Alex Cross

User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 68 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 68
  2. Negative: 24 out of 68

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Mar 7, 2013
    0
    This one is bad. Don't think it has the class of the Morgan Freeman movies. Don't watch it. I rented it on Amazon and it was one of a handful of films that made me regret renting it within 5 minutes. It is shallow, cliche, pretentious. I had never seen Tyler Perry before and based on the trailers was willing to give this a chance. I regret that choice.
  2. Oct 22, 2012
    0
    Alex Cross film begins as a thriller normal but after 30 minutes of footage, it becomes tedious, heavy, sappy and predictable.

    Tyler Perry can not act in this film and it shows in all its glory.
    I can only say that this movie is a complete waste of time, just like a movie that aims or so I think that is a parody of Scary Movie.
  3. Dec 13, 2012
    3
    Poorly acted, lazily written, and not really directed at all, Alex Cross is the most clichéd action movie of the year.
  4. Oct 21, 2012
    3
    Here's my clear message to Tyler Perry:

    No disrespect Tyler Perry, but I really like you in the Madea or non-Madea movies (except Good Deeds). But rebooting Morgan Freeman's Alex Cross character may be as boring as Atlas Strugged Part 2. Both Alex Cross movies like Kiss the Girls and Along Came a Spider were two of my favorite movies from best-selling author James Patterson. It's
    Here's my clear message to Tyler Perry:

    No disrespect Tyler Perry, but I really like you in the Madea or non-Madea movies (except Good Deeds). But rebooting Morgan Freeman's Alex Cross character may be as boring as Atlas Strugged Part 2.

    Both Alex Cross movies like Kiss the Girls and Along Came a Spider were two of my favorite movies from best-selling author James Patterson. It's 2012, so after an 11-year stint, how come Tyler Perry made a choice to replace Morgan Freeman's character? Look just like Taylor Kirsch and Colin Farrell, Tyler Perry is not an action star. Eventually, his cameo appearance in Star Trek may look like Levar Burton from Star Trek: TNG. Anyway, there's no way I'm gonna see Alex Cross. It's really half-mediocre and half-Madea.
    Expand
  5. Oct 22, 2012
    3
    A strong candidate for dumbest film of the year ,And the year 2013 the dumbest film is gonna be the 4th movie of Carrie 2013 it's gonna be the same as Carrie 2002. http://www.facebook.com/ElvisPresleySonElvisAaronPresleyJr
  6. Oct 19, 2012
    0
    There's really just one thing to say: Tyler Perry, you sir are no Morgan Freeman. I really hope this doesn't become a franchise, or if it has to, that they hire some real writers to sculpt an actual suspense movie and not some summarized, cliched version of its better predecessors. How this borderline tortureporn got a PG-13 rating is beyond me. I felt bad for the talented actors whoThere's really just one thing to say: Tyler Perry, you sir are no Morgan Freeman. I really hope this doesn't become a franchise, or if it has to, that they hire some real writers to sculpt an actual suspense movie and not some summarized, cliched version of its better predecessors. How this borderline tortureporn got a PG-13 rating is beyond me. I felt bad for the talented actors who had to say those lines. I look forward to seeing them in better projects in the future. Expand
  7. Oct 19, 2012
    2
    Alex Cross is one of the worst movies of this year. The trama it's a good idea, but the development is really awful, the performances are terrible, the screenplay is horrible. All the movie is a big disaster. Alex Cross is really boring
  8. Oct 19, 2012
    2
    This movie is a complete waste of your time, don't even bother watching it. The only decent part of this movie was the action sequences. But movies aren't all supposed to be about action, are they?
Metascore
30

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 34
  2. Negative: 17 out of 34
  1. Reviewed by: Ken McIntyre
    Nov 25, 2012
    40
    Miscast and underwritten, Alex Cross does not reinvent Tyler Perry, or James Patterson's character, or anything, really. The only appeal here is the sick kick of watching a franchise blow itself to bloody stumps.
  2. Arizona Republic
    Reviewed by: Randy Cordova
    Oct 23, 2012
    40
    Picture Alan Alda in the title role of "Dirty Harry," and you have a good idea why Tyler Perry playing a hard-edged cop in "Alex Cross" doesn't work. [19 Oct 2012]
  3. Reviewed by: Eric Hynes
    Oct 20, 2012
    30
    There's not a moment in Alex Cross that doesn't function splendidly as comedy. Which means that for all his cool-cat preening and heroic soul-searching, Tyler Perry must have felt right at home.