Miramax Films | Release Date: April 3, 2009
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 314 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
230
Mixed:
54
Negative:
30
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
9
MRedzuanAug 27, 2011
It's such a simple, quiet movie and that is what makes it so special. Jesse Eisenberg is James a twenties guy in need of money after his parents can't fully support him financially anymore, finds a lowly job in a shabby amusement parkIt's such a simple, quiet movie and that is what makes it so special. Jesse Eisenberg is James a twenties guy in need of money after his parents can't fully support him financially anymore, finds a lowly job in a shabby amusement park Adventureland filled with rigged games and fair-to-speculate-on-the-safety secondhand rides and hand-made prizes "nobody ever wins the big ass panda". James meets Emily and the pair hit it off and so begins the weird and wonderful story of a summer-fling. But no, there is more in Adventureland and you'll have to find out about that for yourself. Jesse Eisenberg is always the go-to-guy if you're looking for a virgin-esque quality in your leading man, he's always great, no surprises here. The real surprise for me is Kristen Stewart, there will always be the Twilight role overshadowing her career. But if you look away from Bella, she is a really good actor. Emily is very shy, funny, sweet and she'll fight for what's right. She's very smart yet very conflicted and James and Em's budding romance is really a pleasure to watch. After Twilight is over, I really hope she goes off the mainstream path and produce great small movies like this, and I'll be all over it. Bill Hader is hilarious as always with what little screen time he's given "nobody ever wins the big ass panda". I loved everything about Adventureland, from the cheesy 80's soundtrack, to the simple but very nostalgic amusement park setting, funny side characters also there is more to them than meets the eye. I want to live in the 80's, I want a summer job in that period of time, I wanna smoke joints man! Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
KathySApr 12, 2009
"Adventureland" is much better than you might think it would be, based on the TV commercials and previews (yeah, I still call them previews instead of trailers). Jesse Eisenberg is wonderful, Kristen Stewart is stunning, and both deliver "Adventureland" is much better than you might think it would be, based on the TV commercials and previews (yeah, I still call them previews instead of trailers). Jesse Eisenberg is wonderful, Kristen Stewart is stunning, and both deliver heartfelt performances. Every single performance is letter perfect, from the stars right on down to the bit players. Kristen Wiig and Bill Hader are so funny. I'd like to compliment every member of the cast. This movie is many things all at once. It's funny, occasionally a little raunchy, witty, insightful, and overall just a delight. Recommended!!! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
RyanDSep 1, 2009
For what it was, it was excellent. Not a true comedy, not a true drama... it certainly succeeds as the tongue-in-cheek dramedy that it aims to be. Looking at the cast list, who would seriously expect this movie to be absolutely brilliant? For what it was, it was excellent. Not a true comedy, not a true drama... it certainly succeeds as the tongue-in-cheek dramedy that it aims to be. Looking at the cast list, who would seriously expect this movie to be absolutely brilliant? Even Ryan Reynolds, the so-called 'acting heavyweight' of this merry little band, isn't exactly on the cusp of winning any Oscars. It didn't put me on the floor or rip my heart out, but I smiled for 2 hours and immediately decided that I would watch it again in the future. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
KeepitRealSep 17, 2009
Very few teen flicks manages to keep it as real as this one. Adventureland is a breath of fresh air with an excellent cast. Finally a teen flick about normal kids, far from the boring done-to-death Hollywood clichés of nerds, members Very few teen flicks manages to keep it as real as this one. Adventureland is a breath of fresh air with an excellent cast. Finally a teen flick about normal kids, far from the boring done-to-death Hollywood clichés of nerds, members of the football team and cheerleaders. OK, there are some nerds, but hey, nerds are the norm! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MikefromMaineSep 25, 2009
It captures what I felt at 21 or 22 - a little lost coming out of college, a lot lost on relationships, and trying to have a good time in the midst of all that. It's not out to make you laugh the whole way through, but it is sweet, It captures what I felt at 21 or 22 - a little lost coming out of college, a lot lost on relationships, and trying to have a good time in the midst of all that. It's not out to make you laugh the whole way through, but it is sweet, funny, and true to life. As for the ending, despite being predictable, it suits the tone of the rest of the film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
lovemusicJul 4, 2011
i liked this movie. it was okay. jesse eisenberg gives a nerdy impression again but his acting is still good. Ryan Reynolds gives a good performance. and Kristen Stewart will get better in time.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Justinavery7074Oct 7, 2011
To consider this another teen/coming-of-age comedy would be classified as a bullshti statement. A certain, almost unique feel of nostalgia arises once you watch this. The acting - more than credible, brilliant. The writing and directing -To consider this another teen/coming-of-age comedy would be classified as a bullshti statement. A certain, almost unique feel of nostalgia arises once you watch this. The acting - more than credible, brilliant. The writing and directing - more or less familiar. But in the sense and atmosphere where it's beyond accepted. The soundtrack - just great. Not another film in recent history has moved, entertained and created an amiable feeling than Adventureland. **** awesome doesn't begin or even begin to think of it. A close, if not actual masterpiece. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
JoshGApr 6, 2009
Brilliant. A genuinely funny and touching movie that makes me believe in love, despite a recent history of heartbreak. Motolla has created a complete world that left me longing for its poignant imperfection long after leaving the theater.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
willowOJul 22, 2009
Don't be thrown off by the title.Adventureland is clearly one of the better films to see in 2009. Motolla did an excellent job of capturing the essence of Jesse Eisenberg and Kristen Stewart awkward ,ntense , and self-complicated Don't be thrown off by the title.Adventureland is clearly one of the better films to see in 2009. Motolla did an excellent job of capturing the essence of Jesse Eisenberg and Kristen Stewart awkward ,ntense , and self-complicated romance, but what separates this film, is its charm and character. Adventureland prides itself on being and indie film and runs with it.Clearly rough, and not as polished as Hollywood's romantic comedy's. I appreciated the crudeness that makes it so authentic. Composed 80% drama and 20% humor, it never felt heavy .I do proclaim this a "dramedy" for the nostalgic. Casting was in fact nothing short of brilliant with a dead on cast chiming in on moments of innocent and sophomoric humor . While Kennywood and the Iconic 6th street bridges served as Pittsburgh's unmistakable backdrop . Adventureland's great sound scape of the of 80's music allows slick mix tapes and records to provide the extension to connect with the audience with every transition.I haven't been moved by a soundtrack this good since "Rushmore", and I haven't been this connected or excited about a movie. In fact I may watch this one again. I was 7 years old in 1987. I'm 29 now and I "got " this movie. This is One not to be missed. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
Bullet97Jan 30, 2011
One of the most underrated movies I've ever seen. I absolutely love it. Instead of being another Superbad, it's a funny, well-acted, well written, and well directed coming of age comedy.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
JordanTimmermannApr 9, 2009
I went to the theatre expecting to see a hilarious yet ultimately forgettable comedy (a la Superbad or, more recently -- and to a slightly lesser degree -- I Love You, Man), and was delighted to have instead experienced oneI went to the theatre expecting to see a hilarious yet ultimately forgettable comedy (a la Superbad or, more recently -- and to a slightly lesser degree -- I Love You, Man), and was delighted to have instead experienced one of the most thoroughly enjoyable and relatable films in years. The plot lives in a territory that is not altogether new (a claim I think few films can make), and the characters are built upon standard coming-of-age archetypes, but the combination of acting (especially by Kristen Stewart and Jesse Eisenberg), writing, and ambiance makes you think and feel for the characters. (Longer, more detailed review here.) Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AnonymousAnonymousApr 11, 2009
I went to this movie with a few of my buddies promising them a crude "Judd Apatow" esque movie but we were in for a surprise. The movie in a whole was lighthearted and witty but the acting was monotonous at times. If your are looking for aI went to this movie with a few of my buddies promising them a crude "Judd Apatow" esque movie but we were in for a surprise. The movie in a whole was lighthearted and witty but the acting was monotonous at times. If your are looking for a cute/amusing date movie- got right ahead. But if you want a film with erection jokes- try I love you Man. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnRApr 3, 2009
An easily watchable movie that represents issues even teens find to hard to deal with. Sex drugs violence and of course innapropriate comedy. its jokes are funny but not ott its characters are clever but not fictitious and its plot is in no An easily watchable movie that represents issues even teens find to hard to deal with. Sex drugs violence and of course innapropriate comedy. its jokes are funny but not ott its characters are clever but not fictitious and its plot is in no way predictable or bland brilliant watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ScottRApr 3, 2009
Nice perspective. Plot has a more realistic feel than most other movies. Very funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
HenryFApr 6, 2009
Very good plot, written very well. Needed better directing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadSApr 6, 2009
"The wall around the graveyard says that 'Satin lives in hell'/Though they may love the devil, his disciples sure can't spell," sang Chuck Cleaver, frontman for the Cincinnati-based indie rock band The Ass Ponys on a track "The wall around the graveyard says that 'Satin lives in hell'/Though they may love the devil, his disciples sure can't spell," sang Chuck Cleaver, frontman for the Cincinnati-based indie rock band The Ass Ponys on a track called "Shoe Money", back in 1996. The song is referenced in "Adventureland" when James Brennan(Jesse Eisenberg) points out the same spelling mistake left behind by some, presumably metal fans, on a wall. What makes this pro-Satan message Ass Pony-specific is the giant ass pandas that the amusement park patrons can win, theoretically, on a rigged game. It's an anachronism hidden from plain view but made manifest through semiotics, a discipline in English that the comparative literature knows a thing or two about. By aggregating the giant ass pandas and the graffiti, a denotation of synchronicity that encompasses both nostalgia and the immediacy of present time can be shown at work in this Pennsylvania amusement park circa 1987. In effect, "Adventureland" rewrites "Shoe Money" by transforming "graveyard" into a metaphor for the eighties, an era that's been dead for almost twenty years now. Falco has been dead for ten. Unbeknownst to James, the song that grates on him at work, will someday symbolize the loss of his youth, which would put the comparative literature major on the cusp of thirty, when the vehicle Falco was driving collided with a bus in the Dominican Republic circa 1998. "Rock Me Amadeus", despite lacking even a semblance of gravitas, has the same emotional impact as any number of songs that happen to coincide with one's youth. My generation, alas, had Falco and Adam Ant, not the Beatles and the Stones(wait, we had the Stones, too). "...Amadeus, Amadeus," admittedly, is no "...yeah, yeah, yeah," but it's the former sentiment of bacchanalia which will make Leonard yearn for Em(Kristen Stewart) in her prime, regardless if they stayed together or not. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JordanTApr 8, 2009
Adventureland is a sweet, funny, nostalgic little movie. It's well acted, perceptive, fun, and witty, Worth seeing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
[Anonymous]Apr 10, 2009
I'm a bit baffled by the people who complain that the movie 'wasn't funny enough' -- I mean, I get that the advertising for the film was all wrong, but didn't it dawn on you at some point that this wasn't going I'm a bit baffled by the people who complain that the movie 'wasn't funny enough' -- I mean, I get that the advertising for the film was all wrong, but didn't it dawn on you at some point that this wasn't going to BE "Superbad" or "Juno", but something entirely different after the first 10 or 15 minutes in? I'm half-tempted to say it's the 'Graduate' of our time ... maybe not because it's as good (only time will tell if it holds up as "classic") but because of it's maturity and themes. I loved how the film teased you with promises of a European sex romp to help the dorky kid lose his virginity, and then WHAM! the kid gets hit the face with his father's demotion ... right as Iran-Contra kicks in. This is heady stuff, right up to the point the kid gets into an accident, essentially because his father is a closet alcoholic. (Yuk yuk yuk ... oh wait, it's not a comedy ... so let's not judge it as one!) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnJApr 12, 2009
An absolutely delightful film - I'm sure there are parts of this movie that we all can relate to and remember. A true example of how the best times of our lives are not realized until they are long gone.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DougDApr 12, 2009
Excellent little movie, not a formula crash bang waste of 2 hours. Loved it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JedYApr 12, 2009
This movie succeeds where so few do - it's truthful, witty, heartfelt and funny. The humor is subtly dark with a healthy dose of sarcasm, irony and witticisms. The movie plays like a cross between superbad and rocket science - watch it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
WillSApr 12, 2009
A truly entertaining and sweet romance/drama/comedy, significant sad and serious undercurrents lend this movie infinitely more substance than many others of its kind. Also, someone was a huge Lou Reed fan, and the soundtrack kicks-ass (I A truly entertaining and sweet romance/drama/comedy, significant sad and serious undercurrents lend this movie infinitely more substance than many others of its kind. Also, someone was a huge Lou Reed fan, and the soundtrack kicks-ass (I knew it was not going to be what I expected going when the credit-music is from the album White Light/White Heat!). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EvanSApr 17, 2009
Adventureland nails 1987 and the movie's driven by fantastic character actors and a honestly conceived script. Just the concept of the main characters running around with "Games Games Games..." printed on their chests is tremendously Adventureland nails 1987 and the movie's driven by fantastic character actors and a honestly conceived script. Just the concept of the main characters running around with "Games Games Games..." printed on their chests is tremendously funny without being prententious. Adventureland is funny, grounded and deserving of a helluva more box office than it's got in the first two weeks. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
vancesApr 17, 2009
I can't believe I've yet to see a comparison to Dazed and Confused! Ryan Reynolds character is clearly the same kind of guy Matthew McConaghey's character; I'm now waiting for the equivalent movie set in late 90's I can't believe I've yet to see a comparison to Dazed and Confused! Ryan Reynolds character is clearly the same kind of guy Matthew McConaghey's character; I'm now waiting for the equivalent movie set in late 90's now that we've seen the teen grad downer comedy based in 1976 and the colllege grad downer comedy based in 1987. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DavidLApr 18, 2009
I cannot believe that no one is going to see this exceptional and touching movie. This movie is not a "teen sex comedy," but a very moving coming of age story that can be enjoyed by everyone. The use of indie music from the 80's was I cannot believe that no one is going to see this exceptional and touching movie. This movie is not a "teen sex comedy," but a very moving coming of age story that can be enjoyed by everyone. The use of indie music from the 80's was great - the director had me from the first bars of "Bastards of Young." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlexApr 18, 2009
I really adored this movie. The combination of a very witty, intelligent, and well-written script and excellent casting made this one of the best romantic comedies I've seen a good while. It's not full of gross-out humor (which I I really adored this movie. The combination of a very witty, intelligent, and well-written script and excellent casting made this one of the best romantic comedies I've seen a good while. It's not full of gross-out humor (which I am not averse to, but was ready to take a break from), but is instead funny and touching because of its relatability and earnestness. I highly recommend it (along with its awesome Velvet Underground/Lou Reed soundtrack). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JamesPApr 20, 2009
Not since "Dazed and Confused" have I felt that a film has captured it's youthful subjects in such a complex and nuanced way. Don't go to this movie if you are looking to bust a gut. (although at least one scene nearly busted one Not since "Dazed and Confused" have I felt that a film has captured it's youthful subjects in such a complex and nuanced way. Don't go to this movie if you are looking to bust a gut. (although at least one scene nearly busted one for me.) Great performances all around. Beautiful Kristen Stewart shows that she can cover some emotional range not evident in her big vampire movie. Bill Hader wields a mean baseball bat in one of the funniest scenes I've seen in a while. Ryan Reynolds took a smaller role and played it to great effect. I loved that this movie didn't trade on any of the easy teen movie conventions (ala Cameron Crowe) or devolve into a stoner Aptow grossout yuk fest. Pitch perfect entertainment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KristenH.Apr 25, 2009
Very realistic. I was expecting slpasick, vular jokes, but what I got is a tale from the heart. The plot comes from everyday life, which effects us all.This was no kiddy movie, and I know why it is rated R. Even with that, congrats to all Very realistic. I was expecting slpasick, vular jokes, but what I got is a tale from the heart. The plot comes from everyday life, which effects us all.This was no kiddy movie, and I know why it is rated R. Even with that, congrats to all the cast, although I hated to see Stewart with her position in the movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HowardCApr 26, 2009
Best movie about growing up I've seen in several years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SaraBMay 3, 2009
Set in 1987, this story about a young man's return, after graduation, from that bastion of liberalism, Oberlin College, to his hometown of Pittsburgh is a surprisingly wonderful movie. I was expecting a movie more along the lines of Set in 1987, this story about a young man's return, after graduation, from that bastion of liberalism, Oberlin College, to his hometown of Pittsburgh is a surprisingly wonderful movie. I was expecting a movie more along the lines of "Superbad", and while it had touches of crass male adolescence -- it was much more integrated into the storyline. It reminded me of "The Graduate" for the next generation. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
mikekMay 26, 2009
Great film funny and more to it than i was expecting even though the trailer gave away most of the funny parts.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
nickHMay 31, 2009
Adventureland was a great film with some funny bits. HOWEVER, it is more of a drama than anything. the acting was spot on, though, and its odd how many times they smoke weed in this film (the kid has a lot, apparently, and shares it). again, Adventureland was a great film with some funny bits. HOWEVER, it is more of a drama than anything. the acting was spot on, though, and its odd how many times they smoke weed in this film (the kid has a lot, apparently, and shares it). again, its a great film, but it was advertised wrong, making for a "what the hell?" experience when i went with my friend, looking for a rude comedy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JackOzJun 2, 2009
This is one of those great little sleeper films that is charming, smart, and laugh out loud funny without trying to be a comedy. Got the same kind of vibe as Freaks and Geeks and Undeclared had (with writer/director from Undeclared). This is one of those great little sleeper films that is charming, smart, and laugh out loud funny without trying to be a comedy. Got the same kind of vibe as Freaks and Geeks and Undeclared had (with writer/director from Undeclared). Beautifully cast, great eighties soundtrack (not in a Wedding Singer kind of way), a feelgood film in the best way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JimRJun 29, 2009
Best film I've seen this year, and possibly in the last few years. Captures the relationship between the two leads beautifully. Charming, funny, quirky and authentic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JacquesPJul 10, 2009
Emotionally resonant, sweet without being saccharine. Genuinely funny and very entertaining. What more could you want.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SumitIAug 12, 2009
The movie thrives on its nostalgia in parts where it is supposed to, and never wanders away from its core.The Director has really captured the essence of the fact that how over qualified employees have to work for less paid job in this The movie thrives on its nostalgia in parts where it is supposed to, and never wanders away from its core.The Director has really captured the essence of the fact that how over qualified employees have to work for less paid job in this movie. and K Stew rocks all the way in this movie and if in case u are K Stew fan then this movie is a real treat for you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JayHAug 19, 2009
Wonderfully directed. The characters develop so well and it is sensitively written with a believable story. It balances comedy and drama beautifully. It does have a few slow patches but overall it's a fine film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GeorgeMAug 28, 2009
This movie was hilarious and i have to wonder why didn't this movie do good in the Box office?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoeTAug 28, 2009
Regardless of when you "came of age," this note-perfect film will leave you misty-eyed for when the spirit-draining weight of adulthood took hold. Plus, hurrah for the JAMC b-side and rest of the soundtrack.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MichaelBAug 29, 2009
Pretty good. Captured the essence of the 80s quite well. Believable acting and it's nice to see that Kristen Stewart can act!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickOSep 7, 2009
A surprisingly touching, but still very funny comedy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
CSSep 11, 2009
Pretty good movie that held me engaged for all but the last 10 minutes. The writer pussed out, pretty much ruining the entire high from the previous hour and a half, by not making a stand at the end. If the ending had approximated something Pretty good movie that held me engaged for all but the last 10 minutes. The writer pussed out, pretty much ruining the entire high from the previous hour and a half, by not making a stand at the end. If the ending had approximated something along the lines of Em not accepting Eisenberg's characters' showing up in NYC at the end, and forcing blunt reality, this film would've scored a 9 with me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JTOct 3, 2009
Although the humour is subtle, the script, as well as the actors, are solid. I loved the ending (which I think is what most people hated about this film) because it ends just where it should.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DamionKOct 19, 2009
8 / 10 (unadjusted score 7/10). I always have to adjust my score on this website to counter the people who post a 0/10. A zero represents the ABSOLUTE worst movie you could possibly see. People who contribute a zero are doing just that, 8 / 10 (unadjusted score 7/10). I always have to adjust my score on this website to counter the people who post a 0/10. A zero represents the ABSOLUTE worst movie you could possibly see. People who contribute a zero are doing just that, providing a misdeed for score calculation. Anyways, I was under the impression that this movie was more or less a comedy, but it was more of an emotional drama. Don't get me wrong, there are a few funny moments, but the emphasis is on a deeper seeded emotional roller coaster (extra points for a bad pun here). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanC.Dec 29, 2009
Pitch-perfect and wonderful to watch. Perfectly evoked both young adulthood and the 1980s with great skill. Also featuring the magnificent Martin Starr (Bill of Freaks and Geeks fame) in a wonderfully understated supporting role.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkS.Feb 21, 2010
Kristen Stewart's complex and memorable "Em" steals the show.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MilesGApr 14, 2010
The opening five minutes of the film didn't fill me with expectation. But once you get into it I was made to laugh and genuinely cared about the characters. For once a film of this kind that addressed a slightly deeper issue than The opening five minutes of the film didn't fill me with expectation. But once you get into it I was made to laugh and genuinely cared about the characters. For once a film of this kind that addressed a slightly deeper issue than getting the girl. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
destroya1artAug 14, 2011
if you think this movie is a laugh out loud COMEDY! it isn't. its a compilation of many genres. Its an 80's movie, mixed with a bit of comedy, but it is heavily romance and drama. if you wanna see this movie because it might be like"if you think this movie is a laugh out loud COMEDY! it isn't. its a compilation of many genres. Its an 80's movie, mixed with a bit of comedy, but it is heavily romance and drama. if you wanna see this movie because it might be like" superbad", well then you better not watch it because there not really relate-able. i enjoyed the movie. its a nice, indie movie with a likeable cast... if you give it a chance you might enjoy it. ((quick description)):its about a guy whose parents were rich and then they turned middle class. so now he has to look for a job to pay for college. he can't find a job anywhere so he settles for a job in a fair called "adventureland". where he meets new co-workers/ friends. they do pot, listen to rock/80's music. and theres some relationship issues. 7/10 could of been a classic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
J-ShapAug 26, 2011
Why is it that so many movies feel they NEED to say something profound or exciting in order to stay fresh or leave an impact? Why can't they just sit down, and learn what a situation can be like.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
franciscomorrogNov 8, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Me seems a film having simplicity humor, romance teenager and some reality than were those years 80. She looked mean "silent" to the movie, but still worth looking at. Very good to see an afternoon. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SinggihsatchFeb 12, 2012
This im watch kristen 2 nd movie,,
Im shock she act like a bad girl in this movie..

But the acting from stewart was good..
And i love story from this movie..

Is like from zero to hero..
Good movie..
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
dev92Aug 25, 2012
When I saw that Kristen Stewart was in this film my heart sank, but her normal moody attitude which I find annoying to the extreme complements this film very well. A drama and a comedy but aimed towards someone slightly younger than the normWhen I saw that Kristen Stewart was in this film my heart sank, but her normal moody attitude which I find annoying to the extreme complements this film very well. A drama and a comedy but aimed towards someone slightly younger than the norm for this genre, Adverntureland gets everything right. It illustrates the hardships suffered by Eisenberg's character but also his optimism and determination. This is in some ways a feel-good film but in others a feel-bad film. Either way, it is still a great film and deserves all the accolades it receives. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
YoursTrulyNov 12, 2012
As a 22 year old heterosexual male I feel like a b*tch for saying this, but I really like movies about teen romance. That is, when they are well crafted and realistic. Adventureland is both of those things. I don't know what it is but thisAs a 22 year old heterosexual male I feel like a b*tch for saying this, but I really like movies about teen romance. That is, when they are well crafted and realistic. Adventureland is both of those things. I don't know what it is but this youthful, hopeful, adventurous, down to earth, everyday life lined with a grimy edge of raunchiness kind of film gives me a warm and fuzzy feeling inside. I would never say something like this to my friends because they would call me a fa*got then beat me to a pulp using pillowcases filled with bars of soap. But what I would say to them is that I find Kristen Stewart to be sexy in a low-down, trash-gutter, dirty little scum bag weasel kind of way. Anyway...eight stars. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
cameronmorewoodNov 15, 2012
Adventureland could've been a miserably bad raunch fest with a screenplay just taking us from one gag to the next. Instead, it's a good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
worleyjamersFeb 24, 2013
I went into this film expecting the usual crap that teen movies seem to provide, but Adventureland is not that at all. I absolutely loved it! It's a great coming of age story about making the most of life and relationships. A total surpriseI went into this film expecting the usual crap that teen movies seem to provide, but Adventureland is not that at all. I absolutely loved it! It's a great coming of age story about making the most of life and relationships. A total surprise film. You cannot miss this! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
StevenFJun 10, 2013
It's perhaps the simpler or more straightforward things that make the most sense, Adventureland doesn't try to be the greatest teen dramedy, it doesn't try to compete with other similar films. The film sets out to deliver an interesting arcIt's perhaps the simpler or more straightforward things that make the most sense, Adventureland doesn't try to be the greatest teen dramedy, it doesn't try to compete with other similar films. The film sets out to deliver an interesting arc of characters, one big happy yet dysfunctional family working at Adventureland theme park.
James (Jesse Eisenberg) is living the high life after graduating, hoping to travel across Europe with his friend, but when his parents hit financial difficulties and cannot help him with his travels, he needs a job to have any chance of attending Columbia University. Along comes Adventureland theme park, where he meets quite the bizarre individuals indeed, amongst them is Em (Kristen Stewart), a quiet and mysterious girl who James is almost immediately smitten with. But he is tempted into all sorts of goings on in the park after his new found popularity within the walls of the place has changed his outlook.
He deals with his own problems with the possibility of not being able to pursue his dreams, but Em has her own problems which can make for interesting small talk as the two get to know each other.
The film plays out at a slow and steady pace, making plenty of room for various stories to unfold, but having characters have their own traits so the film never feels stale.
The comedy rings true through all the mishaps and traits of these characters, whether they're getting high and pretending to be one of the hat mannequins or trying to find excitement out of the horse racing stall, the fact that most of these games are rigged, to prevent, of course, from anyone winning the big panda.
There are plenty of gags and fruitful characters to keep the masses entertained, with brilliant turns from Bill Hader and Ryan Reynolds, but its really the story, told so simplistically but effectively that is the true backbone of the film, a well balanced chemistry between Eisenberg and Stewart also benefit the boy meets girl scenario, while the pressure of being wanted, popular and trying to evade their normal lives at home, sets up the almost solitary place of Adventureland, more than just their job.
Well presented and fluid moving story, another excellent effort to step away from the typical raunchy teen films.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Luke_McLaughlinJul 25, 2013
Adventureland, though slow for many viewers taste, is a brilliantly written comedic drama that is delightfully carried by a stellar cast and witty, sharp dialogue. This cathartic film allows the viewer to set back and enjoy the simple aspectsAdventureland, though slow for many viewers taste, is a brilliantly written comedic drama that is delightfully carried by a stellar cast and witty, sharp dialogue. This cathartic film allows the viewer to set back and enjoy the simple aspects of life that we so often ignore. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
M0vieAddictJul 30, 2013
Watching these characters mature is a delight in of itself. Kristen Stewart sheds her bland 'Bella' (from the twilight franchise) and Jesse Eisenberg is just as likeable as he was in the major zom-com flick: Zombieland. Hader and Reynolds areWatching these characters mature is a delight in of itself. Kristen Stewart sheds her bland 'Bella' (from the twilight franchise) and Jesse Eisenberg is just as likeable as he was in the major zom-com flick: Zombieland. Hader and Reynolds are increasingly funny and I just wish they had more time in the film. The movie is set up for so many surprises and plot lines that the writers could have capitalised on which is slightly disappointing. But the charm of the 80's shines through. Watching two teenagers smoking, getting high, drinking and finding love manages to be captivating. We need more coming of age movies like this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SpangleNov 6, 2013
Good movie. Certainly funny and provides a quirky, interesting storyline along with it. Overall, it's not fantastic, but it is certainly a good way to spend an hour and a half.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
choomtabi31Apr 19, 2016
This is NOT your typical teen comedy, and it takes a little time to get started. Good performances all around, though.

Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-3115-Adventureland
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews