Across the Universe

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 247 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 44 out of 247

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. GregP.
    Feb 20, 2008
    3
    What the movie suffered from most was neither the weak treatment of 60's culture nor the poor tribute to the Beatles. What it suffered most from was the nagging sensation that almost every named character and almost every scene was a mere contrivance to "force" a scene out of a particular set of lyrics. For those who have seen the movie, the absolutely pasted-on "Dear Prudence" (not What the movie suffered from most was neither the weak treatment of 60's culture nor the poor tribute to the Beatles. What it suffered most from was the nagging sensation that almost every named character and almost every scene was a mere contrivance to "force" a scene out of a particular set of lyrics. For those who have seen the movie, the absolutely pasted-on "Dear Prudence" (not to mention the namesake character herself) scene is made bearable only by comparison to the absolute nonsense that was "Strawberry Fields Forever." The events leading up to and surrounding such scenes are such a cobbled-together mess of an excuse that the movie becomes absolutely painful. Expand
  2. RobinB.
    Feb 7, 2008
    1
    Warning to anyone with sentiment for the Beatles music: this movie metaphorically defecates on the Lennon memorial. I felt like an Orthodox Catholic watching Jesus Christ Superstar. What'll Taymor do next? Heart Shaped Box: the musical of Kurt Cobain.
  3. MattP.
    Sep 17, 2007
    1
    Aside from the fact that this movie isn't totally broken, it's totally insulting. I love the Beatles, but Taymor makes them her bitch and uses songs that were once important as nothing more than mouthpeices for her characters. Terrible, heart ripping movie that will kill any real Beatles fan that understands that their music is for the fans, not for a hack filmmaker.
  4. Aug 27, 2010
    4
    At times it is a visual masterpiece, but other times it is a sprawling mess of jumbled story arcs. The actual music is very well integrated in the movie, but that doesn't mean I would listen to any of the covers over the original Beatles version. All in all, this movie just seems unnecessary in this day and age of cinema - the 1960s were an interesting time, but this movie just fliesAt times it is a visual masterpiece, but other times it is a sprawling mess of jumbled story arcs. The actual music is very well integrated in the movie, but that doesn't mean I would listen to any of the covers over the original Beatles version. All in all, this movie just seems unnecessary in this day and age of cinema - the 1960s were an interesting time, but this movie just flies through all of the controversial aspects without any real effort to look at why they were going on; it fills that hole with teen angst and a rather weak and predictably bland storyline. Expand
  5. Dec 1, 2010
    2
    The film ultimately comes across as one mega-gimmick. This is a musical that does not use the soundtrack to enhance the plot and character development like most musicals. Rather the plot is used as a clumsy device to shoot from one song or reference to the other, often inexplicably. For instance, the female lead is named Lucy, solely for the purpose of playing "Lucy in the Sky WithThe film ultimately comes across as one mega-gimmick. This is a musical that does not use the soundtrack to enhance the plot and character development like most musicals. Rather the plot is used as a clumsy device to shoot from one song or reference to the other, often inexplicably. For instance, the female lead is named Lucy, solely for the purpose of playing "Lucy in the Sky With Diamonds" which ends up seeming nonsensical in the greater context of the film; the pinnacle of this is the director's interpretation of "Dear Prudence," which features the group singing the lyrics "Dear Prudence, won't you come out to play?" to a secondary character named none other than... Prudence who has locked herself in a closet in a fit of teen angst. It could be argued that the scene contains a deeper meaning in that Prudence is revealed to be a lesbian (not coincidentally in a scene that makes no sense in the larger scope of the narrative) and that this is the group urging her to "be herself," this however is ultimately lost in the almost comical absurdity of the scene. Situations such as this present themselves often in ACROSS THE UNIVERSE, and I couldn't help but feel that during every single musical selection or reference to THE BEATLES or their work that the movie itself was nudging me with its elbow, constantly asking if I got what it did there. The end result is a musical that is hindered by its use of soundtrack as opposed to being aided by it and thinks far too highly of itself in the process.

    Pros: There's some pretty things to look at.
    Cons: Plot? who needs plot when you have a soundtrack.
    Expand
  6. Feb 7, 2012
    3
    I love the Beatles but this movie is just horrible. It's horribly pretentious and is very forced. There are characters thrown in just for the sake of some how tying in another song. The only positives this movie has is the music, but I can get that on my Ipod with out all the needless crap. The other positive is there is some very good cinematography but the vast majority of it was inI love the Beatles but this movie is just horrible. It's horribly pretentious and is very forced. There are characters thrown in just for the sake of some how tying in another song. The only positives this movie has is the music, but I can get that on my Ipod with out all the needless crap. The other positive is there is some very good cinematography but the vast majority of it was in the trailer. The think that irritated me most was the worthless cameos by Bono and Eddie Izzard. They were un-needed and a waste of their talent. Go out and buy a Beatles album and avoid this movie. Expand
  7. Sep 8, 2012
    10
    A musical is a movie where music is used as a piece of constancy, not as utensil for buying the viewers easy boredom. That's what musicals nowadays don't understand (like High School Musical, Camp Rock, etc.) But Across the Universe truly makes a difference. It isn't the lame, disturbing-to-see type of musical: In fact, this is the first of the two musicals where I actually get impressedA musical is a movie where music is used as a piece of constancy, not as utensil for buying the viewers easy boredom. That's what musicals nowadays don't understand (like High School Musical, Camp Rock, etc.) But Across the Universe truly makes a difference. It isn't the lame, disturbing-to-see type of musical: In fact, this is the first of the two musicals where I actually get impressed and potently pleased with what the movie delivers, othe other one being Hairpsray. It's groundbreaking, spectacular, extraordinarily rare and crazy, but not for the faint of heart. I loved it! Expand
  8. Nov 14, 2010
    10
    Across the Universe is quite a ride, but your experience is largely dependent on how much you love The Beatles. The first third of the movie is pretty great, the energy and acting there is perhaps the most superb in the entire film. The second third loses me a bit, as it goes to a mood similar to LSD and is filled with missing plot points and irrelevant numbers. However, what does happenAcross the Universe is quite a ride, but your experience is largely dependent on how much you love The Beatles. The first third of the movie is pretty great, the energy and acting there is perhaps the most superb in the entire film. The second third loses me a bit, as it goes to a mood similar to LSD and is filled with missing plot points and irrelevant numbers. However, what does happen there is essential to the final third, in which the movie picks itself up after tripping to finish well with respectable songs, good acting and a satisfying though clichéd ending. The music covers range from outstanding to simply "meh"; for every marvelous "I've Just Seen a Face" or "While My Guitar Gently Weeps" there is a stiff "Being For the Benefit of Mr. Kite!" or "I Wanna Hold Your Hand". The storyline is present, but seems to be mainly abandoned in the distracting second third, though that may perfectly reflect the confusion and turmoil of the era. Acting overall is quite good-Jim Sturgess stands out as an excellent lead with Bono, Martin Luther McCoy and Joe Anderson also contributing.
    *I can basically cut the crap now and just say that the movie is well made, although some sections will make you want to cringe with their overwhelming length and irrelevance. The beginning is great, the middle stumbles over itself and the end comes back just in time to save the film. There are some great moments in this film and is an excellent tribute to the band that taught the world to sing. If you enjoy the Beatles or a good musical, watch it and see for yourself. It certainly has faults and areas you just want to skip over, but so does life. Perhaps there's some reason for that.
    Expand
  9. Dec 1, 2011
    10
    Best movie ever.Best movie ever.Best movie ever.Best movie ever.Best movie ever.Best movie ever.Best movie ever.Best movie ever.Best movie ever.Best movie ever.Best movie ever.Best movie ever. Go and see it. Now
  10. KimO.
    Oct 8, 2007
    10
    Fantastic film-a must see on the big screen. One of the best film I've ever seen actually. Loved the visuals, the symbolism, it was a real "trip".
  11. ChadS.
    Oct 13, 2007
    6
    When we first meet Lucy(Evan Rachel Woods), America is still in the midst of a fifties hangover(read: pre-British Invasion), so rather than link "Hold Me Tight" to such antiquated imagery of the previous decade, it would've made better sense had "Across the Universe" used a non-Beatles song(like "Paul and Paula") that represented the general malaise on the radio airwaves before the When we first meet Lucy(Evan Rachel Woods), America is still in the midst of a fifties hangover(read: pre-British Invasion), so rather than link "Hold Me Tight" to such antiquated imagery of the previous decade, it would've made better sense had "Across the Universe" used a non-Beatles song(like "Paul and Paula") that represented the general malaise on the radio airwaves before the foppish Liverpudlians' music distract people from their recently assassinated president and corresponding cynicism towards their government. "Across the Universe" should have used the McCartney/Lennon canon in a more chronological fashion(early-to-mid-period-to-late) to tell the story of how innocent young Americans were transformed by the Civil Rights Movement and the Vietnam War. Start with "I Wanna Hold Your Hand"; end with "Let it Be". That's what I mean. To the film's credit though, never for a moment did any of the musical numbers remind me of the unfortunate "Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band". It's good to see this filmmaker taking risks again after the surprisingly routine biopic "Frida". But still, the film squanders its potential. More should be made of the Lucy's first contact with Jude(Jim Sturgess). Something that would remind the audience of how America first reacted to the Fab Four's appearance on our soil, and on our televisions. Expand
  12. BrianO.
    Sep 20, 2007
    9
    I found this movie often exhilarating and emotionally satisfying. The acting and singing were first rate. And it certainly was a visual feast. I listened and understood many of the Beatle's songs in an altogether different way.
  13. JamesC
    Jan 6, 2008
    2
    Abortive is the key word here. The movie introduces a bunch of archetypal characters, which are quickly ushered out after some awkward attempts at relevance. After a bit, we're left with the two main characters and a boring, unconvincing, love story that's strictly by-the-numbers. Even the music, surprisingly, is mediocre.
  14. LuisG.
    Feb 20, 2008
    2
    heres a film that you hate yourself for not liking.... Taymor brilliance is lost and reserved for elaborate montages and eccentric scenery that just does not counterbalance a weak story ... lost in translation... musical numbers don't arise with grace they seem forced and heavily drawn out and dependent on its flare .. characters have no soul and aside form prudence no one else takes heres a film that you hate yourself for not liking.... Taymor brilliance is lost and reserved for elaborate montages and eccentric scenery that just does not counterbalance a weak story ... lost in translation... musical numbers don't arise with grace they seem forced and heavily drawn out and dependent on its flare .. characters have no soul and aside form prudence no one else takes center stage... total disappointment... FRIDA !!! remember that was beautiful Expand
  15. TylerC.
    Feb 6, 2008
    6
    worth one viewing. A very little more than mediocre film. The fragile story often pointlessly digressed to include a poorly chosen Beatles song just because it is well-loved.
  16. DavidH.
    Mar 1, 2008
    10
    Julie Taymor hits a home run with her incredibly creative adaptation of the Beatles catalog to the times from which the songs were born. This movie isn't for everyone, clearly that's the case judging by some of the harsh reviews, but if you've a liberal mind, I think it will appeal to you. Remember, these are the flower children days, so pro war supporters will be naturally Julie Taymor hits a home run with her incredibly creative adaptation of the Beatles catalog to the times from which the songs were born. This movie isn't for everyone, clearly that's the case judging by some of the harsh reviews, but if you've a liberal mind, I think it will appeal to you. Remember, these are the flower children days, so pro war supporters will be naturally turned off at having images tied to some songs they may have tolerated listening to in the past. When viewed as a love story set in the turbulent 60's with dashes of historical events or references to those events, and accompanied by Beatles songs, it's hard to see this film not earning a place in the hearts of those open to its nostalgic charm. Expand
  17. JinxS.
    Mar 26, 2008
    10
    I'm kind of disgusted at what some of your reasons were for not liking this film, negative critics. Someone didn't like it because of a "little Asian lesbo"? Honestly. This film was fantastic in every which way. It brought back the feel of a time when we needed change, rebellion, and heart. Taymor, my hats off to you.
  18. MorganF
    Jun 23, 2009
    9
    One of the most orginal, imaginative movies I've ever seen. The musical numbers were simply mindblowing. Sure to please Beatles fans, and perhaps make new ones. My only complaint was that sometimes you had to work hard to piece together the jigsaw puzzle of a plot. Overall, a very enjoyable, entertaining film that captured the spirit its subject.
