User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 139 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 95 out of 139
  2. Negative: 20 out of 139

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 25, 2012
    9
    As other reviewers already pointed out, the acting is a little wooden and the villians are (almost) as one dimensional as your average James Bond villian, but the overall package is so novel that it really shouldn't be an issue. As far as the acting goes, it got the job done and I wouldn't say it's any worse than the acting of some 80's action heroes from Belgium or Austria. The villians don't get much screentime outside of the scenes where they're mostly twirling their moustaches and being all-around horrible people, but the few lines of dialogue they have at least hint at something deeper, it's really not explored to any degree, but it at least partially adds a fraction of a third dimension. Finally, the novelty of the movie is that this really isn't some kind of Expandables or Magnificent 7, no egos, nobody makes stupid decisions to move the story forward, nobody running off on their own to be a hero. This movie is really a celebration of proper teamwork and good preparation, I don't think I've enjoyed the firefights in any movie more than I enjoyed the ones in Act of Valor. Expand
  2. Feb 27, 2012
    10
    I am profoundly offended... Not by this movie but by the negative reviews of it! As a Navy combat veteran of the first Gulf War I admit I may be as biased as can be, but This was a masterpiece of a movie. You don't have to be a veteran to appreciate it but unless your an America hating Hollywood liberal you will be filled with pride and humbled by the magnitude of skill, heart and sacrifice our most elite defenders of your life liberty and pursuit of happiness. I've heard some complain that the SEAL's in this movie can't act... Well thank God they aren't actors. These Men are the real thing and they "act" like the real thing not some "dumbed down" Hollywood wannabes. If you don't get that then "You can't handle the truth! Son, we live in a world that has walls, and those walls have to be guarded by men with guns." Collapse
  3. Feb 24, 2012
    8
    While the decision to cast active-duty Navy SEALs results in dialogue and character development falling by the wayside, the brisk pacing and incredible action sequences do more than balance the scales. The tactics are based on the everyday experiences of the SEAL team, and many of the scenes were shot with live ammunition for authenticity - and just to show you how truly badass these guys are. Full of white-knuckle intensity that feels all the more visceral because of its true life roots, Act of Valor is a fascinating experiment in filmmaking that hits the mark more often than not. --www.nerdrep.com Expand
  4. Feb 25, 2012
    3
    As a action film fan, my expectations were very low... And I was disappointed. The editing made the action boring, killing pretty much all of the suspense; the few interesting action sequence looked like a video game promotional video... And were way to short.

    It's been said a few time, but the bad acting kill all the attempts at humor or camaraderie. It would have been more interesting
    to just watch the guys not acting, documentary style.

    Watch the preview of the movie a few times, while you wait for the movie to come out as a DVD if you absolutely want to see it.
    Expand
  5. Feb 25, 2012
    10
    This was a good movie because it shows what navy seals have to go through everyday and critics dont need to give this movie such low rating because of the acting there navy seals what do you expect this isnt like a hollywood unrealistic action movie this is what really happens
  6. Feb 25, 2012
    3
    This movie explains why the United States is hated throughout the world and what is wrong with these type of movies. The villains are given zero definition, we're suppose to hate them because they're Muslim and they want to attack the United States. Their backgrounds, their morals, their motivation are not examined at all. I'm not going to touch upon the acting ability since it is subpar but I understand that they're Navy Seals, not actors. The actual combat was decent of course, but that can't solely carry a movie.

    Also I have to cringe of how jingoistic this movie is, I hope the audience knows that most of the actions taken are borderline unconstitutional. Also blackmailing people by threatening their families? Not very classy America. We're better than this. Stay away from this movie if you don't want to almost vomit by the blatant over the top patriotism shown. If you want a better portrayal of modern warfare check out the Hurt Locker.
    Expand
  7. Feb 28, 2012
    4
    This movie's gimmick: the men playing Navy SEALs are real Navy SEALs. Their mission involves rescuing a CIA agent, then saving the US from a terrorist invasion. They may know how to pull off special ops, but they sure can't act and the lame dialogue makes their interactions even more embarrassing. Basically, they end up being a group of men with no discernable personalities and the bad writing would mortify real actors. Instead of competent storytelling, the filmmakers used jerky camerawork and overbearing music. There's lots of shooting, explosions and running around, but the action is poorly-staged and confusing. It felt like a Steven Seagal straight-to-DVD production. Expand
  8. Feb 26, 2012
    9
    Although the acting was wooden, which others have pointed out, the story moved along. I am not a big action fan, but in many ways, the action sequences seemed more real than in many other movies coming out of Hollywood these days.
  9. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    This movie was honestly a great war hero story and I thought its acting was a bit stale but still a great action movie for this long wait before any big blockbusters are realesed
  10. Feb 25, 2012
    9
    This is a good action movie. Active duty Navy Seals I'm sure did a much better job of acting than anti-military movie critics would have been capable of doing! Emotional for Veterans.
  11. Mar 1, 2012
    8
    I'm a fan of shows like The Unit which portray these teams in a tangible, realistic light, and I've always been intrigued by the documentaries chronicling BUDs training. I had somewhat modest expectations for this film based on what the pro critics had to say, but this sucker is exciting - easily surpassing my expectations. Sure, it's a little too buttoned-up in terms of the story, but it does a really nice job of characterizing the moment-to-moment professionalism of these operators. The fact that actual SEALs are involved in and starring in the film helps to assure the moviegoer that it's authentic stuff - not juiced up or fundamentally compromised for the cameras. I appreciate that the filmmakers name all of the operators lost since 9/11 at the end of the film - especially Master-at-Arms Second Class Michael Monsoor, who was awarded the CMH for an incredibly selfless act which is portrayed - in a general sense - in this film. Expand
  12. Feb 26, 2012
    0
    Looks like my review was deleted... So I'll post it again. This is s horribly blatant piece of propaganda, just in time to prime us for the coming war with Iran. An extra long recruitment video. The acting? Laughable. Silly uber evil bad guys, cookie cutter caricatures of evil, "they hate us for our freedoms". So insulting that it has no entertainment value what so ever. Skip this one, and don't even bother renting the video... Expand
  13. Feb 25, 2012
    0
    An action film that has no thrills, character development, or any underlying meaning. Its just propaganda farce to recruit more people to join the army.b
  14. Feb 27, 2012
    9
    I am wondering if the professional reviewers saw the same movie. If you go in wanting a movie to fail at the box office, then you'll find all the holes. I think the people have spoken as the numbers show this weekend. It wasn't the best acting, but these guys are real SEALs. But if you want on the edge of your seat action and intense scenes where you really feel like you're there, then AOV is top notch. Not going to appeal to those who have an agenda, but as a movie it is well worth seeing over again. The movie hits all cylinders with the story, the threat, the mission, the plan, the action, the details, the emotions and the proud feel of being on the side of 'Good.' - "Why score a Zero when you can be the Hero!" Expand
  15. Mar 3, 2012
    10
    This is one of the best films i have seen in a long time.it does something unique in the way that its not just another romantic comedy,horror film or standard action flick,and whats even better is that they are actual navy seals acting and i thought the acting was quite realistic.The storyline was also terrific and very well paced. all and all a must see for a military game and movie fan.
  16. Aug 13, 2012
    8
    I very much enjoyed this film; considering this was probably the first acting adventure the active-duty seals had undertaken I commend them for their effort; at times the acting was a little wooden but it felt more professional to me.

