User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 138 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 94 out of 138
  2. Negative: 20 out of 138

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 25, 2012
    9
    As other reviewers already pointed out, the acting is a little wooden and the villians are (almost) as one dimensional as your average James Bond villian, but the overall package is so novel that it really shouldn't be an issue. As far as the acting goes, it got the job done and I wouldn't say it's any worse than the acting of some 80's action heroes from Belgium or Austria. The villians don't get much screentime outside of the scenes where they're mostly twirling their moustaches and being all-around horrible people, but the few lines of dialogue they have at least hint at something deeper, it's really not explored to any degree, but it at least partially adds a fraction of a third dimension. Finally, the novelty of the movie is that this really isn't some kind of Expandables or Magnificent 7, no egos, nobody makes stupid decisions to move the story forward, nobody running off on their own to be a hero. This movie is really a celebration of proper teamwork and good preparation, I don't think I've enjoyed the firefights in any movie more than I enjoyed the ones in Act of Valor. Expand
  2. Feb 27, 2012
    10
    I am profoundly offended... Not by this movie but by the negative reviews of it! As a Navy combat veteran of the first Gulf War I admit I may be as biased as can be, but This was a masterpiece of a movie. You don't have to be a veteran to appreciate it but unless your an America hating Hollywood liberal you will be filled with pride and humbled by the magnitude of skill, heart and sacrifice our most elite defenders of your life liberty and pursuit of happiness. I've heard some complain that the SEAL's in this movie can't act... Well thank God they aren't actors. These Men are the real thing and they "act" like the real thing not some "dumbed down" Hollywood wannabes. If you don't get that then "You can't handle the truth! Son, we live in a world that has walls, and those walls have to be guarded by men with guns." Expand
  3. Feb 25, 2012
    10
    This was a good movie because it shows what navy seals have to go through everyday and critics dont need to give this movie such low rating because of the acting there navy seals what do you expect this isnt like a hollywood unrealistic action movie this is what really happens
  4. Feb 26, 2012
    9
    Although the acting was wooden, which others have pointed out, the story moved along. I am not a big action fan, but in many ways, the action sequences seemed more real than in many other movies coming out of Hollywood these days.
  5. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    This movie was honestly a great war hero story and I thought its acting was a bit stale but still a great action movie for this long wait before any big blockbusters are realesed
  6. Feb 25, 2012
    9
    This is a good action movie. Active duty Navy Seals I'm sure did a much better job of acting than anti-military movie critics would have been capable of doing! Emotional for Veterans.
  7. Feb 27, 2012
    9
    I am wondering if the professional reviewers saw the same movie. If you go in wanting a movie to fail at the box office, then you'll find all the holes. I think the people have spoken as the numbers show this weekend. It wasn't the best acting, but these guys are real SEALs. But if you want on the edge of your seat action and intense scenes where you really feel like you're there, then AOV is top notch. Not going to appeal to those who have an agenda, but as a movie it is well worth seeing over again. The movie hits all cylinders with the story, the threat, the mission, the plan, the action, the details, the emotions and the proud feel of being on the side of 'Good.' - "Why score a Zero when you can be the Hero!" Expand
  8. Mar 3, 2012
    10
    This is one of the best films i have seen in a long time.it does something unique in the way that its not just another romantic comedy,horror film or standard action flick,and whats even better is that they are actual navy seals acting and i thought the acting was quite realistic.The storyline was also terrific and very well paced. all and all a must see for a military game and movie fan.
  9. Mar 3, 2012
    9
    I wonder if the real reason so many gave this a poor review is that the "actors" don't belong to the Actor's guild. I thought the movie was outstanding, the only reason I did not give it a 10 is I did not like the first person shooter effect. I thought the acting was superb, because they were NOT acting, they were being WHO they are. That is real life, if you ONLY want to be entertained, then don't watch this, but if you want a realistic peek into what our Navy Seal's do to protect this country and how they REALLY interact with each other, then this is a must see! Expand
  10. Mar 3, 2012
    10
    If this isn't a recruitment film then it should be...Propaganda maybe but more patriotic to make you feel safe. Resonates with 'Tears of the Sun' but combats against terrorism. Alpha male action for warriors. Hooyah!
  11. DZZ
    Feb 27, 2012
    10
    Propaganda: "ideas, facts, or allegations spread deliberately to further one's cause or to damage an opposing cause; also: a public action having such an effect" (http://www.merriamwebster.com/dictionary/propaganda)
    This movie is not propaganda. By definition what all the anti-war liberals say is propaganda. This isnt some tool for the "evil conservatives" to pull people into the
