Alan Partridge

Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Tom Huddleston
    Aug 8, 2013
    60
    The film has plenty to recommend it, thanks to a string of memorable one-liners and Coogan’s unmatched knack for skin-crawling physical comedy. But this is a long way from the back-of-the-net strike it should have been.
  2. Reviewed by: Robbie Collin
    Jul 25, 2013
    60
    Alpha Papa’s biggest laughs explode from moments of pure inconsequence.
  3. Reviewed by: Marc Mohan
    May 1, 2014
    50
    Partridge is a smidgen less abhorrent here than in previous incarnations, but just a smidgen.
  4. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Apr 17, 2014
    50
    Partridge is such a fatuous, superficial figure that the trick is to make him palatable enough to sustain interest for more than an hour. The filmmakers meet with uneven success.
  5. 50
    Alan Partridge awkwardly tries to wed the episodic spirit of the character with the feature-length demands of a theatrical experience. The result is a mess, but it’s got some choice bits. Even if you forget the film itself, you might find yourself quoting parts of it for years.
  6. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Apr 2, 2014
    50
    Steve Coogan’s Alan Partridge character — a craven, narcissistic, provincial TV and radio host who has been amusing the Brits for more than 20 years — proves too much of a sketch-comedy creation to sustain a film.
  7. Reviewed by: Drew Taylor
    Sep 30, 2013
    50
    The pleasure and the pain are all up there on the screen; we just wish it was less painful to watch.
  8. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Sep 28, 2013
    50
    Director Declan Lowney's film operates from a conceit that affords only minor opportunities for true hilarity.
User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Apr 4, 2014
    8
    Being a huge fan of both Knowing me, knowing you and I'm Alan Partridge I went in with pretty high expectations and I must admit it prettyBeing a huge fan of both Knowing me, knowing you and I'm Alan Partridge I went in with pretty high expectations and I must admit it pretty much met most of my expectations. Great comedic acting (especially Steve Coogan as Partridge) great comedic scenes and an overall sense of humor and effort put into the film. A must see for Partridge fans. Full Review »
  2. May 31, 2015
    8
    I'm an enormous far of the tv series and think they have excellently adapted the hilarious tv character over to he big screen. Obviously it'sI'm an enormous far of the tv series and think they have excellently adapted the hilarious tv character over to he big screen. Obviously it's a movie which means some sort of pacing has to take place and it cannot be constant laughs like the tv show, but the laughs it does deliver (which are still very frequent) are as high quality as to what we've come to expect from the tv series. Obviously some people may not find this type pf humour as funny as it's mainly character based humour and good plain british humour, so it may be a hit or miss for some people. The film does not cash out and become over commercialised or americanised like how some tv series turn to after gaining a bigger budget for a film. I found it a hilarious ride and would recommend to a lot of people. Full Review »
  3. May 17, 2014
    9
    Ok, I'm an unabashed fan of Steve Coogan and Alan Partridge, but I'm trying to judge this movie on its own merits -- and it's simplyOk, I'm an unabashed fan of Steve Coogan and Alan Partridge, but I'm trying to judge this movie on its own merits -- and it's simply fantastic. The beauty of Partridge is that he has always felt like a fully-rounded character, which is a credit to Coogan. Ricky Gervais is often hailed as a genius for his creation and portrayal of David Brent, but Steve Coogan got there first. One cringes when Partridge opens his mouth, and yet we can't help but feel a touch of empathy for the man. It's a fine line, but Coogan walks it masterfully. I showed this film to a room full of cinephiles who, combined, have seen just about everything under the sun -- they laughed themselves stupid. At the end of the day it works because it's beautifully written, the lead actor is something of a comedic genius, and he's surrounded himself with a great supporting cast. Full Review »