Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 17 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 20
  2. Negative: 8 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Dennis Harvey
    Apr 8, 2013
    70
    The script by Roth, Lopez, and Lopez’s frequent collaborator, Guillermo Amoedo, giddily piles crisis upon crisis, with none of the customary mercy reserved for leading characters.
  2. Reviewed by: Drew Taylor
    May 13, 2013
    67
    Thankfully, as the movie goes along, he tempers his bloodlust, instead engaging in sequences that up the suspense and terror while not exclusively luxuriating in the bloodshed.
  3. Reviewed by: Noel Murray
    May 8, 2013
    58
    Right up until the quake, Aftershock is a bland, sub-"Hangover" comedy about guys on the make in South America. Then finally, blessedly, the ground swallows up these shallow idiots.
  4. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    May 9, 2013
    40
    The ending is sick enough to make it almost worth the wait. Key word: almost.
  5. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    May 10, 2013
    38
    It's an unrelentingly brutal movie set in an unusually scenic locale — the coastal city of Valparaiso, Chile.
  6. Reviewed by: Bilge Ebiri
    May 11, 2013
    30
    If all this sounds outrageous, and extreme … don’t worry, it’s not. Provocation coupled with ineptitude doesn’t reveal the ugliness of humanity; it simply reveals the ugliness of the filmmakers themselves.
  7. Reviewed by: Chuck Wilson
    May 9, 2013
    20
    Aftershock is incompetently made and morally muddled, but since talent, morality, and Mr. Roth have never been on speaking terms, we're not exactly surprised.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 6
  2. Negative: 5 out of 6
  1. Mar 18, 2014
    5
    It's fun without being stupid (mostly)
    Don't presents us a deep thought or a huge strain, but does well as a film devoted entirely to
    entertainment.
    But, "Aftershock" carries its problems, is not entirely exciting, well directed and acted, but without doubt, its biggest problem is that it carries the most obvious end of the story.
    That leaves us indifferent to the future of the characters, since we know what will happen at the end.
    Expand
  2. Jun 11, 2013
    1
    It is cruel and so dull, also it is not entertaining or good, it is upsetting with a dumb storytelling it just nothing movie, a bad movie, nothing good in this movie except maybe special effects and that's it, it is completely bad, the acting is below average and the story is really dumb, but is it worse than The Devil Inside (the horror movie that I hate)? No Expand
  3. May 12, 2013
    0
    Aftershock is an average movie with Eli Roth. Wow. I expected it to be better. We people weren't looking for a hurricane, gore and stylized Roth powers. We were looking for a scary and gory good time. Well actually, I didn't get anything. The gory dazzle dazzle is just limited and then you get a bunch of of people falling to death. At the end, when Gringo gets out of that building, the effects are so unrealistic! The event in Chile is real but the Eli Roth and Nicolas Lopez spin off of this disaster is unrealistic! It's like Lopez and Roth were eating cake and Lopez is like- what if we made mega garbage to destroy thingamajigs and include a hell a lot of f**king gore. It didn't look like I was watching Aftershock. I looked like I was watching Finding Nemo. No story, no point and no real environments- that is why aftershock sucks. Selina Gomez sucks at acting. Really, Lopez took beggars to act in his film. Except Roth who is ruined and worst actor of the year for me. Yet. We'll see what s**t comes for us in the coming years. Expand
  4. Jun 22, 2013
    0
    Avoid this movie even if it was for free, just stupid and dumb, all seen before disaster movie with lots of blood and screams, it is awful, dull and just bad, overall very bad, can't be described. Until now, Aftershock is the worst of 2013. Expand
  5. Jul 14, 2013
    0
    Aftershock is the worst movie 2013, and I don't think that any movie could get worst than this movie, this movie should be frightening! But no, it has 40 MINUTES build up, and then some rape, survival horror and disturbing/vulgar elements that are surprisingly stupid and boring, poor intense, story and acting. Can this movie get worse than this?! Collapse
  6. Aug 12, 2013
    0
    An awful film with no redeeming qualities. The first thirty five minutes was just a bunch of pointless partying scenes and the rest of the film becomes a cheap slasher type horror film with some really disgusting and unnecessary shots. This stink bomb is one of the worst of the year. F Expand

Trailers