Columbia Pictures | Release Date: May 31, 2013
4.0
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 572 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
131
Mixed:
151
Negative:
290
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
bfoore90Jul 8, 2017
Aside from some impressive shots and special effects, theres really nothing redeemable about this movie. The script is lackluster in almost everyway, Screenplay is even worse, Jaden Smith isn't really the best actor and Will Smith, one ofAside from some impressive shots and special effects, theres really nothing redeemable about this movie. The script is lackluster in almost everyway, Screenplay is even worse, Jaden Smith isn't really the best actor and Will Smith, one of Hollywood's best and sought after stars shows almost no emotion almost to the point as to where it seems like he doesn't want to be there. His natural charisma he often has on display in his films is so clearly held back that its almost sad to see him relegated to a supporting role in a vanity project for the sake of helping his sons career. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
Kyle2015May 19, 2017
This is a very cheesy movie, I understand that Will was trying to be with his son, but it doesn't mean that he has to make this huge movie, just to be with him.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
willmJul 4, 2016
It's no surprise at this point that an M. Night Shyamalan film would reek of utter garbage. After Earth stars the most overrated actor in the game; Will Smith, and the worst actor in the game, Jaden Smith. While the premise could have beenIt's no surprise at this point that an M. Night Shyamalan film would reek of utter garbage. After Earth stars the most overrated actor in the game; Will Smith, and the worst actor in the game, Jaden Smith. While the premise could have been explored to a much more deeper plot about family and human development, After Earth decides to take the lazy route and focus on a fight between a father and a son, a plot that is so deep in the ground, it is basically a genre of its own at this point. Every good that Shyamalan ever did for the film industry was wiped away with this flick. However, if you are at a party, a very loud and crowded party, After Earth would be an alright movie to slightly glance over to while you are between conversations. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
TheLonelyCriticJun 28, 2016
Oh no, who let Shyamalan out of his cage again? Why can't he get the message that his movies suck? Everyone's thinking it. And hey, how bout Will and Jaden? It's not like they're bad actors in general. I mean, The Pursuit of Happyness wasOh no, who let Shyamalan out of his cage again? Why can't he get the message that his movies suck? Everyone's thinking it. And hey, how bout Will and Jaden? It's not like they're bad actors in general. I mean, The Pursuit of Happyness was actually a really good movie and they were great in that. Here, they're just so bland and boring. For Arceus' sake, Siri emotes more than these two do! A straight up 0 here to help smack this movie's rating back down where it belongs. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
gameguardian21Mar 24, 2016
After earth should have stayed after school for this one so that it can be taught a huge lesson, it you want to make a movie, make it right so it does not suck.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
nahtan1244Feb 14, 2016
A very bad movie. It had some good ideas but jaden smith can't act for his life. There whole family squabble seemed very cringe worthy and I half expected them to both burst out laughing case how bad the whole scene came out. Will smith wasA very bad movie. It had some good ideas but jaden smith can't act for his life. There whole family squabble seemed very cringe worthy and I half expected them to both burst out laughing case how bad the whole scene came out. Will smith was ok but jaden oh boy. The visuals were great. That is pretty much it for the positives though. Don't see this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
EpicLadySpongeJan 25, 2016
Summer 2013 was seriously one of the best summers I ever spent my life on. Never knew this existed until now so I came to say... wow.... 2013 really blew themselves up with this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
BradySmithJan 4, 2016
This isn't a movie that's so bad it's funny, nor is it painful to sit through. What it is, is just a dull, boring dud. It has one or two neat elements but it completely under utilizes a somewhat brilliant premise. Earth evolving into a placeThis isn't a movie that's so bad it's funny, nor is it painful to sit through. What it is, is just a dull, boring dud. It has one or two neat elements but it completely under utilizes a somewhat brilliant premise. Earth evolving into a place designed specifically to kill humans? Should be amazing right? Wrong! The effects aren't very good, but that's not the only problem. The main problem is that a handful of somewhat strange creatures and Jaden Smith running through a bunch of woods is all the movie gets out of the idea. What a waste. It felt more like an average science fiction tv show episode than a fully realized film. Shyamalan put no vision or inspiration into this movie. Hopefully The Visit really is better. It'd be nice to see him get back on track. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
CineAutoctonoDec 25, 2015
M. Night Shyamalan stumbled again with the same stone, this time with " After Earth " in dispsicio , the plot was the only expectation that ended in disappointment and pure deception , this very bad script , and i repeat , "M. Night ShyamalanM. Night Shyamalan stumbled again with the same stone, this time with " After Earth " in dispsicio , the plot was the only expectation that ended in disappointment and pure deception , this very bad script , and i repeat , "M. Night Shyamalan stumbled again with the same stone". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
mf1111Jul 18, 2015
The sad part is that hundreds of talented teenage boys would have killed for that part. But he said to daddy,"Daddy, put me in a movie. Daddy, show everyone how good I can run." Daddy, let everyone hear how good I can screech, fingernail onThe sad part is that hundreds of talented teenage boys would have killed for that part. But he said to daddy,"Daddy, put me in a movie. Daddy, show everyone how good I can run." Daddy, let everyone hear how good I can screech, fingernail on slate style.
The result. An unwatchable piece of garbage.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
BB_CriticApr 29, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. After Earth is directed by M. Night Shyamalan and stars Will Smith and his son, Jaden Smith. This movie is one of the dullest, slowest, boring, mind-numbingly stupid movies I have ever seen in my whole life, and I have seen a lot of crappy movies. The plot involves Kitai Raige (Jaden Smith) and Cypher Raige (Will Smith) who go to the remnants of Earth and are stranded there by their ship crashing, and by some god damn coincidence they are the only people on the ship that survived. Throughout the movie Kitai embarks on a journey through Earth while Cypher watches him, but stays behind due to a leg injury *cheers*. After Earth is one of the worst science-fiction films ever made, period. 1/10 Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
iluvsportsMar 18, 2015
This movie might have like 2 good moments but ended up with nothing but a complete bore. The script was bland with dialogue that makes your ears bleed. This film was slow, like the sixth sense. But in the sixth sense is interesting andThis movie might have like 2 good moments but ended up with nothing but a complete bore. The script was bland with dialogue that makes your ears bleed. This film was slow, like the sixth sense. But in the sixth sense is interesting and intriguing. This was slow and boring. I will not blame this on Jaden or Will Smith. It was Shyamalan's awful directing that was putting me to sleep this movie. I don't know how Shyamalan fails movies this badly with great actors. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
Le__XenomorphDec 15, 2014
I don't understand why this movie has an average score of 4.2 out of 10. This movie deserves much less for its laughable acting, absurd plot, nonexistant effort, and terrible pacing. The only good part of this movie was the CG effects andI don't understand why this movie has an average score of 4.2 out of 10. This movie deserves much less for its laughable acting, absurd plot, nonexistant effort, and terrible pacing. The only good part of this movie was the CG effects and even those were average. After Earth gets a 1/10 (Abysmal). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
callumjsouthDec 13, 2014
At huge expense, this film fails miserably. A promising father-son Smith duo. Amazing visuals. Appalling results. The film's lack of anything remotely interesting had me wincing in pain. I cannot even begin to imagine how Columbia PicturesAt huge expense, this film fails miserably. A promising father-son Smith duo. Amazing visuals. Appalling results. The film's lack of anything remotely interesting had me wincing in pain. I cannot even begin to imagine how Columbia Pictures feel. After Earth's threats are pathetic and the whole film's precinct even more so. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
lloydharrisonNov 17, 2014
After Earth looked half decent but it turned out to be a huge flop and a dull and lazy excuse for a Science Fiction adventure. An underused and uninterested Will Smith gives a half hearted and lazy performance and Jaden Smith simply cannotAfter Earth looked half decent but it turned out to be a huge flop and a dull and lazy excuse for a Science Fiction adventure. An underused and uninterested Will Smith gives a half hearted and lazy performance and Jaden Smith simply cannot act and I struggle to take him seriously. It was a novelty to see Will & Jaden Smith together in 'The Pursuit of Happyness'. But seeing them together again here feels like something of a money spinning gimmick. And you get the impression that Will Smith was just shoe horned in to gain the mass appeal that Jaden Smith couldn't achieve on his own. What confused me most about this film though was when I realised that it was both written and directed by M. Night Shyamalan. Love or hate his early films, his directing capabilities where always up for debate. But surely now he's lost all his credibility as a filmmaker. He just seems the oddest choice to make a film like this. And I use the term 'film' loosely as After Earth actually feels more like a video game of levels going from one set piece to the next. Collapse Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
DCEdmondsNov 13, 2014
"After Earth" 10 Scale Rating: 3.0 (Awful) ...

