Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 167 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: At the age of 21, Tim Lake discovers he can travel back in time, but as his unusual life progresses, Tim finds out that his unique gift canâ
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 34
  2. Negative: 3 out of 34
  1. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Oct 31, 2013
    89
    The movie moves episodically, leisurely, through roughly a decade, and that feels like a gift: to nestle in with these extraordinary, ordinary people and get to know them.
  2. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Oct 30, 2013
    75
    Gleeson and McAdams make a touching, lifelike couple, but by the time the movie starts telling us to live each day as if we were going back and doing it all over again, you may feel Curtis has mistaken hokum for wisdom.
  3. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Nov 1, 2013
    75
    What results is amusing, gently entertaining and might induce a tear or two.
  4. Reviewed by: Chris Cabin
    Sep 25, 2013
    63
    A surprisingly thoughtful romantic comedy that shirks a great deal of reason and consequence in the name of love.
  5. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Nov 1, 2013
    58
    There’s a creepy subtext to all this, especially when Tim uses his time-travel gifts to woo an American girl without her assent.
  6. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Oct 31, 2013
    50
    Like a doggie in a window, this romcom relentlessly wags its tail so you'll fall in love and take it home. Not this time, puppy.
  7. Reviewed by: Gabe Toro
    Sep 24, 2013
    25
    About Time, inadvertently, reveals itself to be About Men, and how they devise lies in order to create the illusion that all women supposedly want to see.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 36
  2. Negative: 4 out of 36
  1. Jan 23, 2014
    10
    Whoever gave this review less than 11/10, is a complete idiot because this is one of the best movies ever created. I laughed, I cried (a lot) and I'm a male....and straight...I only created this account on Metacritic to rate this movie...will also probably rate others. While I'm here, Inception and Butterfly effect were awesome Expand
  2. Nov 21, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A socially awkward guy learns that he has the ability to travel through time, so he does what most of us would do in that circumstance So about time is a feel good romantic comedy about tim this social outcast who never stood out in life bill nighy who plays his father comes to him and tells him that all the males on their family can travel trough time what does he wants not money or fame or glory he just wants him to get a girlfriend which is simple read full review http://cinews.info/in-cinema/About-Time.php Expand
  3. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    I have a feeling that "About Time" will become a beloved movie in my family, from now on. Authentic, positive, real, warm, and filled with wonderful characters and messages. I loved this movie. It is not so much a film about a time traveling man as it is about life and relationships in every form. Expand
  4. Nov 10, 2013
    8
    "About Time" is a film all about being able to go back and have a second chance... That being said, I would still see this film. Lots of unanswered questions, and I didn't feel there was any climactic scene, but the movie made me think. It's a good film, and I'd recommend it. Expand
  5. Feb 26, 2014
    8
    Saw this on a flight and I am glad I did as it was not a movie I heard of. The premise seems pretty cheesey. Even the first 30 minutes is pretty cheesey in nature as well-predictable and a story that has already been told. But the story turns to a more family oriented,family saving ordeal with feeling in that the viewer can identify with the predictament the family begins to face. If you begin to watch this, give the slow moving tale some time Collapse
  6. Jun 2, 2014
    7
    It turns out that the movie is not about a love story. It’s more about fatherhood. It’s a shame it had to sell the love story part in its promotion to get people watching this movie.

    The directing and the cinematography is absolutely beautiful. In terms of directing, this is a wonderful swan song for Richard Curtis’ directing career.

    However, the story lacked strong conflict. The love story in this movie did not have any conflict at all. It seemed like it’s too much of a perfect romantic story, which felt unrealistic.

    And the plot holes in this story is very noticeable. To get my point, I had to list down the time traveling rules, applied in the movie.

    1-)Only male members of the family can travel in time.: This rule was broken when Tim traveled way back in time from the beginning of the movie with his sister, Kit Kat. The question why Kit Kat was allowed to time travel as long as she is with her brother is not answered.
    2-)Only travel to the past is possible: This rule was broken when Tim arrives in the past and then goes back to the present time. The question why Tim cannot go to the future, but can go back to the present is not answered.
    3-)It is impossible to go back in time before you were born: The first rule that wasn’t broken.
    4-)Traveling back to a time before your child is born will cause a different child to be born and the original child will be lost: And the last rule that wasn’t broken either.

    With these plot holes and the story lacking conflict makes the movie a bit boring to watch.

    The humor, however, saved the movie. It was funny and smartly written.

    While this time traveling romantic-comedy movie is not memorable, its humor, charm and beautiful setting will remain you to watch the movie until the credits roll.
    Expand
  7. Jan 3, 2014
    0
    this a story of a guy who for some reason can not find a girlfriend while living in London. To get one this poor sod has to resort to time travel Sounds like it can be a funny movie except for it tries to be a drama and completely fails at that as no one in the right mind can take this story seriously nor is there any emotional attachment to any of the main characters. Expand

See all 36 User Reviews

Trailers