User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 64 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 64
  2. Negative: 24 out of 64

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 21, 2012
    9
    I do not know what those people are talking about or what movie they had watched, but Alex Cross was not the worst movie of this year. You didn't like the movie Alex Cross which was a really good thrill ride, but you like the movie that's my boy, oh how mind boggling. Argo didn't seem all that good, besides it was on the news 30 years ago. All you have to do is read a 30 year old newspaper about the story, hello!Those people do not know a really good movie if it fall right out of their ass wholes. This movie was very exciting and very thrilling. It is most certainly different from watching the same damn movie over and over. They make the same movie over and over and many people get sick and tire of seeing it. Paranormal activity is about the same as those other scary movies. About a hunted house and spooky ghost and scary monsters and people being hacked up to death and blood and body parts falling off. Alex Cross was a very thrill ride and very exciting movie. I think it was very exciting just like the book series. I really don't know what those people are talking about, because they weren't watching the same movie as I. I am so confused? Expand
  2. Oct 21, 2012
    3
    Here's my clear message to Tyler Perry:

    No disrespect Tyler Perry, but I really like you in the Madea or non-Madea movies (except Good Deeds). But rebooting Morgan Freeman's Alex Cross character may be as boring as Atlas Strugged Part 2.

    Both Alex Cross movies like Kiss the Girls and Along Came a Spider were two of my favorite movies from best-selling author James Patterson. It's
    2012, so after an 11-year stint, how come Tyler Perry made a choice to replace Morgan Freeman's character? Look just like Taylor Kirsch and Colin Farrell, Tyler Perry is not an action star. Eventually, his cameo appearance in Star Trek may look like Levar Burton from Star Trek: TNG. Anyway, there's no way I'm gonna see Alex Cross. It's really half-mediocre and half-Madea. Expand
  3. Dec 2, 2012
    7
    I really don't see why this film gets such a low score it's not that bad granted it wont win any awards but it's just as enjoyable as any other film in it's kind so in my view it's worth a watch.
  4. Oct 22, 2012
    5
    In a departure from his previous efforts, Tyler Perry tries his hand as an action star in "Alex Cross" with mixed results. Playing the title role, Perry gives a credible if unremarkable performance. Just like his previous performances in his own films in non-Medea roles, his acting lacks range, subtlety or depth. Rather than create a nuanced performance Perry indicates his character's emotional state through obvious gestures such as nose flaring and tearing of the eyes. On the story front, "Alex Cross" is a generic buddy cop film with Edward Burns as his partner. As typical of buddy cop films they are an exercise in contrasts. Perry is the sensitive family man that's not afraid of showing his emotional side while Burns is the macho ladies man. Much of their exchanges involve banter along predictable lines. Perhaps the best thing about the movie is Matthew Fox as the main villain. A complete sociopath, his character is the perfect antagonist for the emotional Perry. For fans of action films, Perry's Cross might be a little too much in touch with his feminine side. Also, Perry, while a big guy, lacks the athleticism to make his more physical scenes interesting. This is the most evident in a climatic fight scene. It is shot in a very stylized way as if to hide Perry's lack of brawling skills.

    With the exception of one particularly gruesome torture scene, the PG-13 rated "Alex Cross" is pretty tame for an action film. Tyler Perry fans aside, "Alex Cross" is best for video and only after other choices have been exhausted.
    Collapse
  5. Mar 7, 2013
    0
    This one is bad. Don't think it has the class of the Morgan Freeman movies. Don't watch it. I rented it on Amazon and it was one of a handful of films that made me regret renting it within 5 minutes. It is shallow, cliche, pretentious. I had never seen Tyler Perry before and based on the trailers was willing to give this a chance. I regret that choice.
  6. Oct 22, 2012
    0
    Alex Cross film begins as a thriller normal but after 30 minutes of footage, it becomes tedious, heavy, sappy and predictable.

    Tyler Perry can not act in this film and it shows in all its glory.
    I can only say that this movie is a complete waste of time, just like a movie that aims or so I think that is a parody of Scary Movie.
  7. Dec 13, 2012
    3
    Poorly acted, lazily written, and not really directed at all, Alex Cross is the most clichéd action movie of the year.
  8. Jun 4, 2013
    6
    "As a devoted fan of the beloved book series by James Patterson. Alex Cross came as no surpise that it was actually somewhat thrilling. Tyler Perry was a little cheesy at times while Matthew Fox gives one of his best on screen performances of his career." B-
  9. Oct 19, 2012
    0
    There's really just one thing to say: Tyler Perry, you sir are no Morgan Freeman. I really hope this doesn't become a franchise, or if it has to, that they hire some real writers to sculpt an actual suspense movie and not some summarized, cliched version of its better predecessors. How this borderline tortureporn got a PG-13 rating is beyond me. I felt bad for the talented actors who had to say those lines. I look forward to seeing them in better projects in the future. Expand
  10. Mar 13, 2013
    4
    I've never read any of the Alex Cross novels by James Patterson but if they're anything like this movie, they're not worth the time. Tyler Perry is a decent enough actor but I just couldn't buy him as Alex Cross. The rest of the cast was pretty mediocre in terms of acting ability. Matthew Fox played a believable sociopath but he was about the only plus character in the film. There were also far too many plot holes for the story to be interesting or believable. A movie that could've been emotional, dramatic, intense, and intriguing was none of the above. I also thought some of the cinematic effects were below par. Overall this was just a disappointing movie in general. Expand
  11. Oct 19, 2012
    2
    Alex Cross is one of the worst movies of this year. The trama it's a good idea, but the development is really awful, the performances are terrible, the screenplay is horrible. All the movie is a big disaster. Alex Cross is really boring
  12. Oct 26, 2012
    10
    one of the most EPIC films of the year thus far, i was skeptical at first, but perry is amazing as the new alex cross, it's reasonably well written, and incredibly fast-paced
  13. Oct 19, 2012
    4
    For the first time Tyler Perry doesn
  14. Oct 26, 2012
    10
    great action-thriller from rob cohen, one of the best guys in the action genre working today, the action is believable, entertaining, the characters are mostly decent, and the plot is rather cleverly done.
  15. Oct 24, 2012
    10
    Slam-bang, high quality entertainment, as far as action films go, this is pretty damn epic, ignore all the critics, most of which like horsesh*t like the blair witch project, this is a hell of a good time.
  16. Oct 19, 2012
    2
    This movie is a complete waste of your time, don't even bother watching it. The only decent part of this movie was the action sequences. But movies aren't all supposed to be about action, are they?
  17. Oct 20, 2012
    7
    A decent, entertaining action flick, but it isn't overly well written, which sucks, if they ever have a second chance with tyler perry, they could do much better.
  18. Oct 21, 2012
    4
    Alright, so... Alex Cross. Actually there is not much to say about this movie. There are a lot of pointless scenes, stupid dialogue and mistakes in this movie. Alex Cross is basically a detective story about talented detective who is trying to catch a murderer. That all. You wont be invested in this movie. Every few minutes I was looking at my clocks, painfully waiting for this film to end. And all this boring scenes, they go on, and on, and on. Well, it's not the worst film of 2012, at least I don't think so - I haven't seen a lot of other movies. I don't expect much from Paranormal Activity, but the point is - Alex Cross is not good. It's not the worst movie you will ever see. It's simply below average. Expand
  19. Oct 22, 2012
    3
    A strong candidate for dumbest film of the year ,And the year 2013 the dumbest film is gonna be the 4th movie of Carrie 2013 it's gonna be the same as Carrie 2002. http://www.facebook.com/ElvisPresleySonElvisAaronPresleyJr
  20. Nov 17, 2012
    4
    Tyler Perry should stick to directing rather than bieng in action films. Based on the book series gave Tyler Perry the worst opening week as an actor.
  21. Nov 3, 2012
    8
    I love Madea and there were a few times I thought I heard Madea's voice come through Alex Cross. :) Aside from that, Tyler's role was decent and a bit surprising. I did not expect him to do as well and was pleased to see how much I enjoyed the film. I would invest in seeing a series.
  22. Dec 18, 2012
    10
    Alex Cross was a very good movie. I think Tyler Perry was very good in it. He"s no Morgan Freeman,but he was good. I wonder why most of the movies with Black Stars gets Bad Ratings and movie like"Thats My Boy" which was Bad, gets good rating.....Crazy....Soooo....To Tyler Perry, Keep Up the Good Work!!
  23. Feb 23, 2013
    4
    Mathew Fox is the only reason I kept watching. He is the one bright spot in this cheesy acted, character undeveloped, predictable film. Far from the "Kiss The Girls" Dr. Cross!!
  24. Jul 25, 2013
    10
    Alex Cross was a surprisingly good movie! I've never read the original books, so, I cannot make a comparison, but, this was a very nice movie compared to some of the unoriginal stuff that they put out these days. I found it strange to see a mainly-comedy actor play a serious role, but, he actually fit it nicely.
  25. Apr 11, 2014
    6
    What a good tyler perry movie . the bad part is this . Perry's comedies are just way too stupid and he always takes stupid comedy roles . finally Perry step up his game and choose a good role . Alex Cross movie is a great mystery movie . thats why i gave this movie 6/10 . Grade B-
Metascore
30

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 34
  2. Negative: 17 out of 34
  1. Reviewed by: Ken McIntyre
    Nov 25, 2012
    40
    Miscast and underwritten, Alex Cross does not reinvent Tyler Perry, or James Patterson's character, or anything, really. The only appeal here is the sick kick of watching a franchise blow itself to bloody stumps.
  2. Reviewed by: Randy Cordova
    Oct 23, 2012
    40
    Picture Alan Alda in the title role of "Dirty Harry," and you have a good idea why Tyler Perry playing a hard-edged cop in "Alex Cross" doesn't work. [19 Oct 2012]
  3. Reviewed by: Eric Hynes
    Oct 20, 2012
    30
    There's not a moment in Alex Cross that doesn't function splendidly as comedy. Which means that for all his cool-cat preening and heroic soul-searching, Tyler Perry must have felt right at home.