Miramax Films | Release Date: April 3, 2009
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 321 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
235
Mixed:
55
Negative:
31
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
JoeSApr 5, 2009
Adventureland doesn't deserve the praise it is getting - uneven tone; mostly cliched characters and dialogue; overdone gags. For being a film about an amusement park, there is nothing really amusing about it. It flatlines from theAdventureland doesn't deserve the praise it is getting - uneven tone; mostly cliched characters and dialogue; overdone gags. For being a film about an amusement park, there is nothing really amusing about it. It flatlines from the start and there are no dips or curves along the way. I give it a 4 for the few moments that actually had some charm and promise -- mostly when no one was speaking and the soundtrack was doing all the work. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
EdBApr 15, 2009
The film had many serious flaws. The director could have tightened up the film and made it 20 minutes shorter so it moved more quickly. And the cinematography was poor in choice of shots and some lighting. The main characters were all a The film had many serious flaws. The director could have tightened up the film and made it 20 minutes shorter so it moved more quickly. And the cinematography was poor in choice of shots and some lighting. The main characters were all a little too self absorbed, but that's typical of late teen behavior. It could have been much better with direction from an adult point of view rather than a teen point of view. The perspective would have given it some much needed air. Collapse
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
Cotts1988May 19, 2011
Not exactly hilarious, but it does have some funny moments. I would not class this as a comedy personally anyway, despite its comedic overtones. Adventureland is a good film, but not great.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
SummersausageJan 7, 2013
Eh, it was a cute indie movie that had funny side characters. It was almost about a lot more then teenaged love and then i became soap opera quality toward the end. This is nobody's best movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
Tss5078Feb 22, 2013
From the Director who brought us Paul and Superbad, comes Adventureland, which unfortunately is just another predictable, run of the mill comedy. Jesse Eisenberg stars as a kid whose forced to get a summer job at a local amusement park with aFrom the Director who brought us Paul and Superbad, comes Adventureland, which unfortunately is just another predictable, run of the mill comedy. Jesse Eisenberg stars as a kid whose forced to get a summer job at a local amusement park with a wacky cast of characters. Of course the only other normal one working there, just happens to be the girl that he falls for. Bill Hader plays the boss and he should be writing and starring in films like this instead of playing secondary characters. Hader is one of the funniest and most underrated comedians in Hollywood and I can honestly say that he is the only reason to watch this movie, because the rest of the cast is just dull and uninspired. Eisenberg gives another flat and emotionless performance, while co-star Kristen Stewart plays along as if she were still one of the undead. I generally like most of the cast and I thought the story was decent, but overall Adventureland is just another predictable lame duck comedy. It will give you a few laughs, but don't expect too much more. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
JimF.Apr 4, 2009
Given my affection for "Superbad" and the stream of laudatory pre-release notices, "adventureland" has to be considered a disappointment. It's entertaining and always watchable; the actors, particularly Jesse Eisenberg, are appealing;Given my affection for "Superbad" and the stream of laudatory pre-release notices, "adventureland" has to be considered a disappointment. It's entertaining and always watchable; the actors, particularly Jesse Eisenberg, are appealing; and the recreation of mid-80's middle America is convincing, nuanced,and sharply observed. But I didn't find any of these characters interesting or revealing as people, and as a coming-of-age love story, it not only lacks transcendence-it doesn't even seem to believe in it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
TDKinDallasMay 12, 2009
Disappointed. Pretty much the whole movie is nothing new, enjoyable enough, what I was expecting and then they throw in a happy ending??? Not just a happy ending, but a completely unbelievable hollywood style happy ending.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
AlexGAug 26, 2009
Holy overrated much? This film was a supreme disappointment. It felt like it wanted to be something it wasn't, and that something has already been done to death. Think Dazed and Confused for the 80s, but entirely unfunny and without any Holy overrated much? This film was a supreme disappointment. It felt like it wanted to be something it wasn't, and that something has already been done to death. Think Dazed and Confused for the 80s, but entirely unfunny and without any interesting characters...or perhaps an early Kevin Smith film...if those films weren't great. I agree with Tyler H as well. Can we please find a passive aggressive, cute pushover dude furnace and kindly insert Jesse Eisenberg, Micheal Cera, Jason Biggs (wait did we already throw him?) and maybe even Jason Bateman? There's nothing remotely engaging about this character type! Romantic leads can still show personality and cleverness or even be an asshole at times! Give me Ferris Beuller or give me death! I miss you John Hughes! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
RyanM.Aug 26, 2009
I was excited to see this film and liked the quirky, odd, funny Superbad. But this movie is dull and isn't too creative. Basic normal teen angst stuff from the 80's. Typical and mundane. Not many funny scenes and Eisenberg is I was excited to see this film and liked the quirky, odd, funny Superbad. But this movie is dull and isn't too creative. Basic normal teen angst stuff from the 80's. Typical and mundane. Not many funny scenes and Eisenberg is annoying trying to be Cera, though he is not. Stewart's performance wasn't bad at least and had some true moments. Overall poor development of characters, to the point where nothing is heartfelt and you end up not caring for any of them. Huge disappointment. And an obvious way for the director to relive his favorite tunes from the era. Next time make yourself a mix tape and spare us this unentertaining borefest. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JackDSep 1, 2009
I expected something funny (hence the low rating). This felt like a typical summer for most normal middle class kids. It was TOO realistic. I felt like I was watching someone's home video/diary of their summer after undergrad. It had I expected something funny (hence the low rating). This felt like a typical summer for most normal middle class kids. It was TOO realistic. I felt like I was watching someone's home video/diary of their summer after undergrad. It had some funny scenes and awkward moments, but in the end, I didn't really care what happened. I'm not sure who the audience was, but I guess I wasn't it. I gave it a 5 because if you grew up in the 80s and your parent's didn't have a camcorder, this is the perfect movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
Maxwell1Dec 4, 2011
I expected this to be a much better movie, but it seems very gloomy and only had a few very funny moments. The characters also seemed very drained, and they made the movie very difficult to sit through till the end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
metzlerJan 2, 2012
This movie was so boring I watched it over the course of three nights and fell asleep on two of the three. When a director wants to inflict boredom to the point of pain on his audience, he calls Jesse Eisenberg. I'm quite sure I actually fellThis movie was so boring I watched it over the course of three nights and fell asleep on two of the three. When a director wants to inflict boredom to the point of pain on his audience, he calls Jesse Eisenberg. I'm quite sure I actually fell asleep twice due to the fact that my brain needed MORE stimulation. Eisenberg isn't good looking, isn't a good actor, isn't interesting so once again it evidently seems to come down to the perks of being jewish in Hollywood. If you choose to watch this movie my best advice is to brew a couple of liters of coffee for each person watching the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Bruce722Oct 27, 2013
Adventureland was a lot better film than I anticipated. The summary sounds incredibly boring, which it is. There is really no excitement or anything overly engaging about the film. However, Jesse Eisenberg, Kristen Stewart, and the rest ofAdventureland was a lot better film than I anticipated. The summary sounds incredibly boring, which it is. There is really no excitement or anything overly engaging about the film. However, Jesse Eisenberg, Kristen Stewart, and the rest of the cast make for an interesting story. Their characters are really well developed and how all of them mesh together during a summer of non-fun in the 1980's is intriguing. Eisenberg and Stewart play the same exact roles they do in every single film I've ever seen them in. Eisenberg is a neurotic but witty guy with self-esteem issues and Stewart is a beautiful but troubled young woman with emotional issues. They definitely don't go outside the box for their roles but they have mastered their niche archetypes. All-in-all, this isn't the most entertaining movie around but it has a certain charm to it. The characters feel real, the music takes you back in time to a more pure era, and the story is relatable to just about everyone. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews