Universal Pictures | Release Date: August 18, 2006
8.4
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 167 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
131
Mixed:
28
Negative:
8
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
ChadS.Oct 16, 2006
In this movie universe, community colleges don't exist. An argument can be made that "Accepted" is science fiction, like Phillip Roth's "The Plot Against America"(highbrow sci-fi has the snobby cachet of being labeled "speculative In this movie universe, community colleges don't exist. An argument can be made that "Accepted" is science fiction, like Phillip Roth's "The Plot Against America"(highbrow sci-fi has the snobby cachet of being labeled "speculative fiction"), this story takes place in an alternate history, in which the republicans seemingly have won the battle to eliminate two-year institutions. After Bartleby (Justin Long) gets the shaft from seven four-year institutions, and curiously, there is no mention of j.c.'s as a logical alternative to the service industry. "Accepted" isn't clever enough to follow through with its somewhat appealing premise of creating a fake college (too much time is spent on Bartelby's pursuit of Monica), but it does have some clever references to films like "Shattered Glass"(fake journalist) and "This is Spinal Tap"(fake documentary). On second thought, maybe South Harmon Institute of Technology is supposed to be a disparagement against community college itself. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
BobH.Aug 18, 2006
good enough to give you some erections and chuckles, but nothing special and just your average stupid comedy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MartinP.Aug 17, 2006
well acted and smart idea with a good poster and trailer. however the plot lacks meaning and is at times quite boring. it is enjoyable and very funny at times.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
J-ShapAug 26, 2011
While the idea of progressive education is one that I'd like to see more of, it doesn't come from a movie this preposterous and oddly preachy when it gets to be serious.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
SeriosityNov 4, 2012
Certainly watchable, but the combination of infrequent laughs and a familiar characters and plot make a very forgettable comedy. More annoying than endearing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
cameronmorewoodNov 12, 2012
Lewis Black, the standout here, still manages to suffer from the bland script, which takes the potential 'Accepted,' had, and shoves it down the toilet.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
DuckNationMay 25, 2014
Accepted was one of the only movies i had to watch for a couple months back in 07 so i have watched it plenty of times and even though the comedy isnt that great i still enjoy this movie a lot even to this day i still laugh and have a goodAccepted was one of the only movies i had to watch for a couple months back in 07 so i have watched it plenty of times and even though the comedy isnt that great i still enjoy this movie a lot even to this day i still laugh and have a good time watching it. I know people dont like Justin Long but i dont think he is all that bad at least thats me. The Concept was nice and it was good that they put a little heart into it maybe if they had put a little more it could have been a good movie rather then a average one. Lewis Black was Lewis Black so he was the best part of the movie every thing he said had me cracking up he is just so hilarious.

Overall i give it 6.5 "Ask Me About My Wiener!!"
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
ydnar4Mar 8, 2016
Accepted has a bit of an original premise and it does take it into some unrealistic territory but it is a pretty fun comedy film. Justin Long makes a pretty solid lead and its unfortunate that he's not playing bigger roles in many moviesAccepted has a bit of an original premise and it does take it into some unrealistic territory but it is a pretty fun comedy film. Justin Long makes a pretty solid lead and its unfortunate that he's not playing bigger roles in many movies anymore. Jonah Hill is in the mix and you can really see his potential here. He's really funny. Blake Lively is a great down to earth love interest. Then you have all the crazy side characters that are probably the highlight of the humour. I found this movie to have a pretty good amount of heart and the story may a little unorthodox and clich├ęd but I'd certainly watch it again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews