Afternoon Delight

Afternoon Delight Image
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 13 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Deadened by the stultifying realities of preschool auctions, a lackluster sex life, and career thatâ

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 23
  2. Negative: 4 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Cory Everett
    Jul 8, 2013
    83
    Afternoon Delight succeeds mainly because although the premise is broad, writer/director Jill Soloway is determined to keep it real.
  2. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Aug 29, 2013
    80
    It’s a crisp and often hilarious female-centric social satire loaded with delicious talent from the TV-comedy pool.
  3. Reviewed by: Leba Hertz
    Sep 5, 2013
    75
    Director Jill Soloway gets the most out of her actors, fleshing out their characters and letting us know what makes them tick. It's refreshing to hear dialogue that's natural and modern and doesn't try to pontificate. And the rewards are many.
  4. Reviewed by: Matt Patches
    Aug 27, 2013
    60
    Soloway mines her ensemble of funny ladies more for laughs than emotional insight, but Hahn breaks through it all; she’s the one who provides the glossy rumination with actual heart.
  5. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Sep 6, 2013
    50
    Things play out in predictable fashion, and we’re more than ready to bid farewell to these people and feel grateful they don’t live on our block.
  6. Reviewed by: Mike D'Angelo
    Aug 28, 2013
    50
    Alas, the film, which had at worst seemed unfocused (not a cardinal sin for a comedy), takes a bizarrely reactionary turn in the homestretch, undermining all of the goodwill Hahn had accumulated up to that point and turning her character into detestable yuppie scum.
  7. Reviewed by: Tomas Hachard
    Aug 26, 2013
    12
    Jill Soloway's film is dishonest in the way it attempts to mask self-pity as enlightened self-criticism.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Sep 3, 2013
    8
    Kathryn Hahn is a force of nature she's the comedic and dramatic backbone of this movie, and she's truly incredible in it. On the otherKathryn Hahn is a force of nature she's the comedic and dramatic backbone of this movie, and she's truly incredible in it. On the other hand, the producers dropped the ball by casting Josh Radnor as her husband. He doesn't have the chops to share the screen with her. I was pleasantly surprised by Juno Temple, though the writers did give her a bit of the short shrift toward the end of the film. The rest of the female supporting cast is decent (with the exception of the always excellent
    Michaela Watkins) but again, it ultimately comes down to Hahn. She's simply a pleasure to watch in this film.
    Collapse
  2. Dec 6, 2014
    7
    Subtle yet dark at moments. Exploring a specific agenda of a married life. Superb acting with good general plot. But it goes flat without muchSubtle yet dark at moments. Exploring a specific agenda of a married life. Superb acting with good general plot. But it goes flat without much of an emotional roller coaster ride. Expand
  3. Mar 23, 2014
    5
    Go on, you can tell me. Have you ever jumped into the back seat of your car as it trundles slowly through the car wash, just because you can,Go on, you can tell me. Have you ever jumped into the back seat of your car as it trundles slowly through the car wash, just because you can, free for a moment of the responsibility of control, just for a different of view things?

    No? Well, me neither. Already, I feel inadequate, quirk-wise, and the opening credits haven't even finished.

    Afternoon Delight may be the perfect film for someone, just not for me. I have way too much testosterone coarsing through my innards to really get down with the ladies here. The story of (now, when you've watched it, you can tell me which) a disillusioned/selfish/vacant/bored wife and mother with a flagging sex-life, a challenged libido and a distinct lack of direction is not as voracious as it may be, but is written well, with enough reality at its core to be recognisable to many of a certain age.

    Kathryn Hahn leads this ensemble of considered female examples. To call them stereotypical is probably unfair, but they are more obvious when you're old enough to have met most of them already. None are particularly striking or surprising, with characters that are mostly old enough to know better, but are still barren of satisfaction, and not just in the bedroom. Emotionally needy and only slightly psychologically challenged, this collection of women, though seemingly empowered, still seem at odds with a world of opportunity and their apparent inability to grasp it firmly by its very hairy bollocks. If this is a mans world, then you just might have these ladies to thank for it, wasting their time with not even beginning to understand what they want, instead of knowing their own minds and just **** well taking it.

    "You want to blog with her? Name one good thing that's come from blogging.."

    Well I can think of one. This review, for example. Cited for best direction at Sundance, you can easily spend the first half of the films' running time just wishing that these women would stop suffering under a cloud of whatever it is these soccer moms are ailed by. The arrival of stripper McKenna (Juno Temple) into the lives of these frustrating, frustrated women is a breath of fresh air for the audience and you would expect this to be true also for Rachel (Hahn) when she invites her to stay at her house, conveniently forgetting to check with her husband or son beforehand.

    And this is where we have a problem. The story is at odds with itself. You can ask why she even needs to ask permission to invite a friend to stay, for as long as she wants? But she really should. This is about respect, after all. This is something she clearly needs from others, yet seems unable to provide it herself. If the intention was to make Rachel unbalanced and slightly avoidable, then this seems like a triumph. Personally, I get the feeling that we are, regardless of our gender, supposed to be engaged by her (we are to an extent), to understand her (we do, she is quite transparent) and to empathise (oh no, you can forget that, missy). Throughout the majority of the running time, Rachel becomes progessively more unlikeable and self-absorbed, pining for for a youth that's long gone and quietly regretting the life she's had since, for a number of reasons.

    Hahn's portrayal of Rachel is excellent and the acting performances are enviable throughout, with Juno Temple continuing to impress and deliver a range of performances only touched on here, but Afternoon Delight has trouble with what it wants to say, or come to that, even if it has something to say. As a contemporary temperature gauge for how women of a certain age feel today, then it's all well and good, but you have to ask what the audience can take away from this, aside from a nodding appreciation if the audience also happens to be female and middle-aged. And if that is even the case, is there anything here besides recognition worth sitting through this navel-gazing story that is ultimately quite unpleasant, if we're brutally honest.

    Seemingly trapped in two stories, one of a lonely stripper, one of a lonely housewife, the two could rightfully be expected to meet somewhere in the middle with either one or both of these women learning from the other, making two worlds collide for some kind of purpose, but this never really happens. Or at least, I never saw it happen. Both of the two main characters are reluctant to change, yet neither is satisfied with their life as it is. Perhaps, despite being confident and assured, they try to learn to understand that their world does not stop immediately outside their bubble.

    Well acted and scripted, the story is naive and beneath the audience it is trying to impress. The performances are easily the best thing about the film and the same cast with something more to chew on would have made a more satisfying project come to life with their abundant flair. This plods and lollops from one selfish, tired complaint to the next, rarely getting up enough steam to generate actual enthusiasm from an audience that were clearly
    Expand
  4. Jul 2, 2014
    4
    I randomly watched this, and can say it`s the only way you should watch it. Afternoon delight has a few interesting moments, but nothing greatI randomly watched this, and can say it`s the only way you should watch it. Afternoon delight has a few interesting moments, but nothing great about it. Expand

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  2. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  3. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Star Trek Beyond, Lights Out, Don't Think Twice, Ice Age: Collision Course, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.