Focus Features | Release Date: October 2, 2009
6.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 267 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
164
Mixed:
49
Negative:
54
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
NancyRMar 6, 2010
I walked out....it was painful to watch. A waste of money.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
2
PeschybearOct 7, 2010
One of the worst movies I have seen in the last 5 years. The idea behind it is not bad, but the subtle humor doesn't work. Without the humor, this movie is annoying and boring and at certain points you just cannot believe the story anymore.One of the worst movies I have seen in the last 5 years. The idea behind it is not bad, but the subtle humor doesn't work. Without the humor, this movie is annoying and boring and at certain points you just cannot believe the story anymore. Nobody (even in those days) is such a pushover as the prime subject. I love the work of the Coen brothers, but this was a waste of my time. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
1
JonW.Jan 10, 2010
I used to love the Coen Brothers movies. I'm rendered speechless at how tedious and unfunny their latest work is. Maybe you have to be Jewish? How anyone can view this as one of the best of the year is beyond me. What a sad state. At I used to love the Coen Brothers movies. I'm rendered speechless at how tedious and unfunny their latest work is. Maybe you have to be Jewish? How anyone can view this as one of the best of the year is beyond me. What a sad state. At least the British are still making great films. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
MikeNJan 7, 2010
Saw the movie with the wife on a special date night. It was a complete mistake. A quick summery might be, selfish people consistently doing selfish horrible things to each other. The Coen brothers view on humanity portrayed in this movie is Saw the movie with the wife on a special date night. It was a complete mistake. A quick summery might be, selfish people consistently doing selfish horrible things to each other. The Coen brothers view on humanity portrayed in this movie is worse than a concept of Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
FelixL.Feb 12, 2010
An inside joke that never comes to life. A truly awful film, with nothing to recommend it. Self-indulgent and appalling. The work of narcissists.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
ChaseWMar 20, 2010
Decent acting, but overall story lacking in big ways...namely an ending.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
GavanBMar 5, 2010
Like all Cohen Brothers films it has moments of brilliance. But the "end the movie before the story is developed" thing is starting to feel gimmicky, and make the Cohen Brothers seem like one trick ponies.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
3
HampusBMar 5, 2010
What the hell are the Coens doing? They're almost inpeccable in terms of craft nowadays, but this dreary, pretentious movie is just bleak and cruel. The Coens are just bullying the characters, the complete lack of sympathy rubs of after What the hell are the Coens doing? They're almost inpeccable in terms of craft nowadays, but this dreary, pretentious movie is just bleak and cruel. The Coens are just bullying the characters, the complete lack of sympathy rubs of after a while, and you end up not caring in the least. Sure it's funny from time to time but in the end the humour is just cruel. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
BradR.Jan 2, 2010
Absolutely dreadful. painful to sit through.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JannaP.Feb 14, 2010
This was the worst movie ever. Painful to sit through. It was so incredibly boring. Every minute was torture. The characters are boring, unattractive, smug, and pathetic. There is absolutely nothing worthwhile about this movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
MaxMFeb 14, 2010
Another Coen brothers inside joke movie...Please get back to what made you guys great. Lebowski, Fargo, and No Country were pure magic. Beyond that, it's been nothing but crap.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
AngusNov 15, 2009
This is now in the running as my least favourite Coen brothers film. Seriously lacking in entertainment. It was occasionally intriguing (but in a way that has been done before by the Coen's). This film was such a let down. And I felt This is now in the running as my least favourite Coen brothers film. Seriously lacking in entertainment. It was occasionally intriguing (but in a way that has been done before by the Coen's). This film was such a let down. And I felt somewhat annoyed that large portions of the film seemed as if only the Jewish population were meant to enjoy. I felt like a "third wheel" watching it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
ReidFOct 10, 2009
Snide, obnoxious, vapid people doing awful things to each other, this movie is total garbage.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
MichaelHNov 5, 2009
I found the film loathsome with no redeeming characters. As sensitive as the leading man was, he was reactive in every situation, not allowing the audience to relate to him or be intrigued. The only reason I gave it a 1 is a tribute to the I found the film loathsome with no redeeming characters. As sensitive as the leading man was, he was reactive in every situation, not allowing the audience to relate to him or be intrigued. The only reason I gave it a 1 is a tribute to the fine actors. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
LindaD.Feb 12, 2010
Hated this movie. I'm really sorry I wasted my time watching it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
andyaNov 18, 2009
Once again the critics blew it! the only value for me in seeing this movie is to further my understanding as to: 1. Why some people are antisemitic, 2. To realize how far afoot the majority of Jewish people are from the portrayals depicted Once again the critics blew it! the only value for me in seeing this movie is to further my understanding as to: 1. Why some people are antisemitic, 2. To realize how far afoot the majority of Jewish people are from the portrayals depicted in the movie. 3. To be grateful that my Temple and Rabbi , and for that manner most Rabbis with whom I have dealt are functioning on a different place than was was depicted in :Serious Man" and 4. To reaffirm my belief that Judaism now and historically has had some of the brightest, most creative, and philanthropic individuals in the world. Mankind has advanced because of the Jewish people. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
DaveyLNov 9, 2009
I didn't like the Coen Brothers last two movies and I hated this one. I stayed until the end because friends of mine had recommended the film but that was a mistake. I felt sorry for the actors who did their best in this miserable I didn't like the Coen Brothers last two movies and I hated this one. I stayed until the end because friends of mine had recommended the film but that was a mistake. I felt sorry for the actors who did their best in this miserable movie. Maybe I need to stop seeing their films. Life is too short. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
RoryBDec 15, 2009
I don't mind a bit of mystery at the end of a movie. Draw your own conclusions and all. But this stopped short of that. Way short of it! Larry gets a call from his doctor to come in and discuss an X-ray (no outcome) and there is a I don't mind a bit of mystery at the end of a movie. Draw your own conclusions and all. But this stopped short of that. Way short of it! Larry gets a call from his doctor to come in and discuss an X-ray (no outcome) and there is a tornado bearing down on his son (no outcome). The whole time while everyone is abusing the utterly pathetic and unassertive Larry, you are rooting for him to grow a pair... but nothing... he remains pathetic throughout the movie. And what was the point of the opening scene set in the distant past... pointless! PS: I'm a big Coen brothers fan... was really looking forward to it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
SteveWDec 13, 2009
I'm, Jewish, and I HATED this movie. The critics blew it. Again. Another unfunny "black" comedy. I couldn't wait for it to end. Worst movie I've seen in many, many years. Save your money, and whatever you do, do NOT buy the I'm, Jewish, and I HATED this movie. The critics blew it. Again. Another unfunny "black" comedy. I couldn't wait for it to end. Worst movie I've seen in many, many years. Save your money, and whatever you do, do NOT buy the DVD. You will thank me later. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
brjorge2002Feb 17, 2011
This is one of those films that the critics seem to love, but most users will not. Drama films where nothing happens should never get anything above a 50 but I see Ebert gave it a 100. How is this possible? The last 30 minutes weren'tThis is one of those films that the critics seem to love, but most users will not. Drama films where nothing happens should never get anything above a 50 but I see Ebert gave it a 100. How is this possible? The last 30 minutes weren't terrible, but that is only in comparison to the first 70 minutes which are excruciating. I'm sure the critics will say those that don't like this film "don't get it". I have a phrase for them, "Get real". Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
3
chrisfreeOct 31, 2010
The only time I was laughing when thinking about this movie, was thinking of how my wallet looked emptier than it deserved to be. I found the movie boring and hardly humorous at all, it was dull and just ended? Some people say that's life...The only time I was laughing when thinking about this movie, was thinking of how my wallet looked emptier than it deserved to be. I found the movie boring and hardly humorous at all, it was dull and just ended? Some people say that's life... that's why it ended that way, well that not why I or anyone should go watch movie, it was unilluminating, can't believe the misleading score Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
1
zig16Jan 1, 2011
This movie sucks! Plain and simple. If I paid to see this at the movies I would have been angry. As it it, I'm angry for paying attention to Ebert. I lost 90 minutes of good living time. This jackass, Ebert, has no credibility at all. HeThis movie sucks! Plain and simple. If I paid to see this at the movies I would have been angry. As it it, I'm angry for paying attention to Ebert. I lost 90 minutes of good living time. This jackass, Ebert, has no credibility at all. He rates every Disney movie pretty high. He was their lackey for quite some time so it should be no surprise. I guess he smooches the Coens' butts too.. Expand
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
3
Efreet69Mar 7, 2011
I was greatly disappointed by this film and cannot see how it was a nominee for the Best Picture Oscar. I found it neither thought provoking nor especially funny. Perhaps I would have gained more from the viewing if I was raised in theI was greatly disappointed by this film and cannot see how it was a nominee for the Best Picture Oscar. I found it neither thought provoking nor especially funny. Perhaps I would have gained more from the viewing if I was raised in the Jewish-American tradition, where I might have related more to some of the "commonly shared cultural experience" points of view. >>>> My full cinema profile here: http://bit.ly/MyMovies Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
3
ShahmeerMay 28, 2011
Pure crap. (with a little interest) it was hard to understand what they were saying. very hard to even try to comprehend the story (especially the beginning). Shouldn't have been nominated for best pictue. and to the Cohen Brothers......COMEPure crap. (with a little interest) it was hard to understand what they were saying. very hard to even try to comprehend the story (especially the beginning). Shouldn't have been nominated for best pictue. and to the Cohen Brothers......COME ON.
thankyou for your time.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
3
csw12Mar 25, 2012
Is this a comedy or a drama because i don't know and for that matter i don't care either because it wouldn't have helped the movie if i knew. This movie disgust me with its boring and stupid main character. Sorry Cohen brothers but this one sucked.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
3
Trev29Sep 1, 2012
This movie is seriously strange. It is wacky and filled with moments that feel as if they have no relation to the last. The story wasn't even interesting. Just not worth watching ever again.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
3
JRGOct 25, 2009
This movie was a serious disappointment. It's tome was too cold and distant for me to relate to. I think the Jewish community, of which there were many in the theater, enjoyed it more than I did.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DanKOct 31, 2009
What is amazing is that this movie can get a 100 from several major critics, and a 25 few several others. Apparently you will either love or hate this movie, not much middle ground. Me, like others posted, hated it - it was a dreary, What is amazing is that this movie can get a 100 from several major critics, and a 25 few several others. Apparently you will either love or hate this movie, not much middle ground. Me, like others posted, hated it - it was a dreary, growning waste of 2 hours. I say revoke the Coen's movie making privledges. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
SteveHOct 25, 2009
I'm a Cohen brothers fan but this is not one of their good movies. The movie had a few interesting/funny parts all in all, it was a dud. This movie is proof, you can't believe the critics all the time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
johngOct 26, 2009
At least with a root canal you get what you pay for. I wanted my money back after ten minutes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BonnieB.Oct 21, 2009
Tedious, boring, depressing. Funny? barely. Don't waste your time on this. When the tornado comes, you'll wish it had swept away the Cohn Bros. These are the guys who made "Oh, Brother"? Oy gevalt.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MichaelSOct 31, 2009
Don't waist your money and time. Awful movie. Denigrates everything it presents. Denigrates life, religion, jewish people, korean people, honesty, religion. The only message it sends is that life makes no sense. So why the Coens stay in Don't waist your money and time. Awful movie. Denigrates everything it presents. Denigrates life, religion, jewish people, korean people, honesty, religion. The only message it sends is that life makes no sense. So why the Coens stay in this world? Depressing, irritating and not funny Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful