Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 204 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: At the age of 21, Tim Lake discovers he can travel back in time, but as his unusual life progresses, Tim finds out that his unique gift canâ
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 34
  2. Negative: 3 out of 34
  1. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Oct 31, 2013
    89
    The movie moves episodically, leisurely, through roughly a decade, and that feels like a gift: to nestle in with these extraordinary, ordinary people and get to know them.
  2. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Oct 30, 2013
    75
    Gleeson and McAdams make a touching, lifelike couple, but by the time the movie starts telling us to live each day as if we were going back and doing it all over again, you may feel Curtis has mistaken hokum for wisdom.
  3. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Nov 1, 2013
    75
    What results is amusing, gently entertaining and might induce a tear or two.
  4. Reviewed by: Chris Cabin
    Sep 25, 2013
    63
    A surprisingly thoughtful romantic comedy that shirks a great deal of reason and consequence in the name of love.
  5. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Nov 1, 2013
    58
    There’s a creepy subtext to all this, especially when Tim uses his time-travel gifts to woo an American girl without her assent.
  6. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Oct 31, 2013
    50
    Like a doggie in a window, this romcom relentlessly wags its tail so you'll fall in love and take it home. Not this time, puppy.
  7. Reviewed by: Gabe Toro
    Sep 24, 2013
    25
    About Time, inadvertently, reveals itself to be About Men, and how they devise lies in order to create the illusion that all women supposedly want to see.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 37
  2. Negative: 4 out of 37
  1. Jan 23, 2014
    10
    Whoever gave this review less than 11/10, is a complete idiot because this is one of the best movies ever created. I laughed, I cried (a lot) and I'm a male....and straight...I only created this account on Metacritic to rate this movie...will also probably rate others. While I'm here, Inception and Butterfly effect were awesome Expand
  2. Mar 17, 2014
    10
    i did not see the ending which was a bummer . i wish i can travel in time to fix my mistakes but i can't. i love rachel mcadams and i love this film . i am in 6th grade and i want my future to be perfect and have a good child and have a good wife thats why i am so nervous about the future you never know if your gonna have a good future or not . thats why i love this film here's why its about love , time , romance , and a good life . Expand
  3. Nov 21, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers. A socially awkward guy learns that he has the ability to travel through time, so he does what most of us would do in that circumstance So about time is a feel good romantic comedy about tim this social outcast who never stood out in life bill nighy who plays his father comes to him and tells him that all the males on their family can travel trough time what does he wants not money or fame or glory he just wants him to get a girlfriend which is simple read full review http://cinews.info/in-cinema/About-Time.php Collapse
  4. Nov 24, 2013
    8
    In the format of a chick-flick, "About Time" should not be mistaken for one. Intimate and heart warming, yet a surefire tear jerker, the film gives us an original storyline and a beautiful (as always) Rachel McAdams. A feel-good movie for the ladies AND their dates. Expand
  5. May 11, 2014
    8
    A film you fall in love with even knowing their are some small time travel issues. The acting is top notch the music is great and the film left me really adoring it. A- Expand
  6. Aug 15, 2014
    7
    I am confused, one side i am thinking that how you can so oversimplify the time travel and it's relevance and on the other side i find the basic theme of the movie very beautiful. It's freshness is the biggest attraction as well as the biggest drawback. But still it's a beautiful drama if we just ignore our normal mindset towards time travel. Expand
  7. Jan 3, 2014
    0
    this a story of a guy who for some reason can not find a girlfriend while living in London. To get one this poor sod has to resort to time travel Sounds like it can be a funny movie except for it tries to be a drama and completely fails at that as no one in the right mind can take this story seriously nor is there any emotional attachment to any of the main characters. Expand

See all 37 User Reviews

Trailers