    Thanks for telling us your story :)
  17. Mar 3, 2012
    9
    I wonder if the real reason so many gave this a poor review is that the "actors" don't belong to the Actor's guild. I thought the movie was outstanding, the only reason I did not give it a 10 is I did not like the first person shooter effect. I thought the acting was superb, because they were NOT acting, they were being WHO they are. That is real life, if you ONLY want to be entertained, then don't watch this, but if you want a realistic peek into what our Navy Seal's do to protect this country and how they REALLY interact with each other, then this is a must see! Expand
  18. Feb 28, 2012
    7
    Pay back's a **** ain't it Leftist Reviewers? (ie, almost all of them!) What makes the anti-Americanism of Hollywood sycophants dangerous is the fact that it leads to moral self-delusion: we're more moral, America is immoral, the West and Christianity are the most immoral! And when our media elites are self- deluded, can anyone trust them to take action and remain self-possessed enough to defend us? Of course not. For over a decade I have waited a film that celebrates the last of America's Indian wars on the Great Plains (ie, the native American's who, like Mohammed the founder of Islam, organized and venerated military violence) -- and thus had to be pacified for world civilization to progress. 9/11 was our call to duty, and we answered the call. Finally, our dog will have its day. Well done, Seals. Expand
  19. Mar 3, 2012
    10
    If this isn't a recruitment film then it should be...Propaganda maybe but more patriotic to make you feel safe. Resonates with 'Tears of the Sun' but combats against terrorism. Alpha male action for warriors. Hooyah!
  20. DZZ
    Feb 27, 2012
    10
    Propaganda: "ideas, facts, or allegations spread deliberately to further one's cause or to damage an opposing cause; also: a public action having such an effect" (http://www.merriamwebster.com/dictionary/propaganda)
    This movie is not propaganda. By definition what all the anti-war liberals say is propaganda. This isnt some tool for the "evil conservatives" to pull people into the
    military. It is a good movie, please think past political agenda (both sides) and video games.
    Moving on from petty political bull**** this was an action movie with the goal of a very high degree of realism and entertaining you. It accomplished that. They used Navy SEALs rather than some popular hollywood actor because of their background knowledge, making the movie realistic.
    It seems based on some reviews I have to remind you: this is an action movie, not a movie for deep character development or meaning, if you want that then go watch a chickflick. So keep that in mind.
    I cannot stress this enough... please, if you go see this movie ignore the political views of EVERYONE, so that you can actually have a chance to enjoy this movie.
    Expand
  21. Feb 27, 2012
    10
    For those of you who keep saying this movie does not have a plot or I only went because my boyfriend or husband made me go and it was like watching him playing a game on TV or the acting wasn't that good................COME ON!!! They are REAL SEALS, not over paid actors making millions to pretend to be soldiers. This a movie OR a so called documentary showing you what our military not only does to protect our country but how it effects their families-(spouse-mothers-fathers-kids). WOW...if you donâ Expand
  22. Feb 28, 2012
    10
    The Acting isn't going to win any awards. But the action sequences are spectacular and the film overall is fantastic. I don't understand most of the critic's reviews as they focus more on the acting than the intended message of the film.
  23. Feb 28, 2012
    10
    I actually really liked this movie. It had a lot of action as one would have thought. The authenticity was solid and that definitely outweighs the acting. I think my favorite part was when Christo was getting interrogated by 'Zac Galifianakas' lol jk. But seriously, was very good. I got emotional at the very end when the names of the fallen scrolled across the screen. I think it was a lot better than most of the action movies. And... the plot idea was unique! Expand
  24. Feb 29, 2012
    8
    This movie did what it was ment to do...very well. People are saying the acting is bad but these are not actors. They are Real Navy Seals. The action was great.
  25. Mar 3, 2012
    10
    If your an American you gotta love this movie...Very very sad. Very very Patriotic Movie...Loved it. Loved how authentic it was for a military movie..Unlike hurt Locker which was an extremely unrealistic military movie, I had to turn it off half way through the movie because it was so unrealistic...Be Proud to be An American People, We are the biggest and baddest and this movie Freakin Rocks!
  26. May 20, 2012
    7
    The fact that the director could get Navy Seals to halfway act is an achievement in itself. Let alone, the film had some badass moments. The sound of the M4A1's banging away was powerful, and the scene with the miniguns on the boat was downright awesome. The story was about right, with some drawn out portions that could have been improved. Overall, this film made our boys and girls on the frontline look like the badasses they are. The scene where they take it to the Mexican drug cartel was pretty badass as well. The terrorist was pretty realistic--although it was kind of unrealistic that he wouldn't have ties to Al Qaeda. Overall, watch this movie with the expectation to see some pretty nice fight sequences. They are what keeps the film high on my list. Expand
  27. Jul 28, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. First off, I'd like to state that this is not a propaganda piece. What it is, however, is a cynical ploy by the studio to cash-in on a highly polarized yet energized conservative movement and a large number of returning veterans now that the wars overseas are being brought to a close. It is also a ploy by the DoD to boost recruitment for the military, but it is not a propaganda piece. For it to be propaganda the film would have to say something, anything, with more depth than "Jihadis bad; criminal networks who support Jihadis bad". That's something that everyone barring a few radicals on both ends of the political spectrum can agree on. It's like saying "rape bad," everyone agrees already you don't need to release a film to convince us. Hence, I don't feel the film was attempting to convince us of anything other than, maybe, join the military? There's nothing to really be said about the film; in about an hour and a half (feels like four) blank-slates will go around shooting dark-skinned people in exotic locales until they go someplace else to shoot dark-skinned people in exotic locales. No, I'm not attempting to push some claim of racism or anything as daft as neocolonialism on the part of the movie. Just think about that premise for a moment -- it's every first-person shooter released between Call of Duty 4 and now. Let's talk about those blank-slates; my primary criticism of nearly every war film I've watched is that each character is essentially the same as the character before him. When you create a character and give him one defining characteristic, he or she is that characteristic. When you're making a film and you give a group of people that same characteristic they're that single characteristic. At the end of the film I had to ask my father who died. His response was "the LT," yes but who is the LT?" The guy who is having a baby" still, who the hell is that? These aren Expand
  28. Apr 22, 2012
    4
    While the action sequences are realistic and near flawless, everything else is an absolute mess.The acting is ridiculous. Really, really bad. Even if they had passable actors, the script would still bog them down. Probably my favorite part of the movie is where an interrogator randomly throws everything off his desk and then yells "do you think this is a game?" Most of the film is cheesy little action cliches like this. If you're going to see this movie, see it in theaters. No reason to see this movie on anything other than the big screen. Expand
  29. Oct 3, 2014
    7
    With it's action-packed firefights, explosive set-pieces, decent plot, and bland characters, it in a lot of ways feels like Call of Duty: The Movie. It tries to throw some emotion in between the action scenes, but thanks to the poor dialog and the generic, bro-dude meathead characters it fails to do so. At most all these scenes serve the purpose of is some oh so obvious recruitment tactics.

