Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: March 5, 2010
5.8
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 710 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
316
Mixed:
242
Negative:
152
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
ChadS.Mar 6, 2010
It's anarchy on Victorian literature; anarchy in the 19th century U.K. This latest version of "Alice in Wonderland" wants to make a feminist hero out of the Lewis Carroll heroine. According to the oraculum, she's Alice the It's anarchy on Victorian literature; anarchy in the 19th century U.K. This latest version of "Alice in Wonderland" wants to make a feminist hero out of the Lewis Carroll heroine. According to the oraculum, she's Alice the Jabberwocky Slayer. This time around, Prophecy Girl is not here just to have tea. This special effects-driven film shares with Steven Spielberg's "Hook" the not altogether unappealing gimmick of an adult who returns to the fantastical realm that he/she haunted as a child. Alice was at the scene of the crime; the day that the Red Queen(Helena Bonham Carter) bombed the White Queen's court, in which the Hatter(Johnny Depp) went mad as he walked among the burning ruins. (The PG rating precludes the presence of royal court casualties.) As a young child, Alice suffered from nightmares and would ask her father about the state of her mental health. Too bad the calibration is all off on Alice's character; too bad she wasn't truly mad, somebody who would wake up screaming all throughout her life. This childhood trauma(that the film never addresses) has no effect on her as an adult. She seems fine in the carriage with her mother, en route to a garden party. It's him, not her, when Alice runs away from a formal marriage proposal at the gazebo, conducted in front of their friends and family. It should be the other way around. For commercial purposes, Alice is given no character arc. She enters, then emerges from Wonderland without any discernible changes. Her "Lord of the Rings" adventure could have been more rousing if she arrived in the shire, I mean Wonderland, as the Mad Debutante who ditched an Edward Ferrars-like bridegroom, and not the prig that Alice detests. Even Jane Austen's women got married. Set in the Victorian period, "Alice in Wonderland" should end with a wedding, not with the actions of a suffragette. This film has no sense and sensibility for its time and place. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
aabender002Aug 11, 2010
It is a perfectly acceptable film, but I couldn't escape the feeling that so much more could have been done with such potent material. This is, after all, Tim Burton doing Alice in Wonderland! Why wasn't I blown away?
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
grandpajoe6191Sep 24, 2011
If you expected a controversial movie form Burton, "Alice in Wonderland" is not what you expect. However, the eerie creativity and fantastic visuals might delight you for the moment.
9 of 12 users found this helpful93
All this user's reviews
4
marcmyworksJan 20, 2014
The positive of this film is how visually appealing it is, however because it came out roughly around the time of Avatar, it becomes a second rate fantasy flick. Combining this and the messiness of the screenplay creates rather a disappointing film.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
5
JoeBlowJun 3, 2010
5 out of 10. Just average. Actually average movies suck because they are not worth my time. Avoid this one.
2 of 7 users found this helpful
4
MetallicCriticDec 13, 2011
A very odd and unique film. I'm almost disappointed that I didn't see this in 3D. Which is the only reason why anyone should watch this. This film was very, very, very fast paced. It will also go on my list of Tim Burton's worst. A word ofA very odd and unique film. I'm almost disappointed that I didn't see this in 3D. Which is the only reason why anyone should watch this. This film was very, very, very fast paced. It will also go on my list of Tim Burton's worst. A word of advice to Tim, stick to stop motion. Although, the best aspect of the film is the costume design. Especially Alice's red dress. It's a no drainer that this won for Best Achievement in Costume Design at Oscars. The next great thing about this film is the effects. Loved the part when Alice falls down the rabbit hole. With a stunning performance by Johnny Depp and the rest of the cast the acting was decent. There was a nice feel to the acting. There personalities where spot on, especially the Red Queen.To break it down, I recommend this movie to people that get board with good movies and love fashion. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
4
TheDude-Sep 6, 2015
This re boot of alice in wonderland is so unnecessary turning a fun story into a boring war filled political thriller with no soul and no sense of enjoyment.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
[Anonymous]Mar 7, 2010
I was generally fascinated by the animation, but the movie seemed to be incredibly predictable which led me to lose interest.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ScottMApr 4, 2010
Visually inventive, but emotionally uninvolving. Ends up a kind of "Alice of Arc". Bleah.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DavidP.Mar 14, 2010
