Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 52 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Feb 12, 2014
    83
    If this was December, Kevin Hart might be in the Oscar mix, he's that good in About Last Night. Explosively good, a comedy nova who won't shut up and never should.
  2. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Feb 13, 2014
    75
    The four leads are enormously likable and there’s still enough sharp, raunchy, sexy humor for me to recommend this version.
  3. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Feb 13, 2014
    75
    Frisky fun made all the more entertaining because of the potent chemistry between its quartet of lead actors.
  4. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Feb 13, 2014
    63
    In a rom-com, there's no rom without the com. Hart and Hall give it their all.
  5. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Feb 14, 2014
    63
    Hart is a comic fireball. Don't leave till after the final credits when he and Hall bust a few more hilarious improv moves.
  6. Reviewed by: Peter Labuza
    Feb 13, 2014
    60
    The actors give the proceedings a mostly quick-witted repartee that prevails over the occasionally stale script.
  7. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Feb 13, 2014
    38
    Despite a frisky soundtrack that starts off with James Brown’s “Sex Machine” — trust me, it’s downhill from there — this is the visual equivalent of Muzak. You don’t have to see it to have seen it.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 13
  2. Negative: 3 out of 13
  1. Mar 1, 2014
    10
    Hilarious I love the pairing of Kevin hart and Regina hall. They never ceize to make me laugh. Kevin hart is actually kind of attractive, butHilarious I love the pairing of Kevin hart and Regina hall. They never ceize to make me laugh. Kevin hart is actually kind of attractive, but too short for my liking consirpdering I'm 5'10 1/2 and he's like 5'2 Collapse
  2. Feb 14, 2014
    8
    About Last Night lumbers at points, when the drama steers too far away from its vibrant, character pairings. Paula Patton appears briefly asAbout Last Night lumbers at points, when the drama steers too far away from its vibrant, character pairings. Paula Patton appears briefly as Alison, who hopes to seduce Danny into her web. It's a silly detour that would feel more like a cameo if Patton didn't play drunk the entire time. But it's a rare misstep for the movie, which manages to remain low-key and uproarious from start to finish. But, About Last Night is a welcome change of pace for the romantic comedy genre, an update of the Mamet play where people are allowed to communicate frankly and realistically. It also offers plenty of laughs, thanks to cast members Kevin Hart and Regina Hall. Expand
  3. Feb 15, 2014
    8
    A was very pleasantly surprised by how good this movie is. I know I saw the original years ago but couldn't remember any of it - so I had noA was very pleasantly surprised by how good this movie is. I know I saw the original years ago but couldn't remember any of it - so I had no real expectations. Michael Ealy is awesome (enjoy his stuff on Almost Human), and Kevin Hart is absolutely an A-list star now. His comedic delivery is impeccable. And his female counterpart Regina Hall absolutely rises to his level. Well... Nope, won't go there. Recommended! Expand
  4. Feb 19, 2014
    6
    This 80's romcom (written by David Mamet, no less) has been reworked with a mostly black cast, but the theme is the same: two couples struggleThis 80's romcom (written by David Mamet, no less) has been reworked with a mostly black cast, but the theme is the same: two couples struggle to take their relationships from casual to serious. Couple #1 is Michael Ealy and Joy Bryant, who effectively provide the drama and beauty. The comedy comes from couple #2 (Kevin Hart and Regina Hall). Their chemistry and fast-talking repartee provide plenty of fun. Nothing about the narrative is original and the dialogue is pretty pedestrian, but the charisma of the cast and the well-paced direction make it sufficiently entertaining. Expand
  5. Nov 13, 2014
    5
    "About Last Night" 10 Scale Rating: 5.0 (Mediocre) ...

    The Good: While his relationship with Joy Bryant was stale, Micheal Ealy was solid
    "About Last Night" 10 Scale Rating: 5.0 (Mediocre) ...

    The Good: While his relationship with Joy Bryant was stale, Micheal Ealy was solid as usual. Kevin Hart and Regina Hall carried the movie however, and their relationship was far more interesting ... and funny. Ealy and Hart did an excellent job portraying buddies who are at very different places in their lives as some of the funnier scenes involve dialogue between the two of them.

    The Bad: Unfortunately, the relationship that the film revolves around was uninteresting and boring. I just didn't care if they worked things out or not and several times found myself asking myself why they were together to begin with. The outcome is also way too neat and tidy, which seemed very unrealistic.
    Expand
  6. Feb 24, 2014
    5
    None of the characters really play like real people. Kevin Hart was funny as always, but nobody else was particularly memorable. It wasn'tNone of the characters really play like real people. Kevin Hart was funny as always, but nobody else was particularly memorable. It wasn't terrible, just forgettable. Expand
  7. Apr 12, 2014
    0
    ONE OF THE WORST MOVIES I HAVE SEEN THIS YEAR. STICK TO WATCHING THE ORIGINAL ONE AND DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME WITH THIS UTTER NONSENSE. I SAYONE OF THE WORST MOVIES I HAVE SEEN THIS YEAR. STICK TO WATCHING THE ORIGINAL ONE AND DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME WITH THIS UTTER NONSENSE. I SAY THIS AS A HUGE KEVIN HART FAN AND THESE TYPE OF MOVIES! LOVED THE ORIGINAL! :) Expand

See all 13 User Reviews

Trailers