User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 672 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jun 10, 2013
    3
    All style very little substance. Tim Burton has a tendency to do this, the visuals look amazing, but unfortunately the story lacks entertainment. Plus as good as Johnny Depp is he's just kind of annoying here.
  2. VinceM.
    Mar 5, 2010
    3
    Wow...extremely disappointed...and the 3D seemed a little off but i dont consider that part of the movie....watch it anyway though. worth watching i guess.
  3. JustinR.
    Mar 5, 2010
    1
    Wow, getting really creative now aren't we Mr. Burton? Every movie you make is 90% finished before you even start, because you basically use the same people, same music, same sets, same everything, then pour 10% of the actual story in. Everything he touches turns to shit. Poor Alice, poor Mr. Carroll, and poor anyone who sees this steaming pile.
  4. LouisR
    May 15, 2010
    3
    If it hadn't been an adaptation I might have enjoyed it but instead we have Lewis Carrol's brilliant nonsense literature turned into just another Narnia rip off. It does have some good Burton moments and Johnny Depp is amazing in it.
  5. Mar 26, 2011
    3
    Another classic story that Tim Burton messes up by making it dark, don't get me wrong I've always wanted to see the story of Alice in Wonderland in a more mature setting about her sanity slipping, but it doesn't do that it just tries to make it an action movie with a darker tone, but fails because it doesn't make any sense, the reason I didn't enjoy it is because they have the setting, butAnother classic story that Tim Burton messes up by making it dark, don't get me wrong I've always wanted to see the story of Alice in Wonderland in a more mature setting about her sanity slipping, but it doesn't do that it just tries to make it an action movie with a darker tone, but fails because it doesn't make any sense, the reason I didn't enjoy it is because they have the setting, but they don't have the all characters as they should, I only like one character and that was not enough to save the movie from failure. Expand
  6. May 19, 2016
    0
    Stop ruining Disney classics already and stop using Depp in everything. What is the obsession with the guy? Sure he was great in Pirates of the Caribbean but Mad Hatter? Give us a break. Should never have been made into a live action movie. Actually, Terry Gilliam should have been the one to have done it. Tim Burton just doesn't have it anymore in my opinion.
  7. Aug 28, 2014
    2
    A wreck that both Disney and Burton should be ashamed of. To take a literary classic and attempt to create an unnecessary new eerier world out of Wonderland is abysmal.
  8. Sep 29, 2012
    2
    Terrible! Awful! Hideous! Johnny Depp ruined his career for starring as the Mad Hatter! The plot from the 1951 animated version (the one we all know and love) was massacred! And Alice wasn't even listed as the main character! For some reason, the Mad Hatter was. It's ALICE'S adventure in Wonderland! Not his! This is truly a disgrace to the "Wonderland series".
  9. Fred
    Mar 5, 2010
    0
    Would someone tell Tim Burton this story is based on a book! I do not expect a movie to be 100% loyal to the book, but he just threw it out the window! What a waste of a great actor.
  10. Oct 31, 2010
    0
    The WORST movie of 2010. Its a horrible sequel to a so-so movie. CGI is bad, 3D was atrocious, i was bored and I was just sitting there waiting for it to end.
  11. DanielleB.
    Apr 5, 2010
    3
    this movie was just so boring!!! the story, the characters , a total waste of my money!!! the "3D" is just added there to make more money because people expect it to be amazing but it was not!!!! i really regret seeing this!!
  12. Dec 19, 2010
    1
    Just one word: Boring. It is just so boring and it isn't good in any sense, not the characters not the story, nothing. Apparently Burton was just given a bunch of money and decided not to focus on the story or the characters or giving an inventive view on the wonderful book this movie is based on, and just spent it on the special effects which are just ok. Terrible movie can't believeJust one word: Boring. It is just so boring and it isn't good in any sense, not the characters not the story, nothing. Apparently Burton was just given a bunch of money and decided not to focus on the story or the characters or giving an inventive view on the wonderful book this movie is based on, and just spent it on the special effects which are just ok. Terrible movie can't believe it's nominated for a golden globe. Collapse
  13. JoseR
    Jun 3, 2010
    3
    This really doesn't deserve to be called Alice in Wonderland.
  14. Paul
    Mar 5, 2010
    2
    Few moments and nice visuals, but slow and not all the great for me. The movie lost the charm of the non-sensical nature of the book.
  15. JohnnyB
    Apr 5, 2010
    3
    No disrespect to Tim Burton or Johnny Depp coz I love them but honestly... if you watch the movie up to the part where they first show you that scroll/calendar thing (in the first 20 minutes of the movie) then you will now know the rest of the movie. The ending was dissapointing. As one of the critics said and he was completely correct, "The biggest suprise about Alice in Wonderland was No disrespect to Tim Burton or Johnny Depp coz I love them but honestly... if you watch the movie up to the part where they first show you that scroll/calendar thing (in the first 20 minutes of the movie) then you will now know the rest of the movie. The ending was dissapointing. As one of the critics said and he was completely correct, "The biggest suprise about Alice in Wonderland was the lack of suprise". Expand
  16. TimothyV.
    Jun 2, 2010
    2
    Ugh. I ended up taking a phone call halfway through and used the film as a visual backdrop for my phone conversation with the volume down because I could not care less what the end result ended up being. What a snooze fest. Don't Tim, Helena and Johnny ever get sick of one another because I'm sick of watching them play out the same characters over and over in film after film.
  17. JaperH
    Mar 18, 2010
    0
    Terrible just ruined a classic. Hollywood need to learn to leave good movies alone.
  18. YasminB
    Mar 19, 2010
    0
    Awful. Just awful. I sincerely wish Tim Burton and Johnny Depp would stop sacking and burning so many of my childhood memories.
  19. Brett
    Mar 5, 2010
    1
    Its like a bad acid trip. 3D is just another gimmick to increase ticket prices. I simply cannot recommend this to anybody. Mad Hatter is like Carrot Top from hell. Looks like a clown, and the whole world feels animated and fake to an extent thats unbearable. I like Deep, but I think its time he starts to turn down Burtons films... its getting old.
  20. TomJ.
    Mar 5, 2010
    1
    Just came out of the theater. It was not good. It was cheap looking and the acting was so below average. Johnny Depp is a joke now. This movie was just a marketing/advertising frenzy. Blaaaaah.
  21. JonR.
    Mar 6, 2010
    0
    What was this movie? It is a mess. The 3D was terrible. The story was incomprehensible.
  22. KenB
    Mar 21, 2010
    0
