Columbia Pictures | Release Date: September 14, 2007
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 256 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
178
Mixed:
34
Negative:
44
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
ryancarroll88Aug 27, 2010
At times it is a visual masterpiece, but other times it is a sprawling mess of jumbled story arcs. The actual music is very well integrated in the movie, but that doesn't mean I would listen to any of the covers over the original BeatlesAt times it is a visual masterpiece, but other times it is a sprawling mess of jumbled story arcs. The actual music is very well integrated in the movie, but that doesn't mean I would listen to any of the covers over the original Beatles version. All in all, this movie just seems unnecessary in this day and age of cinema - the 1960s were an interesting time, but this movie just flies through all of the controversial aspects without any real effort to look at why they were going on; it fills that hole with teen angst and a rather weak and predictably bland storyline. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
ChadS.Oct 13, 2007
When we first meet Lucy(Evan Rachel Woods), America is still in the midst of a fifties hangover(read: pre-British Invasion), so rather than link "Hold Me Tight" to such antiquated imagery of the previous decade, it would've made better When we first meet Lucy(Evan Rachel Woods), America is still in the midst of a fifties hangover(read: pre-British Invasion), so rather than link "Hold Me Tight" to such antiquated imagery of the previous decade, it would've made better sense had "Across the Universe" used a non-Beatles song(like "Paul and Paula") that represented the general malaise on the radio airwaves before the foppish Liverpudlians' music distract people from their recently assassinated president and corresponding cynicism towards their government. "Across the Universe" should have used the McCartney/Lennon canon in a more chronological fashion(early-to-mid-period-to-late) to tell the story of how innocent young Americans were transformed by the Civil Rights Movement and the Vietnam War. Start with "I Wanna Hold Your Hand"; end with "Let it Be". That's what I mean. To the film's credit though, never for a moment did any of the musical numbers remind me of the unfortunate "Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band". It's good to see this filmmaker taking risks again after the surprisingly routine biopic "Frida". But still, the film squanders its potential. More should be made of the Lucy's first contact with Jude(Jim Sturgess). Something that would remind the audience of how America first reacted to the Fab Four's appearance on our soil, and on our televisions. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
TylerC.Feb 6, 2008
worth one viewing. A very little more than mediocre film. The fragile story often pointlessly digressed to include a poorly chosen Beatles song just because it is well-loved.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
NoahT.Oct 9, 2007
I have a confession to make: I do not like Julie Taymor. I have never enjoyed her films, I have never found her to be talented or competent when dealing with a cast and I have always had the distinct impression that she simply wants to pat I have a confession to make: I do not like Julie Taymor. I have never enjoyed her films, I have never found her to be talented or competent when dealing with a cast and I have always had the distinct impression that she simply wants to pat herself on the back for making all those pretty pictures. Well, I'm glad to say that with this movie, Taymor has moved up in my mind from terrible to...meh. Overall, ACROSS THE UNIVERSE is nothing special. We've all seen it before: psychedelia in musicals, musicals based on a band's songs, and of course the cross-continental love story. Where Julie Taymor really drops the ball is with the songs that she uses. Despite boasting 31 classic Beatles tracks, it seems like too much of an overload. The story is awful, and it appears to be grafted on to fit the songs, and some songs aren't even relevant to the overall story ("Being for the Benefit of Mr. Kite!", "I am the Walrus", "I Wanna Hold your Hand" just to name a few). The cast is poorly-directed and it's a shame too, because the dialogue is excellent and could have been even better with some solid performances. Overall, skip this and watch MOULIN ROUGE instead. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JimG.Sep 14, 2007
Better than my expectations. This film does something I haven't seen done before, albeit unevenly. The weight (don't read that as depth) of a movie, with the attention to lyric of cabaret, as well a hint of psychedelica. Great for Better than my expectations. This film does something I haven't seen done before, albeit unevenly. The weight (don't read that as depth) of a movie, with the attention to lyric of cabaret, as well a hint of psychedelica. Great for what it was. A little tiring when every song is a ballad, but very enjoyable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
TimM.Sep 17, 2007