    The strength here is definitely in the action. Like I said the movie feels like Call of Duty with it's fast-paced shootouts. The first-person camera angles also help sell this feeling. Really I think that's what they were going for with the way things are set-up. Which again makes it feel like a super painfully obvious attempt at recruitment, but it can still be a lot of fun. The equipment and lingo being used here is enough to show any military fanatic a good time.

    The enemies on display here aren't presented as much of a threat though, which helps the film lose the sense of realism it's trying to instill. The bad guys can't aim, so they basically just act as cannon-fodder for these real-life SEAL's. Outside of some predictable wounds/death near the end they make it through every encounter with barely a scratch.

    It's an overall entertaining film that will please action junkies, military enthusiasts, or those who respect our nation's troops. It might not be as realistic as it was being touted and suffers from bad characters and dialog, as well as being a clear attempt at recruitment, but it's still an entertaining action movie overall it. It fails to evoke any emotion, but it does manage to create some memorable action. That makes it worth a rental in my book.
    Expand
  30. Mar 6, 2012
    6
    The SEAL in Navy SEAL stands for Sea, Land, and Air Team. Act of Valor makes abundant use of these three separate environments to showcase the U.S. militaryâ
  31. Mar 6, 2012
    9
    The story is great and if you've ever enjoyed Tom Clancy or 24 you'll love it. In a Hollywood movie you would have multiple threads of plot that end up being cliche (the plucky CIA analyst that puts it all together, tension in the White House and one of the SEALs would be a double agent), but it benefits by doing something new. Less is really more. Instead of the assault team being the faceless friendlies that help Ben Affleck at the end the story largely unfolds from the team's POV with a couple of exceptions. The only thing I wish they expanded on more was Senior Chief who delivers a great, real feeling performance and the best dressed fast rope in history. In the end the performances are heartfell, the service/sacrifice/Band of Brothers/Damn Few message comes through and the action is the best I've seen in a while. Not stylized, just awesome. If you loved the takedown at the end of Proof of Life, Blackhawk Down, Battle: Los Angeles, etc you'll love this. Expand
  32. Oct 17, 2012
    5
    What's your expectation? If you're thinking of watching this and comparing it to something in any other genre, it's going to let you down. This is a mix between a Tom Clancy movie and a video game, and surely if you're reading about it, you know that it features real-life, active duty SEALs.

    The story is basic. The pace is fast. The dialog is weak, but realistic. The acting by the
    SEALs is 'a heroic effort' but these men are clearly not actors. The acting by the actors is just fine. The characters are simple. The action is fast, hard, dynamic, and visceral.

