A Thousand Words

Metascore
26

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 18
  2. Negative: 10 out of 18

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Mar 8, 2012
    25
    This is the kind of colossally misguided vanity project.
  2. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Mar 8, 2012
    38
    The poster art for A Thousand Words shows Eddie Murphy with duct tape over his mouth, which as a promotional idea ranks right up there with Fred Astaire in leg irons.
  3. Reviewed by: Bilge Ebiri
    Mar 10, 2012
    30
    His performance feels so disingenuous, so forced, that an otherwise perfectly acceptable high-concept comedy comes crashing down around him.
  4. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Mar 10, 2012
    16
    In theory, A Thousand Words should draw on its star's abilities as a physical comedian, but Murphy, miming his order for a triple latte at Starbucks, comes off like Charlie Chaplin on crystal meth; he's strenuously unfunny to watch.
  5. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Mar 9, 2012
    25
    When they came in to pitch A Thousand Words, no doubt by calling it "Jerry Maguire" meets "Groundhog Day," a studio exec should have raised the palm of rejection and said, "When you stop being sadly derivative and write an original idea that's as good as those two, come back."
  6. 25
    For a comedy about the quest for inner peace, A Thousand Words reeks of desperation.
  7. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Mar 8, 2012
    38
    The concept is unoriginal, the scenarios aren't funny, and its message is banal. Plus, Murphy alternately hams it up and phones it in.
  8. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Mar 8, 2012
    30
    Alas, even Murphy's largely wordless, physically adroit performance can't redeem this tortured exercise in high-concept spiritualist hokum.
  9. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Mar 8, 2012
    25
    In A Thousand Words the camera stays about two inches from Murphy's hyperactive face, and you start to see the strain and desperation in the actor's eyes.
  10. Reviewed by: Tasha Robinson
    Mar 8, 2012
    25
    While the ending is wretchedly fakey and predictable, Murphy in subdued mode gives it a little authentic sweetness.
User Score
4.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 59 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 19
  2. Negative: 9 out of 19
  1. Mar 9, 2012
    2
    DUD! This movie was tired after the first 22 seconds. There were very few moments of originality, and everything in between was flat,DUD! This movie was tired after the first 22 seconds. There were very few moments of originality, and everything in between was flat, uninspired, dull, and painfully unfunny! The supporting cast was awful, especially his wife (I don't want to learn her name because I want to forget everything about her). I really wish someone in Hollywood could write an excellent script for Eddie Murphy because I want him to be successful...we keep waiting and waiting. Should I be happy or sad that I used my free rewards movie ticket to see this drivel??? It is a bit of both for me: I'm happy that I didn't waste a penny of my own money on it, but VERY sad I wasted a "free ticket". Full Review »
  2. Nov 25, 2012
    2
    Terrible movie. I gave this movie a two solely because the plot was somewhat original. however everything else in the was just plain awful.Terrible movie. I gave this movie a two solely because the plot was somewhat original. however everything else in the was just plain awful. Its flat, dull, painfully unfunny and the terrible jokes from good ol' funny Eddie Murphy will make you cringe. In fact this movie is just another cash in from Eddie Murphy himself, avoid this film at all costs. Full Review »
  3. Oct 20, 2012
    6
    I was sceptical about seeing this movie because, knowing the storyline, I was afraid Eddie Murphy may deliver over-the-top "Jim Carey-isms".I was sceptical about seeing this movie because, knowing the storyline, I was afraid Eddie Murphy may deliver over-the-top "Jim Carey-isms". That pretty much happened. But, I brushed that aside and watched a very interesting concept play out. There were some disappointments, but Critic reviews seemed a little harsh. I enjoyed this film. Full Review »