  19. JustineB.
    Oct 10, 2007
    9
    This film moved me at a visceral level. I don't care that we've heard this message before and that the plot lines are cliche. The eye candy is fun to watch and the beautifully simple, catchy Beatles lyrics have been updated for our generation. At its core, this anti-war film wonders why our society has made the same mistakes this decade as we did during the Vietnam War. In an This film moved me at a visceral level. I don't care that we've heard this message before and that the plot lines are cliche. The eye candy is fun to watch and the beautifully simple, catchy Beatles lyrics have been updated for our generation. At its core, this anti-war film wonders why our society has made the same mistakes this decade as we did during the Vietnam War. In an interview Director Julie Taymor asked "Where is the outrage about the Iraq War?" Where indeed. Expand
  20. ChrisP.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    Astonishing. The Beatles shared their music with the world - all of us. Their music is inseparable from the soundtrack to so many of our lives. This film is a lush, beautiful and powerful parallel of what is happening RIGHT NOW. One reason the Beatles are so timeless and good is because they convey emotional, social and political messages that are clear eyed, compassionate, strong and Astonishing. The Beatles shared their music with the world - all of us. Their music is inseparable from the soundtrack to so many of our lives. This film is a lush, beautiful and powerful parallel of what is happening RIGHT NOW. One reason the Beatles are so timeless and good is because they convey emotional, social and political messages that are clear eyed, compassionate, strong and also subtle. We have always had to read between the lines. John, Paul, George and Ringo wrote music that asked us to look around and see what is going on in the world in the present, in the now, in the moment. Julie Taymor isn't a historian - she is a talented filmmaker that makes movies communicating with current images, signs and symbols that are the language of our world. This film is a beautiful way of sharing awareness, love and the state of the world today: "Living is easy with eyes closed." Expand
  21. Enrique
    Oct 13, 2007
    8
    A strange experience. During the first 20 minutes (aproximately) I was hating this movie. When I was about to live, an extremely imaginatively and well choreographed scene made me stay. Very soon I fell in love with it and I stay during the whole show. I left the theatre with a pleasant feeling, in spite of a naive and almost silly ending. Visually stunning, excellent music background, A strange experience. During the first 20 minutes (aproximately) I was hating this movie. When I was about to live, an extremely imaginatively and well choreographed scene made me stay. Very soon I fell in love with it and I stay during the whole show. I left the theatre with a pleasant feeling, in spite of a naive and almost silly ending. Visually stunning, excellent music background, and with the exception of Evan Rachel Wood, the cast is fine. Julie Taymor is a superficial director that obviously come from a Broadway background, but knows how to deliver her goods. With the exception of "Titus," she has done nothing relevant. Expand
  22. JohnB.
    Oct 19, 2007
    3
    Across the Universe is definitely an ambitious movie full of ideas however many of the ideas lack a real sense of place and purpose. Pieces seemed to have been thrown in here and there if only to get us more Beatles songs, which were, by the way, butchered beyond credibility. This is a direct result of the difficult concept attempted and lack of solid direction. The movie ended up being Across the Universe is definitely an ambitious movie full of ideas however many of the ideas lack a real sense of place and purpose. Pieces seemed to have been thrown in here and there if only to get us more Beatles songs, which were, by the way, butchered beyond credibility. This is a direct result of the difficult concept attempted and lack of solid direction. The movie ended up being extremely cliche and incoherent. Expand
  23. Fantasy
    Oct 23, 2007
    10
    Absolutely brilliant. Never was it truer that it was the best of times and also the worst of times back in the 60's. The Beatles music comes to life as their lyrics take on a crystal clear meaning. The age of innocence followed by the Viet Nam War, the Civil distress and all the mayhem that followed. The cast is brilliant, the acting and directing superb. This is definitely a movie Absolutely brilliant. Never was it truer that it was the best of times and also the worst of times back in the 60's. The Beatles music comes to life as their lyrics take on a crystal clear meaning. The age of innocence followed by the Viet Nam War, the Civil distress and all the mayhem that followed. The cast is brilliant, the acting and directing superb. This is definitely a movie that is a must see. Expand
  24. AmberM.
    Oct 23, 2007
    10
    This movie was great in every way! I thought to myself what a perfect time for a movie like this one to expose itself! We need more like it during this time in our world! Awesome movie.
  25. MartyO.
    Oct 25, 2007
    9
    One of the most visually audacious and wildly imaginative movie musicals probably ever filmed. Although its flighty tongue-in-cheekness and psychedelic vision may throw off viewers expecting a more realistic view of the 60s and interpretation of Beatle opus, actually the movie succeeds at capturing the poignancy and beauty of the songs reimagining them in the context of the American One of the most visually audacious and wildly imaginative movie musicals probably ever filmed. Although its flighty tongue-in-cheekness and psychedelic vision may throw off viewers expecting a more realistic view of the 60s and interpretation of Beatle opus, actually the movie succeeds at capturing the poignancy and beauty of the songs reimagining them in the context of the American youth's cultural and political movements. Drollness and irreverence were some of what the Beatles and the 60s were about and the movie tries this while also portraying the hopes and darkness that surrounded the era in all its youthful exuberance. Despite a goofy story line and lack of chronological order - musical and otherwise - which undoubtedly will enrage purists, the movie its a must see for Beatle fans, boomers, those interested in the 60s and pyschedelia,and those interested in contemporary movie musicals and special effects. Far superior to other rock musicals such as "Tommy" and "The Wall," it should be Oscar-nominated for its music, cinematography and choreography. Expand
  26. Carrie
    Oct 30, 2007
    10
    Brilliant.
  27. DaveZ
    Oct 4, 2007
    10
    To say it simply... I fell in love with this movie. Who would've thought upbeat songs like "I want to hold your hand" or "It won't be long" can be a tear jerker.
  28. RichardM
    Oct 6, 2007
    2
    Back Broadway's brighter days, a musical that never took flight was known as a "turkey." Throw in some stuffing and some gravy and "Across the Universe" would feed a family of ten at Thanksgiving. Pretentious and plodding and, ultimately, just a waste of time, money and talent. Handsome performers with pretty little pop voices are everywhere but there's naught but the thinnest Back Broadway's brighter days, a musical that never took flight was known as a "turkey." Throw in some stuffing and some gravy and "Across the Universe" would feed a family of ten at Thanksgiving. Pretentious and plodding and, ultimately, just a waste of time, money and talent. Handsome performers with pretty little pop voices are everywhere but there's naught but the thinnest little story on which songs and fragments-of-songs hang. What's supposed to be "cool" and "stylized" has all been done before (see Milos Forman's "Hair" and Ken Russell's "Tommy"). Expand
  29. Rachel
    Oct 7, 2007
    10
    This was a beautifully made movie. The cinematography was stunning, the effects were creative, and the plotline was moving. Overall, this was my favorite movie so far this year.
  30. Alicia
    Oct 8, 2007
    10
    The best movie I have ever seen I love that movie I really really really love it a lot.
  31. NoahT.
    Oct 9, 2007
    5
    I have a confession to make: I do not like Julie Taymor. I have never enjoyed her films, I have never found her to be talented or competent when dealing with a cast and I have always had the distinct impression that she simply wants to pat herself on the back for making all those pretty pictures. Well, I'm glad to say that with this movie, Taymor has moved up in my mind from terrible I have a confession to make: I do not like Julie Taymor. I have never enjoyed her films, I have never found her to be talented or competent when dealing with a cast and I have always had the distinct impression that she simply wants to pat herself on the back for making all those pretty pictures. Well, I'm glad to say that with this movie, Taymor has moved up in my mind from terrible to...meh. Overall, ACROSS THE UNIVERSE is nothing special. We've all seen it before: psychedelia in musicals, musicals based on a band's songs, and of course the cross-continental love story. Where Julie Taymor really drops the ball is with the songs that she uses. Despite boasting 31 classic Beatles tracks, it seems like too much of an overload. The story is awful, and it appears to be grafted on to fit the songs, and some songs aren't even relevant to the overall story ("Being for the Benefit of Mr. Kite!", "I am the Walrus", "I Wanna Hold your Hand" just to name a few). The cast is poorly-directed and it's a shame too, because the dialogue is excellent and could have been even better with some solid performances. Overall, skip this and watch MOULIN ROUGE instead. Expand
  32. JimG.
    Sep 14, 2007
    6
    Better than my expectations. This film does something I haven't seen done before, albeit unevenly. The weight (don't read that as depth) of a movie, with the attention to lyric of cabaret, as well a hint of psychedelica. Great for what it was. A little tiring when every song is a ballad, but very enjoyable.
  33. JimS.
    Sep 14, 2007
    0
    The Beatles are the most over rated rock band in the world. Their music is terrible and makes an excellent match for this craptacular film.
  34. Ann
    Sep 15, 2007
    10
    I was moved, swept away, utterly smitten. SEE THIS MOVIE!
  35. DennisL.
    Sep 15, 2007
    9
    Captured the 60's perfectly The dance numbers are wonderfull and what could anyone say about the Bealtes score except brilliant.
  36. TimM.
    Sep 17, 2007
    5
    I wanted to like this but it was so, so, so disappointing. Should have been so much better. Its pathetic when the best part of the movie is the cracked-out trippy part. Everything felt forced and Wood's acting was atrocious... but the dumbed-down script and 1-dimensional characters did not help. Crap.
  37. [Anonymous]
    Sep 17, 2007
    10
    I was hesitant to see this movie, having been a huge Beatles fan for so many years. However, I must say that I was absolutely blown away on so many levels. It's a very emotional experience, with the songs used in very creative ways. The choreography and conceptual use of the songs is stunning. I can't recommend it highly enough.
  38. MatthewM.
    Sep 20, 2007
    4
    WHAT A DISAPPOINTMENT.... I will admit that the directing and the message was great, but you can't have a good movie without a great script. The story is so cliche, we've seen it all before. I wish they could of said something new besides war is bad, artists are selfish egomaniacs, and all we need is love. This movie had a great opportunity to say something, but instead it WHAT A DISAPPOINTMENT.... I will admit that the directing and the message was great, but you can't have a good movie without a great script. The story is so cliche, we've seen it all before. I wish they could of said something new besides war is bad, artists are selfish egomaniacs, and all we need is love. This movie had a great opportunity to say something, but instead it preached to the choir. I'm their key audience, super liberal artist and I left two hours in. BECAUSE YOU STOP CARING ABOUT THE CHARACTERS BECAUSE NO ONE WANTS ANYTHING BUT TO BE SAD! Should of used some of that money they spent on production design to get a good screenwriter. DON'T SEE IT. Expand
  39. MeganO.
    Sep 23, 2007
    10
    Amazing!!
  40. RonG.
    Sep 24, 2007
    8
    Your liking of this movie will be mostly proportional to the love of the Beatles and your interest in the 60s. The movie is really a series of music videos, though the term is somewhat demeaning to these mostly fabulous montages. I personally enjoyed the musical covers. The characters didn't need to be called Lucy, Sadie, Rita, Prudence. It helps to have a little inside knowledge of Your liking of this movie will be mostly proportional to the love of the Beatles and your interest in the 60s. The movie is really a series of music videos, though the term is somewhat demeaning to these mostly fabulous montages. I personally enjoyed the musical covers. The characters didn't need to be called Lucy, Sadie, Rita, Prudence. It helps to have a little inside knowledge of the 60s and the New York scene. The Cafe Wha for example has been changed to the Cafe Huh. The Village Gate though is still the Village Gate. And the singing from a rooftop is reminiscent of another band's rooftop performance... Expand
  41. NickV.
    Sep 29, 2007
    10
    By no means perfect, but I still give it a 10. "Across the Universe" is the most playful and creative American film I've seen since "Boogie Nights." It is passionate, inventive film-making; a welcome bit of fresh air in an industry dominated by stale, predictable, and safe films.
  42. Franty1977
    Jan 2, 2008
    1
    Julie Taymor woke up one day and thought to herself: "Why don't I take a load of beatles songs and turn it into a crappy high-school musical-like Disney movie"? And here it is: terribly acted, poorly written and with the worst singing voices that movie fans heard in the past 10 years. the reason i'm not giving it a zero is the bad teeth joke. that was funny, but almost nobody noticed.
  43. JayelSSSSS
    Jan 5, 2008
    10
    A movie that entertained, informed, and made you think! A great combination in this day and age.
  44. ChrisS.
    Feb 15, 2008
    2
    If you're in the mood to sit through two hours of non-stop singing, then this is the right movie for you. Song, after song, after song, every musical number in this film seems to be have crammed in. This is one of those movies in which you can only see once. Although some covers of the Beatles songs are quite enjoyable, most of the over-thirty songs in this film are cut short.
