User Score
4.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 161 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 161
  2. Negative: 74 out of 161

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 11, 2013
    4
    You know what's the best thing about this movie? The title. "Abduction" is a total failure to live up to its intense-sounding title. The dialogue is silly and laughable, the acting is generally terrible, and not even Taylor Lautner can save this disaster.
  2. Sep 1, 2013
    1
    Ich habe wirklich super viel gelacht.Ob der Dialoge und Handlung. Ein sehr einfach gehaltener Film der nach dem Thriller-Schema-F "produziert" (gefertigt wurde). Alfred Molino sieht einfach für mich immer wie ein beleidigter Junge aus. Will ihm aber noch ne Chance in seiner Karriere geben. Spannung hat der Film ja schon. Er ist eben einfach nr Handwerkskunst.
  3. Jun 2, 2013
    2
    A highly forgettable movie that gets most of its audience from screaming girls who love Taylor Lautner. Unfortunately for Lautner he shows he can't be a leading man. Not to mention the script stinks.
  4. Feb 27, 2013
    2
    For what it's worth, I was actually pretty entertained by this movie, flaws and all. The acting is pretty bad; Taylor Lautner is horrible, but is not just him that is bad, there are some very capable actors here that do not deliver. The fault is not on them entirely because the script is bad as well, there is some atrocious dialogue in this film. The main problem with Abduction though is the plot. There are gaping plot holes in the narrative that just leaves way too much up in the air; by the end of the movie you still won't have any clue who any of the players are, whether they were good/bad, or what their motives were. This makes for a film that has some decent action sequences that entertain, but a story that frankly makes zero logical sense. Expand
  5. Dec 31, 2012
    2
    Rarely does acting take me outside the experience of a film. Poor acting is acceptable but this is just awful. It almost as if Taylor Lauten has no acting skill at all... Oh wait that's probably the case. When will Hollywood realize that it takes more than a jaw line and six pack to carry a film. 2 is generous because the direction wasn't bad and the supporting cast held their own. SKIP THIS FILM. Unless your a 14 yr old girl. Then you can probably masterbate to this for weeks. Expand
  6. Jul 8, 2012
    3
    Fair enough, this movie is fun to watch, what with all the action sequences and fights that would most likely never happen. But in terms of critically analysing it is awful. The script was so so bad with not a single line that actually had meaning or was good, the acting was unbelievably, the only word for it, c**p, with no emotion and when Taylor lautner cries in this film it looks like he
  7. Jun 2, 2012
    3
    Fair enough, this movie is fun to watch, ehat with all the action sequences and fights that would most likely never happen. But in terms of critically analyzing it is awful. The script was so so bad with not a single line that actually had meaning or was good, the acting was unbelievably, the only word for it, c**p, with no emotion and when taylor lautner cries in this film it looks like hes pusing really hard to get the tears out, and the rest of the card are like watching moving wood. How this film scored the A List stars it did i will not know because this film was absolutely disgraceful, Expand
  8. May 13, 2012
    1
    one of the worst movies I ever seen in my life. Worst acting cast and directing. DO not see this movie it is so horrible. The storyline is horrible. It feel like they wrote this script in one hour . WIthout thinking . I knew It was going to be horrible by the beginning.
  9. Mar 15, 2012
    0
    Terrible, terrible, terrible film, is one of the worst movies that I can watch, I think that the film look like the Bourne saga can be good, but no, is a bigger disaster, is a terrible film.
  10. Mar 12, 2012
    1
    A terrible "action flick with terrible "acting".
  11. Feb 6, 2012
    0
    Worthless movie. Worst 20 Bucks (With popcorn and drinks) ive ever spent. TAylor is not a good actor he should do shows before movies. Go to like icarly or some crap
  12. Jan 18, 2012
    0
    This movie is awful! My girlfriend rented it because Taylor Lautner takes off his shirt. The writing and acting is terrible and unbelievable. I think she liked it... I was bored to tears...
  13. Jan 15, 2012
    0
    I saw most of this movie when i was at the barbershop getting my haircut and i couldn't wait until the barber swiveled my chair so my back would be facing the tv. Just face it , the only reason Taylor Laughtner is big right now is because of his body that he used corto-slim to sculpt. This movie is just bad. Stay away
  14. Jan 12, 2012
    4
    If you enjoy teenage dramas, terrible acting, plots that never seem to be explained and more bad acting then you'll love this movie. If not, rent Enemy of the State. It's kind of the same thing but with people who can act and isn't centred around awkward and unrealistic teenage dramas.
  15. Jan 7, 2012
    2
    I thought that Abduction would be boring & lame kinda thriller and hay, i was right . Its the worst thriller i have ever seen. Its was like Non fantasy version of Twilight . Everything in this movie sucks . Acting was so bad ....I mean really really bad. Its so easy to find that how bad Taylor Lautner's acting is . The story wasn't so good and the Script was really really bad . aah ! Watching Abduction is like 106 minutes of pain .John Singleton's directional comeback after Four Brothers(which i really enjoyed) turned out to be a total failure . Expand
  16. JFK
    Nov 9, 2011
    1
    I don't understand how such an amazing cast could surround Taylor Lautner and still leave him looking so wooden. Completely disappointing. Gaping continuity errors.
