Adaptation.

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 228 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 228

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. MikeG.
    Dec 7, 2005
    3
    This movie makes me imagine a middle school writing class. The students are asked to write about their favorite vacation ever. The best student in the class, instead of writing about his favorite vacation ever, writes a long story about trying to write a story about a book about an exciting vacation. This was the problem with Adaptation. It's cute, it's sometimes funny, This movie makes me imagine a middle school writing class. The students are asked to write about their favorite vacation ever. The best student in the class, instead of writing about his favorite vacation ever, writes a long story about trying to write a story about a book about an exciting vacation. This was the problem with Adaptation. It's cute, it's sometimes funny, it's sometimes fun, but it spends so much time winking and nodding at the viewer that it just gets to be annoying. The movie insists that we're in on the joke so many times that the joke gets tired really, really fast. It's too bad, too, because I enjoyed Cooper, Streep and the always stellar Brian Cox (hope he wins an Oscar one day). But, as a movie, this failed in a big, big way. Expand
  2. MichaelC.
    Nov 26, 2003
    2
    To be honest, the feelings on this movie seemed to be mixed among the masses. I've talked to just as many people who loved it as I have who hated it. In all fairness, it is a very original idea for a movie. But this is not enough to overcome the one major problem with this movie: BORING! BORING! BORING! ! F....ING BORING!!!!! There...I said it.
  3. TyS.
    Jun 25, 2003
    2
    Would not recommend this to anyone at all. Why was I so looking forward to watching this ? It is obvious why. I was keen after reading all the so called experts say it was such a good this and this but it was really just a tired old bag of cliches. Cage has a habit of picking these non charismatic parts as no one could make his characters seem lively or any of the characters for that Would not recommend this to anyone at all. Why was I so looking forward to watching this ? It is obvious why. I was keen after reading all the so called experts say it was such a good this and this but it was really just a tired old bag of cliches. Cage has a habit of picking these non charismatic parts as no one could make his characters seem lively or any of the characters for that matter, This was as bad as I have seen of late and that takes into account a few very bad ones as well......... While i admire the guts and courage to create this movie and gather such a good cast (on paper) and realise it is so easy to sit back and throw insults at the work ,I really do feel this is a total loss as far as watchability. Expand
  4. TyS.
    Jun 25, 2003
    2
    Would not recommend this to anyone at all. Why was I so looking forward to watching this ? It is obvious why. I was keen after reading all the so called experts say it was such a good this and this but it was really just a tired old bag of cliches. Cage has a habit of picking these non charismatic parts as no one could make his characters seem lively or any of the characters for that Would not recommend this to anyone at all. Why was I so looking forward to watching this ? It is obvious why. I was keen after reading all the so called experts say it was such a good this and this but it was really just a tired old bag of cliches. Cage has a habit of picking these non charismatic parts as no one could make his characters seem lively or any of the characters for that matter, This was as bad as I have seen of late and that takes into account a few very bad ones as well......... While i admire the guts and courage to create this movie and gather such a good cast (on paper) and realise it is so easy to sit back and throw insults at the work ,I really do feel this is a total loss as far as watchability. Collapse
  5. AleksandarB.
    May 4, 2003
    0
    Just one word - horrible!
  6. WACKOJACKO
    May 21, 2003
    0
    Yes, a silly movie for all 33 smart people who actually saw it. I'm just glad I waited for it to com to the dollar theater because then I did not feel like I needed to stay awake.
  7. C.O.
    Jun 13, 2003
    1
    Absolutely awful. Characters are not likable, and the movie is not enjoyable to watch. It's just plain not entertaining or compelling in any way and isn't that what watching a movie are supposed to be about.
  8. NeesM.
    Jan 30, 2005
    0
    This film SUCKS but will appeal to the average American. It
  9. BillB.
    Dec 12, 2003
    0
    As someone else on this site said about this movie: "Absolutely awful. Characters are not likable, and the movie is not enjoyable to watch. It's just plain not entertaining or compelling in any way and isn't that what watching a movie are supposed to be about." I can't express this any better. It is a very boring movie, unfortunately.
  10. BuddyT.
    May 26, 2003
    0
    Hmmm..........one word. WEIRD!!. Don't bother downloading this movie ooops I mean renting It.
  11. ChuckP.
    May 15, 2004
    0
    Crap, pure crap. possibly the most overrated movie in the history of film. don't waste your time watching this piece of GARBAGE.
  12. SusieK.
    Jan 24, 2007
    0
    I tried to like this film, but I couldn't even finish it. My best friend loved it. I reckon it depends upon your taste. I found it very boring, I couldn't sympathize or care about any of the characters, and, in trying too hard to be artsy, it ends up being irritating and too dang long (I am not sure how much of it I saw, but my guess is about 2/3 to 3/4 before I got really fed I tried to like this film, but I couldn't even finish it. My best friend loved it. I reckon it depends upon your taste. I found it very boring, I couldn't sympathize or care about any of the characters, and, in trying too hard to be artsy, it ends up being irritating and too dang long (I am not sure how much of it I saw, but my guess is about 2/3 to 3/4 before I got really fed up and quit watching). Expand
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 40
  2. Negative: 2 out of 40
  1. 90
    A highly enjoyable failure, a quandary that can't resolve itself.
  2. 100
    In a larger sense, Adaptation is a movie about the simple act of enjoying life -- of really embracing it -- without constantly worrying about what others think.
  3. This is like a Ferris wheel--the ride's enjoyable but you've gone nowhere once it's over.