  45. MarkG
    Feb 16, 2008
    1
    Imagine the post-teen stars of the WB singing the Beatles! Sound good to you? Then you'll love this movie. There's maybe 10 minutes of good sequences, though, which saves it from a 0. Bono lends the film some much-needed weird energy. And it is interesting to hear Beatles songs re-set; they deserve to be, because they hold up so well. But it is horrible to see them re-set to a Imagine the post-teen stars of the WB singing the Beatles! Sound good to you? Then you'll love this movie. There's maybe 10 minutes of good sequences, though, which saves it from a 0. Bono lends the film some much-needed weird energy. And it is interesting to hear Beatles songs re-set; they deserve to be, because they hold up so well. But it is horrible to see them re-set to a trite, thin story which somehow manages to thoroughly trivialize the Vietnam War, the Civil Rights movement, and the creative magic of the Beatles' music. It is as if the worst of the Baby Boomer cliches have been given hipper haircuts in an extended iPod commercial. This movie is godawful, but not even "interesting-bad." Just bad. Expand
  46. SamanthaK
    Feb 10, 2008
    8
    A fabulous movie. Some scenes are so cheesy you'll want to barf, but the scenes that give the Beatles songs you've come to love a COMPLETELY new meaning make up for it- really really cool. There are probably one or two songs that will bother you... but when is the last time someone did something like this perfectly?
  47. SusanL.
    Mar 1, 2008
    9
    Don't let the critics fool you. This is a good trip.
  48. BlakeW.
    Mar 18, 2008
    10
    A favorite for any Beatles fan. The soundtrack is phenomenal, adding new life to the great Beatles tracks. The story itself is a great love story and really reflective of life in the 1960s and 70s. I think there is a lot of symbolism in the movie. I have watched this over 20 times already, and every time I view it I catch something new.
  49. PaulB.
    Mar 26, 2008
    10
    Not only the best movie of 2007, one of my top ten of all time. Julie Taymor rules!
  50. CathyR
    Mar 26, 2008
    10
    A fabulous movie!
  51. MarkD.
    Mar 4, 2008
    10
    If you are old enough to have lived when this music was new and the country was definitely on edge from the Vietnam War, you will probably love this movie for all the memories it evokes. And some of the vignettes are musically and visually brilliant - Bono's "I am the Walrus" for example. I can't help but think that it's less than stellar critical reception stems from the If you are old enough to have lived when this music was new and the country was definitely on edge from the Vietnam War, you will probably love this movie for all the memories it evokes. And some of the vignettes are musically and visually brilliant - Bono's "I am the Walrus" for example. I can't help but think that it's less than stellar critical reception stems from the fact they did this with a virtually unknown cast (outside the few cameos). That must be a no-no. Expand
  52. ReelWorld
    Mar 4, 2008
    0
    Turned it off after the little Asian lesbo started singing about the blonde cheerleader. Absolute trash. Anyone who can recall listening to the Beatles when they were kids on LP should avoid this film like the plague. This is what HSM would be without a Disney sponsor.
  53. SarinaK.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    My mouth is permanently open to you small-minded critics. Across The Universe is without a doubt extremely out there and different but that's what makes it so special. When was the last time you saw such a creative and well-thought through film? I must have seen this movie at least 20 times and each time I get something new out of it. Whether it's the outstanding symbolism My mouth is permanently open to you small-minded critics. Across The Universe is without a doubt extremely out there and different but that's what makes it so special. When was the last time you saw such a creative and well-thought through film? I must have seen this movie at least 20 times and each time I get something new out of it. Whether it's the outstanding symbolism portrayed or a new connection found through the dialogue, Across The Universe is a one-of-a-kind movie that whether you want to believe or not, is going down in history. If you were true Beatles fans you'd understand the magnitude Julie Taymor has for songs such as "I want you." How brilliant to think of the old Uncle Sam saying in that way? And then to twist it into a "want" of sexual desire. Lighten up, alright? You're too up tight. This is a movie to let loose to and teach you that life's going to have it's up's and down's but you have to just go with it or you won't survive. This movie has a place in my heart, and always will. I hope some of you ignorant fools who think otherwise revise your thoughts and way of life; you must be living a dull, cruel one now. Expand
  54. DavidF.
    Jun 7, 2008
    9
    No movie could capture the political, cultural and historical events of the late sixties but this one makes an excellent attempt.
  55. JosephM
    May 19, 2009
    10
    I loved this movie! I thought I would completely hate it but I was wrong. I'm a huge Beatles fan and I love watching this movie over and over to catch all the tiny references to Beatles lyrics.
  56. Troubadorjim
    Oct 1, 2007
    5
    Right away the musical gave off a cheesy vibe. Something about the random selection of Beatles songs that were performed awkwardly may have had something to do with it. There were moments where I said to myself "just stop singing." This is coming from a person who enjoys musicals and thinks the Beatles a diety. However, towards the middle of the film it began to really gain momentum and Right away the musical gave off a cheesy vibe. Something about the random selection of Beatles songs that were performed awkwardly may have had something to do with it. There were moments where I said to myself "just stop singing." This is coming from a person who enjoys musicals and thinks the Beatles a diety. However, towards the middle of the film it began to really gain momentum and became uninteresting to an extent. It could have been filmed so much better, but isn't that always the case? Expand
  57. BillyS.
    Oct 11, 2007
    9
    When Hair opened on Broadway in 1968, it brought "Drugs, Sex and Rock & Roll" and took the theatre world by storm. When Milos Forman made it into a film 11 years later, the impact was gone and the movie seemed dated and without relevance. In Across The Universe, Julie Taymor is telling almost the same story by weaving the songs of The Beatles into the narrative, and as a first generation When Hair opened on Broadway in 1968, it brought "Drugs, Sex and Rock & Roll" and took the theatre world by storm. When Milos Forman made it into a film 11 years later, the impact was gone and the movie seemed dated and without relevance. In Across The Universe, Julie Taymor is telling almost the same story by weaving the songs of The Beatles into the narrative, and as a first generation Hippie I must say, It's Brilliant! The difference here is that Taymor is not trying for relevance, she has made a visual time-capsule not of The Beatles, but of a generation told through the music of the band that defined that generation, and what a visual treat it is. Using all covers of the Beatles catalog, some work better than others, but with those songs, they all start at good! The actors are all very good, especially Jim Sturgess as Jude (who must be a McCartney Clone) and Eddie Izzard as Mr. Kite. And despite what critics have found corny, I loved naming the characters after songs(Lucy, Sadie, Penelope etc) and characters clearly designed to be Janis, Jimi and Timothy Leary. Ms. Taymor again uses her signature animation and puppet design with extraordinary results. Across The Universe is, without a doubt, an old hippies dream and one of the best movie musicals ever! I've read that the studio cut the film to their liking and if that's the case, I can't wait for the director's cut on dvd! Bravo Ms. Taymor, you are a cinematic magician!! Expand
  58. SteveG.
    Oct 15, 2007
    4
    This movie makes a mockery of the Beatles and their music. The fact that every character is named after a Beatles' song is bad enough. But to use the Beatles' music to drive this insipid plot is criminal. There are some creative visual images in the film and the young actors do a fairly good job singing. But this is a bad movie. I love the Beatles. I remember when they did not This movie makes a mockery of the Beatles and their music. The fact that every character is named after a Beatles' song is bad enough. But to use the Beatles' music to drive this insipid plot is criminal. There are some creative visual images in the film and the young actors do a fairly good job singing. But this is a bad movie. I love the Beatles. I remember when they did not allow their music to be used for any commercials, etc. It was hard for me to sit through their songs being made into plot points. This movie is not an homage to the Beatles -- it is an abomination to their legacy. Expand
  59. PO
    Oct 15, 2007
    0
    This movie was the biggest waste of money ever. The writer must have been high on something more than caffeine. The movie was so random it was scary. I have now found my worst movie of all time.
  60. SteveT.
    Oct 16, 2007
    8
    Dave Z. is onto something: changing the context of these huge hits gives them a new meaning. And Taymor's image of the new inductees, marching in their underwear, carrying a giant Statue of Liberty through the SE Asian jungle landscape was worth the price of my ticket. Taymor may not always hit it out of the park, but she's not afraid to swing for the fences.
  61. CaliforniaCastaway
    Oct 23, 2007
    10
    This movie was great! I went and saw it with my gf and we both loved it. I would def recommend it to anyone interested in seeing a good movie. Those people who said it was hard to follow and that it is all jumbled together are not intelligent enough to understand what this movie was saying.
  62. RhondaP.
    Dec 30, 2007
    10
    I loved this film! Artsy, Musical, Deliciously Beautiful. I think the naysayers are taking it way too seriously. I'm 52 and was thoughly delighted the whole time. Going back to see it again before it goes off the big screen.
  63. MaryT.
    Oct 24, 2007
    10
    This is a film you either love or apparently (seeing the reviews and responses) hate. I thought it was beyond incredible. A great love story, an anti-war statement and wildly creative. It all worked for me, my husband and our sons, 9 and 10 years old. This film makes you also realize that the music of the Beatles is a gift to humanity. Hats off to you Julie Taymor - you are a genius.
  64. Musicallover
    Oct 25, 2007
    8
    First the basics- my friend and I (both late forties) left this movie pumped and happy. To us it was well worth the price of admission and the time. Usually I'm all for rich dialogue and complex storytelling but movie musicals are in a class by themselves. Those're often more experience than story, and this film is no exception. The voices range from pleasing to powerful, and First the basics- my friend and I (both late forties) left this movie pumped and happy. To us it was well worth the price of admission and the time. Usually I'm all for rich dialogue and complex storytelling but movie musicals are in a class by themselves. Those're often more experience than story, and this film is no exception. The voices range from pleasing to powerful, and the song renderings are heartfelt, making most of the individual situations believable (however improbable the whole). The visuals are compelling and beautiful, and in some cases stunning. The Beatles are never mentioned and as far as this movie is concerned they aren't relevant except for their wonderfully evocative and layered lyrics that enable the characters to say so much even when they're using very few words. The early scenes are mostly backstory for Jude, Max, Lucy and Prudence- a Cliff Expand
  65. ArthurX
    Oct 28, 2007
    4
    Whoever categorized this movie as a musical probably never saw a musical. In the entire movie, there is probably 20 minutes worth seeing. Besides "I've Just Seen a Face" and "Come Together" all songs felt clumsily tacked on. After the first 50 minutes, the characters meander around pointlessly. The story twists and contorts itself for the inclusion of a few more poorly done songs.
  66. CedricB.
    Oct 29, 2007
    8
    The fitting dialogue are excellent, the picture magnificent.
  67. JoeyFaunt
    Oct 3, 2007
    10
    I Loved This Movie I Mean Come On Love Is All You Need!
  68. KC
    Oct 6, 2007
    10
    It was vaguely kitschy, but that was the point. It was cartoonish and iconicized for a reason. It was a perfect film representation of The Beatles, and as with the Beatles, you can criticize..... but why would you want to?!
  69. SamE.
    Sep 13, 2007
    8
    I saw this film in Toronto, and I am baffled by the critics response. I think they must feel the need to be even more pretentious than they say this film is. I found Across The Universe moving, well sung and well acted. I think they have missed the point entirely. Anyway...go see it for yourself, and don't fight it...go with it.
  70. AshleyG.
    Sep 14, 2007
    10
    the movie was amazingly mixed! original and fanstastic movie. It has humor and charm. a must-see for all
  71. LuluM.
    Sep 15, 2007
    8
    Its an ambitious project and a not-very original idea. Excellent element in order to analyze our semiotic world.
  72. JaredC.
    Sep 15, 2007
    10
    an exciting thriller of music, romance, violence, and so on. It is the best musical since School of rock, because most musical's suck.
  73. RitaL.
    Sep 16, 2007
    10
    Intelligent, moving, original and incredibly enjoyable.
  74. JamieT.
    Sep 16, 2007
    8
    Loved it. Visually stunning, great cast and fantastic covers. I usually hate it when people try to recreate these classic songs, but there are several instances in the film when I was just blown away by their quality. Everyone, especially Sturgess, is quite charismatic; the entire cast has a wonderful chemistry. I can see it getting some Oscar nods for sound, art direction and make Loved it. Visually stunning, great cast and fantastic covers. I usually hate it when people try to recreate these classic songs, but there are several instances in the film when I was just blown away by their quality. Everyone, especially Sturgess, is quite charismatic; the entire cast has a wonderful chemistry. I can see it getting some Oscar nods for sound, art direction and make costumes or make-up. I can forgive that the film is lacking in story and character development. It's a miracle that the film was as good as it was. Taymor had almost everything working against her, and I really don't mind that these songs and lyrics take centre-stage instead of a brilliant screenplay. Expand
  75. TerryA.
    Sep 19, 2007
    2
    Contrived, shallow, and the worst cinematic use of good music ever... someones definitely dropping acid if this is their impression of the 60's.
  76. NancyJ.
    Sep 22, 2007
    1
    I kept thinking this would get better. It didn't. I went because I'm a big fan of Julie Taymor. Someone should have held her genius feet to the fire on this one, though. This is embarrassing..to watch, to listen to, to think money had been spent to make this enlarged Coke commercial.
  77. L.JT.
    Sep 26, 2007
    10
    Brilliant film; like a cross of Hair and The Wall, and coming out better!
  78. CarolC.
    Sep 26, 2007
    10
    Can't wait to buy the CD, DVD and watch again the the theater. Lots of talent - the entire audience enjoyed this move.
  79. MJS.
    Sep 30, 2007
    10
    Amazing movie. Moving and epic. I think people of ALL ages will enjoy it! It has a message for every person!
  80. MichaelM.
    Jan 16, 2008
    10
    This is the best movie I have ever seen in my life. The acting was so REAL, unlike any other typically Hollywood movie. The Beatles are the best musicians ever, and watching this movie gives me new respect for the messages in their music that I never thought of. Anyone who gives this movie a rating under 50 must be mentally incapable of seeing outside the tiny little American-bred boxes This is the best movie I have ever seen in my life. The acting was so REAL, unlike any other typically Hollywood movie. The Beatles are the best musicians ever, and watching this movie gives me new respect for the messages in their music that I never thought of. Anyone who gives this movie a rating under 50 must be mentally incapable of seeing outside the tiny little American-bred boxes their minds are locked inside of. It was a beautiful movie with a beautiful message. A must see classic! Expand
  81. JohnS.
    Jan 19, 2008
    2
    The sensation after watching this movie is akin to being run over by a bus and then it backed up and ran over you again. This movies utterly predictable and quite frankly at time a bit irritable. If there ever was a case of a musical having too many songs, it was this one. By 3rd song, one is praying that the power just cuts out. If there is one star in this movie its Jim Sturgess who The sensation after watching this movie is akin to being run over by a bus and then it backed up and ran over you again. This movies utterly predictable and quite frankly at time a bit irritable. If there ever was a case of a musical having too many songs, it was this one. By 3rd song, one is praying that the power just cuts out. If there is one star in this movie its Jim Sturgess who plays Jude. Managing to somewhat carry the viewer along with him, he's possibly the only good thing to come out of this movie Overall, this movie represents a bad acid trip. Expand
  82. EricG.
    Oct 2, 2008
    10
    Any movie that could so successfully polarize an audience must be on to something. It's pretty apparent from the start of the film that this is pure emotion in cinematic form - definitely not one for the "intellectual" crowd (and by intellectuals I mean people who are good at over-analyzing things they can't understand on an intuitive level.) But for those who are willing to Any movie that could so successfully polarize an audience must be on to something. It's pretty apparent from the start of the film that this is pure emotion in cinematic form - definitely not one for the "intellectual" crowd (and by intellectuals I mean people who are good at over-analyzing things they can't understand on an intuitive level.) But for those who are willing to just "let go" and ride the wave, well, you're in for a visually arresting treat set to some wonderful interpretations of classic Beatles songs. A good majority of the performances were sung live during the actual filming, lending them an intimacy that just seems to flow off the screen and into your heart. And as for the large number of violently negative criticisms which this film has garnered - well Bono puts it best in the movie when he says "You're either on the bus or you're off the bus." Thank you Julie Taymor for slipping one past the man and into our theatres. Expand
  83. SeanD
    Feb 13, 2008
    9
    Those who hate this movie are nothing but cheap McCartneyites who throw around the Lennon name just like ultra-patriots play the Un-American card. This movie shocked me by not being a corporate-friendly McCartney fest, no, it showed how America was falling apart at its seams then because the people realized something was wrong. With great covers such as "Helter Skelter", "Revolution", and Those who hate this movie are nothing but cheap McCartneyites who throw around the Lennon name just like ultra-patriots play the Un-American card. This movie shocked me by not being a corporate-friendly McCartney fest, no, it showed how America was falling apart at its seams then because the people realized something was wrong. With great covers such as "Helter Skelter", "Revolution", and "Hey Jude", you will not want to miss it. Expand
  84. JadeB
    Feb 15, 2008
    1
    What a horrid movie. Its like a nonstop interwoven Christian rock video. I could see if you were 50 something and really out of touch and were a hippy for one summer before you went to college and got a job that just maybe you might get sentimental and actually fall for this dreck but come on! Theres not even any Beatles songs in it!!! Yes there are people singing Beatles songs... but What a horrid movie. Its like a nonstop interwoven Christian rock video. I could see if you were 50 something and really out of touch and were a hippy for one summer before you went to college and got a job that just maybe you might get sentimental and actually fall for this dreck but come on! Theres not even any Beatles songs in it!!! Yes there are people singing Beatles songs... but they nor this film doesn't even come close to a smidgen of creative force that was and is the Beatles. The only good scene was Eddie Izzard doing Tim Leary, that was good! Bloated Bono doing Kesey and the Merry Pranksters... wow that was embarrassing. Horrible movie. Expand
  85. JayJ.
    Feb 23, 2008
    9
    This was a great audio/visual experience. I can only guess the movie was not supposed to pay just tribute to the Beatles, nor explain sufficiently the suffering of the Vietnam war, nor explain the social revolution of the 1960 extensively but instead bring us an entertaining, movie full of great music, cinematography, fun characters and smiles. I loved it for what it is and think it will This was a great audio/visual experience. I can only guess the movie was not supposed to pay just tribute to the Beatles, nor explain sufficiently the suffering of the Vietnam war, nor explain the social revolution of the 1960 extensively but instead bring us an entertaining, movie full of great music, cinematography, fun characters and smiles. I loved it for what it is and think it will be watched for years. Lighten up people. Expand
  86. JoseM.
    Feb 24, 2008
    8
    This is a great approach to the 60's / 70's, the story is nice and the music is very consistent with those times. Some portions of the movie seems to extend the time of the film without adding much to the tale. Good for those that did not live those times, this is a naif way to see what happened, those fans of The Beatles and specially Lennon may love or hate the score but the This is a great approach to the 60's / 70's, the story is nice and the music is very consistent with those times. Some portions of the movie seems to extend the time of the film without adding much to the tale. Good for those that did not live those times, this is a naif way to see what happened, those fans of The Beatles and specially Lennon may love or hate the score but the songs where well selected and the performances are acceptable. Expand
  87. Ingridw.
    Feb 6, 2008
    10
    This was the best movie ever. the best. anyone who gave it under 7 on this rating site is a very shallow person. this movie sent a great message, and it was very deep and powerful. a must-see!
  88. Jeremy
    Mar 3, 2008
    1
    Everything was so forced and put on, the film was nearly impossible to watch. Oh, and the music...well, if you like good music then this film is not for you. If you like very sappy, ridiculous, embarrassingly awful renditions of some of the best songs ever written, then this film is for you. I don't like to be so harsh, but this movie did nothing but piss me off. Every time they Everything was so forced and put on, the film was nearly impossible to watch. Oh, and the music...well, if you like good music then this film is not for you. If you like very sappy, ridiculous, embarrassingly awful renditions of some of the best songs ever written, then this film is for you. I don't like to be so harsh, but this movie did nothing but piss me off. Every time they seemed like they were going to do something worth watching, somebody would start singing and would bury my head and pray for it to be over. Avoid at all costs. Expand
  89. BaronSaturday
    Apr 18, 2008
    0
    Wow the 60s! It's exactly as everyone said it was. I mean exactly: Vietnam, protest, drugs, sex. But watered down from Hair, the musical it copies. There is nothing original or thought provoking here at all. Just a bunch of tired cliches. Poor Beatles songs!
  90. VivianL.
    Jun 6, 2008
    0
    Really bad Beatles karaoke movie with possibly the flimsiest plot and characters i have ever seen.
  91. EnriqueP
    Aug 2, 2008
    10
    this movie is one of the best films I have ever seen in my whole life!! I really love films and I know about the film industry and this film is so special!! Its awsome how julie Taylor creates a completely new world when love appears!! Every little detail is included and every character has its own personality ! I have to say that julie has a lot of imagination and we can also see her this movie is one of the best films I have ever seen in my whole life!! I really love films and I know about the film industry and this film is so special!! Its awsome how julie Taylor creates a completely new world when love appears!! Every little detail is included and every character has its own personality ! I have to say that julie has a lot of imagination and we can also see her abilities on the lion king on broadway .... All the songs in the movie are extraordinary and some of them are better in the film than the real songs!! That is really difficult to do but they did it creating one of the best musicals ever!!! Its incredible how love converts everything into a dream and then how everything becomes sad and normal when love I'd in pause! I really loved this film and it is now one of my favourite movies!! Congratulations!!! Expand
  92. susieq
    Sep 29, 2008
    10
    Taymor confronted the screaming infidelities within her characters but demanded appreciation for their imperfection within the audience. The characters provided a window of expansion in the plot which brilliantly flattered the Beatles' songs. As a frame compliments a breathtaking painting, this story created an outline for the infamous songs. Or at least thats what I wrote in my Taymor confronted the screaming infidelities within her characters but demanded appreciation for their imperfection within the audience. The characters provided a window of expansion in the plot which brilliantly flattered the Beatles' songs. As a frame compliments a breathtaking painting, this story created an outline for the infamous songs. Or at least thats what I wrote in my evaluation essay. Expand
  93. LynnW
    Jan 2, 2009
    10
    Pretty amazing. The most creative film I've ever seen, but never indulgently, never just for its own sake.
  94. SarahM.
    Jan 27, 2009
    10
    I absolutely love this movie!!!
  95. MattK.
    Jul 16, 2009
    10
    A wonderful movie with some of the Beatles' best hits. It was all put together really well, with a dynamic storyline encompassing all of the seemingly random characters of the movie into one, moving plot. I loved this movie and even sang along to some of my favourite songs. Plus the cameos were pretty cool (Look out for Bono and Selma Hayek).
  96. KayteM.
    Nov 16, 2007
    3
    This looks like, and has about as much depth as, a (bad) film-school music-video. It lacks depth and heart, and tries so hard to fit Beatles lyrics in as dialogue that everything comes across as stilted and painful. Bono's cameo is almost unbearably dreadful. The three rating is given only because hey, it's the Beatles, and it does have its (very occasional) moments of being This looks like, and has about as much depth as, a (bad) film-school music-video. It lacks depth and heart, and tries so hard to fit Beatles lyrics in as dialogue that everything comes across as stilted and painful. Bono's cameo is almost unbearably dreadful. The three rating is given only because hey, it's the Beatles, and it does have its (very occasional) moments of being actually quite visuall arresting, and Jim Sturgess is, quite surprisingly, a pleasure to watch. Otherwise, to be avoided/to be run away from. Expand
  97. JulienC.
    Oct 16, 2007
    9
    Let me put it this way: some reviewers in my opinion have expectations of movies that are beyond normal people like me. So, this movie is sheer brilliance quite simply put. if on top of that you love the Beatles, don't hesitate and watch this movie, it's beautiful, will move you, is very well played and sung. If you're 74 years old and you've been reviewing movies for Let me put it this way: some reviewers in my opinion have expectations of movies that are beyond normal people like me. So, this movie is sheer brilliance quite simply put. if on top of that you love the Beatles, don't hesitate and watch this movie, it's beautiful, will move you, is very well played and sung. If you're 74 years old and you've been reviewing movies for 50 years you will think it's shallow... otherwise you will simply love this movie. Expand
  98. DayleH.
    Sep 13, 2007
    9
    Brilliant movie - spectacular imagery; wonderful, insightful song interpretations, lovely love story and more. Joyous and provocative at the same time.
  99. AlanG.
    Sep 14, 2007
    1
    If you grew up with the Beatles in the 60's and understood the times as one who actually lived in it, you may find this movie utter drival. I'm sorry, but whoever wrote this movie doesn't have a clue. Yes, some nice visuals, but just too hokey and out of date.
  100. MoiraM.
    Sep 17, 2007
    10
    Thank you Julie Taymor. You are the most creative mind alive today. This was a visual feast that had my heard dancing and anticipating the next incredible song to take over the screen. This is the best movie I have seen this year.
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 29
  2. Negative: 4 out of 29
  1. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    70
    All you need is love -- for the Beatles, for psychedelic visuals, for ideas about being young in the ‘60s -- to fully enjoy Across the Universe.
  2. 50
    Across the Universe, which filters the cultural revolt through a blizzard of early Beatles songs, ends up both reductive and smugly condescending to a presumptively know-nothing audience.
  3. 50
    Elements of Across the Universe are shockingly awful and the film lasts at least 30 minutes past the bearable stage. But if you like the Beatles and the idea of hearing about 20 covers of their work fills you with a perverse joy, this may be the movie for you.