The Good: The premise is a good one. This could have been a pretty good film based on the idea. The Bad: Not quite as horrible as people claimed, but still pretty damn bad. Super slow and
"After Earth" 10 Scale Rating: 3.0 (Awful) ...

The Good: The premise is a good one. This could have been a pretty good film based on the idea.

The Bad: Not quite as horrible as people claimed, but still pretty damn bad. Super slow and not overly interesting, you find yourself wanting it to hurry up and end. The creatures that populate the film look like cartoons that were rejected from the latest Ice Age film. Worst of all, the acting was horrid, especially Jaden Smith. It is clear to me that the kid simply can't carry a film on his own and lacks his father's charisma and skill.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
dante_finnJun 28, 2014
What happened to M.Night after the The Village? The acting is bad and the plot is lacking potential. Infact Will Smith's facial expression was how I felt throughout this whole movie. I really hate to say this but Will Smith **** up thisWhat happened to M.Night after the The Village? The acting is bad and the plot is lacking potential. Infact Will Smith's facial expression was how I felt throughout this whole movie. I really hate to say this but Will Smith **** up this movie and the screenplay is terrible. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
jacob4Jun 25, 2014
The movie was sort of slow paced and boring, it lacked interesting action, and had some bad acting. It was an O.K. movie it had some action and an O.K. storyline. But what do you expect, any movie by
M. Night Shyamalan will probably be
The movie was sort of slow paced and boring, it lacked interesting action, and had some bad acting. It was an O.K. movie it had some action and an O.K. storyline. But what do you expect, any movie by
M. Night Shyamalan will probably be pretty bad or dumb.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
demolisher7778Jun 3, 2014
After Earth was expected to be bad by me because of M. Night Shamylan's directing ability. The Sixth Sense was great, Unbreakable was really good, Signs was good, The Village was OK, the Happening was terrible, and this movie is even worse.After Earth was expected to be bad by me because of M. Night Shamylan's directing ability. The Sixth Sense was great, Unbreakable was really good, Signs was good, The Village was OK, the Happening was terrible, and this movie is even worse. They took Will Smith and **** on his acting abilities. He was downright awful and he was a huge miscast. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
JacobMay 19, 2014
M. Night Shayamalan has once again produced another thumbs down movie that no one should scene. This film fails to offer anything interesting in terms of characters or story. The most I can say for this movie is that it has some nice effectsM. Night Shayamalan has once again produced another thumbs down movie that no one should scene. This film fails to offer anything interesting in terms of characters or story. The most I can say for this movie is that it has some nice effects and cool technology. This movie is an hour and a half of nothing and somehow takes an intriguing premise and fails to anything remotely interesting with it. Please do yourself a favor and don’t waste your time watching this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
Jerseylicious88Apr 11, 2014
Although this is a very (unintentionally) funny movie, I decided I wouldn't rate it a 8/8 since I feel like Metacritic is a bit more serious than IMDB when it comes it movies. Anyway After Earth is a movie filled with plot-holes, horribleAlthough this is a very (unintentionally) funny movie, I decided I wouldn't rate it a 8/8 since I feel like Metacritic is a bit more serious than IMDB when it comes it movies. Anyway After Earth is a movie filled with plot-holes, horrible acting, technical errors, awkward accents, and Moby Dick. Moby Dick....... Why is Moby Dick even a thing in this movie? I'm sure it COULD HAVE been a subtle reminder of Jaden and Will's family but good lord M. Night you didn't have to shove in our faces as much as you did. Anyway the accents are funny, the acting is goofy, the technical errors are noticable, and Moby Dick is completely unnecessary. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
StahlMar 26, 2014
Smith wanted everyone to know that he basically directed this and Shyamalan was more or less the cameraman - I bet he wished he could take that back...
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
OfficialMar 8, 2014
This boring movie is filled with conflicting messages. The father tells the son to conquer his fear and not to be emotional, and yet we tend to have this father-and-son bond relationship. So ultimately, what are we rooting for? Are weThis boring movie is filled with conflicting messages. The father tells the son to conquer his fear and not to be emotional, and yet we tend to have this father-and-son bond relationship. So ultimately, what are we rooting for? Are we supposed to care about their relationship if they're both unemotional? Goddamn, it's so badly-written. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
WomaninterFeb 17, 2014
I watched 15 minutes of this, which was all I could stand. Nepotism has already been mentioned in these reviews and I can only agree. The lack of emotion from Will and Jaden was difficult to watch. Perhaps Jaden has a future as an actor butI watched 15 minutes of this, which was all I could stand. Nepotism has already been mentioned in these reviews and I can only agree. The lack of emotion from Will and Jaden was difficult to watch. Perhaps Jaden has a future as an actor but he needs to attend a decent acting school. At the time this movie was made his acting skill was dreadful and it exposed his lack of talent. It takes more than an attractive face to be a successful actor.

I think his Dad is blinded by the deep affection he has for both his children.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
SkulbFeb 14, 2014
The only thing raising this turkey above zero is the fact that, as far as I could tell, there weren`t any microphones poking into any shots or any sets collapsing in the background. The movie is so bad I just stopped watching and went to bedThe only thing raising this turkey above zero is the fact that, as far as I could tell, there weren`t any microphones poking into any shots or any sets collapsing in the background. The movie is so bad I just stopped watching and went to bed about 2/3 of the way in, which is rare.
I never really liked Smith. He has goofy and some weird tough guy act which makes him look as if he`s being zapped with a cattle prod, and if you don`t like those he`s out. But his son is worse. Ranging between whining about his father and crying to tantrums, his most regular appearance is of a dull boy who has just been shot in the ass with a tranquilizer gun. Fortunately he is so bad that in a lame attempt to hide this fact he doesn`t have any lines in a lot of scenes, but just stands there nodding or repeating the other actor`s lines, like some slow kid who has been brought up in front of the class to be mocked and ridiculed. It would be funny if it wasn`t so unbearably sanctimonious.
I suppose we could admire Smith JR for trying to lead a movie right in the middle of his awkward phase, sporting his freshly shaved 14 hair mustache look; but personally I`m not sure I`d have hired him to play a cow in a primary school nativity play. He constantly has this weird, annoying grimace on, which I didn`t realize was supposed to convey fear until I read reviews online after suffering through the movie, And this leads us the the "message" in this awful turkey, which is that fear is bad and that you can`t kill space bugs when you`re afraid.
Detailing all the weird plot holes in After Earth is an entire study in itself, and due to my profound lack of interest in the movie I probably missed a few, but here goes anyway: First of all humans in the movie are able to build inter stellar space craft but apparently not guns of any kind, which is presumably why they are being hunted by blind bugs. In the movie`s only promising moment Will Smith gets sucked out of a crashing space ship far above the canopy of the forest, and for a second you are tricked into believing that the director has just killed off his overpaid, overrated Hollywood degenerate 15 minutes into the movie, leaving his untalented son to lead the movie by himself, as a sort of girlish, black Tom Hanks Castaway in space. But then he miraculously reappears on the ground almost immediately; unconscious and with two broken legs, but exactly as robotic and dull as before. Then the most comical parts of the movie occur when the incapable son is sent to retrieve a transmitter from the tail of the vehicle, which crashed where Will Smith`s corpse should probably have landed. According to the lifeless Will Smith night time brings intense cold which ravages the land so that any humans caught outdoors will instantly freeze to death, even though every single stinking scene in the movie is set in lush forest surroundings. So the question is: if the cold will kill Will`s brain damaged son instantly, how come all the trees still have leaves on and baboons can live there because it`s so nice and warm?
Never mind this nonsense though because the solution to this weird problem is "hot zones" at regular intervals between the ship from which the immobilized Will Smith is directing his comatose progeny and the tail to which said son must travel. As long as he reaches a "hot zone" every evening before the harmless cold kills him he`ll be all fine and dandy. How convenient! How a grown man could have written such awful trash is a mystery, as is how he might then have been able to convince another grown man to direct it for him, dragging their names and the names of all associated with them into the mud.
Every aspect of this movie, short of some of the special effects and I guess pretty shots of forest (the one not having been killed by the intense cold I mentioned), is absolutely horrible. I would rather download old episodes of Lost in Space from the mid 60s than watch After Earth again, special effects be damned! By far and away the worst movie of 2013 that I`m aware of. And Smith JR should go back to school at once.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
calhouniteFeb 1, 2014
Let's see. So the message is no there's no such thing as fear. Ok. think will take a dive in this tank of box jellyfish. Hey, that is an enlightening message since it means no more watching this crap...
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
Leo9127Jan 17, 2014
Simply one of the worst movies of all time, After Earth is full of bland, dull, and simply boring acting, even with Will Smith one of the most charismatic actors in Hollywood, who is reduced into a dull, and shallow character, that you don'tSimply one of the worst movies of all time, After Earth is full of bland, dull, and simply boring acting, even with Will Smith one of the most charismatic actors in Hollywood, who is reduced into a dull, and shallow character, that you don't care about, and his son Jaden Smith, who has no talents at all, and his character is dumb, and annoying, and a lot of plot holes, that makes me lose all faith that M Night Shyamalan, the director behind the Sixth Sense, and Unbreakable will ever find his way once again. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
MattG_123Jan 1, 2014
M. Night Shyamalan left his brain back at the film Signs. After Earth is an unpleasant movie with poor writing and acting, stuff that will make your eyes roll. Will Smith's character isn't inspirational, like he tries to be, and he comes offM. Night Shyamalan left his brain back at the film Signs. After Earth is an unpleasant movie with poor writing and acting, stuff that will make your eyes roll. Will Smith's character isn't inspirational, like he tries to be, and he comes off as monotone and mean. It's basically a failed motivational seminar.

F
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
0
ReviewGuyXDec 2, 2013
This is terrible movie making at its finest. Confusing introduction, lack of character development and an incredibly bland storyline. They have the insane technology of colour-changing suits when danger is real around them... you'd think withThis is terrible movie making at its finest. Confusing introduction, lack of character development and an incredibly bland storyline. They have the insane technology of colour-changing suits when danger is real around them... you'd think with such advanced technology, they would have at least a GPS system on them rather than having Kitai go on an unnecessary journey through the surprisingly bright wilderness. Just because humans are out of Earth's equation, does not mean animals and plants would just flourish like that especially since they implied humans literally up" the planet. The concept was unique... but like most cases, it was poorly executed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
Dimitris01Nov 24, 2013
No suspense, forgettable action (at least the chase by the monkeys was funny), bad acting even from Will Smith (Jaden Smith frowns intensely to show he is afraid), a silly main idea (people do not choose their feelings from a menu),No suspense, forgettable action (at least the chase by the monkeys was funny), bad acting even from Will Smith (Jaden Smith frowns intensely to show he is afraid), a silly main idea (people do not choose their feelings from a menu), predictable ending (the kid suddenly transforms into a killing machine). There are very few visual effects and the science fiction elements are weak. The original main idea didn't include any aliens and it's evident: you could replace the monster with a grizzly bear, the spaceship with an airplane and the oxygen ratios with medicine and the plot would remain the same. Moreover the interior of the ship seems to be made of recyclable materials and after the crash there are long white things like toilet paper hanging from everywhere. Besides, why do humans in the future use blades instead of firearms? No wonder they get massacred by blind aliens!
argonautis.eu
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
Lambo442Nov 22, 2013
Just started watching this film and what's going on with the narrator? It sounds like an English guy doing an incredibly bad American accent, which wouldn't be quite as bad if his acting wasn't so terrible. Reminds me of the dumb kid who getsJust started watching this film and what's going on with the narrator? It sounds like an English guy doing an incredibly bad American accent, which wouldn't be quite as bad if his acting wasn't so terrible. Reminds me of the dumb kid who gets forced to read out to the class. Given up already. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
Lias88NZNov 3, 2013
Watched this with a mate of mine and we both thought it was truly terrible. Only surprise I had on checking meta critic was that the average was as high as it is.. Not even worth pirating.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
MikefromAngusOct 13, 2013
This is the worst big budget movie, I have ever seen! There is nothing good about this movie! The acting is awful, there is no story, the effects are even bad!
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
2
SJ-ULTI-ReiewsOct 11, 2013
After Earth is one of those movies that you just know is going to be terrible. Will Smith and his son are terrible actors. The script for the movie sucks, it dosint make any sense. The motives for what they are doing dosint make any sense.After Earth is one of those movies that you just know is going to be terrible. Will Smith and his son are terrible actors. The script for the movie sucks, it dosint make any sense. The motives for what they are doing dosint make any sense. The world, characters, and script of this movie suck, this is one of the worst movies ive ever seen. M. Night Shamalan is a terrible director. I fell asleep in the first 40 minutes of the movie. I say skip this movie you wont find anything redeeming from watching it. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
1
RevRonOct 10, 2013
There really is only one word to describe this movie: Boring. While the film has some great visuals and special effects, it can't cover up how lifeless this sci-fi tale is and it DEFINITELY can't cover up how bad of an actor Jaden Smith isThere really is only one word to describe this movie: Boring. While the film has some great visuals and special effects, it can't cover up how lifeless this sci-fi tale is and it DEFINITELY can't cover up how bad of an actor Jaden Smith is (luckily your dad is nice enough to give and pay for a career). Will Smith, normally a good actor, matches his son in the lifeless department and his failure is only multiplied when you realize this movie was almost ENTIRELY his baby. This is the one time you have an M. Night Shymalan movie where you can actually put the blame on someone OTHER than M. Night Shymalan. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
tassojuniorOct 8, 2013
Much worse than typical rich star's vanity piece. Total waste of time and money. How did Smith forget how to act? And the shame is such a big piece was wasted on this total lack of talent. His son might have some redeeming attributes but actMuch worse than typical rich star's vanity piece. Total waste of time and money. How did Smith forget how to act? And the shame is such a big piece was wasted on this total lack of talent. His son might have some redeeming attributes but act is not one of them. Will- you're a has been and your son's a boring loser. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
Nesbitt10Oct 4, 2013
The combination of Hollywood nepotism and a quickly fading directorial star provides the backbone for the futuristic sci-fi lack-of-adventure yarn "After Earth."In just his second picture since 2008, Will Smith teams with fellow PhiladelphianThe combination of Hollywood nepotism and a quickly fading directorial star provides the backbone for the futuristic sci-fi lack-of-adventure yarn "After Earth."In just his second picture since 2008, Will Smith teams with fellow Philadelphian M. Night Shyamalan, who is working from a story written by Smith, and a script by Gary Whitta "The Book of Eli" (2010). The once-revered auteur has long since fallen from grace, to the extent that his name was notably absent from any of the film's advertising. However, "After Earth" has problems that go far deeper than Shyamalan's bland tone and lethargic pacing. The movie is rarely fascinating, incredibly pedestrian, and curiously unimaginative.