A wonderful start...but just a ridiculous ending. From the time Alice puts on her armor till the credits roll there's not a minute's worth of the madness and charm that made the rest of the film work. In Burton's filmography A wonderful start...but just a ridiculous ending. From the time Alice puts on her armor till the credits roll there's not a minute's worth of the madness and charm that made the rest of the film work. In Burton's filmography this picture falls somewhere between Mars Attacks and Sleepy Hollow. Still waiting for another Ed Wood. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
RayRMar 17, 2010
This film held my interest while watching it, but was forgettable afterwards. The special effects were good but I expected Wonderland to be more colorful and amazing than what was in this film. The characters were well imagined even though I This film held my interest while watching it, but was forgettable afterwards. The special effects were good but I expected Wonderland to be more colorful and amazing than what was in this film. The characters were well imagined even though I had a difficult time understanding what they were saying. I'm a fan of many of the Burton/Depp movies but this film was somewhat of a disappointment for me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
SimonDMar 19, 2010
Looking forward to this a lot but turned out to be a massive dissapointment. Not so much unpredictable as much as tells you the ending early on. The caterpillar was extremely dull and the ending was cheesy as hell - unexpected from a Burton Looking forward to this a lot but turned out to be a massive dissapointment. Not so much unpredictable as much as tells you the ending early on. The caterpillar was extremely dull and the ending was cheesy as hell - unexpected from a Burton film. Great performances from Depp and Bonham Carter but still a massive disappointment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ConnorC.Mar 5, 2010
This movie had great potential and I am saddened that it turned out to be a disappointment. From the first 20-30 minutes, you start to get the feeling that the movie is almost over.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ChrisVMar 6, 2010
The special efects are cool, and the 3D even more, but the story, i thought it was going to be more interesting, but, i just got lost in the weird/ackward movie the whole time, this alice is not eligible to play as the real alice. Sucks period.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
SamY.Apr 5, 2010
A soulless version of the novel itself. Problem is Burton tries too hard to make it dark and effectively drains out the wit and emotion that made readers fall in love with the novel.The only thing that will impress you is its CGI.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JustinApr 5, 2010
The 3D really sucked, I was expecting Avatar quality and wish I had watched the 2D version instead. Aside from the god awful 3D quality the Red Queen, Mad Hatter and Crispin Glover (I can't even remember his character) made the film bearable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ThomasLMar 22, 2010
I have to admit that after looking forward to this, I fell asleep before it was over. Despite lots of great visuals, it doesn't really work. I agree with the reviewer who says its worst problem is that it "makes sense." I'm also I have to admit that after looking forward to this, I fell asleep before it was over. Despite lots of great visuals, it doesn't really work. I agree with the reviewer who says its worst problem is that it "makes sense." I'm also afraid that 3D is still pretty gimmicky. Maybe when we can lose the glasses, it will be a lot better. Anyway ... meh. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
peoplewhomatterNov 3, 2010
I have to say Johnny Depp did a great job in the movie, but thats about it. what really ruined the story was the actress who played Alice. she was boring and did not make you want to keep watching the movie. the graphics and animation wereI have to say Johnny Depp did a great job in the movie, but thats about it. what really ruined the story was the actress who played Alice. she was boring and did not make you want to keep watching the movie. the graphics and animation were excellent though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
JacobMar 7, 2013
I'm really mixed on this movie. On one end the art style looks cool capturing the strangeness of Wonderland quite nicely. Plus, it's nice that the film was not a rehash of the previous Disney version of the film. On the other hand though II'm really mixed on this movie. On one end the art style looks cool capturing the strangeness of Wonderland quite nicely. Plus, it's nice that the film was not a rehash of the previous Disney version of the film. On the other hand though I did not care too much about the characters and the story. Plus, the story telling felt a little cliche for me. Overall, decent flick not going to recommend it and I'm not going to say do not see it because I do not feel strongly towards one side or the other. I'm going to say is see it in 3D if you can because there are a lot of 3Dish shots in the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
RyanGeeSep 28, 2010
Mainstream Hollywood is entering an era of ridiculous amounts of CGI effects and unfathomable budgets. After watching an outlandishly gaudy Avatar and Tim Burton's atrocious animation film 9, Alice In Wonderland wasn't so promising. But toMainstream Hollywood is entering an era of ridiculous amounts of CGI effects and unfathomable budgets. After watching an outlandishly gaudy Avatar and Tim Burton's atrocious animation film 9, Alice In Wonderland wasn't so promising. But to my surprise, Alice shows that there is modest hope, not a lot, in this ill-fated generation of movies.

After an average attempt in recreating a classic with Charlie And The Chocolate Factory, Tim Burton tries to use his whimsical touch with a beloved Disney classic. But instead of simply remaking it, Tim Burton tells a story of his own, an addition to Lewis Carroll's 19th century novels. In Alice In Wonderland, Alice returns to the magical world with minimal memory of actually ever visiting this place. In this second venture, Alice reunites with the Mad Hatter and friends to end the tyrannical reign of The Red Queen. On the way, Alice learns the meaning of her mysterious memories and finds out who she really is (cliche, I know).

Alice In Wonderland has some positive attributes that redeems the subject matter. Its greatest aspect is its star-studded cast, which is probably the main attraction of the film. The Mad Hatter, portrayed by Johnny Depp, is a mishmash of characters Captain Jack Sparrow and Willy Wonka. As ridiculous as that sounds, he pulls it off as he does in almost every Depp-Burton collaboration. Helena Carter (The Red Queen), puts so much personality into the character, that her continuous exclamations of "Off With The Head" were not bothersome, but entertaining every time. Finally, Mia Wasikowska shows Vanity Fair correct in that she's an Actress To Watch. Although having annoying dialogue at several parts of the film, she shows that she can act and bring life to a beloved Disney character with her realness and believability. Another great quality of the film is its soundtrack. Just as it did in films such as Batman Returns, Danny Elfman's composition makes the audience really like they're in an alternate world with its lovely orchestral sound. Also, the dialogue really complements the original characters as well.

Although Alice In Wonderland possesses many great qualities, there are several noticeable flaws. There are some minor blemishes in the plot that are questionable. Why is Alice without knowledge of her previous venture to Wonderland? Even in a flashback, she thinks that they are just nightmares. How does Alice keep on thinking that the whole adventure is a dream? The movie shows a lapse of about a week, is it not obvious that a dream is not this extensive? Lastly, the main flaw is the first half's lack of magic. The first act of the movie is not colorful at all and is ultimately dull. Yes, The Red Queen's corrupt rule has affected this world, but can it not be slightly more appealing. The visuals of this portion of the movie cannot match the vibrant world of Pandora in Avatar, leading the audience to question, where is the wonder? Not until the protagonists reach the castle of The Red Queen is it as rich as its animated original. When it reaches this point, the CGI really complements the world. Keep in mind that I did not watch the movie in 3D, so I might be incorrect. But the dullness is so apparent, I do not think a multidimensional view would make much of a difference. These are flaws that can possibly be overlooked, but the main problem is Tim Burton. Burton makes a film pleasing to the eye and senses, but it definitely doesn't attach itself to the audience like Burton's past films. Why can't we connect with any of the character as we did with Edward Scissorhands? Why can't we sympathize with The Red Queen as we did with DeVito's Penguin? This cannot be simply shrugged off because the director every moviegoer knows as a visionary is simply conforming into Hollywood.

Overall, Alice In Wonderland is a film with more quality than other films with similar ridiculous budgets, which in all actuality is not saying too much. It definitely isn't on par with Burton's true great films in the way it tugs at the viewer's emotions, but even though it has its flaws, its great cast makes it worthy of 2 hours of your weekend.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
jimmytancrediMay 29, 2011
Alice in Wonderland is a very pleasant movie. The movie passed without me blinking, there was no dull moment what so ever. By the time it reached signs of the "end" I asked myself, has it been 5 minutes yet? The movie puts you in a veryAlice in Wonderland is a very pleasant movie. The movie passed without me blinking, there was no dull moment what so ever. By the time it reached signs of the "end" I asked myself, has it been 5 minutes yet? The movie puts you in a very interesting world with strange places and characters. The music in this film was the best music I've heard in a movie in a long time. The acting was amusing and little details about the characters' personalities was made in a very smart fashion that will keep you entertained through out the movie. I give Alice in Wonderland a 6 or 7 for all the fun that I had watching it, I wished it was 1 hour longer. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Efreet69Mar 7, 2011
I'd break this movie down into the following components: 1. Story: Three and a Half Stars; >>>> 2. Acting: Three Stars; Competent but not groundbreaking; >>>> 3. Sound and Visuals: Four Stars; Gorgeous but sometimes "too unreal." YesI'd break this movie down into the following components: 1. Story: Three and a Half Stars; >>>> 2. Acting: Three Stars; Competent but not groundbreaking; >>>> 3. Sound and Visuals: Four Stars; Gorgeous but sometimes "too unreal." Yes that's an odd statement for a fantasy film. What I mean by this is that some times you are too aware that it is not real, in that it seems artificial. Well done effects can mute the aspect of artificiality, as I feel was done better in the second and third "Lord of the Rings films."; >>>> 4. Gestalt: The movie does not excel the sum of its components, as few films do. An example of one that does is "The King's Speech." >>>> My full cinema profile here: http://bit.ly/MyMovies Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
CRLAug 27, 2011
The acting is superbly wacky; Mia Wasikowska is excellent and Johnny Depp is perfectly cast. However this movie, which should more correctly be titled 'Through the Looking Glass,' features a plot and script so confusing and convoluted thatThe acting is superbly wacky; Mia Wasikowska is excellent and Johnny Depp is perfectly cast. However this movie, which should more correctly be titled 'Through the Looking Glass,' features a plot and script so confusing and convoluted that the acting is lost in the muddle. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
J-ShapAug 26, 2011
Tim Burton was once called the cleverest and most imaginative filmmaker in Hollywood since David Lynch. A decade later he made Alice in Wonderland, and finally gave into his desire to be painter rather than a storyteller.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Potter17Dec 10, 2011
It is not what you could call "Burton's best film" and totally lacked the appeal of the original version but decent acting and incredible visual effects kept my attention through the whole movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
LandFJun 5, 2012
Alice In Wonderland really is a mixed bag. I know that's hardly a way to begin a review, but when you've got a bag as mixed as this, it's hard to know quite where to start. I never can tell what Alice In Wonderland is trying to be, whether aAlice In Wonderland really is a mixed bag. I know that's hardly a way to begin a review, but when you've got a bag as mixed as this, it's hard to know quite where to start. I never can tell what Alice In Wonderland is trying to be, whether a drama, an action movie, a comedy, but it appears to be juggling all three at once, which provides mixed results, as I mentioned previously. Instead of being a mere adaption of the Alice In Wonderland book, Tim Burton instead creates a story that occurs 13 years after. Alice is set to marry a lord who she does not want to marry at all. Demands from her mother and parents of Alice's predetermined husband further confuse and frustrate Alice. So to escape it all, she follows a familiar rabbit into a rabbit hole, and we all know what will happen from there. Or do we? Since this is, in fact, 13 years after the original Wonderland incident, things have changed. Wonderland (or Underland, as we learn it is called) has become a much darker, and dangerous place. Alice is destined to slay a beast called the Jabberwocky, but she doubts herself, and the Red Queen wants her killed. It's all a little bit more complicated than it needs to be. But Underland is all about complications. I will start by pointing out Alice In Wonderland's biggest strength: The visuals. Between the magnificent makeup, the ridiculous costumes, the outrageous hair, and stunning special effects (and they are stunning sometimes), Alice In Wonderland is one of the most visually captivating films ever made. But if only everything else was as wonderful and undeniably incredible as the visual effects. The characters, while mostly amusing, feel a little bit...predictable. Tim Burton usually likes to recreate the characters, but instead, we get virtually the same characters from the book (and animated Disney movie), with little exception. True, Burton tries to flesh them out a bit more and add additional back story, but it does little to separate the characters in this adaption from the animated version. The acting, like the film, is a huge mixed bag. That's not to say that there are BAD actors. All the acting is very good, it's just expected. Predictable, like the characters. Most everyone is played by the book, with no special spin on almost any of them. Johnny Depp disappoints in his role as the Mad Hatter. He needs to be over the top and ridiculous. Instead, he's just rather ordinary. What happened to the wacky, bizzareness that be brought us in Charlie In The Chocolate Factory? But this isn't always the case with the acting. Helena Bonham Carter (as the Red Queen) is as outrageous and ridiculous as she needs to be, and more. Her acting is by far the most impressive in the film. Carter ends up doing the performance Depp should've done, but doesn't. One performance I didn't expect to like was Anne Hathaway's as The White Queen. "She's much too recognizable." I thought. And I was right. But she does perfectly. She's extremely dramatic and flowy, and she does a marvelous job. Without doing any research on the score beforehand, I knew that it was composed by Danny Elfman. After looking it up after the film, I was proven correct. Here's how I knew: It sounds like all his other scores. Yes, Elfman's a great composer, but all his scores sound alike, each borrowing elements from his last score. If Elfman can't get his act together, Burton may need to look for a new composer. My last opinion about Alice In Wonderland may be the most important: It makes sense. Well, mostly anyway. It's not nearly as whimsical and bizzare as it should be. It's actually, relatively straight forward. Alice In Wonderland just isn't weird enough. It needs to be more odd. More outrageous. The animated version did a much better job at this. I wanted to like this film. I wanted to love it. But Tim Burton's Alice In Wonderland just isn't the film it should be. But it's not half-bad. If you haven't already seen Alice In Wonderland, it's not a bad diversion; it's just not a very good one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
csw12Apr 3, 2012
Alice in Wonderland is okay. Great visuals but the acting seem corny and the charcters looked stupid. An average film with average acting and average story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Trev29Sep 1, 2012
The creativity of Tim Burton is what saves this movie. In all truth, it was very boring at times. It picked up at the end when more interesting characters appeared. It was still full of great wackiness though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
OfficialMar 8, 2014
Nope. I'm going to say that if you have not watched the 1951 animation, you'll probably enjoy the film. If you have, it will certainly be a disappointment. It just does not have the strong heart that the cartoon had.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
lady_ascot21Jun 25, 2012
I loved the movie, especially the sets, clothes, and the provision of the actors (of course), but the story could have been different and the ending could have been another. Loved the provision of Leo Bill, although very small.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
moonman1994Dec 23, 2013
Although very entertaining and beautiful because of the color saturation that was used this live action adaption of Alice in Wonderland just doesn't seem to capture the "wonder" that is Wonderland. With the cast of the film it could have beenAlthough very entertaining and beautiful because of the color saturation that was used this live action adaption of Alice in Wonderland just doesn't seem to capture the "wonder" that is Wonderland. With the cast of the film it could have been much much more but the color saturation becomes borderline grotesque and it just falls short of being the truly magical Wonderland that we were all expecting. And as much as I like Tim Burton, these flaws are most likely his doing. Sometimes Burton's creepy touch is not what a film needs or should have. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
Iky009Jan 6, 2014
Fraco
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
SEROJJun 26, 2016
Superb visuals and great acting make this classic tale a great movie for kids, not so great for adults, but i think that it deserves at least a watch!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
mapizarroOct 15, 2013
I think Tim Burton should get plenty of rest. He is rusty. "Alice in Wonderland" is a outrage for Lewis Carroll's novels. Film without charm and boring. If Burton wanted to destroy the memory of the 1951 film, he just find it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Movie1997Mar 24, 2013
I honestly expected this movie to be better than what it turned out to be. More a dissapointment than a disaster. But the main reason for the movies' bust is some of the acting, especially Mia's portrayl of Alice. Out of all the characters,I honestly expected this movie to be better than what it turned out to be. More a dissapointment than a disaster. But the main reason for the movies' bust is some of the acting, especially Mia's portrayl of Alice. Out of all the characters, Alices' was the worst. It made me hate this movie more than try to enjoy it. Aside from it's fairly descent visuals, you've really just entered a boring world that doesn't get better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
Skullgirlsfan13May 15, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. you know, remakes suck. Ever so rarely is there a new version that is substantial or even better than the original. This one is neither. It is an instant cash grab of the most iconic tale of wonderment and enchantment, turned into a clichéd pop corn flick. Just throw this movie in the pile of movies that look good, but lack any good direction in story and development. First off, Tim Burton. Why do he keep doing these remakes; maybe he didn't actually do that many and I'm just being angry right now, but he hasnto stop. Why, why oh why can't Hollywood just leave our childhood alone? Enough ranting, time to get serious. The main problem with this movie is surprisingly the amount of darkness in it, not that I dislike it, but I feel that there's not enough or too much at times. At times you see really ghastly images; speaking of which just about 90% of this flick is CGI, and other times it's not. Of course you have Johnny Depp. he does an okay job as the mad hatter, nothing great just fine. Alice is easily forgettable and I don't I just don't care about her, all I care about her is that she has to fight some dragon in the end. Which is another problem, in the first 10 minutes or so, they just flat out tell you how it's going to end, in a cliché manner. I know there's this quest of understanding and all, but stopped prolonging the inevitable. The only none effect related comment I can say about this flick is that the red queen played by Helen Boncarter: I think, does a good job at being extremely over the top, and she's fun to watch. That's it I guess, I don't like this movie, and I don't recommend this to many people. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MovieGuysSep 21, 2013
Tim Burton tried to make this movie work, but just couldn't quite pull it off. Depp is fun to watch, dancing around the scenes while making an ass out of himself, while Anne Hathaway plays a roll she can't quite fit into. There is enough eyeTim Burton tried to make this movie work, but just couldn't quite pull it off. Depp is fun to watch, dancing around the scenes while making an ass out of himself, while Anne Hathaway plays a roll she can't quite fit into. There is enough eye candy to keep you awake, but just like movies of kin, eye candy isn't enough. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
RayzorMooseNov 17, 2013
Wonderland isn't all that wonderful.
An utterly average adaption of a classic book. Alice in Wonderland attempts greatness with its Tim Burton twists when in reality it falls very far off course. The acting is good, but the script needs
Wonderland isn't all that wonderful.
An utterly average adaption of a classic book. Alice in Wonderland attempts greatness with its Tim Burton twists when in reality it falls very far off course. The acting is good, but the script needs work. The movie is long and drawn out with really only one scene of action, the entertainment level just isn't there.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
CineAutoctonoDec 8, 2015
Alice in Wonderland surprised a lot in the animation of the year 51, in 2010, Tim Burton sack a slightly different story, but this time it's a bit boring , but the special effects are worth highlighting but the version Tim Burton I remain so.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
EpicLadySpongeApr 4, 2016
Another "What was that?" dull adventure that just couldn't work the first time. The second time manages to look even messier than watching it the first time. Watch the adorable animated Alice in Wonderland instead.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
johnslegersJan 3, 2016
I finally got to see Burton's Alice In Wonderland and I really wonder what all the fuzz is about. The film isn't nearly as good as Burton's best work, but it isn't nearly as bad as some claim it is either. Although he seems to have past theI finally got to see Burton's Alice In Wonderland and I really wonder what all the fuzz is about. The film isn't nearly as good as Burton's best work, but it isn't nearly as bad as some claim it is either. Although he seems to have past the peak of his career, Tim Burton at least managed to turn a horrible script in a mediocre but visually appealing film film and while it's a shame Alice wasn't the masterpiece it could have been (especially if it was based on the American McGee game) I don't think it deserves to get all the hate it gets either.

If you're a fan of the original book, the famous Disney cartoon version or the American McGee computer game you're probably going to be disappointed for the lost opportunities in this film, but if you like Burtons sense of aesthetics it's still a pleasant film to watch on a lazy Sunday afternoon.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
rei07Jul 19, 2016
Alice in Wonderland is basically a difficult film to like/dislike. On one hand, I found the movie to be visually stunning and well-done. In this aspect, the film was entertaining. On the other hand, the plot and characters were so-so evenAlice in Wonderland is basically a difficult film to like/dislike. On one hand, I found the movie to be visually stunning and well-done. In this aspect, the film was entertaining. On the other hand, the plot and characters were so-so even though I kind of enjoyed Depp's Mad Hatter character as well as the title character. One must also take into consideration that the main reason this film was so successful was for the following reason: It came out at the height of the 3D craze. Overall, this movie is fine to watch once in awhile, but not necessarily for repeated viewing. This was an okay film that had so much potential to have been better. It's not entirely bad, but not entirely great either. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
JunelKeanJul 1, 2017
Tim Burton retells Lewis Caroll's classic we all know, Alice's Adventure in Wonderland. The CGI gimmick is still not over as this whimsical world is discovered by the Unchosen One: Alice (Wasikoska). As she ventures, she stumbles to the MadTim Burton retells Lewis Caroll's classic we all know, Alice's Adventure in Wonderland. The CGI gimmick is still not over as this whimsical world is discovered by the Unchosen One: Alice (Wasikoska). As she ventures, she stumbles to the Mad Hatter (Depp), and join forces to defeat the Red Queen (Bonham-Carter) and get the Vorpal Sword to kill the Jabberwocky.

So the question is, is Alice in Wonderland the next 'Wizard of Oz'? Well, no, but it surely is another magical showcase for Burton’s filmography. He uses the whimsical world to a setting of adventurous spectacle. He still sets up a nice magical tone to his works and proves to show his capability both as an eccentric filmmaker and visual artist, but not in this movie.

The visual effects are very cartoonish. Wasikoska could have also been better if she is a compelling protagonist. But there isn't really a moment that you are rooting for her, and that is due to her bland and emotionless character and performance. Anne Hathaway is also here and plays as the White Queen, but unfortunately she doesn't do anything except for her stupid hand gestures and trying-hard accent.

VERDICT: Burton’s version of “Alice’s Adventure in Wonderland” suffers from poor characterization, but still magical.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MonkiReviewsJun 22, 2017
I thought it was good, but not great. The acting was good, even if the characters are not great. The special effects were very fake looking. It had a good story though, so it is worth a watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews