Sony Pictures Classics | Release Date: December 30, 2011
8.9
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 570 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
521
Mixed:
28
Negative:
21
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
MarcDoyleDec 31, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A truly outstanding movie that ratchets up the tension from jump. The acting is uniformly excellent - it presents such interesting windows into the lives of each character. The glimpse into the Iranian legal system is incredibly interesting. What I initially considered to be organized chaos actually started to make some sense by the end, as I loosed up on my western notions of how these disputes should be resolved. It puts an incredible amount of power into a single magistrate's hands, but it sure does cut down on the red tape! Though trusting the suspect in a murder case not to talk to a key witness as he summons her from the hallway of the courtroom seemed a bridge too far. Then again, the judge seemed to know how to deal with the possibility of corruption in that process. The notion of honor, as reflected in honesty - from citizen to society, and from father to daughter - transcends the legal process. At least in this case, among this group of peole. I would have liked to have known a bit more about the mother's motivation to leave the country, but it's not something that detracted from the film. This is an easy recommendation. Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
10
BHBarryJan 13, 2012
â
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
jeremypMar 4, 2012
Frankly I was completely captivated and stunned by this movie. While the Oscars are rewarding "The Artist" a slick but shallow homage to old Hollywood the Iranians are creating a movie about real people behaving like real people with everyFrankly I was completely captivated and stunned by this movie. While the Oscars are rewarding "The Artist" a slick but shallow homage to old Hollywood the Iranians are creating a movie about real people behaving like real people with every strength and flaw exposed. The fact that it's set in an Iranian cultural milieu makes it fascinatingly educating. We get to see inside 2 Iranian marriages; the Iranian justice system; the Iranian cultural taboos and strictures. No judgements are expressed, but we make them anyway, and like all good movies what we see is our own value system looking back at us. This is definitely a finely nuanced film as the characters move in and out of black,, grey, and white. At the end as the credits rolled many in the theatre waited hoping to get a final resolution that the director, appropriately, just wasn't going to give. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
TVJerryFeb 25, 2012
The title of this Iranian import would imply that it's about a married couple breaking up. While that's the catalyst, much more happens in this intricate sequence of events. There's lots of anguish, loud declaiming and absorbing emotionâ
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
7
CranksyFeb 21, 2012
There is an elephant in the room. This movie has sub-titles. If you read on, please do these thought experiments: imagine you only can experience The King's Speech with its central character a stuttering future king being presented withThere is an elephant in the room. This movie has sub-titles. If you read on, please do these thought experiments: imagine you only can experience The King's Speech with its central character a stuttering future king being presented with sub-titles. Or the film Shakespeare in Love with its poetic language exhibited in situation where non-English sub-titles are needed. Please refer me to any critic who commented on any aspect of the quality of A Separation's sub-titles from the font selection to the fidelity to the nuances of the dialogue. Sub-titles are a huge filter to appreciating or even understanding a movie. Isn't it a form being aesthetically correct or having intellectual pretensions to ignore the fact you do not understand the language of the dialogue? RANT OVER. I did like the movie for depicting Iranians neither as death-to-America chanters nor green displaying social networking revolutionaries, but as middle class or poor people who were struggling with family health or financial problems. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
homandavoodiDec 31, 2011
this movie is an absolute masterpiece. most important part of Farhadi's film making is screenplay and story. he develops the plot with numerous details and he performs them while shooting. that's why such a very Iranian story and atmospherethis movie is an absolute masterpiece. most important part of Farhadi's film making is screenplay and story. he develops the plot with numerous details and he performs them while shooting. that's why such a very Iranian story and atmosphere fascinated people around the world. I think it's the best movie of the year. Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
10
movi60centJan 5, 2012
If mainstream cinema leaves you soulless, see this film. If you have a modicum of intelligence, see this film. If you like great acting and directing, see this film. If you like great writing and editing, see this film. If you have anIf mainstream cinema leaves you soulless, see this film. If you have a modicum of intelligence, see this film. If you like great acting and directing, see this film. If you like great writing and editing, see this film. If you have an interest in law, see this film.