  17. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    If Abduction does anything, it makes the viewer laugh multiple times in a 90 minute span. Its like its building to one big punch line with little nuggets of comedy along the way. This would be a good thing if this film was a comedy. John Singleton brings an action film so terrible it crosses into spoof territory with a lead actor (Taylor Lautner) who is thoroughly repulsive (at least acting wise). Singletons desire to make a fast paced action film which calls back to older films just reminds the viewer that the older films were so much better. As his first lead role away from The Twilight Saga, Lautner flops like a fish on dry land. He fails to tell the difference between acting and annunciation. The film suffers from other things but the score pretty much says it all. Its a shambles of a movie which everyone involved should be ashamed of, especially Lautner. Expand
  18. Nov 7, 2011
    1
    Abduction is an extremely poor film for a number of reasons. Firstly, the lead Taylor Lautner can't act. Secondly the script is repulsively bad. Thirdly, in this film, director John Singleton demonstrates extreme technical ineptitude - the framing is clumsy, the editing heavy-handed, the pace and tone of the film inconsistent. I guess the film has one selling point - that at an alarmingly frequent rate, it is unintentionally hilarious. Despite all these basic film errors, the most shocking, most insulting thing about Abduction is the number of exceptionally talented actors (Sigourney Weaver, Alfred Molina and Jason Isaacs) who are willing to sell their souls for a pay cheque. Expand
  19. Oct 13, 2011
    2
    A movie that stumbles out of the gates, and never gets back on it's feet. Mediocre and uneventful, the movie will leave you with a sick pit in your wallet; and the regret of paying to watch it. The plot is ridiculous, the acting is atrocious, and the story progression is spotty and lacks substance. One of the worst movies I have seen, and it is definitely Taylor Lautner's worst role ever. Terrible, and nothing else. Expand
  20. Oct 9, 2011
    1
    More like ab-DUCK-shun, because this movie is destined to follow in the footsteps of "Howard the Duck". "Abduction" will undoubtedly be one of the worst, if not the worst movie of the year, when lists come out in December. Taylor Lautner is impressive with his physical ability and high kicks, but the absolute painstaking part of the "Abduction" experience is Lautner's acting...or the lack of ability to do so. A true alien abduction, complete with probing, would have been less painful. I see a Razzie in Lautner's future. I would have to say it is a sure thing. As for the plot, not really well thought out, but who am I to say...I was too focused on Lautner, wondering if his next line may just be the one he nails. Expand
  21. Oct 7, 2011
    2
    What are some of these uninvolving and tedious set pieces you may ask. I donâ
  22. Oct 7, 2011
    0
    Not very much to say, it's almost not a movie. Despite the presence of truly good actors as Sigourney Weaver, Alfred Molina, Jason Isaacs (only here for the money. I don't see other reason), it is simply boring. Taylor Lautner is the worst in the film so far (it's a kind of exceptionnal performance).
  23. Oct 6, 2011
    2
    It's obviously a copycat Bourne movie and Taylor Lautner is a poor copy of Matt Damon. The action sequences are below par and the storyline is full of holes. Eatch the original Bourne movies on DVD instead.
  24. Sep 28, 2011
    2
    Like Beiber, I hope Lautner saves his money because, like most teeny boppers, he will need it after Hollywood has forgotten him. His acting consists of a pout and his angry look and has not grown beyond his limited acting ability in the Twilight movies. The rest of the cast does a good job of walking through their roles and excepting the paycheck but there is nothing that I would want to see or experience again.
    Lautner, either better take some acting lessons or give it up now because the body and prissy acting isn't going to get him anywhere.
    Expand
  25. Sep 26, 2011
    0
    The plot (if you can call it that) behind this movie is almost as bad as its cast. Taylor Lautner is a awkward at his best, and laughable as an action movie actor. this movie is predictable and uninteresting, don't watch it.
  26. Sep 24, 2011
    0
    They lie when they call this a movie. A movie is supposed to ber entertaining, this drek was just teen targeted drivel. Save your time and money and pass on this turkey. The producer clearly thought that having a star from a twilight move was enough to carry the film, so there was no need for a script or plot.
Metascore
25

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 20
  2. Negative: 12 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Sep 29, 2011
    30
    Molina and Weaver, who, most of the time, perform brilliantly, move through Abduction as if on autopilot.
  2. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Sep 24, 2011
    25
    Perhaps the only way to approach Abduction that will not result in a 105-minute boredom-induced coma is to think of it as a comedy, preferably with a drinking game attached. There are laughs to be had, although none of them are intentional.
  3. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Sep 24, 2011
    25
    Abduction is a crass and lowbrow attempt to cash in on a young actor's heat - an exploitation picture where the person being taken advantage of is too young to notice.