About Last Night

About Last Night Image
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 55 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Feb 12, 2014
    83
    If this was December, Kevin Hart might be in the Oscar mix, he's that good in About Last Night. Explosively good, a comedy nova who won't shut up and never should.
  2. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Feb 13, 2014
    75
    The four leads are enormously likable and there’s still enough sharp, raunchy, sexy humor for me to recommend this version.
  3. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Feb 13, 2014
    75
    Frisky fun made all the more entertaining because of the potent chemistry between its quartet of lead actors.
  4. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Feb 13, 2014
    63
    In a rom-com, there's no rom without the com. Hart and Hall give it their all.
  5. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Feb 14, 2014
    63
    Hart is a comic fireball. Don't leave till after the final credits when he and Hall bust a few more hilarious improv moves.
  6. Reviewed by: Peter Labuza
    Feb 13, 2014
    60
    The actors give the proceedings a mostly quick-witted repartee that prevails over the occasionally stale script.
  7. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Feb 13, 2014
    38
    Despite a frisky soundtrack that starts off with James Brown’s “Sex Machine” — trust me, it’s downhill from there — this is the visual equivalent of Muzak. You don’t have to see it to have seen it.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 13
  2. Negative: 3 out of 13
  1. Mar 1, 2014
    10
    Hilarious I love the pairing of Kevin hart and Regina hall. They never ceize to make me laugh. Kevin hart is actually kind of attractive, butHilarious I love the pairing of Kevin hart and Regina hall. They never ceize to make me laugh. Kevin hart is actually kind of attractive, but too short for my liking consirpdering I'm 5'10 1/2 and he's like 5'2 Expand
  2. Oct 25, 2015
    9
    Corny and predictable but the film is self of aware of it but the performances by the four leads is witty,engaging and comical also sexyCorny and predictable but the film is self of aware of it but the performances by the four leads is witty,engaging and comical also sexy making us forget about the mistakes the film has made. The screenplay by Leslye Headland (Bachelorette) is smart and well paced also has an honest look relationships and director Steve Pink (Hot Tub Time Machine) makes the film pretty and has perfect comedic timing. The talented Kevin Hart is great! He elevates the material that is given to him and makes it vigorous, not the mention the chemistry that him and Regina Hall (Scary Movie) is energetic and humorous which will give you hearty laughs watching them. Michael Ealy and Joy Bryant are natural and sexy chemistry, their acting is charming and I don't honestly don't care if their not even close to Hart and Hall. Grade A- Expand
  3. Feb 15, 2014
    8
    A was very pleasantly surprised by how good this movie is. I know I saw the original years ago but couldn't remember any of it - so I had noA was very pleasantly surprised by how good this movie is. I know I saw the original years ago but couldn't remember any of it - so I had no real expectations. Michael Ealy is awesome (enjoy his stuff on Almost Human), and Kevin Hart is absolutely an A-list star now. His comedic delivery is impeccable. And his female counterpart Regina Hall absolutely rises to his level. Well... Nope, won't go there. Recommended! Expand
  4. Feb 19, 2014
    6
    This 80's romcom (written by David Mamet, no less) has been reworked with a mostly black cast, but the theme is the same: two couples struggleThis 80's romcom (written by David Mamet, no less) has been reworked with a mostly black cast, but the theme is the same: two couples struggle to take their relationships from casual to serious. Couple #1 is Michael Ealy and Joy Bryant, who effectively provide the drama and beauty. The comedy comes from couple #2 (Kevin Hart and Regina Hall). Their chemistry and fast-talking repartee provide plenty of fun. Nothing about the narrative is original and the dialogue is pretty pedestrian, but the charisma of the cast and the well-paced direction make it sufficiently entertaining. Expand
  5. Nov 13, 2014
    5
    "About Last Night" 10 Scale Rating: 5.0 (Mediocre) ...

    The Good: While his relationship with Joy Bryant was stale, Micheal Ealy was solid
    "About Last Night" 10 Scale Rating: 5.0 (Mediocre) ...

    The Good: While his relationship with Joy Bryant was stale, Micheal Ealy was solid as usual. Kevin Hart and Regina Hall carried the movie however, and their relationship was far more interesting ... and funny. Ealy and Hart did an excellent job portraying buddies who are at very different places in their lives as some of the funnier scenes involve dialogue between the two of them.

    The Bad: Unfortunately, the relationship that the film revolves around was uninteresting and boring. I just didn't care if they worked things out or not and several times found myself asking myself why they were together to begin with. The outcome is also way too neat and tidy, which seemed very unrealistic.
    Expand
  6. Feb 24, 2014
    5
    None of the characters really play like real people. Kevin Hart was funny as always, but nobody else was particularly memorable. It wasn'tNone of the characters really play like real people. Kevin Hart was funny as always, but nobody else was particularly memorable. It wasn't terrible, just forgettable. Expand
  7. Apr 12, 2014
    0
    ONE OF THE WORST MOVIES I HAVE SEEN THIS YEAR. STICK TO WATCHING THE ORIGINAL ONE AND DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME WITH THIS UTTER NONSENSE. I SAYONE OF THE WORST MOVIES I HAVE SEEN THIS YEAR. STICK TO WATCHING THE ORIGINAL ONE AND DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME WITH THIS UTTER NONSENSE. I SAY THIS AS A HUGE KEVIN HART FAN AND THESE TYPE OF MOVIES! LOVED THE ORIGINAL! :) Expand

See all 13 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Episode Review: The Office (Series Finale)

    Episode Review: The Office (Series Finale) Image
    Published: May 17, 2013
    NBC's The Office closed up shop last night with a super-sized series finale, capping a nine-season run. What are critics saying about the final episode? Find out inside, and give us your take, too.
  2. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  3. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  4. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  5. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Star Trek Beyond, Lights Out, Don't Think Twice, Ice Age: Collision Course, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.