    Basically: if you're against this kind of gung-ho recruitment piece, avoid it. If you want to see well-produced training video for an elite combat unit, give it a shot.
    Expand
  33. May 25, 2012
    5
    All they showed is that America is pure Gold and rest of the world is crap . The story sucked big time. Players were not actors so they were suppose to be bad and they were really really bad . Actions scenes were good . That fist person view was amazing . But sometimes it seemed like Games , There were like hundreds of Gunners with some US Seals and what ever happens not one of them gets shot . And the ending of the movie was the worst . Direction was good but Over all the movie is 30/70 enjoyable . I expected more but it was disappointing ! Expand
  34. Feb 21, 2014
    10
    Whether this movie was intended to be a recruiting tool or not, I walked away from this film with a greater appreciation for our armed forces. The acting was not the best, which is understandable coming from active duty Navy Seals. In the middle of the action there is no time for emotions and character development, there is only time for survival. That is exactly what this movie is, action and survival. Go America! Expand
  35. Aug 13, 2012
    10
    Im actually pretty damn annoyed about the negative reviews about this film, as an action military film it was right up there on my wish list and this film gave me everything of what I love about the military and the hard and heroic work they do for their countries, this film's effects, lighting editing is outstanding and the acting is in a league of its own, the story line fitted perfectly with the scenes and the overall feeling and the fact that these are real navy seals in the film which gives anyone a proper official taste and on what life is like as a Navy Seal Lt. or Soldier. I highly loved this film and I would really love them to make another one. 10/10 Expand
  36. Nov 29, 2012
    10
    I thought this movie was absolutely fantastic and by far the most realistic military movie I've ever seen (and I've seen just about all of them). The movie does a great job of using the little details to separate itself from most others and the acting is a lot better than the critics claim it to be. Act of Valor also does a good job of reinforcing the idea that the Navy Seals is an elite operating unit, not a fake one-man band. As for this movie not receiving good reviews from the critics, remember, these are the same good-for-nothing movie goers that think their opinion equals reality and who thought a gay cowboy movie and some cheesy silent film deserved Academy Awards. If you want the most realistic portrayal of the military and are tired of needless overdone action, this movie is for you. If you want "artistic" bullcrap, don't waste your time because this movie doesn't cater to people looking to ignore reality.

    Upon reading other's reviews of the movie, there're a few more comments I absolutely must make.
    1) For people who think cliche equals fake and unoriginal: How do you think things became cliche to begin with? Almost all cliches have a foundation of reality and being that this movie is all about reality, that's to be expected.
    2) For those who were bored with the movie because there weren't enough bullets and explosions: Go back to playing Call of Duty and watching unrealistic action movies.
    3) Speaking of Call of Duty, for those who think the movie copied Call of Duty by using first-person views for a few short sequences: Why do you think most shooters are done in a first-person perspective? Video games use first-person to try to make the experience as realistic and immersive as possible. If a movie wants to make the viewing experience as realistic as possible, it makes sense that this is a film tactic they would use.
    4) For those who thought the acting wasn't great: I agree, Russell Crowe and Christian Bale were not the leads for this movie. The acting of the SEALs was not fantastic but to say it was terrible would be inaccurate. Also, if you actually expected Navy SEALs to have Oscar worthy performances, you're a fool.

