User Score
4.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 39 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 39
  2. Negative: 19 out of 39
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 20, 2013
    3
    Predictable and juts like the first one, Cody Banks numero dos is even worst than the original (no surprise).What it lacks is a steady premise, and it seems like there is nary one to be found. Just because it's new doesn't mean its good.
  2. Nov 18, 2012
    0
    Stands as one of the worst family films ever made.
  3. Yomeruleyo
    Mar 23, 2004
    0
    Worst.Movie.Ever.
  4. JamieK.
    Mar 11, 2004
    0
    This movie did not provide laughs, it wasn't moving, the plot wasn't interesting, and the acting wasn't good. What did this movie have to offer? A bad time!
  5. VinceH.
    Mar 13, 2004
    2
    I was one of the few people who actually liked the first "Agent Cody Banks". Frankie Muniz is extremely watchable and charming as an actor (both in his films and on TV) and Angie Harmon's revealing clothes were also a plus. This film just makes no sense. I mean...was anyone here really just DYING to see a sequel to that film? I mean really. The action scenes are routine and tedious, I was one of the few people who actually liked the first "Agent Cody Banks". Frankie Muniz is extremely watchable and charming as an actor (both in his films and on TV) and Angie Harmon's revealing clothes were also a plus. This film just makes no sense. I mean...was anyone here really just DYING to see a sequel to that film? I mean really. The action scenes are routine and tedious, Anthony Anderson is essentially playing the same character he did in "Kangaroo Jack", the villains are plain as vanilla and forgettable, and the plot is simple and unintersting. Other than the extremely attractive Hannah Spearritt and a few funny scenes in the first half of the film, skip this dud and watch "Big Fat Liar" again, which is Frankie's best movie and one whose sequel I wouldn't mind. Expand
  6. MarkB.
    Apr 12, 2004
    5
    If you liked the original, you'll probably like this one, yada yada yada. A few brief observations: the flood of product placements (excessive even for a 2004 major studio film!) is surpassed only by a surfeit of continuity flubs and self-contradictions. One example: the exploding Mentos (see what I mean about product placement?) that blow up when chewed; in one sequence, one of the If you liked the original, you'll probably like this one, yada yada yada. A few brief observations: the flood of product placements (excessive even for a 2004 major studio film!) is surpassed only by a surfeit of continuity flubs and self-contradictions. One example: the exploding Mentos (see what I mean about product placement?) that blow up when chewed; in one sequence, one of the good guys attempts to dilute their effect--BY CUTTING THEM UP??? I loved the little actress who played the Indian music student, and the wonderful, tremendously underrated comic actress Cynthia Stevenson, whose role as Cody's clueless mom is limited here to the first and last few minutes of the movie, illustrates once again that old saying about silk purses and sow's ears. Expand
  7. MarkB.
    Apr 12, 2004
    5
    If you liked the original, you'll probably like this one, yada yada yada. A few brief observations: the flood of product placements (excessive even for a 2004 major studio film!) is surpassed only by a surfeit of continuity flubs and self-contradictions. One example: the exploding Mentos (see what I mean about product placement?) that blow up when chewed; in one sequence, one of the If you liked the original, you'll probably like this one, yada yada yada. A few brief observations: the flood of product placements (excessive even for a 2004 major studio film!) is surpassed only by a surfeit of continuity flubs and self-contradictions. One example: the exploding Mentos (see what I mean about product placement?) that blow up when chewed; in one sequence, one of the good guys attempts to dilute their effect--BY CUTTING THEM UP??? I loved the little actress who played the Indian music student, and the wonderful, tremendously underrated comic actress Cynthia Stevenson, whose role as Cody's clueless mom is limited here to the first and last few minutes of the movie, illustrates once again that old saying about silk purses and sow's ears. Expand
  8. PatrickR.
    Nov 7, 2004
    10
    The best movie ever (-_-) ?
  9. JackA.
    Mar 16, 2004
    10
    This is definitely the worst movie i never saw...Anthony Anderson is Hilarious...rest of the movie sucked.
  10. LionelR.
    Aug 21, 2004
    10
    What a wonderful childrens movie! Unlike The Bourne Spy 2, this is a veritable cornocopia of great action and intense suspense! All Children Rated, too! So your kids can learn the great cinematic movies before long! You'll HOWUL with delite as Agent Cody Banks goes through great missions! The only problem with this movie is that Hillary Duff, so wonderful in the last movie, What a wonderful childrens movie! Unlike The Bourne Spy 2, this is a veritable cornocopia of great action and intense suspense! All Children Rated, too! So your kids can learn the great cinematic movies before long! You'll HOWUL with delite as Agent Cody Banks goes through great missions! The only problem with this movie is that Hillary Duff, so wonderful in the last movie, isn't in this one. But not to dispair, it still has Frankie Muniz, one of the best actors we have around! I can't wait for number 3! Truly Living A Boy's Adventure Tale! Expand
Metascore
32

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 25
  2. Negative: 11 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Scott Brown
    42
    At bottom, there's just too much spy in young Cody, and too little kid. The writers might've taken (another) page from the ''Spy Kids'' playbook and infused the action with youth relevance.
  2. Given the great premise and characters inherited from the first film, it's surprising that this sequel fails to match its predecessor's appeal. The humor is silly, broad, and surprisingly generic.
  3. 40
    Muniz has a great face and body for physical comedy, but the numerous one-liners shoehorned into the script fall flat, unassisted by Anderson's numbing “street” ad-libs.