Metascore
25

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 169 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Abduction is a thriller that focuses on a youth who discovers the parents who raised him aren't his real folks, a revelation that triggers events and leaves him running for his life.(Lionsgate)
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 20
  2. Negative: 12 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Alison Willmore
    Sep 22, 2011
    55
    As Nathan, the teenage hero of Abduction, Lautner shows he's handy with stunts, many of which he clearly and impressively performs himself, and good with a fight scene. But when it comes to exchanges of dialogue, displays of emotion or just standing around, he's stiff and manifestly uncomfortable.
  2. Reviewed by: Andrew Barker
    Sep 22, 2011
    50
    Aside from such dutiful fan service, the film is a haggardly slapdash "Bourne Identity" knockoff, never rising above the level of basic competence.
  3. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Sep 22, 2011
    50
    Abduction puts Lautner in motion and never goes very far wrong as long as he remains in motion.
  4. Reviewed by: Benjamin Mercer
    Sep 24, 2011
    30
    A blockhead espionage thriller from director-for-hire John Singleton.
  5. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Sep 24, 2011
    25
    Abduction is a crass and lowbrow attempt to cash in on a young actor's heat - an exploitation picture where the person being taken advantage of is too young to notice.
  6. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Sep 24, 2011
    20
    A ridiculously cheesy confection filled with unthrilling thrills, bored-looking adults and a comically overstuffed backstory.
  7. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Sep 24, 2011
    10
    A fourth-rate Hollywood thriller that bungles a lot of thievery from better movies, is entirely bereft of suspense or excitement and features a leading man who absolutely, positively cannot act.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 54
  2. Negative: 26 out of 54
  1. Sep 27, 2011
    10
    Everyone who says this movie wasn't good is just BITTER and CYNICAL! I am a 29 year old woman, and my husband and I BOTH liked this movie aEveryone who says this movie wasn't good is just BITTER and CYNICAL! I am a 29 year old woman, and my husband and I BOTH liked this movie a lot. It was entertaining and definitely worth the money to see it. In our opinion, Taylor did a great job. Keep these movies coming! We want a sequel! Expand
  2. Oct 4, 2011
    10
    This movie deserves at least a 7/10 I'm giving it a 10 because everyone is insulting for some stupid reason!!! Sure it was far from perfectThis movie deserves at least a 7/10 I'm giving it a 10 because everyone is insulting for some stupid reason!!! Sure it was far from perfect but the ratings are just mean. Expand
  3. Nov 4, 2011
    8
    I Do Have To Say This Is Another Copcat Movie... But Taylor's Acting Is Verry Good Even Better Than Mat's... Altohugh Some Scenes In ThisI Do Have To Say This Is Another Copcat Movie... But Taylor's Acting Is Verry Good Even Better Than Mat's... Altohugh Some Scenes In This Movie Arent Great... It Makes Up For It In Acting... Taylor Great Job! I Think This Movie Does Not Deserve All The Critical Comments About Taylor...
    8
    Expand
  4. Jan 1, 2015
    4
    The film has poor dialogue and it is obviously a rip-off of The Bourne movies,, you definitely expect more from a director of Singleton'sThe film has poor dialogue and it is obviously a rip-off of The Bourne movies,, you definitely expect more from a director of Singleton's caliber. Lautner's acting will improve in the future he's only 22. Expand
  5. Jun 2, 2013
    2
    A highly forgettable movie that gets most of its audience from screaming girls who love Taylor Lautner. Unfortunately for Lautner he shows heA highly forgettable movie that gets most of its audience from screaming girls who love Taylor Lautner. Unfortunately for Lautner he shows he can't be a leading man. Not to mention the script stinks. Expand
  6. Mar 12, 2012
    1
    A terrible "action flick with terrible "acting".
  7. Oct 7, 2011
    0
    Not very much to say, it's almost not a movie. Despite the presence of truly good actors as Sigourney Weaver, Alfred Molina, Jason IsaacsNot very much to say, it's almost not a movie. Despite the presence of truly good actors as Sigourney Weaver, Alfred Molina, Jason Isaacs (only here for the money. I don't see other reason), it is simply boring. Taylor Lautner is the worst in the film so far (it's a kind of exceptionnal performance). Collapse

See all 54 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Fall Movie Preview: The 30 Most-Anticipated Films

    Fall Movie Preview: The 30 Most-Anticipated Films Image
    Published: September 6, 2011
    We preview the 30 top movies arriving this fall, from Steven Soderbergh's "Contagion" to George Clooney's "Ides of March." While you're at it, find release dates and descriptions for the other 60+ fall films, too.