    NOTE: After seeing this movie again, I thought it was even better than I did before. Considering that I rated it a 10/10 the first time around, obviously I think very highly of this film. Something I didn't mention before that needs mentioning is how overwhelming I thought the ending was emotionally. This movie shows how much our soldiers sacrifice for our everyday freedoms that we take for granted. Their sacrifice is not lost in my eyes. Thank you for all you do for us!
    Expand
  37. Feb 22, 2013
    4
    Act of Valor is a refreshingly new and ambitious idea, that takes the stories of active U.S. Marines and turns them into one big story, which is then played out by the very Marines who experienced them. I loved the concept, but this film falls way short of expectations. I believe the purpose of military is the service and protection of our nation, but in Act of Valor the Marines are portrayed as trigger happy Americans. We see the Marines, following up on CIA Intel, going into four different foreign countries, shooting first and asking questions later. Is this really the image of our military that we want to portray to the rest of the world? Regardless of what's real and what's not, these Marines come off as ruthless, with an attitude of you we're American, we'll do what we want.' As expected, the action scenes were some of the best and most realistic I've ever seen. I would except nothing less, being that the film features men who have been in actual combat and know what it looks like. The acting, also as excepted, was really awful, but for the first time in the twenty month history of this blog I won't blame the actors for it, since after all, they aren't really actors. The action sequences alone more than make up for the acting job, but again, I have a real problem with the message this film is sending out to the world. Chronicling the heroism and every day life of a U.S. Marine is admirable, but portraying them like Bruce Willis in Die Hard isn't doing them any favors, in fact it's making an already difficult job harder. Expand
  38. Apr 11, 2012
    7
    There would not be enough opinions about how wooden the acting in this film is. At the same time, after thinking it through, I find it quite positive. The SEALs are not pretending to be professional actors. They are just doing their job well, and in a spectacular way! The action scenes are really great! The operations are as realistic as they can be. There are no exaggerated visual effects. None are needed, though. This movie is all about SEALSs and all about action as it could be. And that's its biggest advantage! A staunch 7! Expand
  39. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    The realism of this movie is unprecedented. The acting during the non-action parts, may be not as good (I didn't even notice the difference), but it is made up for in the action parts. During those parts they are not acting. They are preforming far better than some hollywood stuntman. Those stuntmen are not man enough to do what those Navy Seals did! I also found the action awesome! The movie had tons of very memorable action. Finally, the movie was made to honor the Navy Seals, and it did this well. At the end it even lists the names of the Seals who gave their lives overseas. This movie honored their sacrifice and unparalleled bravery. Expand
  40. Mar 7, 2012
    10
    Best Action Movie Ever!

    Everything about this Movie was perfection! Edge of my seat all the way. Storyline was exceptional - I knew what was happening and why - everything made sense. Acting by everyone was realistic, believable, and outstanding. Sporadic and strategic use of First-Person perspective was brilliantly done heightening tension, realism and immersion. After the end of the
    movie, everyone just sat there, transfixed, silent and absorbed in thought and respect. It was at least 5 minutes into the credits that the first person dared to move. About 80% of the audience stayed through the entire roll of the credits. This movie is a MUST SEE for every Action movie fan Expand
  41. Mar 7, 2012
    6
    Admittedly, there was a sense of unease during the opening portions of the film where the Navy Seals pretended to be actors. It was nearly intolerable. Once the movie moves into the main portions of its narrative, however, the pacing and the quality of the film picks up. The action sequences are well filmed and directed and they are most definitely the highlight of this film. There is little depth in the actual story arc and at times the film does feel like a recruiting tool. That being said, I came away enjoying this action film despite some obvious warts Expand
  42. Mar 8, 2012
    9
    Probably the most under rated action movie of all time. Very little or no CGI just jaw dropping and perfectly executed action sequences of Special Ops missions. For me I could lose the first ten and last ten minutes of the movie...but the whole middle heart the story and the missions are perfectly done. If you enjoy COD games or FPS games this movie is for you.
  43. Aug 10, 2012
    5
    What the hells of this movie. The story is boring and has no any new things. It's just a war movie that anyone can see in any war movies. In addition, the visual effects and the sound effects did not do that much in this movie. It's just for one time watch and forgot about it in 10 minutes later.
  44. Mar 17, 2012
    3
    Like Call of Duty/Battlefield? Go watch this movie. Don't like them? Then stay away from it. Shot partially from a first person angle and mixed in with horrible plot and acting, the whole thing feels like a cliche recruitment effort. This is why the world hates the U.S. Are we supposed to hate the enemies because they're muslim? They put the baddies in front of us and tell us to hate them.
  45. Apr 6, 2012
    6
    Active US Navy Seals kicking terrorist butt. Far better than I thought it would be. Cheesy lines, bad acting, and semi-lame storyline bring this movie down. Can't expect superb acting from Navy Seal guys though I guess. Action scenes are very realistic, breathtaking, and really really awesome. Not the greatest action movie, but good if you are wanting to watch something for simple entertainment value that also does not involve a lot of thinking, this is an option.
    P.S - The movie screams propaganda as well, but it aint no walk in the park to become a Navy Seal!
    Expand
  46. May 3, 2012
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This film really spoke of how the life of people who sacrifice themselves for us to live happly in safety but as far as this storyline goes absolutely disappointed!. This ending was the worst and who the hell! Kills of a character by jumping on a Granad! The worst kill off I've seen. At least make it a bigger explosion to make up for it..the scripting wasn't at all surprising that in fact was a poor effort. I can keep going but after the fighting sences and prepe that was done very well done. Over all I give it a 6.5 (not bad) Expand
  47. X0R
    Jun 11, 2012
    5
    I have great respect for those serving the military, and veterans; but I have a hard time respecting this film. It is a bit aimed at young or low-expectation viewers, and does not do much justice to films of this genre. Overall, I felt it was meagerly entertaining.
  48. Jul 2, 2012
    7
    I'm gonna keep it short for Act of Valor, as to not start any type of trouble between to people who love and hate this film. Act of Valor was a great way to get a look at actual Navy SEALS and how, when they're home, they have families and all they care about it so it's not like they're just machines out on the battlefield. It's impossible for everything they did otherwise, like their tactics in battle, to be entirely true because that all needs to be kept secret- however, it was very interesting to watch it all go down. Gives you an appreciation for what they have to do for us to be safe and free. The acting in this wasn't HORRIBLE really, it was just ok and since that most of the cast were all SEALS it is very acceptable for it to be just ok. I'd recommend to anyone who loves and respects the servicemen who protect our country to go see this. Expand
  49. Sep 12, 2012
    3
    Act of Valor, an action film starring actual navy seals, may have worked as the recruitment film it was originally intended to be, but as cinema? Not so much. My expectations for the standard of acting I was to see was pretty low and that expectation was met, with barely any pull dramatically from the men on screen. I can't really blame them, though, but filmgoers shouldn't have to forgive anyone for anything. It is basically the film equivalent of something that would come from the group that brought us 'Courageous', but in regards to the military rather than Christianity. Both films are sufficient technically, but are only for a specific group of people. The worst aspect of Act of Valor is that it never once comes off as genuine. The banter between the navy seals is just unbearably unauthentic and the action seems to be stylized like a POV shot from a Call of Duty game. There is one breakthrough cool moment near the middle of the film where a guard is shot in the head, then as he falls to the water, a pair of hands reach out to catch him from making a splash so as to alert the other guards. But the rest of the movie is dull, filled with unintentional funny moments ('this film is based off of real acts of valor' Bwahahaha!!) and populated with wooden characters. Expand
  50. Jul 29, 2012
    8
    great movie, the negative reviewers can't help but slip out that there is a left bias against the u.s. military on display. great movie, had me saying, "boom head shot" throughout. i just wish the haters would take a break from hating on the real heroes. god bless the u.s. navy seals... especially the snipers.
  51. Aug 10, 2012
    7
    A typical flashy American action movie with a shallow plot (Terrorist want to kill people. Special forces stop terrorists. End of film) and wooden acting (understandable due to the fact that the actors are actual soldiers). Action sequences are excellent, however. I can honestly say that this was one the very few films that didn't have me, as a military man myself, pointing out constant flaws in what was going on. On the whole, a decent film and a good watch if you are tired and/or don't want to have to pay attention to every last detail. Expand
  52. Aug 12, 2012
    8
    I heard somebody say that the SEALs in the movie cant act
    If you think they cant act its because "real" actors have misrepresented them and people like them for so long you dont know what reality is
    They DONT have to act because they are portraying what they ALREADY ARE
    The movie may not have the best cinematography or special effects, but it sure as hell is one of the most realistic,
    and touching
    8/10
    Expand
  53. Aug 14, 2012
    5
    What a letdown. The trailers and TV spots made the film look so much better than it turned out to be. While it's not awful, the film falls short due to some pretty wooden acting, bland dialogue, and an uninteresting story. At least the action scenes are pretty well done.
  54. Oct 28, 2012
    9
    This is definitely a must watch for fans of realistic military action / suspense movies. Some of the acting is cliched and unpolished but that tends to add to the believability- the entire story is completely believable yet very suspenseful. A little bit patriotic as well, nothing wrong with that. It depicts a behind the scenes look at intelligence and military operations. Would be a (10) if some of the acting and dialogue wasn't so cliched but this is a minor flaw in an awesome movie. Expand
  55. Dec 5, 2012
    3
    Honestly, this was a pretty weak film. I appreciate the realistic missions and action sequences, but the plot got muddled after a while and the poor acting and mediocre script didn't help.
  56. Jul 1, 2013
    2
    More of the same generic action movie that you see in Michael Bay's films than a realistic war movie. The action sequences, just like many action movies, were enjoyable to watch and the way the soldiers move in silence is really intense, if at times it makes you feel like you're playing a FPS game, but some of the action sequences, such as the chase scene, feels too Hollywood.

    That's
    about the only thing the movie gets right and the movie casts real SEALs as leading actors. You don't have to like the movie to support the troops for their services and fighting for their country, it's just a movie. They can't act, it's almost laughable when they talk, they don't even sound American, and the lame dialogues makes it more embarrassing than it already is.

    The plot is so cliche, soldiers rescuing a kidnapped CIA agent and then save America from terrorists. You don't have to cast active duty Navy SEALs to make a war film more realistic, take Saving Private Ryan for example. A film, worthy of Best Picture, that defines the genre of war films featuring realistic battle scenes and a winning performance from Tom Hanks, he's not a SEAL.

    This film would be more realistic if the actor's performances were more natural, it's not just about explosions and shooting with real ammunition. A film that's based on actual events doesn't always classify a movie as good, take J. Edgar and Amelia for example. If it does, more films should be based on true stories which would take away many creative ideas.

    Act of Valor shows you what it's like to be a U.S. Navy SEAL but the film completely ignores the complexity of war, the soldier's attitude doesn't help the movie to try and show it either. Their extreme patriotism makes them feel so positive as if they'll complete their mission, without worrying about the consequences, and they'll return home safely to their families simply because it's America.

    There's no character development, they end up being a group of soldiers with no discernible personalities, so it's not emotional when one of the soldiers, predictably, dies in the end or when Rorke leaves and his wife is upset to see him go.

    This movie would probably be better if it were a documentary instead. It would be an intense and a gritty insight on the missions conducted by SEALs that would really capture it realistically, if well-made. In the end, the plot gets muddled as the movie goes on. The action sequences can't lift the movie above bad with it's mediocre script and poor acting.
    Expand
  57. Dec 31, 2013
    5
    Act of Valor isn't terrible. It has some exciting action scenes, and it does honor the soldiers who risk their lives to protect us, but the acting and writing is fairly poor. The main villain could have been good if he didn't forget his accent every other minute, and most of the soldiers are scripted as your typical "Hoo rah!" heroes. There's really no nuance in the film at all either. So overall, it's no Saving Private Ryan, but it delivers enough in the action department to save it from going completely under. Expand
  58. Dec 15, 2013
    4
    However, as cool as that all is, it doesn't excuse the fact that it's still a pretty forgettable movie in the long run. Yes, there are some decent action scenes particularly near the beginning but their entertainment value slowly declines as the film trudges along. All in all, Act of Valor never becomes anything more than a feature length recruitment video touting shameless jingoism that never feels quite genuine enough, despite its undeniable good intentions. Expand
  59. May 12, 2013
    7
    This movie has a really good story, but their were a couple of flaws in it. You have to give the navy seals in the movie some credit because they are no professional actors.
  60. BAT
    Feb 5, 2014
    10
    Someone once asked Chuck Norris what he thought of David Carradine as martial artist. Chuck replied that David was as good a martial artist as he was an actor. So true but for those of us who rightfully respect the skill set that these men posses, we would rather see Seals acting as Seals than Tom Cruise acting as a Seal.
Metascore
40

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 34
  2. Negative: 9 out of 34
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Mar 22, 2012
    20
    The gimmick behind this excruciating propagandist movie about the US special forces' war on terror is that it features not actors but actual Navy Seals.
  2. Reviewed by: Kim Newman
    Mar 19, 2012
    20
    Another reason to avoid films endorsed by the US military, this is sub-propaganda tosh that inadvertently plays like Hot Shots: Part Trois.
  3. Reviewed by: Matt Glasby
    Mar 16, 2012
    40
    This voiceover is one of many perplexing elements in this ridiculously pumped-up military recruitment video, which intersperses brilliant and immersive combat scenes with excruciating comradely banter.