Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: January 25, 2002
8.3
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 198 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
161
Mixed:
20
Negative:
17
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
J-ShapAug 29, 2011
I honestly find it hard to believe that any sensible person would want to subject themselves to this utter tripe. Full of character archetypes, shameless manipulation, trite dialogue, and contrived drama, A Walk to Remember is unmistakablyI honestly find it hard to believe that any sensible person would want to subject themselves to this utter tripe. Full of character archetypes, shameless manipulation, trite dialogue, and contrived drama, A Walk to Remember is unmistakably the work of a hack; a hack thinks this is the only way to write a compelling romance. Excuse me, but I like romances where I feel for the couple because I like them as people, not because they're religious and contrived illnesses separate them. That's how you can tell when a movie does not care for its own integrity, and simply chooses to manipulate. There are no characters in this mass, only archetypes and contrivances. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
3
ClayJan 25, 2007
Boring, and totally unoriginal. A girl who gets teased a lot, and then some popular guy spends time to fulfill her top 3 to-do list? What? If you're going to go fantasy/fairytale, make it a cartoon. It isn't horrible, but it falls Boring, and totally unoriginal. A girl who gets teased a lot, and then some popular guy spends time to fulfill her top 3 to-do list? What? If you're going to go fantasy/fairytale, make it a cartoon. It isn't horrible, but it falls short and it's dull. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
1
RodrigoBGCOct 23, 2011
Another love story full of cliches, what is the point of watch a movie that tries hard to make you feel bad for someone or something? a movie that doesnt teach you anything? this is too predictible
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
Neth3rtwistJun 17, 2012
Kid that falls in with wrong crowd, check. Shy, theater chic that no one likes, check. A bad-moral friend that tries to stop the couple, check. Random black friend thrown in to do aimless rap and crack terrible jokes, check. A-hole dadKid that falls in with wrong crowd, check. Shy, theater chic that no one likes, check. A bad-moral friend that tries to stop the couple, check. Random black friend thrown in to do aimless rap and crack terrible jokes, check. A-hole dad with a stick in his butt that pulls it out in the end, check. Dad that abandoned his son but tries to reconnect, check. Dying person romance with a list of stuff to do, check. Girl who can sing and gets a leading role due to this fact only, check. Sappy love scenes where Mandy retains the same facial expression, a wedding, a death, a bad choice, lesson on faith.. Should I go on and on? The two dudes in the movie that fall out as friends show a bit of acting snuff, but the girls are simply terrible. I'm sorry, but a teen with leukemia isn't gonna be dancing around in school plays and singing up a storm. I am a Christian, so I admire the message this movie attempts to convey, but it just isn't enough. I think my favorite part of the movie was the opening 5 minutes. The rest has no plot, jumbled character archetypes, and one cheesy cheesy cheesy moment after the next. Really, is this what the intelligence level of our teen girls has fallen to? Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
sam378Feb 9, 2013
Though I'm always up for a chic flick, the acting in this movie makes it just painful to watch. Some cry at the end of the movie, I cried hoping it would just end.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
HadrianusNov 7, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie looks like a beautiful romance film.But it isn´t.Is junk.I call it A walk to throw up.The actors are in the way,but the screenplay and the director is a junk. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
lindswitzJun 16, 2015
I was very disappointed after watching this movie. After reading the book, I automatically fell in love with the characters and could not wait to see them come to life in the movie. The script writer left out almost everything from the bookI was very disappointed after watching this movie. After reading the book, I automatically fell in love with the characters and could not wait to see them come to life in the movie. The script writer left out almost everything from the book which I for one, was very shocked about. There were so many beautiful scenes in this book and the way Nicholas Sparks writes is like a work of art. In the book, Jamie is portrayed has the girl who always helps the needy. She is always volunteering at the orphanage. I thought it was very strange how they left such a significant detail out of the movie. My all time favorite part of the book was when Landon went to collect the money jars for the orphans for Jamie. I can honestly go on and on about how poorly this movie was directed. But than again, the books are always better than the movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews