Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Aug 8, 2012
    100
    The movie has an emotional payoff I failed to anticipate. It expresses hope in human nature. It is one of the year's best films.
  2. Reviewed by: Sheri Linden
    Apr 13, 2012
    70
    Though overlong, Hui's valentine never milks the drama for tears, maintaining an unsentimental focus on the central duo's playful chemistry and the loving way Ah Tao's attention to detail is repaid.
  3. Reviewed by: Chuck Bowen
    Apr 10, 2012
    63
    A Simple Life may have one of the most accurate titles in all of cinema, as the film has a bracingly casual sense of day-to-day working-class life that recalls the films of Jean Renoir or, more recently, Olivier Assayas.
  4. Reviewed by: Rachel Saltz
    Apr 12, 2012
    90
    Ms. Hui, a rare successful female director in the Hong Kong film industry, drew her story from real events, and the movie retains a tonic flavor of the everyday: its drama unfolds simply, without explosive moments but not without emotion. She and her two excellent leads keep the film buoyant.
  5. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Aug 8, 2012
    80
    Suffused with the gentle, unforced humanity viewers have come to expect from Hong Kong helmer Ann Hui, A Simple Life is a tender ode to the elderly, their caregivers and the mutual generosity of spirit that makes their limited time together worthwhile.
  6. Reviewed by: Ernest Hardy
    Apr 10, 2012
    70
    A deceptively simple film, gingerly peels layer after layer of sharp insights into the dynamics of familial love, using compassion and droll humor as its tools. Its strength is that it manages to tap genuine emotion without succumbing to sentimentality.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Dec 5, 2012
    9
    What a great movie! And the performance of Deannie Yip was talked for years. The feelings of warming and touching she made is extremly blow up my mind. Full Review »
  2. Apr 13, 2012
    9
    Extremely touching! This is one of the best Hing Kong movies in years. It is also quite realistic as it reflects the condition of Hong Kong a few decades ago. It is a must-see movie!!! Full Review »
  3. Apr 24, 2012
    7
    I am somewhat prejudiced since I am an Anglophile. I loved the witty dialogue and repartee in the film. I especially enjoyed Kristin Scott Thomas as the manipulative PR person for the Prime Minister. The story is quite improbable but it is sort of escapist, plus, you get to see a lot of lovely scenery. Full Review »