After Earth

After Earth Image
Metascore
33

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 545 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 41
  2. Negative: 20 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Matt Zoller Seitz
    Jun 5, 2013
    88
    After Earth is ultimately too thin of a story to support all of its grandiose embellishments, but so what? It's better to try to pack every moment with beauty and feeling than to shrug and smirk. The film takes the characters and their feelings seriously, and lets its actors give strong, simple performances.
  2. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    May 30, 2013
    58
    The movie takes off from a concept as basic as a videogame, and it sticks to that concept, without surprise.
  3. Reviewed by: Gabe Toro
    May 30, 2013
    50
    The film progresses to the point where it feels less like father and son, and more like a young boy listening to an inspirational audiobook.
  4. Reviewed by: Louis Black
    May 29, 2013
    40
    The film is repetitive and not as suspenseful at it tries to be. Often gorgeous, sometimes fascinating, it is ultimately unwieldy and unsurprising. It fails as a Smith-family project. Jaden Smith, who was fine in "The Karate Kid," is flat here.
  5. 30
    Were Shyamalan and Smith deliberately invoking the terror — now omnipresent in urban African-American communities — of lethal asthma attacks in children? I’m not sure how I feel about something so real and so wrenching in the context of a Grade D (unfit for human habitation) sci-fi picture like After Earth.
  6. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    May 31, 2013
    25
    The sad truth about After Earth is that not only is it difficult to find things it does well, but there are numerous examples of outright incompetence dotting the landscape.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    May 29, 2013
    0
    Summer 2013 has its first bomb, and sadly, it’s landed right on Will Smith.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 152
  2. Negative: 84 out of 152
  1. Jun 16, 2013
    10
    Watched this film last night expecting to be disappointed. I was out voted by wife and kids(aged 17 13). I wanted to go for Man of steelWatched this film last night expecting to be disappointed. I was out voted by wife and kids(aged 17 13). I wanted to go for Man of steel after reading the reviews on this sight. Thankfully I was in for a I big surprise. What a great film exciting in parts, suspenseful in parts and funny in parts. Well put together great special effects. A great choice for a family trip to the movies. Recommend to all. Expand
  2. Jun 16, 2013
    9
    Despite my love for Shyamalan movies, I did not expect to like this movie based on the trailers. This movie provided everything a goodDespite my love for Shyamalan movies, I did not expect to like this movie based on the trailers. This movie provided everything a good scifi/action movie should, great special effects, a plausible and exciting plot, a few scary moments and decent (if not great) acting. Jaden Smith is young and his acting is held up by his dad's but I didn't find it took much away from the movie. There won't be any Oscars here but this movie is great summer entertainment. I highly recommend it. Expand
  3. Jun 16, 2013
    6
    A very straightforward movie but i enjoyed it much compared to oblivion.

    The way it was phrased by Will Smith, "Everything has evolved to
    A very straightforward movie but i enjoyed it much compared to oblivion.

    The way it was phrased by Will Smith, "Everything has evolved to kill human", i was hoping for more in the way of obstacles.

    Definitely a rise for M Night from his previous movie.
    Expand
  4. Jan 4, 2016
    3
    This isn't a movie that's so bad it's funny, nor is it painful to sit through. What it is, is just a dull, boring dud. It has one or two neatThis isn't a movie that's so bad it's funny, nor is it painful to sit through. What it is, is just a dull, boring dud. It has one or two neat elements but it completely under utilizes a somewhat brilliant premise. Earth evolving into a place designed specifically to kill humans? Should be amazing right? Wrong! The effects aren't very good, but that's not the only problem. The main problem is that a handful of somewhat strange creatures and Jaden Smith running through a bunch of woods is all the movie gets out of the idea. What a waste. It felt more like an average science fiction tv show episode than a fully realized film. Shyamalan put no vision or inspiration into this movie. Hopefully The Visit really is better. It'd be nice to see him get back on track. Expand
  5. Jan 1, 2014
    2
    M. Night Shyamalan left his brain back at the film Signs. After Earth is an unpleasant movie with poor writing and acting, stuff that willM. Night Shyamalan left his brain back at the film Signs. After Earth is an unpleasant movie with poor writing and acting, stuff that will make your eyes roll. Will Smith's character isn't inspirational, like he tries to be, and he comes off as monotone and mean. It's basically a failed motivational seminar.

    F
    Expand
  6. ojt
    Jun 14, 2013
    1
    After Earth is not only boring and uninteresting even for sci-fi fans. It alsa has a lame story and surprisingly bad acting by 2xSmith. IAfter Earth is not only boring and uninteresting even for sci-fi fans. It alsa has a lame story and surprisingly bad acting by 2xSmith. I expect that Harald Zwart got the best out of Jaden in Karate Kid, but Shyamalan has no clue how to instruct this boy into anything other than a spoiled and irritating brat.
    It's a bad idea, the cgi is bad compared to most other I've seen, and what's worst is that it's impossible to care about the guys in the film.
    Expand
  7. Nov 22, 2013
    0
    Just started watching this film and what's going on with the narrator? It sounds like an English guy doing an incredibly bad American accent,Just started watching this film and what's going on with the narrator? It sounds like an English guy doing an incredibly bad American accent, which wouldn't be quite as bad if his acting wasn't so terrible. Reminds me of the dumb kid who gets forced to read out to the class. Given up already. Expand

See all 152 User Reviews

Trailers