If you are a parent, see this film
Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
10
asthobaskoroMay 14, 2012
Let's face reality and five star rating I just gave for this movie. A Separation have intricate structure in screenplay, complex and brilliant. A Separation captures the messiness of dissolving relationship with intensity and powerfulLet's face reality and five star rating I just gave for this movie. A Separation have intricate structure in screenplay, complex and brilliant. A Separation captures the messiness of dissolving relationship with intensity and powerful performance. Reminds me of masterpiece, have similar opening scene, The Social Network. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
ImUnavailableFeb 17, 2012
This is a film that makes it difficult to tear your eyes away from the screen. The raw, believable drama is interlaced in a culture where religion and pride mean everything. The acting is of the highest standard, especially the lead. TheThis is a film that makes it difficult to tear your eyes away from the screen. The raw, believable drama is interlaced in a culture where religion and pride mean everything. The acting is of the highest standard, especially the lead. The writing is consistently excellent and engaging. The tensions that exist both on the surface and bubbling underneath make for a truly great cinematic experience. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
netflicJan 9, 2012
This Iranian movie makes you forget â
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
cabritaFeb 25, 2012
The film does not choose a side it simply shows the conflict all the characters struggle with which is living an upright life according to the law. Are these laws fair? Yes but that does not necessarily make the application of the law fair.The film does not choose a side it simply shows the conflict all the characters struggle with which is living an upright life according to the law. Are these laws fair? Yes but that does not necessarily make the application of the law fair. The way all the characters act are truthfull and authentic and they all try to live good lives and do what is best for themselves. It takes you into a completely new world but the problems are still universal. The problem I found with the film is that it did not generate enough empathy for it's characters. This may just be a personal thing but I felt having a musical score would have helped the film. I would also like to note the unbelievable subteltys the director used to make the beginig scenes. That for me was the best part of the film. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
lahaineJan 4, 2012
"Wow!". I'm genuinely surprised by how well this film turned out. I was fooled into believing this would be a dull, family drama, but 'A Separation" is extremely engaging. Its serious, intelligent and simply a very satisfying viewing"Wow!". I'm genuinely surprised by how well this film turned out. I was fooled into believing this would be a dull, family drama, but 'A Separation" is extremely engaging. Its serious, intelligent and simply a very satisfying viewing experience. The deterioration of a marriage and ripple effects it has on the family and individuals outside the family is wonderfully evoked through assured film making and a string of wonderful performances from the foreign cast. The movie flows and unfolds with good timing and closes with one of the finest conclusions of the year. This is simply a very good movie. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
bl_nkJan 15, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Amazing. At the film's core lies the conflict between Nader and Simin, a married couple seeking a separation. Simin wants to leave Iran for a better life abroad, while Nader wants to stay and care for his Alzheimers-ridden father. Caught in the middle of their bickering is their daughter, Termeh. In many ways, the core struggle is symbolic of the struggle many Iranians feel every day. Should they stay and fight to protect the country they love or leave when times get tough? Termeh's decision to live with one parent or another can be interpreted as a judgement on the director's end, regarding which parent is most justified. No such judgement is made. Many other deep moral dilemas are presented to the audience, who are then left to make up their own minds about each character's rightness or wrongness. The movie is beautifully acted, every performance feels organic and real, although that might just be the language and cultural barrier playing tricks on my judgement. At the end of the day, you really could do worse than this movie. It's one of those films that resonates in your brain days after you see it. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
Regal4point1Jul 4, 2012
I was constantly attached to the masterful drama that so well executed by the relatable characters and fantastic actors. Even at face value the movie is involving and interesting, providing morally stimulating circumstances that will keep youI was constantly attached to the masterful drama that so well executed by the relatable characters and fantastic actors. Even at face value the movie is involving and interesting, providing morally stimulating circumstances that will keep you in a trance of thought. Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
7
laithalrubayeeMar 2, 2012
Ù
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
khashi2010Jan 2, 2012
A Drama that pull you deep in story. Farhadi's masterpiece which is the 1st chance of Academy Awards this year not just for "Best Foreign Film Award" I think its even worthy of "Best Direction" and "Best Performance by an Actress in aA Drama that pull you deep in story. Farhadi's masterpiece which is the 1st chance of Academy Awards this year not just for "Best Foreign Film Award" I think its even worthy of "Best Direction" and "Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role" for Sareh Bayat. Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
10
jehangirJan 31, 2012
This is the film of the year. Its concerns are universal. The drifting apart of a married couple and their daughter, as tensions build up and small lies spin out of control. Everyone has good reasons for what they do and their own truth whichThis is the film of the year. Its concerns are universal. The drifting apart of a married couple and their daughter, as tensions build up and small lies spin out of control. Everyone has good reasons for what they do and their own truth which looks like lies and distortions to others. This does not add up to a harmonious life. That it all this place in contemporary Iran with its strictures and deprivations only adds to the drama as social classes and degrees of religious observance collide and clash. The characters are flawlessly acted and their imperfections completely authentic. The camera work is brilliant with frequent closeups of actors who seem completely real. There is no preaching or taking sides, the film is humanistic in its sympathy for all the characters even when they transgress. This is movie-making at its best, reminiscent of the films that came from central and eastern Europe during the communist era and its immediate aftermath Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
aozetaJan 14, 2012
Wow! Simple plot, yet unique. Good Cast. Well acted characters from brilliantly surprising actors and actresses. Certainly a lock for Best Foreign Language Film for 2011. movienotesbook.blogspot.com
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
TomasDec 31, 2011
This is the film of the year. Its concerns are universal. The drifting apart of a married couple and their daughter, as tensions build up and small lies spin out of control. Everyone has good reasons for what they do and their own truth whichThis is the film of the year. Its concerns are universal. The drifting apart of a married couple and their daughter, as tensions build up and small lies spin out of control. Everyone has good reasons for what they do and their own truth which looks like lies and distortions to others. This does not add up to a harmonious life. That it all this place in contemporary Iran with its strictures and deprivations only adds to the drama as social classes and degrees of religious observance collide and clash. The characters are flawlessly acted and their imperfections completely authentic. The camera work is brilliant with frequent closeups of actors who seem completely real. There is no preaching or taking sides, the film is humanistic in its sympathy for all the characters even when they transgress. This is movie-making at its best, reminiscent of the films that came from central and eastern Europe during the communist era and its immediate aftermath. Expand
41 of 43 users found this helpful412
All this user's reviews
10
Lawman51Jan 29, 2012
OMG. What a great movie. I am just blown away. Great acting, great writing, great direction, it moves along so fluidly and shows such perception about people and their relationships. Not a happy tale, but the best movie I have seen in aOMG. What a great movie. I am just blown away. Great acting, great writing, great direction, it moves along so fluidly and shows such perception about people and their relationships. Not a happy tale, but the best movie I have seen in a long while. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
MEESTERMAJICKJan 17, 2012
Wow. They really did saved the very best for last. It just pulls you in all the chaos that's happening ever since the opening scene. It makes feel like one of them that you would try to resolve the problem to stop all the hoopla.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
7
allmoviesDec 30, 2011
Asghar Farhadi's thrilling domestic drama from Iran offers acute insights into human motivations and behavior as well as a compelling look at what goes on behind a particular curtain that almost never gets raised.
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
10
snailmoviesJan 4, 2012
The fantastic thing about this film is the compassion it shows for all of its characters. At every stage you understand exactly why everyone acts in the way they do, yet by half way through they've all found themselves in a terrible mess ofThe fantastic thing about this film is the compassion it shows for all of its characters. At every stage you understand exactly why everyone acts in the way they do, yet by half way through they've all found themselves in a terrible mess of their own making. As an empathetic viewer you're therefore challenged to ask - where did it all go wrong? How should we conduct ourselves in these situations? Great, adult film making. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
9
MomoMeshJan 18, 2012
Like ....... ELLY, which won the best director award at the æ
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
aliss2105ssDec 30, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A separation is a very good movie about separate between son and father ... father and Daughter ... Daughter and grandfather ... grandfather and bride ... is a movie about separate between layers family,peoples Society,peoples culture in Society,financial in people life in society and others ... Expand
7 of 9 users found this helpful72
All this user's reviews
10
ibbsteDec 30, 2011
Nearly flawless in every aspect of its construction, from the intricately crafted screenplay (STAKES STAKES STAKES!) to the almost bizarrely consistent top of the line performances across the board to subtle camerawork that establishedNearly flawless in every aspect of its construction, from the intricately crafted screenplay (STAKES STAKES STAKES!) to the almost bizarrely consistent top of the line performances across the board to subtle camerawork that established spatial relations between each character in crucial ways to the overall product, the result is a deeply felt humanistic piece with deep implications of social critique, gender relations, hegemonic religiosity, class struggles, justice systems and basic questions of moral and personal truthful ambiguity of right and wrong that can make the slightest statement or action make you as squeamish as the rapiest torture sequences in Dragon Tattoo. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
9
mathzashDec 30, 2011
Iranian movies can often be short on plot, but "A Separation" has a taut storyline and interesting characters. In there own mind, each of the characters is moral and has good intentions, but the situation at hand reveals the flaws of eachIranian movies can often be short on plot, but "A Separation" has a taut storyline and interesting characters. In there own mind, each of the characters is moral and has good intentions, but the situation at hand reveals the flaws of each ones ethos. As someone who has spent time in Tehran, I think that this movie, more than any other, accurately shows the contradictions of daily life in Iran. My wife is a Farsi speaker and she thought that the translation wasn't especially good, but perhaps that is true of any foreign film with a lot of dialog Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
DieguinJan 21, 2012
Superb! I do not recall the last time I watched a film when I fully lost track of time and was absolutely immersed (without an interruption) in the story and what was happening in it. The perfection of the acting and the perfection of theSuperb! I do not recall the last time I watched a film when I fully lost track of time and was absolutely immersed (without an interruption) in the story and what was happening in it. The perfection of the acting and the perfection of the directing and editing make one feel as if what is being filmed is real life. Bravo! Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
BehdabraDec 31, 2011
Have you ever been watching a movie where you could not take your eyes of the screen, not even for one second !! A Separation will show you that feeling, this film is just brilliant !
20 of 22 users found this helpful202
All this user's reviews
10
kavenDec 31, 2011
This is the film of the year.This is the best Drama movie I have ever seen.It shows we can not judge anyone and there is no bad or good guy , (we are all gray with shadows and highlights).I recommend to see this movie , you won't be disappointed.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews