Metascore
42

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 251 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: President Lincoln's mother is killed by a supernatural creature, which fuels his passion to crush vampires and their slave-owning helpers.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 35
  2. Negative: 9 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Jun 21, 2012
    88
    A blast, the best action movie of the summer.
  2. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Jun 20, 2012
    75
    Without a doubt the best film we are ever likely to see on the subject - unless there is a sequel, which is unlikely, because at the end, the Lincolns are on their way to the theater.
  3. Reviewed by: Scott Bowles
    Jun 21, 2012
    63
    A stylish slasher of a movie, a monster flick that does its vampires right, if not their real-life counterparts.
  4. Reviewed by: Neil Smith
    Jun 20, 2012
    40
    What [Bekmambetov] doesn't do is offer us any respite from his 3D CGI barrage, an assault on the senses that makes the bullet John Wilkes Booth fired into the real Abe's noggin seem calming by comparison.
  5. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Jun 25, 2012
    40
    It doesn't take long for Bekmambetov to wear out his welcome with a laundry list of generic-looking action sequences: When you've seen one vampire get stabbed in the eyeball, you've seen 'em all.
  6. Reviewed by: Dan Jolin
    Jun 21, 2012
    40
    The grave tone makes it stiff and leaden, the digi-saturated look is a turn-off. Damnable and disordered.
  7. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Jun 22, 2012
    0
    I didn't know whether to be more offended as a moviegoer or as an American, but I do know I'd rather gargle nitroglycerine than watch this again, though given that the film looks like it were buried under a log cabin for a century, I barely saw it the first time.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 85
  2. Negative: 17 out of 85
  1. Jul 2, 2012
    10
    Oh man, this movie... let me tell you my experience. My friends and I like to go see movies that look corny and bad (like Skyline and things of that nature) at non busy theaters in the middle of the day so that we're the only ones in the theater and do laugh-along commentary, sort of like it's MST3K. We went to this movie to do just that. It looked like a corny movie with OK action and a bad story, and reading reviews confirmed this. What did we get when we sat in that empty theater and watched it, though? We got a gripping experience with awesome action, intense excitement, awesome acting and plot. An all around awesome movie that we all left saying that it was one of the best movies we had all seen in a long time. Go see this movie. You will not be disappointed, and you will not be laughing along. Expand
  2. Mar 2, 2013
    9
    Fantastic flic of a film. It doesn't always take itself seriously, and the fighting can be over the top, but this is a fun movie, with some very good poetic justice on the vamps, good drama scenes without becoming angsty, and is definitely worth 9 out of 10. Expand
  3. Sep 28, 2014
    8
    A painfully stupid, abysmally ridiculous over the top action packed movie. Exactly what you would expect from a movie named 'Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter'. I am almost sure that the whole idea of the movie was to pack it with as much consecutive action and cheesiness as you can and make you cringe every now and then. Although occasional scenes seem serious and philosophical so you are basically left off wondering "what the hell? what did they make all those scenes for?". Also be sure to read and enjoy reviews of people doubting historical accuracy of the movie ^_^ Expand
  4. Jun 29, 2012
    6
    Abraham Linclon actually had a strong potential at the beginning, but every seconds it weakness shown which makes this movie becomes forgettable. not a memorable movie from this year. Expand
  5. Jun 27, 2012
    6
    I actually laughed at some of the action in this movie. Not because it was bad, but because it was so over the top ridiculous I couldn't help but be amused. By the same director who did the bullet-bending "Wanted," and if you liked that one you'll probably have fun with this. If not, or if the trailer and concept of a revenge seeking, vampire-killing Abraham Lincoln doesn't put a smile on your face, go ahead and skip. High art and drama is no where to be found here. If you love a good bad action movie, you'll love it. Expand
  6. Jun 29, 2012
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. First off the pacing is way too fast, as they jump from scene to scene very quickly, its hard to follow sometimes as a result. The first few vampire fights are shot sloppily as the camera cuts around so much that its hard to enjoy the fight as a result ( I heard audible "what the f***s" from other audience members at the showing i was at). For a movie about Abe Lincoln killing vampires, it also took itself way too seriously at parts, which would be fine if it was like that the entire movie, but just as you start to buy into it, there's a ridiculous sequence to take you out of it (horse chase sequence I'm looking at you). However the acting is surprisingly solid for a movie of this title, and everyone does a solid job, (although the old age makeup for Mary Elizabeth Winstead was awful as she still looked 20 years younger than Abe). There are a couple of standout sequences such as the plantation fight, and the train climax, and just seeing fully aged Abe killing vampires with an axe is pretty awesome. All in all, don't go into this movie expecting a masterpiece (why would you anyway?), but it does have its fun moments. Just be sure to check your brain at the door. Expand
  7. Jun 24, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers. This could have been a good movie. This is all action scenes, it skips over what would have been story accompanied by lots of epic orchestra music. 5 seconds of fighting skips its the future with 5 seconds of fighting and so on trough the entire movie. The formula stays the same and it gets boring quickly. What little shreds of story there are get minced into meaninglessness. This reminds me of captain america, the way it is filmed and it's insincere scene-chopping is much the same.

    Stupid kids should love this, but anyone with taste stay away.
    Collapse

See all 85 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Summer Movie Preview: Your Guide to 110 New Films

    Summer Movie Preview: Your Guide to 110 New Films Image
    Published: April 25, 2012
    From tentpole films like "The Dark Knight Rises" and "Prometheus" to arthouse fare like "Moonrise Kingdom" and "To Rome with Love," the summer movie season promises something for every type of film fan. Take a look at everything the coming months have to offer.