Admission

Admission Image
Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 50 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 39
  2. Negative: 4 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Mar 22, 2013
    75
    Admission is not especially funny. The trailer can’t seem to make up its mind. On the one hand, it looks like a satire of academia. On the other hand, it could be a gentle rom-com. In truth, it’s neither.
  2. Reviewed by: Ella Taylor
    Mar 21, 2013
    65
    Where "About a Boy" was both funny and wise about urban alienation, Admission settles for skin deep.
  3. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Mar 21, 2013
    63
    Admission works in stops and starts.
  4. Reviewed by: William Goss
    Mar 6, 2013
    50
    Actions do have their consequences, though, and Weitz doesn’t try to end things too tidily for their own good. Were only that he had succeeded in committing to one of those films over the other, then Admission might have been this year’s “Liberal Arts” rather than this year’s “Smart People.”
  5. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Mar 21, 2013
    50
    I'd see Tina Fey and Paul Rudd in anything, but this is pushing it. Admission is so slight that a breeze could flatten it.
  6. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Mar 22, 2013
    42
    Granted, this is not automatic laugh-riot material, nor should it be, but didn’t Fey recognize how hackneyed it all is? Does being a movie star mean blanding out everything that makes you special?
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Mar 21, 2013
    20
    The bad news about Admission is that this thin envelope of a comedy checks all the boxes for being a phoned-in, phony, padded rom-com.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    What can be said about a perfectly charming movie that the critics got so terribly wrong? It's a story with great heart and humor, one thatWhat can be said about a perfectly charming movie that the critics got so terribly wrong? It's a story with great heart and humor, one that hits all the right notes, including strong performances from Fey and Rudd and Tomlin as well as the rest of the supporting cast members. Finally a movie without explicit sex, bathroom humor, endless profanity, and graphic violence—a really good romantic comedy that deal with matters of the heart. Expand
  2. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    My wife and I LOVED this movie. Charming, charming, charming. I don't usually disagree vehemently with the roster of professional critics, butMy wife and I LOVED this movie. Charming, charming, charming. I don't usually disagree vehemently with the roster of professional critics, but with this movie, I am baffled by the low scores. Paul Rudd and Tina Fey are wonderful, the script is delightful, and puts the viewer a little off balance, keeping the surprise element always in play. We don't like predictable scripts, and this was far from it; two original characters, who travel a wonderfully circuitous path toward the "happy ending." This movie was one of our favorites of the year. We're so tired of the mega-violent and teen-angst flicks that Hollywood is perpetually foisting on the public. It was so refreshing to go to the movies and laugh, smile, empathize, and simply dream along with the lead characters. This review wouldn't be complete without a tip of the hat to Lily Tomlin, who puts in a stellar performance, playing Tina Fey's stridently feminist author mother. Wonderful! Please go see this movie, and take your friends and family. You will be thankful that you did. Expand
  3. Jun 21, 2013
    8
    While it could be totally phony the ending is not exactly what I expected so I would say not as bad as some are saying. I think this film is aWhile it could be totally phony the ending is not exactly what I expected so I would say not as bad as some are saying. I think this film is a very decent one to see with your girl when you ran out of credit for action movies. Expand
  4. Mar 27, 2013
    6
    The movie's title has several meanings and that's part of the problem. Too much earnest message and not enuff laffs. Tina Fey plays anThe movie's title has several meanings and that's part of the problem. Too much earnest message and not enuff laffs. Tina Fey plays an admissions officer at Princeton, who is solicited by a teacher (Paul Rudd) to consider a special student. Fey is the comic core of this film. When she's being awkward, she's funny. The emotional stuff…not so much. I'm a big fan of Rudd, but this isn't one of his most charming performances. Overall, there are laughs, but the leanings toward heartfelt dilute the comedy. Expand
  5. Nov 13, 2014
    5
    "Admission" 10 Scale Rating: 5.0 (Mediocre) ...

    The Good: Tina Fey and Paul Rudd definitely have chemistry, which is rare in today's
    "Admission" 10 Scale Rating: 5.0 (Mediocre) ...

    The Good: Tina Fey and Paul Rudd definitely have chemistry, which is rare in today's romantic comedies. The two are typically likeable on their own, but paired up they helped make a mostly average movie more bearable.

    The Bad: Mostly forgettable and I probably won't remember that I saw this a month from now. Formulaic and clunky, "Admission" isn't really anything special. Despite the chemistry between the leads and a couple of cute moments, the film falls apart and becomes boring at times.
    Expand
  6. Jun 2, 2014
    5
    It's a romantic comedy, but it's not that funny or romantic. I never felt the chemistry between the two leads. The whole point of the movieIt's a romantic comedy, but it's not that funny or romantic. I never felt the chemistry between the two leads. The whole point of the movie fell apart towards the weird ending. I liked Lily Tomlin, otherwise I would have rated it even lower. Expand
  7. Mar 26, 2013
    4
    Fay and Rudd were two good elements in Admission but it seems like director Paul Weitz has lost his taste in making films. The actors wereFay and Rudd were two good elements in Admission but it seems like director Paul Weitz has lost his taste in making films. The actors were solid and great in types of chemistry but the story didn't excite or convince me of watching it again. The movie's main elements were great but as the plot thickens the movie startes to bore rather than laugh, the jokes weren't funny and the acting was so so. Expand

See all 21 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  2. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Star Trek Beyond, Lights Out, Don't Think Twice, Ice Age: Collision Course, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  3. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  4. 25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked

    25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked Image
    Published: July 15, 2016
    We rank over two dozen very good movies featuring very bad protagonists.