellent. Acting was superb. I'm normally very anti-supernatural elements in movies, but in this movie, it makes sense and was a brilliant way to tie in the theme. I can't wait for this to come out on DVD.
  39. CalebC.
    Aug 4, 2006
    10
    As a fan of ever style of music and style of film this is pitch a perfect film. I have yet to see more of Altmans films now. I went to see this for many reasons. One being im a huge fan of Altmans "Gosford Park" and Roger Ebert named it one of the best film of the year so far and he was right. (note not to be compared with Gosford Park they are two totally different films).The only reason As a fan of ever style of music and style of film this is pitch a perfect film. I have yet to see more of Altmans films now. I went to see this for many reasons. One being im a huge fan of Altmans "Gosford Park" and Roger Ebert named it one of the best film of the year so far and he was right. (note not to be compared with Gosford Park they are two totally different films).The only reason Roper didn't like this was because of the music and I understand that. If you aren't a fan of drama or folk/gospelish music you just may not like this. But I do highly recomend this to anyone searching for an honestly great film......period. Expand
  40. DanielC.
    Feb 16, 2007
    0
    Worst movie of 2006. This slow, plodding movie isn't slow, it doesn't move. Basically, the APHC is based on the radio show, however nothing happens in the movie expect the very drawn out and boring radio performance . Not only that, but It's not funny and it's drama moments are incredibly contrived. Added to the fact that all the characters are incredibly irritating Worst movie of 2006. This slow, plodding movie isn't slow, it doesn't move. Basically, the APHC is based on the radio show, however nothing happens in the movie expect the very drawn out and boring radio performance . Not only that, but It's not funny and it's drama moments are incredibly contrived. Added to the fact that all the characters are incredibly irritating and dull, it makes for a bad movie. Unless you're 60 or older, and enjoy country music and old radio shows, AVOID THIS MOVIE. I know I sound harsh, but this really sucks. I like arty films which try to be touching, but I really, really have no idea what the critics are talking about this movie. Expand
  41. RobertM.
    Jul 14, 2007
    10
    Absolutely brilliant !!! I enjoyed every second.
  42. JeremyF
    Jul 2, 2007
    2
    This is a perfect example of perfect cast, horrid movie. I came into this with iffy expectations, and they got lower and lower as I watched. About 30 minutes in I was seriously considering leaving the boring movie, but I thought, SOMETHING ELSE MUST HAPPEN!!! And nothing did. I stopped watching it at about 1 hr and 6 min. The only reason to see this is the somewhat humorous Lily Tomlin This is a perfect example of perfect cast, horrid movie. I came into this with iffy expectations, and they got lower and lower as I watched. About 30 minutes in I was seriously considering leaving the boring movie, but I thought, SOMETHING ELSE MUST HAPPEN!!! And nothing did. I stopped watching it at about 1 hr and 6 min. The only reason to see this is the somewhat humorous Lily Tomlin and the great vocals of Meryl Streep. Otherwise, this movie should not have been made. Expand
  43. JennyS.
    Aug 31, 2007
    10
    This is the best and most creative dramatization of loss and death that I have ever seen. GK, the great storyteller, describes how to live life without looking forward or back. Best film of 2006.
  44. JonJ.
    Sep 19, 2007
    10
    Just what you would expect from a Keillor-Altman collaboration. Given the distinctiveness of their respective styles, you'd expect wide ranging reviews. If you like both, you'll like the movie. If you don't like one or the other, the movie may very well drive you crazy.
  45. EricD.
    Nov 26, 2006
    2
    I was in disbelief when this movie was over. I thought it would be half-way decent just because of the cast and the great reviews. Wrong on all counts. I completely agree with the other reviewers that said it was dull, pointless and excruciatingly boring.
  46. DanielP.
    Nov 26, 2006
    1
    Great cast, no plot, no ending, no script, no shine. If it was a little 'Mr.' book, it'd be "Mr. Mumble makes a mess of a movie". And I'm from Minnesota.
  47. ErnieA.
    Dec 17, 2006
    9
    The most enjoyment I had at the movies this year. Mark my words, this movie will stand the test of time. Lily Tomlin is incredible.
  48. MarkW.
    Oct 22, 2006
    8
    Captures the essence of GK's long-running radio show, spices it up with good casting, and folds the angelic Virginia Madsen into the mix. Easy on the mind!
  49. SydneyM.
    Jun 12, 2006
    9
    This is such a pleasure. A wonderful cast having so much fun. And, as always, the absorbing Altman direction. Quiet, reflective, engaging. A real treat.
  50. TimC.
    Jun 17, 2006
    1
    Easily this summer's most over-rated movie. Rambling and self-satisfied, the movie never fails to sound a false note. Although I enjoy the radio version of PHC, this movie manages to legitimate all the typical criticisms made of the radio show. A waste of time and money -- truly a disappointment.
  51. MarcK.
    Jun 18, 2006
    1
    One of the worst films of 2006...my "1" rating is NOT an exaggeration. How this film got near-universal acclaim from critics is completely beyond me. It was kind of like a bad "Seinfeld" episode - nothing happens, and it's not funny. If you must see this, wait for it on DVD, so you can spend less money, and can always turn it off. You've all been warned.
  52. MelisaD.
    Jul 14, 2006
    10
    This is by far the best movie I have seen in the past two years!
  53. LindaL.
    Jul 15, 2006
    4
    When is a radio program actually more entertaining than the film or TV version? When it's Ernie Harwell broadcasting a Tigers baseball game, or when it's the normal Prairie Home Companion show compared with this movie. There's no real plot to the film, and where are the edgy personal politics that Altman usually brings out in his movies? I did thoroughly enjoy Meryl When is a radio program actually more entertaining than the film or TV version? When it's Ernie Harwell broadcasting a Tigers baseball game, or when it's the normal Prairie Home Companion show compared with this movie. There's no real plot to the film, and where are the edgy personal politics that Altman usually brings out in his movies? I did thoroughly enjoy Meryl Streep's Midwestern accent. (But her singing was way better in "Postcards from the Edge".) This seemed like a Garrison Keillor vanity project. Expand
  54. AndrewC.
    May 15, 2007
    1
    A Prairie Home Companion is an excellent variety show on radio, but the movie...it's another story altogether. First, the lack of a script during the "dramatic" portions makes it rambly and random, the music is rather horrific (who knew Meryl Streep could sing? Oh wait - she can't.), and the all-star cast goes to waste as there is little character development, no plotline to A Prairie Home Companion is an excellent variety show on radio, but the movie...it's another story altogether. First, the lack of a script during the "dramatic" portions makes it rambly and random, the music is rather horrific (who knew Meryl Streep could sing? Oh wait - she can't.), and the all-star cast goes to waste as there is little character development, no plotline to speak of, and no variety. The trademark humor from the radio show is missing here. Even Garrison Keillor's wacky personality can't save this film from being terrible. Take this from a fan of the radio show: don't watch this movie. Expand
  55. DZ
    Nov 13, 2006
    10
    A film that will never achieve acclaim as a modern classic, yet it entices you to a certain state. Blending humor, and tragedy, and fervently evoking our soul, Robert Altman & Garrison Keillor enlivens our heart, and minds. Altman & Keillor focus on certain aspects of life, and death, and somewhere in between. A jovial experience that one would wish never ends.
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 38
  2. Negative: 1 out of 38
  1. 88
    Take a swig of this moonshine. There's magic in it.
  2. Not since Woody Allen's "Radio Days" has anyone created such a cinematic Valentine to the wonderfully imaginative medium of radio as A Prairie Home Companion.
  3. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    90
    Rib-ticklingly funny at times and genial as all get-out.