    Perhaps one of THE worst movies of all time, inasmuch a is based on an extremely important and unique story. A new, predictable plot was invented; characters created alliances, behaviors, and characteristics that had nothing to do with the story. What was the point of the modern dance thing randomly inserted? Why make Alice a young woman? Tim Burton's movies are becoming slickish Perhaps one of THE worst movies of all time, inasmuch a is based on an extremely important and unique story. A new, predictable plot was invented; characters created alliances, behaviors, and characteristics that had nothing to do with the story. What was the point of the modern dance thing randomly inserted? Why make Alice a young woman? Tim Burton's movies are becoming slickish satires of his own style. Expand
  23. Amy
    Mar 5, 2010
    3
    Very very bad casting of Alice, I was disappointed with this film. The 3D was ok and the other characters held up but I didn't believe this Alice at all which screwed the whole thing for me....
  24. MichaelD.
    Mar 5, 2010
    3
    Yet another steaming dump Burton drops on Hollywood. This movie was so unsatisfying, cheesy, and predictable...don't see this movie. Unless you aren't paying for it. None the less you will still regret seeing this movie.
  25. DevonC.
    Mar 6, 2010
    0
    The worst movie ever made. The special effects were terrible. And the presentation of it's style is horribly corny. This has to be Depp's most embarrassing role, as well as Tim Burton's most underachieving film.
  26. DaveH.
    May 22, 2010
    2
    This movie had very impressive visuals, i watched it in 2D but visuals were really good, however, the movie lacks something called life, this movie didn't focus on anything and movies like that usually suck (such as the Dark Knight), and like the Dark Knight, it lacks an emotional feeling or purpose, barely worth watching in DVD or TV.
  27. PeterB
    May 28, 2010
    2
    I can see how this movie may have charmed 7-year-old children across the world. The rest of us ought to be ashamed of such a foolish adaptation of Carroll's work of art. For those of you doting on Depp's performance, I suggest you see Blow, Finding Neverland, or even Edward Scissorhands as you will be in for a treat. Let's just hope that the novelty of 3D movies fades I can see how this movie may have charmed 7-year-old children across the world. The rest of us ought to be ashamed of such a foolish adaptation of Carroll's work of art. For those of you doting on Depp's performance, I suggest you see Blow, Finding Neverland, or even Edward Scissorhands as you will be in for a treat. Let's just hope that the novelty of 3D movies fades quickly so that Hollywood has to return to writing, directing, and acting out quality screenplays. Expand
  28. StevenL
    Jun 7, 2010
    2
    What makes this movie so miserably awful, in addition to its incoherent narrative,l is its contrast with our high expectations for each new Tim Burton film . Yet, this time the commercial demands of keeping up with the Jones', or Cameron's, commercially and technologically, snuffed any chance this chaotic fantasy might have had. One can only hope that Mr. Burton rediscovers his What makes this movie so miserably awful, in addition to its incoherent narrative,l is its contrast with our high expectations for each new Tim Burton film . Yet, this time the commercial demands of keeping up with the Jones', or Cameron's, commercially and technologically, snuffed any chance this chaotic fantasy might have had. One can only hope that Mr. Burton rediscovers his innovative voice and rejoins his deserved place in the pantheon of post modern cinema. Expand
  29. XavierO.
    Mar 14, 2010
    3
    I was very very disappointed. The humor was bland, the whole story seemed rushed, i just did not find the movie to be anything near good. The only plus was the beautiful atmospheres and art, but other than that, i was hoping and waiting the movie would end sooner.
  30. GlennS
    Mar 21, 2010
    1
    Visually Alice in Wonderland a treat but, the story was disappointingly pedestrian, boring, predictable, a story by numbers. Couldn't wait for it to be over. The 3-D added very little to the experience. Johnny Depp's weakest movie in a while.
  31. AndrewW
    May 29, 2010
    0
    Absolutely disappointing. I realize that the original maker of Alice in Wonderland was tripping on LSD and raping a girl named alice, but that doesn't give tim burton the right to ruin a classic movie. There wasn't even a Wonderland. Hello the name of the movie is alice IN WONDERLAND. Instead the movie was like a long acid trip that in the end was just upseting. I wouldn't Absolutely disappointing. I realize that the original maker of Alice in Wonderland was tripping on LSD and raping a girl named alice, but that doesn't give tim burton the right to ruin a classic movie. There wasn't even a Wonderland. Hello the name of the movie is alice IN WONDERLAND. Instead the movie was like a long acid trip that in the end was just upseting. I wouldn't recommend this movie to anyone. If you want to see Alice in Wonderland watch the original. if you are going to remake a movie at least keep the main point of the movie in the new one. for this movie it is Wonderland and Wonderland isn't in the new movie. EPIC F*CKING FAIL TIM BURTON. Expand
  32. RafaelB
    May 31, 2010
    3
    This movie is completely devoid of soul and purpose. When the movie ends you realize just how uninspiring it is, leaving little to no mark on you. It's so standard and expected. You can tell how the story ends from shot 1. I'm afraid this is 100% forgettable movie and you should definitely check out something more worthy of your time.
  33. Aug 19, 2010
    0
    You know why I don't like this movie at all? Just because of those stupid ads they have on the internet! They're annoying(just because I saw them a billion times on the internet)! I'd never watch this at all! EVER!!!
  34. Aug 28, 2010
    0
    Horrifying. It's as if the movie's entire purpose was to reinforce the dominant paradigm rather than deny it, and all the while take deliberate measure to mock the unfortunate. The Red Queen character was the only one that felt remotely human, and she was swiftly disposed of with sadist cruelty. The White Queen, for someone who supposedly was the image of purity, was of a condescending,Horrifying. It's as if the movie's entire purpose was to reinforce the dominant paradigm rather than deny it, and all the while take deliberate measure to mock the unfortunate. The Red Queen character was the only one that felt remotely human, and she was swiftly disposed of with sadist cruelty. The White Queen, for someone who supposedly was the image of purity, was of a condescending, arrogant, and spiteful brand. Alice herself just falls back into others' expectations by slaying the Jabberwocky, which is itself a hardly thoughtful and tedious motion to forge some sort of third act; needless to say, the bit at the end is an offense to the Chinese deserving of harsh reprimand. Expand
  35. Nov 2, 2010
    1
    I remember one year, Target had copies of Santa Clause Conquers The Martians. I bought this, and then proceeded to watch it at my home. I got a few minutes into it before I realized I had seen this movie before. It seems Mystery Science Theater 3 Thousand had already covered this movie. This movie was so bad, it had already gone down in legend. There is not 1 redeeming feature in thatI remember one year, Target had copies of Santa Clause Conquers The Martians. I bought this, and then proceeded to watch it at my home. I got a few minutes into it before I realized I had seen this movie before. It seems Mystery Science Theater 3 Thousand had already covered this movie. This movie was so bad, it had already gone down in legend. There is not 1 redeeming feature in that movie. I enjoyed Manos: Hand of Fate more than Santa Clause Conquers The Martians.


    Alice in Wonderland is the worst movie I have ever seen in my life.
    Expand
  36. Nov 23, 2010
    2
    Movie is just an attractive and appealing picture, unfortunately it contains nothing valuable. One time see movie, will not watch it again. '3D' added just to be. Average
  37. Nov 24, 2010
    2
    C'est une mauvaise adaptation. Un point c'est tout. Les premiers films de Tim Burton restent des chefs-d'oeuvre comparés à cette chose sans forme. Si vous avez adoré Charlie Et La Chocolaterie vous aimerez surement cette version d'Alice. Ce n'est évidemment pas mon cas.
  38. Nov 24, 2010
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Half Of this point goes to johnny depp and the other half point goes to helena bonham carter, no problems with them at all. However having never even read the book, I will say that other than the two aforementioned actors this film was garbage. It had no direction, the main character was left completely undeveloped, the actress playing the main character had no screen presence let alone confidence in her role, there was no sense of tension, I'm pretty sure something called a bandersnatch (which my mother informs me was not ever seen in the book) is not supposed to be and endeared loveable dog thing, it turned into another uneededly epic underdog story at the end, with unspoken potential for romance between the pimary female and male lead (oh disney you never fail to do this), there were a ton of unecessary characters who DID not pull their weight (spastic rabbit thing, mouse, other rabbit thing, the goddamn dog {aww he has a family, how lovingly manipulative} and the fat boys) Ughh and she does one of those disney things where she goes and tells everyone whats what at the end of the film all things which could have been concluded at the beginning of the film and i would have forgiven it ALL IF THE GODDAMN JABBERWOCK WASNT A GODDAMN DRAGON!! AGHH EVERYTHING IS A DRAGON MY DAMN COFFEE TABLE IS A DRAGON! MY EBONY COA COA BUTTER CO*CHIE IS A DRAGON MY IMAGINARY NEPHEW IS A DAMN DRAGON! Expand
  39. May 1, 2011
    0
    Well thankyou Tim Buton, thankyou for at least making me want to deliberately avoid thinking about how much I hate this film. I summarise reasons below why I endeavour to avoid even remembering what it is I despised so much about this film, and why it actually makes me depressed just to write this review. In no particular order of awfulness:

    1. The plot; it may as well not be there,
    Well thankyou Tim Buton, thankyou for at least making me want to deliberately avoid thinking about how much I hate this film. I summarise reasons below why I endeavour to avoid even remembering what it is I despised so much about this film, and why it actually makes me depressed just to write this review. In no particular order of awfulness:

    1. The plot; it may as well not be there, it is just an excuse to go through hyper weird set pieces that end up looking like art student vomit. In fact there is no plot, I was wrong to even mention the word and I am sorry for that

    2. Visual Direction; should have been made as another stop motion film a lá Nightmare or Corpse Bride, because the visual style they were going for was clearly done by someone who saw those films and thought long and hard about how to regurgitate them onto a green screen. 3. The voice acting; t his film is basically comprised of non-real characters who are cgi'd next to real ones, and they were mostly good (enough) but these 3 wanted to make me cry: The: Red Queen, awfully shrill (Queeny anyone?) and devoid of any real charm or humor. Dormouse, Barbara Windsor playing a ridiculously re-purposed character in a ridiculous over acted voice and Johnny Depp, a real actor performance you say? No, if you look closely you can see someone drew him in with Crayolas. 4. Johnny Depp: Please stop, oh God why won't you stop? What...are you, are you Scottish now? Why? Oh no....I'll pay you, whatever Burton offered I'll double. Just please...wait, what are you doing now? No please stop dancing...oh Christ no.No.No.No.

    5. The Sacrilege: Hello source material! Goodbye source material!!!!! I recall fondly my childhood memories of bedtime stories when I was very young at around 5 to reading the books myself when 7 and feeling to this day the influence they have on my creativity and the very landscape of my mind, if you will. Only two years ago I finally found 'my copy' of the book at a book fair, a beautiful hardback 1970s ed with all the original J. Tenniel illustrations and including some letters by L. Carol and I was so excited to have it in my hand after years of borrowing the family copy. I read the book once every two years or so to refresh it in my mind without it becoming boring, and I was so excited to hear of the new film. I won't bother to go into detail, but everything about this hash of a cash cow got under my skin. When looking back on the original story, I loved most its purity and and it's otherworldly, edge-of-dreaming surrealism and of course Alice, because I found it so easy to take her place; and when I look at what they warped these inherent properties into I feel angry and almost physically sick.


    There you go, I am done. This film is probably worth some mark other than zero, hell it's probably even worth a couple of good comments, but I am even too biased to care at this point abut being too biased. I am like a grieving parent who has had a child brutally murdered by a callous and dangerous killer, with no comprehension of the damage he has caused through his actions, my only hope is that this film will slowly rot away in a cell until everyone forgets about it and then maybe I can move on.
    Expand
  40. May 30, 2014
    2
    Despite a strong start to his career, in more recent years Tim Burton has somehow managed to monotonize the absurd. Johnny Depp in Wonderland is a prime example. Despite what die hard fans of Burton may say, there are no original ideas here it's just a bastardised version of what you've already seen. I think it's supposed to be a sequel but if that is the case it's a fairly terrible one.Despite a strong start to his career, in more recent years Tim Burton has somehow managed to monotonize the absurd. Johnny Depp in Wonderland is a prime example. Despite what die hard fans of Burton may say, there are no original ideas here it's just a bastardised version of what you've already seen. I think it's supposed to be a sequel but if that is the case it's a fairly terrible one.
    Alice comes to Wonderland (which is no called Underland for some reason) and is told she's apparently been there before when she was little but she keeps saying that was a different Alice and she also gets told she has to fight this huge monster thing called a Jabberwocky but she insists that is also a different Alice. Spoiler alert, it turns out Alice is Alice all along. What a **** twist.
    The supporting cast do a decent job but our leading lady, Mia Wasikowska, is a mind bogglingly bad actress. Fear, surprise, confusion, anger, happiness, worry, relief are all portrayed with the same vacant expression and flat tone of voice.
    There's just very little to praise about this film. The writing, story, direction, and acting are all sub-par and the CGI isn't all that impressive. I'd advise giving this one a miss.
    Expand
  41. Jun 10, 2012
    0
    This actually my least favorite movie of all time. It does something that I hate where movies try to make some classic story into lord of the rings. I cannot stand that. That of course is my subjective opinion. There are many other things I don't like, the acting, the dialogue, the VFX. The Cheshire cat is good though. Not good enough to redeem a single point, but he was the best thing inThis actually my least favorite movie of all time. It does something that I hate where movies try to make some classic story into lord of the rings. I cannot stand that. That of course is my subjective opinion. There are many other things I don't like, the acting, the dialogue, the VFX. The Cheshire cat is good though. Not good enough to redeem a single point, but he was the best thing in the movie. Expand
  42. Jul 4, 2013
    3
    Here's what's wrong with Alice in Wonderland: it doesn't want to be Alice in Wonderland. It wants to be Narnia. The Dormouse's overhaul into a feisty fencer alone is clue enough, as if everything else weren't already screaming it at you through a megaphone. The problem is that it isn't Narnia, shouldn't be Narnia, and isn't nearly as good at being Narnia as Narnia. Johnny Depp is moreHere's what's wrong with Alice in Wonderland: it doesn't want to be Alice in Wonderland. It wants to be Narnia. The Dormouse's overhaul into a feisty fencer alone is clue enough, as if everything else weren't already screaming it at you through a megaphone. The problem is that it isn't Narnia, shouldn't be Narnia, and isn't nearly as good at being Narnia as Narnia. Johnny Depp is more annoying in this film than he has ever been before, creating a Mad Hatter who is just confusing instead of remotely endearing, and every other character is roughly him in miniature in this respect. It's not even the good, bewildering kind of confusing that you would expect from the source material: it's just the bad, boring kind of confusing that suggests the filmmakers didn't do their homework, didn't try to create a character with a meaningful identity, and didn't try to make sure their characters had actual purpose and plot relevance. The March Hare is reduced to a one-note side joke. The Dormouse has been marginally elevated...into a slightly DIFFERENT one-note side joke from the one in the book, with slightly more screen time (this time, the joke is that the Dormouse is a Reepicheep clone! HOW WONDERFUL!). The Mad Hatter is the only character from the tea party that seems to matter, but he's just annoying. The Tweedle twins are simply dull and underused instead of funny in any way. The White Rabbit is instantly forgettable, and you'll forget him every time you see him. Anne Hathaway, as the White Queen, hints at interesting character elements...that you will never ever see. Helena Bonham Carter is forced into a heartbreakingly shallow role as the Red Queen that everyone knows she is far too good for.

    The only actors with roles that seemed to fit well were Crispin Glover as the Red Knave (and a chilling one at that; Glover, for all the notoriety he gained on Letterman, gets into his characters with an astonishing intensity, even in flops like this), Stephen Fry as the Cheshire Cat (because he seems to be perfect at everything he does), Alan Rickman as Absolem the Caterpillar (stupid though the name may be, Rickman's voice work is better than anyone could have ever expected, and he brings exactly the right note of condescending mystery that the caterpillar needs to have), and Christopher Lee as the Jabberwock (only two lines, but spoken SO WELL).

    None of this is enough to save the movie from the fact that it doesn't want to be what it claims to be. It can never, ever escape this. The Alice trappings are just sort of "there", dangling around it, because it's clear to anyone with eyes that this movie began development after Disney bailed on the Chronicles of Narnia films so it wouldn't have to split the take with Walden Media, as an alternative to Voyage of the Dawn Treader.

    Lewis Carroll would probably be disgusted.
    Expand
  43. Apr 3, 2013
    1
    This is absolutely one of the worst movies ever made. It's so corny, dull, and boring that's it's impossible to enjoy. Not to mention that it's extremely creepy and dark but it's a kid's movie! Do not let a child under 10 see it or he will be scarred for life. How did this make over a billion dollars on it's box office?!! The only reason it gets a one from me is because of the specialThis is absolutely one of the worst movies ever made. It's so corny, dull, and boring that's it's impossible to enjoy. Not to mention that it's extremely creepy and dark but it's a kid's movie! Do not let a child under 10 see it or he will be scarred for life. How did this make over a billion dollars on it's box office?!! The only reason it gets a one from me is because of the special effects. But other than that.............. Horrible! Horrible! Horrible!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  44. Jan 7, 2016
    3
    This movie was just awful! I went in with high expectations and expecting a similar story to the book but they tried to do something different and it didn't work. Only thing good about the movie was the 3D.
  45. Jun 5, 2016
    3
    All of the problems I have with this film are expressed in the Nostalgia Critic's Video review of it and in his real thoughts video. If you wish to have more detail's about this film's failings as an adaptaion go watch said videos. Here is the link for them:
    http://channelawesome.com/nostalgia-critic-alice-in-wonderland/

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TxzaSHzdOR8
  46. Sep 14, 2016
    0
    PUTRICIA EN EL PAÍS DE LA PUTA MIERDA

    Hace mas de 200 años que Lewis Carroll escribió Alicia en el país de las maravillas y Alicia tras el espejo, dos grandes novelas absurdas, divertidas y muy bien escritas. Fueron llevadas al cine varias veces y con diferentes resultados, desde grandes éxitos a telefilmes que sólo pasaron por la tele por cable. Recientemente, sobre el 2010, Tim Burton
    PUTRICIA EN EL PAÍS DE LA PUTA MIERDA

    Hace mas de 200 años que Lewis Carroll escribió Alicia en el país de las maravillas y Alicia tras el espejo, dos grandes novelas absurdas, divertidas y muy bien escritas. Fueron llevadas al cine varias veces y con diferentes resultados, desde grandes éxitos a telefilmes que sólo pasaron por la tele por cable. Recientemente, sobre el 2010, Tim Burton sacó su versión, tras ver las primeras imágenes de ese sombrerero loco tan recargado, tan ridículo y tan Johhny Deep que ya empiezo a temer. Luego el demencial, atroz e infantil trailer que ya se me caen los cojones al suelo, empiezo a oír las primeras criticas todas malas salvo los fanboys limpiasables que su Dios es perfecto y no comete errores...el planeta de los simios...coff coff, Sombras tenebrosas coooof cof cof, la gran aventura de Pee Wee cooof cooof cof....ains, esta tos. Algunos decían que la culpa era de Disney, eso no tiene argumento ninguno, es como decir que "la culpa del Holocausto no fue de Hitler si no del gas, que mataba a los judíos".

    La veo por fin, y puedo decir que es la primera vez, que deseaba coger un avión hacia la casa de Tim Burton, llamar a la puerta y matar a Tim Burton a patadas y no parar hasta que escupiese las tripas. Alicia es la prueba viviente de que Tim Burton murió artisticamente y ya solo es un esperpentico señor que firma mongolidades infantiloides eso si, atrezzao todo atrezzao.

    La adaptación del libro, o lo que cojones sea eso, es una especie de mezcla de los 2 libros (Alicia regresa años después y ve que la reina de corazones se ha quedado con el mundo y lo gobierna tiránicamente), podría haber salido algo bueno si se le da a un guionista competente, pero si se lo das a un chimpancé el resultado es una historia mala, predecible, vacía, infantil, pero no infantil en sentido los Goonies o ET, sino infantil de Beverlly Hills chiguagua o algo peor, aquí el señor Burton demuestra no tener escrúpulos en filmar con guiones tan inmundos, ya que por por poner sus estrambótico atrezzo y su nombre puesto en la película salvaría esta atrocidad que ha perpetrado. Destaco la última parte de la película, donde ya ver a Alicia comportándose de manera tan subnormal y tan ridícula con la gente de negocios, es deplorable y vergonzoso esa infantilidad que se gastan en este bodrio.

    El reparto es la misma mierda de siempre en sus películas. Mete a su mujer Helena Bonham Carter y al ya asiduo de sus películas Johhny Deep, donde sendas actuaciones dan una nueva dimensión al concepto de espantajería y mamarrachez una con un cgi malpuesto como el 90% de todos los personajes y un histrionismo tan exagerado que produce el descojone y el otro en un subnormal retrasado que demás de pervertir al personaje para su propio beneficio nos deleita con la mayor agresión visual jamas vista, la deliranza.

    El resto del reparto son personajes haciendo el canelo, con su CGI mal implementado en unos escenarios que apestaban constantemente a croma. Además de encontrarnos al señor de los bizarro Crispin Glover vemos a una Alicia encarnada por Mia Wasikowska, que mas que parecerse a Alicia se parecía a la hermana perdida de la grimosa Tilda Swinton.

    Alicia de Tim Burton es una inmundicia, un insulto a la inteligencia del espectador y una asquerosidad visual atrezada para que los talibanicos fans defiendan esta farsa de película.
    Expand
  47. Sep 19, 2016
    2
    Well, its 2010 and what are the big budget studios doing? making mediocre and bad films, no surprise there. This adaptation (or total revamp?) started off well and witty, but then got dumbed down to where the scene at the end with the chess game between the red and white queens and what was that other thing? the Cracken?? haha, either made me want to sigh or snore loudly in the theater. IWell, its 2010 and what are the big budget studios doing? making mediocre and bad films, no surprise there. This adaptation (or total revamp?) started off well and witty, but then got dumbed down to where the scene at the end with the chess game between the red and white queens and what was that other thing? the Cracken?? haha, either made me want to sigh or snore loudly in the theater. I feel like telling Tim Burton that trying to do a post modernist version of Alice... just doesnt work and Phoebe in Wonderland is a much much better independent film (especially if you want to do a different Alice.. and one that involves actual living complex human beings instead of one dimensional cartoon characters). Who is Tim trying to be anyway? Roland Emmerich? Oh, and by the way at least this film was a couple of rungs (or many rungs? if were counting?) above 2012 which really sucked $%$%$% bad!! So, I think Ill just be sticking with Sony Pictures Classics or IFC and traveling further to see better films. Expand
  48. Sep 17, 2016
    0
    Terrible. I've always wanted to see a live action of the regular Alice in Wonderland, not creepy like this. Has nothing to do with the classic one I love much more. The characters are nothing like the original, either. The original Alice, Mad Hatter, White Rabbit, & Tweedles are much more likeable in the classic. Tim Burton ruined it.
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 38
  2. Negative: 4 out of 38
  1. A fantastical romp that proves every bit as transporting as that movie about the blue people of Pandora, his "Alice" is more than just a gorgeous 3D sight to behold.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    50
    For all its clever design, beguiling creatures and witty actors, the picture feels far more conventional than it should; it's a Disney film illustrated by Burton, rather than a Burton film that happens to be released by Disney.
  3. Tim Burton, plus Alice, plus 3D equals an unforgettable, one-of-a-kind movie experience. It will clean up.