Summit Entertainment | Release Date: October 19, 2012
5.0
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 68 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
20
Mixed:
24
Negative:
24
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
scoleyDec 2, 2012
I really don't see why this film gets such a low score it's not that bad granted it wont win any awards but it's just as enjoyable as any other film in it's kind so in my view it's worth a watch.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
IndiefilmloverOct 22, 2012
In a departure from his previous efforts, Tyler Perry tries his hand as an action star in "Alex Cross" with mixed results. Playing the title role, Perry gives a credible if unremarkable performance. Just like his previous performances in hisIn a departure from his previous efforts, Tyler Perry tries his hand as an action star in "Alex Cross" with mixed results. Playing the title role, Perry gives a credible if unremarkable performance. Just like his previous performances in his own films in non-Medea roles, his acting lacks range, subtlety or depth. Rather than create a nuanced performance Perry indicates his character's emotional state through obvious gestures such as nose flaring and tearing of the eyes. On the story front, "Alex Cross" is a generic buddy cop film with Edward Burns as his partner. As typical of buddy cop films they are an exercise in contrasts. Perry is the sensitive family man that's not afraid of showing his emotional side while Burns is the macho ladies man. Much of their exchanges involve banter along predictable lines. Perhaps the best thing about the movie is Matthew Fox as the main villain. A complete sociopath, his character is the perfect antagonist for the emotional Perry. For fans of action films, Perry's Cross might be a little too much in touch with his feminine side. Also, Perry, while a big guy, lacks the athleticism to make his more physical scenes interesting. This is the most evident in a climatic fight scene. It is shot in a very stylized way as if to hide Perry's lack of brawling skills.

With the exception of one particularly gruesome torture scene, the PG-13 rated "Alex Cross" is pretty tame for an action film. Tyler Perry fans aside, "Alex Cross" is best for video and only after other choices have been exhausted.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
Jraptor59Mar 7, 2013
This one is bad. Don't think it has the class of the Morgan Freeman movies. Don't watch it. I rented it on Amazon and it was one of a handful of films that made me regret renting it within 5 minutes. It is shallow, cliche, pretentious. I hadThis one is bad. Don't think it has the class of the Morgan Freeman movies. Don't watch it. I rented it on Amazon and it was one of a handful of films that made me regret renting it within 5 minutes. It is shallow, cliche, pretentious. I had never seen Tyler Perry before and based on the trailers was willing to give this a chance. I regret that choice. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
FilmBoyZOct 22, 2012
Alex Cross film begins as a thriller normal but after 30 minutes of footage, it becomes tedious, heavy, sappy and predictable.

Tyler Perry can not act in this film and it shows in all its glory. I can only say that this movie is a
Alex Cross film begins as a thriller normal but after 30 minutes of footage, it becomes tedious, heavy, sappy and predictable.

Tyler Perry can not act in this film and it shows in all its glory.
I can only say that this movie is a complete waste of time, just like a movie that aims or so I think that is a parody of Scary Movie.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
cameronmorewoodDec 13, 2012
Poorly acted, lazily written, and not really directed at all, Alex Cross is the most clichéd action movie of the year.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
LynetteOct 21, 2012
I do not know what those people are talking about or what movie they had watched, but Alex Cross was not the worst movie of this year. You didn't like the movie Alex Cross which was a really good thrill ride, but you like the movie that's myI do not know what those people are talking about or what movie they had watched, but Alex Cross was not the worst movie of this year. You didn't like the movie Alex Cross which was a really good thrill ride, but you like the movie that's my boy, oh how mind boggling. Argo didn't seem all that good, besides it was on the news 30 years ago. All you have to do is read a 30 year old newspaper about the story, hello!Those people do not know a really good movie if it fall right out of their ass wholes. This movie was very exciting and very thrilling. It is most certainly different from watching the same damn movie over and over. They make the same movie over and over and many people get sick and tire of seeing it. Paranormal activity is about the same as those other scary movies. About a hunted house and spooky ghost and scary monsters and people being hacked up to death and blood and body parts falling off. Alex Cross was a very thrill ride and very exciting movie. I think it was very exciting just like the book series. I really don't know what those people are talking about, because they weren't watching the same movie as I. I am so confused? Expand
4 of 10 users found this helpful46
All this user's reviews
3
KadeemluvmusicOct 21, 2012
Here's my clear message to Tyler Perry:

No disrespect Tyler Perry, but I really like you in the Madea or non-Madea movies (except Good Deeds). But rebooting Morgan Freeman's Alex Cross character may be as boring as Atlas Strugged Part 2.
Here's my clear message to Tyler Perry:

No disrespect Tyler Perry, but I really like you in the Madea or non-Madea movies (except Good Deeds). But rebooting Morgan Freeman's Alex Cross character may be as boring as Atlas Strugged Part 2.

Both Alex Cross movies like Kiss the Girls and Along Came a Spider were two of my favorite movies from best-selling author James Patterson. It's 2012, so after an 11-year stint, how come Tyler Perry made a choice to replace Morgan Freeman's character? Look just like Taylor Kirsch and Colin Farrell, Tyler Perry is not an action star. Eventually, his cameo appearance in Star Trek may look like Levar Burton from Star Trek: TNG. Anyway, there's no way I'm gonna see Alex Cross. It's really half-mediocre and half-Madea.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
4
GreatMartinOct 19, 2012
For the first time Tyler Perry doesn
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
3
DollisOct 22, 2012
A strong candidate for dumbest film of the year ,And the year 2013 the dumbest film is gonna be the 4th movie of Carrie 2013 it's gonna be the same as Carrie 2002. http://www.facebook.com/ElvisPresleySonElvisAaronPresleyJr
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
6
lukechristianscApr 11, 2014
What a good tyler perry movie . the bad part is this . Perry's comedies are just way too stupid and he always takes stupid comedy roles . finally Perry step up his game and choose a good role . Alex Cross movie is a great mystery movie .What a good tyler perry movie . the bad part is this . Perry's comedies are just way too stupid and he always takes stupid comedy roles . finally Perry step up his game and choose a good role . Alex Cross movie is a great mystery movie . thats why i gave this movie 6/10 . Grade B- Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
Forrestgump1Jun 4, 2013
"As a devoted fan of the beloved book series by James Patterson. Alex Cross came as no surpise that it was actually somewhat thrilling. Tyler Perry was a little cheesy at times while Matthew Fox gives one of his best on screen performances of"As a devoted fan of the beloved book series by James Patterson. Alex Cross came as no surpise that it was actually somewhat thrilling. Tyler Perry was a little cheesy at times while Matthew Fox gives one of his best on screen performances of his career." B- Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
SusanSOct 19, 2012
There's really just one thing to say: Tyler Perry, you sir are no Morgan Freeman. I really hope this doesn't become a franchise, or if it has to, that they hire some real writers to sculpt an actual suspense movie and not some summarized,There's really just one thing to say: Tyler Perry, you sir are no Morgan Freeman. I really hope this doesn't become a franchise, or if it has to, that they hire some real writers to sculpt an actual suspense movie and not some summarized, cliched version of its better predecessors. How this borderline tortureporn got a PG-13 rating is beyond me. I felt bad for the talented actors who had to say those lines. I look forward to seeing them in better projects in the future. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
Bruce722Mar 13, 2013
I've never read any of the Alex Cross novels by James Patterson but if they're anything like this movie, they're not worth the time. Tyler Perry is a decent enough actor but I just couldn't buy him as Alex Cross. The rest of the cast wasI've never read any of the Alex Cross novels by James Patterson but if they're anything like this movie, they're not worth the time. Tyler Perry is a decent enough actor but I just couldn't buy him as Alex Cross. The rest of the cast was pretty mediocre in terms of acting ability. Matthew Fox played a believable sociopath but he was about the only plus character in the film. There were also far too many plot holes for the story to be interesting or believable. A movie that could've been emotional, dramatic, intense, and intriguing was none of the above. I also thought some of the cinematic effects were below par. Overall this was just a disappointing movie in general. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Tss5078Feb 9, 2015
As a long time fan of James Patterson's Alex Cross novels, I thought Morgan Freeman was the perfect choice to play Cross, and I loved Kiss The Girls. I was weary of a remake, especially one done by Tyler Perry, but to my surprise he was muchAs a long time fan of James Patterson's Alex Cross novels, I thought Morgan Freeman was the perfect choice to play Cross, and I loved Kiss The Girls. I was weary of a remake, especially one done by Tyler Perry, but to my surprise he was much better than expected, unfortunately, the film was not. Alex Cross has always been about beating criminals with his mind. The forensic psychologist is best known for his ability to out think rather than over power his opponents, but you'd never know it by watching this film. Alex Cross and his team are called in on a triple homicide, but the suspect had more on his mind then just his targets, and sets his sights on Cross and the team. There is a heavy focus right from the beginning on the bad guy, who we immediately see is Matthew Fox. To me this took all the mystery right out of the story, and instead of being a who done it, the film was about how to catch the bad guy. The writers didn't do that right either, as Alex Cross is blinded by rage and goes out guns blazing to fight and kill the assailant. While this may make for an exciting action film, it's not who or what Alex Cross is all about, and despite all the novels I've read, I felt like I didn't know the characters at all. Tyler Perry stars as Cross and shows that he's more than just a comedian dressed as an old woman. Perry was very intense and likeable, under different circumstances I would have really enjoyed his performance, but again, he wasn't playing the Alex Cross I know. He's paired with Lost's Matthew Fox, who has played the bad guy before. I love Fox as an actor, but he just doesn't have the look or temperament of a killer and wasn't very believable here. Alex Cross is one of my all time favorite characters, and the first time they put him on film, they did it right. The second time, wasn't one of Patterson's better stories, but still very well done. This time, Alex Cross has turned into John McLean, and while some people will love it, to me it just emphasized everything that is wrong with Hollywood today. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
MegWhiteleyOct 19, 2012
Alex Cross is one of the worst movies of this year. The trama it's a good idea, but the development is really awful, the performances are terrible, the screenplay is horrible. All the movie is a big disaster. Alex Cross is really boring
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DJohnsonOct 26, 2012
one of the most EPIC films of the year thus far, i was skeptical at first, but perry is amazing as the new alex cross, it's reasonably well written, and incredibly fast-paced
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
mcmanusthebraveOct 26, 2012
great action-thriller from rob cohen, one of the best guys in the action genre working today, the action is believable, entertaining, the characters are mostly decent, and the plot is rather cleverly done.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
alliedcolaOct 24, 2012
Slam-bang, high quality entertainment, as far as action films go, this is pretty damn epic, ignore all the critics, most of which like horsesh*t like the blair witch project, this is a hell of a good time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
bethegameOct 19, 2012
This movie is a complete waste of your time, don't even bother watching it. The only decent part of this movie was the action sequences. But movies aren't all supposed to be about action, are they?
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
extrafizzOct 20, 2012
A decent, entertaining action flick, but it isn't overly well written, which sucks, if they ever have a second chance with tyler perry, they could do much better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
PalenoireOct 21, 2012
Alright, so... Alex Cross. Actually there is not much to say about this movie. There are a lot of pointless scenes, stupid dialogue and mistakes in this movie. Alex Cross is basically a detective story about talented detective who is tryingAlright, so... Alex Cross. Actually there is not much to say about this movie. There are a lot of pointless scenes, stupid dialogue and mistakes in this movie. Alex Cross is basically a detective story about talented detective who is trying to catch a murderer. That all. You wont be invested in this movie. Every few minutes I was looking at my clocks, painfully waiting for this film to end. And all this boring scenes, they go on, and on, and on. Well, it's not the worst film of 2012, at least I don't think so - I haven't seen a lot of other movies. I don't expect much from Paranormal Activity, but the point is - Alex Cross is not good. It's not the worst movie you will ever see. It's simply below average. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
dante_finnNov 17, 2012
Tyler Perry should stick to directing rather than bieng in action films. Based on the book series gave Tyler Perry the worst opening week as an actor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MicquezNov 3, 2012
I love Madea and there were a few times I thought I heard Madea's voice come through Alex Cross. :) Aside from that, Tyler's role was decent and a bit surprising. I did not expect him to do as well and was pleased to see how much I enjoyedI love Madea and there were a few times I thought I heard Madea's voice come through Alex Cross. :) Aside from that, Tyler's role was decent and a bit surprising. I did not expect him to do as well and was pleased to see how much I enjoyed the film. I would invest in seeing a series. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DIAMONDGOLDDec 18, 2012
Alex Cross was a very good movie. I think Tyler Perry was very good in it. He"s no Morgan Freeman,but he was good. I wonder why most of the movies with Black Stars gets Bad Ratings and movie like"Thats My Boy" which was Bad, gets goodAlex Cross was a very good movie. I think Tyler Perry was very good in it. He"s no Morgan Freeman,but he was good. I wonder why most of the movies with Black Stars gets Bad Ratings and movie like"Thats My Boy" which was Bad, gets good rating.....Crazy....Soooo....To Tyler Perry, Keep Up the Good Work!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
Gatsby007Feb 23, 2013
Mathew Fox is the only reason I kept watching. He is the one bright spot in this cheesy acted, character undeveloped, predictable film. Far from the "Kiss The Girls" Dr. Cross!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ItsRaininMenJul 25, 2013
Alex Cross was a surprisingly good movie! I've never read the original books, so, I cannot make a comparison, but, this was a very nice movie compared to some of the unoriginal stuff that they put out these days. I found it strange to see aAlex Cross was a surprisingly good movie! I've never read the original books, so, I cannot make a comparison, but, this was a very nice movie compared to some of the unoriginal stuff that they put out these days. I found it strange to see a mainly-comedy actor play a serious role, but, he actually fit it nicely. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
SolInvictaJun 6, 2015
Convincing performances by both Tyler Perry and Matthew Fox prevent this otherwise generic action thriller from being a total bomb. If nothing else, Alex Cross served as a vehicle for Perry to prove his dramatic acting chops.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
audreythomas25Jan 19, 2016
Just an average action thriller movie. See for yourself and give your own judgement.

Check out this movie here http://www.watchfree.to/watch-29be04-Alex-Cross-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews