Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: An epic true story set against the backdrop of one of the wildest places on Earth, "African Cats" captures the real-life love, humor and determination of the majestic kings of the savanna. The story features Mara, an endearing lion cub who strives to grow up with her mother's strength, spirit and wisdom; Sita, a fearless cheetah and single mother of five mischievous newborns; and Fang, a proud leader of the pride who must defend his family from a once banished lion.(Disneynature)
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Kirk Honeycutt
    Apr 19, 2011
    90
    The cinematography and editing are as superb as the film's feline stars are photogenic and heroic.
  2. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Apr 22, 2011
    83
    Not coincidentally, African Cats opens on Earth Day. Meeting these magnificent fellow creatures might be a fine way to celebrate.
  3. Reviewed by: Sandie Angulo Chen
    Apr 23, 2011
    75
    Ultimately, this is a universal story about how these wild mothers, like their human counterparts, sacrifice again and again - all to make sure their children are happy, healthy and well fed.
  4. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Apr 19, 2011
    70
    That visual beauty helps compensate for a script that wastes no opportunity for heartstring tugging, often in the form of adorable tykes playing with each other and cuddling with their elders in close-up.
  5. Reviewed by: Tom Russo
    Apr 21, 2011
    63
    Scholey, Fothergill, and crew do impressive work, but we're also reminded that wild animals don't know from cues, marks, and scripts. That's part of what makes them so compelling.
  6. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Apr 21, 2011
    55
    Mostly, though, African Cats is extremely tactful about the truly harsh stuff that goes down in the world of nature.
  7. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Apr 19, 2011
    40
    Since this is a House of Mouse production, sentimental order must inevitably be grafted onto nature's pitiless chaos. The cornball voiceover ascribes human wants and desires to the animals.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. SMH
    Apr 23, 2011
    10
    This film is truly amazing. Disney should get an award for this. It's a true gift from disney. Anyone who watches this film is lucky to experience the incredible close-up view of these animals in the wild. Because I am an avid animal lover, I did have to cover my eyes once or twice. But I know that confrontations between the animals are just the unfortunate reality of the situation. Thank You Disney. Expand
  2. Jun 1, 2011
    10
    This movie was amazing, it captivated me right from the start. I learned alot from this film. I never really realized how tough it was to live in the wild before this film. Samuel L. Jackson was a perfect narrator for this film. This movie definitely does not deserve a 61 as the critics average out on. I didn't see a negative thing about this film, it wasn't long, and it wasn't incredibly short, it got its point across and it did it well. Lions and cheetahs are beautiful creatures. This was an amazing film, disney nature keeps on delivering, Earth was great, Oceans was excellent and African Cats was captivating. I can't wait for next years Chimpanzee, monkeys are my favorite animals too haha, I give African Cats an overall 10/10. This is definitely worth a blu-ray purchase when it comes out. Expand
  3. Jul 16, 2011
    8
    I really enjoyed this movie. The photography is magnificent, and I learned so much new information about many different species. Plus, the proceeds from the movie's first week go to a good cause. There is a little too much personification and attributing human values to the animals, but I still found it quite entertaining. Expand
  4. Apr 22, 2011
    8
    An intriguingly intense, beautifully filmed and remarkably touching film that plays out like a live-action LION KING (minus the singing warthog, of course). Two of my boys (ages 6 and 4) found the non-graphic and relatively bloodless hunt-for-dinner scenes a little intense but they still ended up loving it (and, most importantly, sitting still for a 90-minute documentary). I'll celebrate Earth Day by not burning Styrofoam in my driveway if you celebrate it by taking your family to see Disneynature's AFRICAN CATS. Collapse
  5. Apr 24, 2011
    6
    Alright, if you want a more badass version of March of the Penguins, it has arrived. Swap cute little penguins with f*cking lions and smooth, calm Morgan Freeman with SAMUEL L. F*CKING JACKSON. In other words, you have no choice but to love it, even if you don't care about the subject. Expand

See all 6 User Reviews

Trailers