Metascore
42

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 35
  2. Negative: 9 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Jun 21, 2012
    38
    The movie deserves a stake through the heart.
  2. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Jun 21, 2012
    25
    A pox upon history and an insult to the 16th president of the United States. It's that, of course - actually, that's the point - but this joyless, deafening cinematic headache commits a different crime. It's a sin against entertainment.
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Jun 21, 2012
    20
    What I don't understand is why this extended piece of idiocy chose to sink its stinky teeth into our 16th president. If an axe-wielding hero was required, George Washington would have been the better choice, with the Redcoats as bloodsuckers.
  4. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Jun 21, 2012
    25
    Enormous in its scope and colossal in its stupidity.
  5. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Jun 22, 2012
    0
    I didn't know whether to be more offended as a moviegoer or as an American, but I do know I'd rather gargle nitroglycerine than watch this again, though given that the film looks like it were buried under a log cabin for a century, I barely saw it the first time.
  6. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Jun 21, 2012
    20
    This insipid mashup of history lesson and monster flick takes itself semi-seriously, which is truly deadly.
  7. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Jun 21, 2012
    20
    This ludicrous CGI extravaganza, based on the comic horror novel by Seth Grahame-Smith, can stand proudly beside the best-worst of Ed Wood and Uwe Boll.
  8. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Jun 21, 2012
    25
    Other than its campy title, not much about Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter is fun.
  9. Reviewed by: James Adams
    Jun 21, 2012
    38
    The biggest high comes from the images evoked by the title alone, or the title in tandem with the movie poster, doesn't it?
User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 254 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 86
  2. Negative: 17 out of 86
  1. Jun 22, 2012
    9
    An amazing action flick composed of fictional history and vampire ass-kicking! Even though the film has its flaws, the over all win is theAn amazing action flick composed of fictional history and vampire ass-kicking! Even though the film has its flaws, the over all win is the action. If you're yearning for amazing fight scenes, excellent set designs and a skilled president, this is your movie. Full Review »
  2. Jun 22, 2012
    4
    Jumped around from part to part way too fast and the plot in the movie deviated from the book wayy too much. Even with these flaws there wereJumped around from part to part way too fast and the plot in the movie deviated from the book wayy too much. Even with these flaws there were parts that I found funny and exciting but i think with a better director and if the plot was more in line with the book it could have been a great movie Full Review »
  3. Jun 27, 2012
    6
    I actually laughed at some of the action in this movie. Not because it was bad, but because it was so over the top ridiculous I couldn't helpI actually laughed at some of the action in this movie. Not because it was bad, but because it was so over the top ridiculous I couldn't help but be amused. By the same director who did the bullet-bending "Wanted," and if you liked that one you'll probably have fun with this. If not, or if the trailer and concept of a revenge seeking, vampire-killing Abraham Lincoln doesn't put a smile on your face, go ahead and skip. High art and drama is no where to be found here. If you love a good bad action movie, you'll love it. Full Review »