    military. It is a good movie, please think past political agenda (both sides) and video games.
    Moving on from petty political bull**** this was an action movie with the goal of a very high degree of realism and entertaining you. It accomplished that. They used Navy SEALs rather than some popular hollywood actor because of their background knowledge, making the movie realistic.
    It seems based on some reviews I have to remind you: this is an action movie, not a movie for deep character development or meaning, if you want that then go watch a chickflick. So keep that in mind.
    I cannot stress this enough... please, if you go see this movie ignore the political views of EVERYONE, so that you can actually have a chance to enjoy this movie.
    Expand
  12. Feb 27, 2012
    10
    For those of you who keep saying this movie does not have a plot or I only went because my boyfriend or husband made me go and it was like watching him playing a game on TV or the acting wasn't that good................COME ON!!! They are REAL SEALS, not over paid actors making millions to pretend to be soldiers. This a movie OR a so called documentary showing you what our military not only does to protect our country but how it effects their families-(spouse-mothers-fathers-kids). WOW...if you donâ Expand
  13. Feb 28, 2012
    10
    The Acting isn't going to win any awards. But the action sequences are spectacular and the film overall is fantastic. I don't understand most of the critic's reviews as they focus more on the acting than the intended message of the film.
  14. Feb 28, 2012
    10
    I actually really liked this movie. It had a lot of action as one would have thought. The authenticity was solid and that definitely outweighs the acting. I think my favorite part was when Christo was getting interrogated by 'Zac Galifianakas' lol jk. But seriously, was very good. I got emotional at the very end when the names of the fallen scrolled across the screen. I think it was a lot better than most of the action movies. And... the plot idea was unique! Expand
  15. Mar 3, 2012
    10
    If your an American you gotta love this movie...Very very sad. Very very Patriotic Movie...Loved it. Loved how authentic it was for a military movie..Unlike hurt Locker which was an extremely unrealistic military movie, I had to turn it off half way through the movie because it was so unrealistic...Be Proud to be An American People, We are the biggest and baddest and this movie Freakin Rocks!
  16. Mar 6, 2012
    9
    The story is great and if you've ever enjoyed Tom Clancy or 24 you'll love it. In a Hollywood movie you would have multiple threads of plot that end up being cliche (the plucky CIA analyst that puts it all together, tension in the White House and one of the SEALs would be a double agent), but it benefits by doing something new. Less is really more. Instead of the assault team being the faceless friendlies that help Ben Affleck at the end the story largely unfolds from the team's POV with a couple of exceptions. The only thing I wish they expanded on more was Senior Chief who delivers a great, real feeling performance and the best dressed fast rope in history. In the end the performances are heartfell, the service/sacrifice/Band of Brothers/Damn Few message comes through and the action is the best I've seen in a while. Not stylized, just awesome. If you loved the takedown at the end of Proof of Life, Blackhawk Down, Battle: Los Angeles, etc you'll love this. Expand
  17. Feb 21, 2014
    10
    Whether this movie was intended to be a recruiting tool or not, I walked away from this film with a greater appreciation for our armed forces. The acting was not the best, which is understandable coming from active duty Navy Seals. In the middle of the action there is no time for emotions and character development, there is only time for survival. That is exactly what this movie is, action and survival. Go America! Expand
  18. Aug 13, 2012
    10
    Im actually pretty damn annoyed about the negative reviews about this film, as an action military film it was right up there on my wish list and this film gave me everything of what I love about the military and the hard and heroic work they do for their countries, this film's effects, lighting editing is outstanding and the acting is in a league of its own, the story line fitted perfectly with the scenes and the overall feeling and the fact that these are real navy seals in the film which gives anyone a proper official taste and on what life is like as a Navy Seal Lt. or Soldier. I highly loved this film and I would really love them to make another one. 10/10 Expand
  19. Nov 29, 2012
    10
    I thought this movie was absolutely fantastic and by far the most realistic military movie I've ever seen (and I've seen just about all of them). The movie does a great job of using the little details to separate itself from most others and the acting is a lot better than the critics claim it to be. Act of Valor also does a good job of reinforcing the idea that the Navy Seals is an elite operating unit, not a fake one-man band. As for this movie not receiving good reviews from the critics, remember, these are the same good-for-nothing movie goers that think their opinion equals reality and who thought a gay cowboy movie and some cheesy silent film deserved Academy Awards. If you want the most realistic portrayal of the military and are tired of needless overdone action, this movie is for you. If you want "artistic" bullcrap, don't waste your time because this movie doesn't cater to people looking to ignore reality.

    Upon reading other's reviews of the movie, there're a few more comments I absolutely must make.
    1) For people who think cliche equals fake and unoriginal: How do you think things became cliche to begin with? Almost all cliches have a foundation of reality and being that this movie is all about reality, that's to be expected.
    2) For those who were bored with the movie because there weren't enough bullets and explosions: Go back to playing Call of Duty and watching unrealistic action movies.
    3) Speaking of Call of Duty, for those who think the movie copied Call of Duty by using first-person views for a few short sequences: Why do you think most shooters are done in a first-person perspective? Video games use first-person to try to make the experience as realistic and immersive as possible. If a movie wants to make the viewing experience as realistic as possible, it makes sense that this is a film tactic they would use.
    4) For those who thought the acting wasn't great: I agree, Russell Crowe and Christian Bale were not the leads for this movie. The acting of the SEALs was not fantastic but to say it was terrible would be inaccurate. Also, if you actually expected Navy SEALs to have Oscar worthy performances, you're a fool.

    NOTE: After seeing this movie again, I thought it was even better than I did before. Considering that I rated it a 10/10 the first time around, obviously I think very highly of this film. Something I didn't mention before that needs mentioning is how overwhelming I thought the ending was emotionally. This movie shows how much our soldiers sacrifice for our everyday freedoms that we take for granted. Their sacrifice is not lost in my eyes. Thank you for all you do for us!
    Expand
  20. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    The realism of this movie is unprecedented. The acting during the non-action parts, may be not as good (I didn't even notice the difference), but it is made up for in the action parts. During those parts they are not acting. They are preforming far better than some hollywood stuntman. Those stuntmen are not man enough to do what those Navy Seals did! I also found the action awesome! The movie had tons of very memorable action. Finally, the movie was made to honor the Navy Seals, and it did this well. At the end it even lists the names of the Seals who gave their lives overseas. This movie honored their sacrifice and unparalleled bravery. Expand
  21. Mar 7, 2012
    10
    Best Action Movie Ever!

    Everything about this Movie was perfection! Edge of my seat all the way. Storyline was exceptional - I knew what was happening and why - everything made sense. Acting by everyone was realistic, believable, and outstanding. Sporadic and strategic use of First-Person perspective was brilliantly done heightening tension, realism and immersion. After the end of the
    movie, everyone just sat there, transfixed, silent and absorbed in thought and respect. It was at least 5 minutes into the credits that the first person dared to move. About 80% of the audience stayed through the entire roll of the credits. This movie is a MUST SEE for every Action movie fan Expand
  22. Mar 8, 2012
    9
    Probably the most under rated action movie of all time. Very little or no CGI just jaw dropping and perfectly executed action sequences of Special Ops missions. For me I could lose the first ten and last ten minutes of the movie...but the whole middle heart the story and the missions are perfectly done. If you enjoy COD games or FPS games this movie is for you.
  23. Oct 28, 2012
    9
    This is definitely a must watch for fans of realistic military action / suspense movies. Some of the acting is cliched and unpolished but that tends to add to the believability- the entire story is completely believable yet very suspenseful. A little bit patriotic as well, nothing wrong with that. It depicts a behind the scenes look at intelligence and military operations. Would be a (10) if some of the acting and dialogue wasn't so cliched but this is a minor flaw in an awesome movie. Expand
  24. BAT
    Feb 5, 2014
    10
    Someone once asked Chuck Norris what he thought of David Carradine as martial artist. Chuck replied that David was as good a martial artist as he was an actor. So true but for those of us who rightfully respect the skill set that these men posses, we would rather see Seals acting as Seals than Tom Cruise acting as a Seal.
Metascore
40

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 34
  2. Negative: 9 out of 34
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Mar 22, 2012
    20
    The gimmick behind this excruciating propagandist movie about the US special forces' war on terror is that it features not actors but actual Navy Seals.
  2. Reviewed by: Kim Newman
    Mar 19, 2012
    20
    Another reason to avoid films endorsed by the US military, this is sub-propaganda tosh that inadvertently plays like Hot Shots: Part Trois.
  3. Reviewed by: Matt Glasby
    Mar 16, 2012
    40
    This voiceover is one of many perplexing elements in this ridiculously pumped-up military recruitment video, which intersperses brilliant and immersive combat scenes with excruciating comradely banter.