I wanted to like this but it was so, so, so disappointing. Should have been so much better. Its pathetic when the best part of the movie is the cracked-out trippy part. Everything felt forced and Wood's acting was atrocious... but the I wanted to like this but it was so, so, so disappointing. Should have been so much better. Its pathetic when the best part of the movie is the cracked-out trippy part. Everything felt forced and Wood's acting was atrocious... but the dumbed-down script and 1-dimensional characters did not help. Crap. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MatthewM.Sep 20, 2007
WHAT A DISAPPOINTMENT.... I will admit that the directing and the message was great, but you can't have a good movie without a great script. The story is so cliche, we've seen it all before. I wish they could of said something new WHAT A DISAPPOINTMENT.... I will admit that the directing and the message was great, but you can't have a good movie without a great script. The story is so cliche, we've seen it all before. I wish they could of said something new besides war is bad, artists are selfish egomaniacs, and all we need is love. This movie had a great opportunity to say something, but instead it preached to the choir. I'm their key audience, super liberal artist and I left two hours in. BECAUSE YOU STOP CARING ABOUT THE CHARACTERS BECAUSE NO ONE WANTS ANYTHING BUT TO BE SAD! Should of used some of that money they spent on production design to get a good screenwriter. DON'T SEE IT. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
TroubadorjimOct 1, 2007
Right away the musical gave off a cheesy vibe. Something about the random selection of Beatles songs that were performed awkwardly may have had something to do with it. There were moments where I said to myself "just stop singing." This is Right away the musical gave off a cheesy vibe. Something about the random selection of Beatles songs that were performed awkwardly may have had something to do with it. There were moments where I said to myself "just stop singing." This is coming from a person who enjoys musicals and thinks the Beatles a diety. However, towards the middle of the film it began to really gain momentum and became uninteresting to an extent. It could have been filmed so much better, but isn't that always the case? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
SteveG.Oct 15, 2007
This movie makes a mockery of the Beatles and their music. The fact that every character is named after a Beatles' song is bad enough. But to use the Beatles' music to drive this insipid plot is criminal. There are some creative This movie makes a mockery of the Beatles and their music. The fact that every character is named after a Beatles' song is bad enough. But to use the Beatles' music to drive this insipid plot is criminal. There are some creative visual images in the film and the young actors do a fairly good job singing. But this is a bad movie. I love the Beatles. I remember when they did not allow their music to be used for any commercials, etc. It was hard for me to sit through their songs being made into plot points. This movie is not an homage to the Beatles -- it is an abomination to their legacy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ArthurXOct 28, 2007
Whoever categorized this movie as a musical probably never saw a musical. In the entire movie, there is probably 20 minutes worth seeing. Besides "I've Just Seen a Face" and "Come Together" all songs felt clumsily tacked on. After the Whoever categorized this movie as a musical probably never saw a musical. In the entire movie, there is probably 20 minutes worth seeing. Besides "I've Just Seen a Face" and "Come Together" all songs felt clumsily tacked on. After the first 50 minutes, the characters meander around pointlessly. The story twists and contorts itself for the inclusion of a few more poorly done songs. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BillBFeb 15, 2008
At times the arrangements were enjoyable, and at other times they seemed to just be stuck in there.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MattAApr 13, 2008
Not as good as it could have been. The music was great...of course however...it's like having a piece of manipulatable gold as clay. The story however, left more to be desired. Obviously the movie depicted the events of an era as Not as good as it could have been. The music was great...of course however...it's like having a piece of manipulatable gold as clay. The story however, left more to be desired. Obviously the movie depicted the events of an era as opposed to sticking to the interactions between characters throughout the story. I really couldn't get emotionally attached to any of the characters, and they all seemed to be just additions to the songs. They weren't living beings, but only a sack of feelings with little to no actual goals in life except to sing and have sex. Sure, it's pretty to look at, and maybe that's all we need in life... but i think we deserve a little more emotional connection to these characters, besides knowing the songs that they sing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
LarryB.Nov 16, 2007
Really plastic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful