User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 19
  2. Negative: 2 out of 19

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 24, 2011
    6
    Alright, if you want a more badass version of March of the Penguins, it has arrived. Swap cute little penguins with f*cking lions and smooth, calm Morgan Freeman with SAMUEL L. F*CKING JACKSON. In other words, you have no choice but to love it, even if you don't care about the subject.
  2. Apr 22, 2011
    8
    An intriguingly intense, beautifully filmed and remarkably touching film that plays out like a live-action LION KING (minus the singing warthog, of course). Two of my boys (ages 6 and 4) found the non-graphic and relatively bloodless hunt-for-dinner scenes a little intense but they still ended up loving it (and, most importantly, sitting still for a 90-minute documentary). I'll celebrate Earth Day by not burning Styrofoam in my driveway if you celebrate it by taking your family to see Disneynature's AFRICAN CATS. Expand
  3. SMH
    Apr 23, 2011
    10
    This film is truly amazing. Disney should get an award for this. It's a true gift from disney. Anyone who watches this film is lucky to experience the incredible close-up view of these animals in the wild. Because I am an avid animal lover, I did have to cover my eyes once or twice. But I know that confrontations between the animals are just the unfortunate reality of the situation. Thank You Disney. Expand
  4. Jun 1, 2011
    10
    This movie was amazing, it captivated me right from the start. I learned alot from this film. I never really realized how tough it was to live in the wild before this film. Samuel L. Jackson was a perfect narrator for this film. This movie definitely does not deserve a 61 as the critics average out on. I didn't see a negative thing about this film, it wasn't long, and it wasn't incredibly short, it got its point across and it did it well. Lions and cheetahs are beautiful creatures. This was an amazing film, disney nature keeps on delivering, Earth was great, Oceans was excellent and African Cats was captivating. I can't wait for next years Chimpanzee, monkeys are my favorite animals too haha, I give African Cats an overall 10/10. This is definitely worth a blu-ray purchase when it comes out. Expand
  5. Jul 16, 2011
    8
    I really enjoyed this movie. The photography is magnificent, and I learned so much new information about many different species. Plus, the proceeds from the movie's first week go to a good cause. There is a little too much personification and attributing human values to the animals, but I still found it quite entertaining.
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Neil Smith
    Apr 16, 2012
    60
    It's a must see for fans of roar footage.
  2. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Apr 27, 2011
    40
    This Earth Day release has honorable intentions, but it imbues the animals with human emotions and motives, which only muddies our understanding of these ferocious feline species.
  3. Reviewed by: Sandie Angulo Chen
    Apr 23, 2011
    75
    Ultimately, this is a universal story about how these wild mothers, like their human counterparts, sacrifice again and again - all to make sure their children are happy, healthy and well fed.