Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 23
  2. Negative: 2 out of 23
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Oct 2, 2013
    83
    Adam Scott has a controlled, almost overly impeccable charisma. Handsome, with small precise facial features, he has a witty, hiply downcast delivery that, on screen, can make him seem like a unit unto himself.
  2. Reviewed by: William Goss
    Aug 11, 2013
    80
    A.C.O.D. proves to be both a solid debut for Zicherman and a worthy vehicle for Scott and company, one that provides plenty of awkward laughs and generally gives the American farce a good name again.
  3. Reviewed by: Dan Callahan
    Oct 4, 2013
    75
    A.C.O.D. is a sharp, dark-ish character comedy, settling for a dry tolerance in its point of view that is very appealing and even admirable.
  4. Reviewed by: Kimber Myers
    Oct 2, 2013
    75
    Comedy can succeed based on either its relatability or sheer absurdity, and A.C.O.D. favors the former approach, while not entirely forgoing the latter.
  5. Reviewed by: John DeFore
    Aug 11, 2013
    70
    Funny but less successful as comedy than as a cry of you-screwed-us-up solidarity.
  6. Oct 10, 2013
    63
    As a look at the state of modern monogamy — or at least our enduring if misguided faith in it — it’s refreshingly acerbic.
  7. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Oct 10, 2013
    63
    Scott’s probably the perfect actor for this, since he’s too likably lightweight to suggest any emotion more crippling than exasperation.
  8. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Oct 3, 2013
    63
    A spotty comedy with a great cast and a catchy title that falls apart in the final third.
  9. 63
    A movie comedy that is funnier in performance than it ever was as a script.
User Score
4.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 1 out of 2
  1. Aug 11, 2014
    3
    Me and my lady friend went through RedBox, searching for something to watch because Netflix has been letting me down. Standing, hitting theMe and my lady friend went through RedBox, searching for something to watch because Netflix has been letting me down. Standing, hitting the next button over and over and over, I was about to give up when I saw this title. Interesting enough, I saw the cast, and again was intrigued.
    Lately we have been on a 'Parks and Rec' kick, so seeing Amy Poehler, we were like... "YES!".

    We got back, put it in, watched and by the end I was very disappointed. With a cast that includes Amy Poehler, Jane Lynch, and Catherine O'Hara I expected something insanely funny with wit around every corner. I wanted, WANTED to pee my pants a little. But none of that happened.

    Sure there were funny moments, a little intrigue, but most of it was spent shaking my head. Random events would happen with no reason, no significance to anything else and you'd NEVER hear of it again once it was over.

    By the end credits, I was sitting with my jaw on the floor wondering where time had went and what I had just seen. I was shocked at the way they ended it....Not in a good way.

    It just... ended... like that. Nothing resolved.

    While I was happy to have gotten it out of my system, I wish I wouldn't have spent the $1.25 and would have went with something else. OR taken my chance with Netflix once again.
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 17, 2014
    6
    “A.C.O.D.” has its moments of hilarity but there just wasn’t enough of them…especially when you consider how many talented comedic performers“A.C.O.D.” has its moments of hilarity but there just wasn’t enough of them…especially when you consider how many talented comedic performers make up the cast. While the performances are great, the characters are interesting and there are some funny moments, the film just isn’t as strong as you would think it would be after just a glance at the cast list. Full Review »