Shyamalan wastes no time commencing his narrative gimmick by announcing the rules of the story. It has been a thousand years since Earth self-destructed, ravaged by natural disasters and a deteriorating environmental infrastructure. The surviving humans evacuated the planet, settling on a new home known as Nova Prime. For 13-year-old Kitai (Jaden Smith), who is training to become a ranger like his often absent father, General Cypher Raige (Will Smith), he worries that he will let his dad down if he doesn't follow in his footsteps.

The elder Raige decides to bring him along on his last mission before he intends to retire. En route, a meteor shower damages the spacecraft, causing it to crash-land on the now-uninhabitable Earth. With the rest of the crew dead and Cypher badly injured, it is up to Kitai to travel 100 kilometers across the harsh and wild landscape to find the tail of the ship and retrieve the beacon that will send help their way. If he doesn't succeed, father and son will perish.

The special effects are adequate, but are noticeably fake compared to other effects-driven films like "Star Trek into Darkness" (2013) or "Oblivion" (2013). The film tries to tackle, on the most superficial level, the rites of passage. But with such a bland story and weak performances, the underlying meaning in the film only leads to indifference.

Jaden Smith, who was decent in "The Karate Kid" (2012), completely falls flat in his performance for this role. The complete lack of emotional range stifles any of the hopelessly unimaginative screenplay's contrived father/son drama. The elder Smith may have a story credit here, but "After Earth" is not only an obvious attempt to keep his son relevant, but it is also a by-the-numbers survival story that never manages to surprise or excite despite an endless array of possibilities.

"After Earth" feature's excessive CGI effects that rarely impresses, an A-list actor sitting on the sidelines, symbolism as obvious as the narrative is predictable, and is relentlessly uneventful. On a positive note for Mr. Smith, it's not nearly as bad as the completely forgettable "Wild Wild West" (1999).
Expand
12 of 17 users found this helpful125
All this user's reviews
2
ThinkscapeOct 2, 2013
As a sci-fi enthusiast I feel deeply disappointed. The story is predictable in 70% from the title alone, but after 5 min prologue, you know 90%. CGI is cheap and blending is terrible, sets look cheap, acting feels amateur and inconsistent...As a sci-fi enthusiast I feel deeply disappointed. The story is predictable in 70% from the title alone, but after 5 min prologue, you know 90%. CGI is cheap and blending is terrible, sets look cheap, acting feels amateur and inconsistent... there is no world building except for this 5 min prologue and plot holes are so big you could fit Will Smith with his whole family inside them :P Why, oh why, was it let out of the editing room is beyond me. Worst movie of the year, one of the worst sci-fi pieces I've seen... Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
Tessara_VejganOct 2, 2013
Wow this was boooooooooring. I was expecting something like in the line of Starship Troopers with Will Smith in the main role and Jaden as sidekick (or something) running around chopping of those alien bugs Rambo style but instead I got hisWow this was boooooooooring. I was expecting something like in the line of Starship Troopers with Will Smith in the main role and Jaden as sidekick (or something) running around chopping of those alien bugs Rambo style but instead I got his son running trough the jungle for an hour or so, I mean come on. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
bbnjSep 27, 2013
Another movie made attempting to relate to gamers. It failed. Not only it does not make any sense from the beginning to the end, it also lacks soul.

Maybe its target public is 8 year old kids.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
aznassassinSep 22, 2013
This is absolute garbage. I was hoping this would at least be better than Resident Evil Retribution but my God, this is just a crime against your wallet. If you enjoyed this movie, liked its page on facebook and spoken about how you 'likedThis is absolute garbage. I was hoping this would at least be better than Resident Evil Retribution but my God, this is just a crime against your wallet. If you enjoyed this movie, liked its page on facebook and spoken about how you 'liked it' because of whatever ignorant, pathetic, childish reason you have then I will have to unfortunately send you off to the firing squad. The acting was mediocre, Jaden Smith is just not fit for a movie like this and the whole story is just plain-ass cliche', uninteresting, highly predictable and well, pretty much I was bored out of my mind watching this load of dung. You can pretty much just fast skip through the movie and jump scenes and you wont be missing out on anything at all. Just watch the intro, skip to the part where the ship crashes, skip to a random scene where Jaden is in some random encounter (there's tons in this movie) and skip to the predictable, lame-ass ending. Trust me, you wont be missing out on anything. This is not worth your purchase, your download bandwidth or your time. I'd rather be doing a uni assignment then watching this piece of Worst movie of the year and one of the worst movies Ive seen in a long while. I want my 90 minutes back. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
MamaTLFSep 21, 2013
This move is a huge waste of money and time. Its dull and boring in 95% of its length. The movie tries you to bond with the characters but you just can't (there are 2 main characters that are basically the only 2 characters in the whole movieThis move is a huge waste of money and time. Its dull and boring in 95% of its length. The movie tries you to bond with the characters but you just can't (there are 2 main characters that are basically the only 2 characters in the whole movie because there is total of 13 roles in this movie!!!). You can't bond with Cypher Raige (Will Smith) because he is emotionless so basically there is nothing to bond with, and you can't bond with Kitai Raige (Jaden Smith) because he is another movie kid that we need to be babysit and you have to listen to his life problems (although his role matures into something likable later in the plot). I have bonded more with an eagle-ish bird in the middle of the movie that any of the 2 main characters. The whole climate change on Earth is unrealistic and illogical, unsuitable for human life, but still suitable for everyone else, even the alien who survived the crash. And yes, I was about to give the movie rating 4, but because of the stupid popular idea that movies have to have 100 planets on the night sky on any alien planet, this movie gets a 3. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
2
csw12Sep 20, 2013
Congratulations Jaden Smith for giving the audience the worst performance by and actor or actress this year so far. A dumb movie with acting that is embarrassing on all levels. Another garbage film from a director that is putting himself asCongratulations Jaden Smith for giving the audience the worst performance by and actor or actress this year so far. A dumb movie with acting that is embarrassing on all levels. Another garbage film from a director that is putting himself as the worst of our generation. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
Stormcrow666Sep 16, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The special effects are cool and that is about it.
I really really really wanted Jaden Smith to get killed the whole time he is getting chased. I really did.
Will Smith(AKA big daddy) was also god awful in this film.
For the love of all things holy dont put that kid in another movie...

8/10 for the effects team but I just can't bring myself to give the movie more than a 1.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
MattyJMAug 25, 2013
When i saw the trailer for this i was all like "holy s**t will smith looking as cool as ever" however after seeing the movie itself i have come to the conclusion that it is a waste of f**king time. the trailer makes it out to be this epicWhen i saw the trailer for this i was all like "holy s**t will smith looking as cool as ever" however after seeing the movie itself i have come to the conclusion that it is a waste of f**king time. the trailer makes it out to be this epic will smith movie full of awesomeness, it delivers no awesomeness whatsoever, will smith is in the movie for about half an hour and the 'action' (if it can be called that) is all done by jaden, not very well i may add. and as for the planet supposably being inhabited by animals evolved solely to kill humans, i didn't see many of these 'animals'. there were some monkeys that were the size of normal monkeys and a massive bird thing thats about it. most of the movie is spent watching jaden wandering round.
IF SANE AND NOT BEREFED OF ALL THOUGHT AND OPINION AVOID AT ALL COSTS.
IF MENTALLY CHALLENGED THEN BY ALL MEANS WATCH AWAY YOU MAY ENJOY ALL THE PRETTY COLOURS....
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
3
dyshpoJul 29, 2013
Weak performances no likable people this is a fun movie but really 1000 years goes by and and then its over and i go to wal-mart Not much hear feels like The Last Airbender Not good but least the place had A/C
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
iloveFFCJul 24, 2013
Ugh where do I begin? This movie was so boring, it looked so promising in the trailer, when I actually sat down to watch it, I really didn't like it, the special effects are okay, but the characters are so bland and boring, Jaden smith stealsUgh where do I begin? This movie was so boring, it looked so promising in the trailer, when I actually sat down to watch it, I really didn't like it, the special effects are okay, but the characters are so bland and boring, Jaden smith steals the show here though as Will is a boring character that is too serious to be something I can believe coming from Will Smith. Overall, this movie had so much unused potential, it's just another bland flick that should see itself to the $5 bin at Walmart, even then that's being a little generous Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
lxliNsAniTylxlJul 15, 2013
Not worth seeing. Sucks. It's everywhere. Acting is horrendous. Don't waste your money. Don't even rent it at a redbox. In other words, it was tons of dog
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
1
NickSausMovRevJul 10, 2013
This movie is junk. Flat out junk. The visuals at some points are pleasing to the eye, but only minimally. If you watch it, I feel sorry for you. I wouldn't recommend this movie to anyone, but at least go out and watch it to see what I amThis movie is junk. Flat out junk. The visuals at some points are pleasing to the eye, but only minimally. If you watch it, I feel sorry for you. I wouldn't recommend this movie to anyone, but at least go out and watch it to see what I am talking about. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
1
ztilletoJul 4, 2013
Then I took and arrow to the knee!!!
Watched this when I went to the US a couple of weeks ago.
The acting in the film between Will Smith and his boy was like watching paint dry, no emotions.. yeah yeah I hear you say, "but he was supposed
Then I took and arrow to the knee!!!
Watched this when I went to the US a couple of weeks ago.
The acting in the film between Will Smith and his boy was like watching paint dry, no emotions.. yeah yeah I hear you say, "but he was supposed to be without emotion", but that doesn't mean that your acting needs to be flat and onesided and the only way to resolve things are to take the knee all the time. Come on. But then again that doesn't even come close to how bad Jaden Smiths acting was.. damn.... To bad Daddy will have so much money he can have his kid in the movies, when he should acknowledge that his boy can't act.
Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
1
TG0211Jun 26, 2013
It was sooo bad... I'm not going to repeat too much what others said, but I didn't enjoy this movie, felt I wanted to sleep at moments, and the mise-en-scene was really bad The story and universe seem to have been thought of in 5 minutes,It was sooo bad... I'm not going to repeat too much what others said, but I didn't enjoy this movie, felt I wanted to sleep at moments, and the mise-en-scene was really bad The story and universe seem to have been thought of in 5 minutes, and not expanded beyond the first idea And the sets were ugly !

Also, the extra-terrestrial enemy concept was lousy and dumb Smelling fear Easy, let's not be scared How could a civilization so advanced not thing of developping, I don't know, other senses for their army of pet monsters ?!

I didn't even know it was a Shyamalan movie It explained a lot of things, but the main guy to blame is Smith, wanting to push forward his son. And he pushed so hard he failed The director seem to have been hired out of pity !

It was awful...
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
Heimskringla91Jun 24, 2013
What motivated me to write a review for this movie was reading someone else stating that it's a father and son love movie. "If you're a father you'll cry at the end of this movie." Well I am a father and just have to say that is completelyWhat motivated me to write a review for this movie was reading someone else stating that it's a father and son love movie. "If you're a father you'll cry at the end of this movie." Well I am a father and just have to say that is completely false. First of all throughout the film it seems as though Will Smith's character really doesn't give a gosh darn hoot about his son's life. He actually states in the film, "you go out there and don't die because I need to live through this. I don't really care what happens to you." Will Smith (who wrote this movie) wrote his part as someone who sits in a chair and looks high all the time. He was like, lets focus this movie on my son, I'll just chill here. Not to mention that the writing was just horrible anyways. Jaden's character has 1 face, crapping himself. As he runs. Falls asleep. Runs. Falls asleep. Runs. They tried to create some sort of emotional pull by him seeing his dead sister after making a raft and falling asleep on it. But it was too poorly done, when the creature was killing his sister I was honestly rooting for the creature. Because I was hoping something exciting would come of it. I don't want to write or think about this movie anymore than I have to and the reason I am giving it a 1/10 is because after the movie my friends and I were able to have a great time making fun of it. Awful, awful...thing...whatever this was. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
NazminJun 24, 2013
Cannot believe I was sincerely looking forward to seeing this movie. I have never written nor read a review on a movie so I guess I am losing my review virginity. And without sounding cringe worthy it feels so right. As this movie hasCannot believe I was sincerely looking forward to seeing this movie. I have never written nor read a review on a movie so I guess I am losing my review virginity. And without sounding cringe worthy it feels so right. As this movie has compelled me to, which is clearly saying it all now.
After Earth was a waste of money, time and effort, and I love Will Smith so a waste of his raw talent! I felt as though they lost the plot of the movie completely and the wasn't any genuine emotion in it. Poor acting, poor directing, and poor story line. It made me jump in some scenes but jumping isn't quite enough to say WOW I want to see that again or what good quality material for peanuts. More like what a waste of money and time!
I shall not slate Will or Jaden as I do think they are good entertainers more so Will as Jaden is only young. But this movie really has not served them any justice.
And due to this rubbish film I am no longer allowed to chose movies. sad times indeed.

So end conclusion do not watch it as if you are a fan like me of Big Willy he shall most definitely disappoint. No pleasure with this Sci fi.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
justthefactsJun 21, 2013
It gets a 1 because Will Smith was in it. His son has very little talent and acts like he is afraid the entire time the movie is on. Kind of like a little girl. He needs to man up or get some acting lessons. The movie itself was not good by itself.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
StriderKiwiJun 21, 2013
About as bad as Battlefield Earth. Regardless of whether you liked any of Shamylan's earlier movies, you will not like this one. It is somehow less entertaining and horrible than Last Airbender. I kid you not. If a serial killer busts downAbout as bad as Battlefield Earth. Regardless of whether you liked any of Shamylan's earlier movies, you will not like this one. It is somehow less entertaining and horrible than Last Airbender. I kid you not. If a serial killer busts down your doors and attmepts to tie you up and force you and your family to watch this movie while eating twinkies, scarf down those twinkies and then run for the hills. If that is not possible, then end your life BY ANY MEANS, because that's how bad this movie is! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
JasonAngellJun 19, 2013
This film was so obvious in its attempt to throw Jaden Smith in our faces that by the time the credits rolled I actually felt bad for Will for having to put up with him. The acting of this spoiled teen, who has obviously never taken anThis film was so obvious in its attempt to throw Jaden Smith in our faces that by the time the credits rolled I actually felt bad for Will for having to put up with him. The acting of this spoiled teen, who has obviously never taken an acting class, will leave you emotionally weary and confused. Jaden however does not deserve all of the blame for the colossal failure of this film. A poorly written script, an incredulous story, a plot with so many holes that it's more air than substance, laughable CGI in an era of Avatars and The Lord of the Rings, and directing that was haphazard at best and wholly unimaginative at worst. I'm sparing a heated critique of Will's bland acting in this film because he was the one element of it all that was actually mediocre and not horribly unwatchable.

Probably the most frustrating aspect of this film was its lack of ambition to create something new. In the hands of a more gifted screenwriter, a more competent director, or starring an actor with any gravitas whatsoever this film may have achieved its potential.

All of this and Moby "Dick" jokes makes After Earth one of the worst films I have ever had the pleasure to hate.
Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
0
WhySoSerious54Jun 19, 2013
LOL horrible. If Will Smith wouldnt have forced Jaden down our throats and had a different director I would have given this a 2. Jaden smith is the worst actor I have ever seen. Let this be a lesson to you just because you are Will Smith'sLOL horrible. If Will Smith wouldnt have forced Jaden down our throats and had a different director I would have given this a 2. Jaden smith is the worst actor I have ever seen. Let this be a lesson to you just because you are Will Smith's son doesnt mean you have his wit, charm, charisma, or even the ability to formulate emotion on screen. Terrible in every way. The Razzy has to go to Jaden. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
canadianrugbyJun 19, 2013
Where to start. This movie has bad acting from Smith Jr and he's one of the only two people in the movie. The story could be good but is made bad by random unrealistic things that don't need to be there. The CGI is terrrrrrrrrrrible andWhere to start. This movie has bad acting from Smith Jr and he's one of the only two people in the movie. The story could be good but is made bad by random unrealistic things that don't need to be there. The CGI is terrrrrrrrrrrible and took me out of the movie because all I could concentrate on is how bad the monsters/animals look. No reason to see this, move on. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
culinarymasterJun 18, 2013
I wanted to see this because Will Smith and his son was in it. But when I heard M. Night was directing this, I began doubting whether or not it would be good. I was hoping for a adventurous, sci-fi, father and son epic, but instead I came outI wanted to see this because Will Smith and his son was in it. But when I heard M. Night was directing this, I began doubting whether or not it would be good. I was hoping for a adventurous, sci-fi, father and son epic, but instead I came out losing respect for M. Night as a director. This "movie" is EXTREMELY BORING.
While you wait for the exciting parts of the movie to come the movie ends. Why? BECAUSE THERE ARE NO EXCITING PARTS. This was such a waste of money.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
60ishJun 18, 2013
It wasn't that bad a movie. Would have been 80% better if there was a better actor then Jaden Smith. He just is not a good actor and that took away for the film...
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
CriticakJun 17, 2013
Uneventful. Bad storyline. Jaden kept on crying like a baby. Will smith stayed in his place falling asleep and waking up. I hoped it would have a climax or a nice resolution but nothing.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
MovieGal2016Jun 16, 2013
Although this movie is not offensive in any way; it is simply bad. From the stage decoration to the costumes to the plot and the characters there's not a lot to recommend it. I know folks are trying to be gentle on Will Smith and his youngAlthough this movie is not offensive in any way; it is simply bad. From the stage decoration to the costumes to the plot and the characters there's not a lot to recommend it. I know folks are trying to be gentle on Will Smith and his young son they seem like nice people. However, the son was not ready to hold this movie. He is really pretty terrible in this. I wish him all the luck in future endeavors. Do not waste your money or time. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
1
ojtJun 14, 2013
After Earth is not only boring and uninteresting even for sci-fi fans. It alsa has a lame story and surprisingly bad acting by 2xSmith. I expect that Harald Zwart got the best out of Jaden in Karate Kid, but Shyamalan has no clue how toAfter Earth is not only boring and uninteresting even for sci-fi fans. It alsa has a lame story and surprisingly bad acting by 2xSmith. I expect that Harald Zwart got the best out of Jaden in Karate Kid, but Shyamalan has no clue how to instruct this boy into anything other than a spoiled and irritating brat.
It's a bad idea, the cgi is bad compared to most other I've seen, and what's worst is that it's impossible to care about the guys in the film.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
Nobilis1984Jun 12, 2013
The worst movie since a long time. This is not for Will Smith but for the most part on the director and the bad acting of Smith's pupil.
Something should not be allowed in the cinema. I wonder who controls the quality of the films.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
FilmyJun 10, 2013
I haven't seen most of Jaden Smith's movies, but here, it seems he can't act at all. Thin plot, and we don't much care if Jaden makes it or not. The best thing about the movie was the scenes shot in the Northern California redwood forests.I haven't seen most of Jaden Smith's movies, but here, it seems he can't act at all. Thin plot, and we don't much care if Jaden makes it or not. The best thing about the movie was the scenes shot in the Northern California redwood forests. I think The Sixth Sense may be the only film M. Knight would have us remember. This one was ANOTHER bust. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
GilbertoJun 9, 2013
The danger is real, but fear is a choice, a choice I think everybody will embrace when seeing this movie. It is scary how bad this movie ended up being. Call me whatever, but I liked Signs, and I didn´t thought The Happening was as bad asThe danger is real, but fear is a choice, a choice I think everybody will embrace when seeing this movie. It is scary how bad this movie ended up being. Call me whatever, but I liked Signs, and I didn´t thought The Happening was as bad as many do believe it is, but this, this is horrible. M.Night Shymalan took an interesting concept with tons of potential, and made it incredibly monotone and boring. This is supposed to be a fun movie full of chases and adrenaline, but instead, despite the movie´s recall to "everything in this planet has evolved to kill humans" we barely see any real danger, and when it finally comes it is resolved with such simplicity that it ever really reaches true excitement. From a character and story standpoint the movie also flatters and in a big time. Will Smith is one the most charismatic actors in the industry, but his character in After Earth is as bland as possible and barely makes appearances. So in the end its all about the boy, who unfortunately lacks the talent o his father. His not bad to an unbearable point, but his not good enough either to carry such a movie on his shoulders. So at the end, we are left with a bland story driven by bland characters in a bland planet as a whole which doesn´t look all that good either, because yes, the CGI is also kind of bad. Expand
7 of 10 users found this helpful73
All this user's reviews
3
OtdykhayJun 8, 2013
It's a really boring movie. It looks cheap right from the beginning and you feel the word "cheap" and "low budget" during all movie. There are many things you don't understand from the screenplay. How come a child can run away from a dozenIt's a really boring movie. It looks cheap right from the beginning and you feel the word "cheap" and "low budget" during all movie. There are many things you don't understand from the screenplay. How come a child can run away from a dozen angry baboon monkeys, etc.? Low budget gives terrible pictures of the animals around. I would give this movie 3 out of 10 or C Although my 12-y.o. said it's OK. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
tawilsonJun 8, 2013
This is one of the worst movies I've seen in a long time. It appears to me the goal of the entire movie is to dehumanize humanity through controlling the mind. However, what you find is Will Smith's supposed lack of fear appears in the filmThis is one of the worst movies I've seen in a long time. It appears to me the goal of the entire movie is to dehumanize humanity through controlling the mind. However, what you find is Will Smith's supposed lack of fear appears in the film to look like lack of human emotion coming across as horrible acting (which you don't expect from Will Smith). And the goal is to teach his son that same thing. Humanity without emotion is not human at all. Then, the condition of the earth come on... it doesn't make sense accurate history is required to build a background and this doesn't appear to have that. Then the storyline is not even very good on top of that. I expected more action but instead got a movie similar to "Cast Away" with Jaden Smith as Tom Hanks and Will Smith as "Wilson" (the ball), but without the wit or humor of Tom Hanks. It's not worth your money or time. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
2
VandyPriceJun 7, 2013
It is odd to be so let-down by a project containing so many working parts that you can usually believe in and rely on or even possess a major part that you'd like to believe might start working to the best of its abilities again. EverythingIt is odd to be so let-down by a project containing so many working parts that you can usually believe in and rely on or even possess a major part that you'd like to believe might start working to the best of its abilities again. Everything about the latest Will Smith sci-fi film, After Earth, though feels lazy and re-hashed as if they were coming up with things to do, obstacles to overcome on the spot and relying on cheap special effects to fill in the rest come post production. What is most irritating about this entire project though is that it so effortlessly takes itself seriously yet could not come off as more immature. There is a spark at the very beginning where it drops us right into the middle of the action, where for a split second I thought this might have deserved more than the critical lashing it received gave it credit for, but just as that thought entered my mind we began getting voice over from one Kitai Raige (Jaden Smith) that gave us the back story of who his father was, where we were at presently, why the human race was there and several other details of exposition that could have just as easily been explored and revealed in a more interesting movie. Also take note that this piece of dialogue and every other line no matter who it was delivered by is spoken in an accent that seems to evoke every impersonation I've ever heard of John F. Kennedy. Like much of the film, this idea of having every human offspring who lived past the days of calling earth our home adapt the same speaking patterns and dialect is interesting, but the execution proves more distracting than anything else (and this is coming from a guy who didn't mind the gibberish talk in Cloud Atlas). Thus this is only one of many complaints I began to log away as After Earth continued to play out in what ultimately feels very brief and more disappointingly, unaffecting. I've always liked Will Smith and thought of him as a charming, charismatic guy that was always fun to watch on screen, but his character here has none of those qualities and with that persona completely absent it leaves the film feeling equally as hollow as his Cypher Raige.

read the whole review at www.reviewsfromabed.com
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
3
VeryTastyOrangeJun 6, 2013
I've never seen an actor pat himself on the back this much since Nicolas Cage was trying to remove bees for the Wicker Man, which is still a better movie than After Earth. Will Smith still did a better job at acting than Jaden Smith but thenI've never seen an actor pat himself on the back this much since Nicolas Cage was trying to remove bees for the Wicker Man, which is still a better movie than After Earth. Will Smith still did a better job at acting than Jaden Smith but then again so can anyone. Do not go to see this in a theater, just pirate it when it comes out, burn it onto a CD and then set the CD on fire. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
2
properbo10Jun 5, 2013
The dangers of nepotism are all to evident when watching this tedious flick. I am often left wondering why Will Smith's son constantly looks like he is smelling his own farts and is confused by them. His default facial expression is eitherThe dangers of nepotism are all to evident when watching this tedious flick. I am often left wondering why Will Smith's son constantly looks like he is smelling his own farts and is confused by them. His default facial expression is either contrived pretension or a mild case of idiocy. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
2
dijavantewowJun 5, 2013
This was just a poor, poor movie. It was not well acted or directed. The budget must not have allowed for good graphics, because they were terrible. It was a bad Syfy original movie with Will and Jaden Smith for some reason. The plot isThis was just a poor, poor movie. It was not well acted or directed. The budget must not have allowed for good graphics, because they were terrible. It was a bad Syfy original movie with Will and Jaden Smith for some reason. The plot is ridiculous and not well thought out at all. There wasn't much action to make up for the terrible acting, and in general it was just boring and bad. I give it a 2 because it's still not as bad as The Last Airbender. Thanks a lot M. Night... Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
edteachJun 4, 2013
This movie was as boring as watching paint dry. If you have a hard on for Will Smith and his very bathroom smell is something you long for, then it may work for you. If you want to see Will Smith play Major Payne and discipline his child thenThis movie was as boring as watching paint dry. If you have a hard on for Will Smith and his very bathroom smell is something you long for, then it may work for you. If you want to see Will Smith play Major Payne and discipline his child then it may work for you. But it being a good sifi movie save your money its a dog. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
3
TVJerryJun 4, 2013
Two upfront signs this is doomed: 1. Story by Will Smith (so u know it'll be self-indulgent). 2. Directed by M. Night Shyamalan (hasn't had a hit since "Sixth Sense"). Smith casts himself as the closed-off commander on a space mission withTwo upfront signs this is doomed: 1. Story by Will Smith (so u know it'll be self-indulgent). 2. Directed by M. Night Shyamalan (hasn't had a hit since "Sixth Sense"). Smith casts himself as the closed-off commander on a space mission with his real-life son (Jaden) as the young soldier who must traverse a hostile planet to save the day (2 casting mistakes). Papa has never been known for his acting skills (he can't) and son's performance comes exclusively from his wrinkled brow. Among the stupid future anomalies: 1. the only weapon is a sword 2. painkillers still make u drowsy. The dialogue is painfully slow and stupid. Even the effects aren't special. A better title might have been "Dumb & Dumber." Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
3
njlakeJun 3, 2013
The concept is simple. The story is basic. Honestly, this could have been a lot better had it not been sci-fi and rather based in current day. Get rid of all the extraneous stuff (including using a different actor than Jaden Smith).
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
3
CatharasisJun 2, 2013
This movie was long, boring, and overall...a waste of time! I wasn't expecting to be blown away, but it was so predictable that I started to fall asleep (my wife did as well). We had to fight to stay awake due to some scenes just draggingThis movie was long, boring, and overall...a waste of time! I wasn't expecting to be blown away, but it was so predictable that I started to fall asleep (my wife did as well). We had to fight to stay awake due to some scenes just dragging on and on. I can't say it was the worst movie ever, not by a long shot, but it was not very good. There are a couple of scares (at least for my wife and one of my children), but overall, it dragged on and was predictable throughout. Wait for DVD if you have any interest in this movie, save your money! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
3
Tbrown15Jun 2, 2013
After Earth
Director: M. Night Shyamalan
Starring: Will Smith, Jaden Smith Runtime/Rated: 100Min, PG-13 M. Night Shyamalan returns as a director in his most recent blunder in After Earth. In this movie, we are immediately introduced to
After Earth
Director: M. Night Shyamalan
Starring: Will Smith, Jaden Smith
Runtime/Rated: 100Min, PG-13

M. Night Shyamalan returns as a director in his most recent blunder in After Earth. In this movie, we are immediately introduced to Kitai (played by Jaden Smith), who is randomly lying on the ground injured. While Kitai is lying there on the ground, Jaden Smith is narrating what happened to Earth 1000 years ago. let me mention that, Jaden Smith’s narration is one of the WORST narrations I have ever heard during a movie After Jaden navigates the audience through the past, we go back three days earlier. From here, both Will and Jaden Smith go on a trip in outer space to bond as father and son. After some real horrific events that crash landed the ship that Will and Jaden Smith were on, they both come to realize that Earth is were they crash landed, and they must work together to survive.

After Earth is a true definition of “Dull”. The dialogue is stale, the action is mediocre, the CGI is passable and the acting is okay, but Will Smith almost put me to sleep a couple times. The film isn’t terribly bad, but it’s not good either. Every aspect of the movie felt average. I don’t think director M. Night Shyamalan did a bad job directing the movie, it seemed he took it safe this time. For a summer movie, After Birth I mean After Earth just doesn’t fit the criteria of a summer success. Rather then see this movie, go see Fast 6 or Star Trek, there’s defiantly other better movies out right now to see rather then After Earth. At the end of the day, it’s a good RENTAL.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
johno10661jJun 2, 2013
Will, you really need to "take a knee" on this one.

The entire movie is based on the premise that we have enough technology to wormhole ourselves to another star system, but have somehow lost the ability to create a shotgun, which is all
Will, you really need to "take a knee" on this one.

The entire movie is based on the premise that we have enough technology to wormhole ourselves to another star system, but have somehow lost the ability to create a shotgun, which is all it would take to kill the "bad guys". Seriously, we don't have guns for some reason.
Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
3
phildogJun 2, 2013
I would have given this a 2, but it deserves a 3 or a 4 for just how hilariously bad it is. A almost complete amateur with a director who does everything but direct? Gold. Every time the kid opens his mouth it's hilarious. Whenever he isI would have given this a 2, but it deserves a 3 or a 4 for just how hilariously bad it is. A almost complete amateur with a director who does everything but direct? Gold. Every time the kid opens his mouth it's hilarious. Whenever he is just walking, or thinking, or fighting he is actually pretty good, but then he says one of his awful lines without any real emotion and you're either groaning or laughing.

This movie will either leave you board, or laughing. If you enjoy films with bad acting, and absurd logic, you'll like this. If not, they're are plenty of other movies to waste time with.
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
2
CastianJun 1, 2013
The movie had it's moments, the now-too-used "Nature evolved to kill us" is decent enough... for a D&D campaign....
But, for the luv of gawd!
The movie looked and felt like a glorified auto-biografy of the Smiths, the kid WAS Ok in Karate
The movie had it's moments, the now-too-used "Nature evolved to kill us" is decent enough... for a D&D campaign....
But, for the luv of gawd!
The movie looked and felt like a glorified auto-biografy of the Smiths, the kid WAS Ok in Karate Kid and In pursuit of happiness, but because he didn't acted that much, now, it clearly shows he has no talent, lost his charisma and pushes waaaaay to hard his dad acting skills, like learning Karate from a Book.
Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
2
ClayMerrittJun 1, 2013
This get one thing very straight before I continue. Okay, this was a Will Smith movie. Not an M. Night Shyamalan movie. Will Smith is doing all the press with his son, the marketing strategy was clear from the opening trailers: Make sure toThis get one thing very straight before I continue. Okay, this was a Will Smith movie. Not an M. Night Shyamalan movie. Will Smith is doing all the press with his son, the marketing strategy was clear from the opening trailers: Make sure to exclude M. Night from everything except his name in the credits of the trailer. When I say this was a Will Smith movie, I mean everything had to be Will's way or else he wasn't going to do this movie. Which is why Will Smith didn't do Django Unchained. He can make all the excuses he wants, but fact of the matter is, he's so, so egotistical and won't do movies unless they're his way and not the director's or writers way. Because he's the almighty Will Smith. Coming into this movie, I had mostly bad expectations, but I remained positive. Maybe, just maybe there's hope this would be good. Good gracious, was I ever wrong. The story, while somewhat fresh, felt like a recycled story. The acting was lame and the CGI was kind of lame. It didn't make for a good movie whatsoever. Wasn't even a good Sci-Fi which is the genre it exists under. Just a horrible movie and Will Smith should look at this as a warning of what his career is becoming. His son is a horrible actor who tries to hard, but besides that Will Smith needs to learn that his way is the worst way. I can't even remember the last Will Smith movie I enjoyed. maybe? Yeah. Will Smith needs to get it together. He's quickly becoming a shell of himself. Expand
9 of 13 users found this helpful94
All this user's reviews
0
oliver1hMay 31, 2013
This is how you throw 130 million American dollars out of the window. There was no reason Jaden Smith was in this movie, other than his fathers influence. I admit they were good together in Pursuit of happiness, but his son was basically aThis is how you throw 130 million American dollars out of the window. There was no reason Jaden Smith was in this movie, other than his fathers influence. I admit they were good together in Pursuit of happiness, but his son was basically a little kid playing himself back then. Also nature evolved to kill US blah-blah-blah I do not know why M. Night Shyamalan has this fixation (remember The Happening), but it is dump, and killing animals (even CGI) makes me disappointed in humanity. Overall a badly done adventure movie, that is set agains the background of the green screen. This alone (CGI, visuals) never made a movie. In movies like Blade Runner etc... visuals had significant role, but with a good story, characters, thought provoking concepts. This movie was missing these key elements. Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
0
BartMay 31, 2013
Left an after earth in the toilet this morning after eating three bean burritos last night followed by two orders of chili cheese nachos. Why does anyone give Shama Lama Ding Dong a chance to direct anything beyond a public serviceLeft an after earth in the toilet this morning after eating three bean burritos last night followed by two orders of chili cheese nachos. Why does anyone give Shama Lama Ding Dong a chance to direct anything beyond a public service announcement about tile grout? I would say this film had a bad script, but there apparently was none. And as to acting, well lets just say the son is not like the father. Directing....was the a director? Save your money and avoid yet another cra**y boxoffice blunder. Better to stay at home and eat the contents of your cats litter box than to see this 'film'. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
1
bubbleboyMay 31, 2013
more and more it seems as if sixth sense was an anomaly
and jaden smith couldn't act his way out of a paper bag
this was disappointing but not unexpected
26 of 32 users found this helpful266
All this user's reviews
1
ThegodfathersonMay 31, 2013
After Earth was not a wow movie. It was a dull Shyamalan film, although he knows he can do better. Cypher Raige and his son Kitai Raige's bonding documentary of fear and danger is a rancid potato. Will smith has totally outdated his limitsAfter Earth was not a wow movie. It was a dull Shyamalan film, although he knows he can do better. Cypher Raige and his son Kitai Raige's bonding documentary of fear and danger is a rancid potato. Will smith has totally outdated his limits into making bad films. The bonding between the father and son is rancid. It's cool from the trailer and it looks good but After Earth is a mind boggling bonding sci fi that totally doesn't work. Shyamalan's crafty and carefully shot beautiful camera angles may surprise, but its needed more. Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
0
ag10May 31, 2013
The film's potential is derailed by some truly atrocious acting, especially from Jaden Smith. What undoes the film is its rather rancid parent-child sentimentality (a Shyamalan staple, admittedly) and a charisma-free performance from theThe film's potential is derailed by some truly atrocious acting, especially from Jaden Smith. What undoes the film is its rather rancid parent-child sentimentality (a Shyamalan staple, admittedly) and a charisma-free performance from the younger Smith that suggests the apple has fallen very far from the tree, indeed. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
1
TheWalrus2000May 31, 2013
Nobody knew he was directing it in the first place, M. Night is back ruining lovable stars making us feel bad that this has to go against Jaden and Will Smith like this. It has "decent production" but the terible direction and horribleNobody knew he was directing it in the first place, M. Night is back ruining lovable stars making us feel bad that this has to go against Jaden and Will Smith like this. It has "decent production" but the terible direction and horrible screenplay make everything just flunk for this film. Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
3
KadeemluvmusicMay 31, 2013
I don't know why Will and Jaden Smith is in the picture, but I think they got the wrong director making a disappointing effort to move After Earth from June 7 to May 31. This is beyond weird. I mean, we haven't seen or heard from M. NightI don't know why Will and Jaden Smith is in the picture, but I think they got the wrong director making a disappointing effort to move After Earth from June 7 to May 31. This is beyond weird. I mean, we haven't seen or heard from M. Night Shyamalan in 3 years since the disappointing Devil and the notoriously critically-panned Nickelodeon movie "The Last Airbender," but casting Will and Jaden in the movie just doesn't make any sense. Although Will Smith has a lot of woes in the past (i.e. Wild Wild West), but do I ever wanted to pay money to see a forgotten sci-fi movie that's gonna be in IMAX theaters? I thought After Earth will be another post-apocalyptic movie for "Big Will," but then again it's not the next "I Am Legend" (Although Lara Croft should take notes in order to survive). I'm really not saying that After Earth is the worst movie of the year, but it is one of the disappointing M. Night Shyamalan movies that he's ever made. I'm not gonna see it in theaters, but a rental will be better. Expand
4 of 16 users found this helpful412
All this user's reviews
0
dilushaofmcMay 31, 2013
M Night is a very ambitious director, he only had one ambition, that is to become the worst director of all time. So he started from top to bottom, From Sixth sense to Last airbender, From good to worst. He has improved a lot for the past 10M Night is a very ambitious director, he only had one ambition, that is to become the worst director of all time. So he started from top to bottom, From Sixth sense to Last airbender, From good to worst. He has improved a lot for the past 10 years, he has mastered how to make a worse movie! So this is another which emphasizes that he is the worst director of 21st century! Expand
16 of 23 users found this helpful167
All this user's reviews